West Dundee, IL 
Randall Oaks Share
Uploaded By: gregwil2 Hole #7 (Taken 12/2011)
5 / 422ft.   3 / 422ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Worth stopping by

2-4    4/12/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: blong
Played: 71  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is easy to find, on Randall Rd. Elevation changes keep it interesting. It's a scenic park, with lots of mature trees. Course was clean when I was there; ample garbage cans. I did pick up a couple empty bottles though... The holes require different types of shots. Tee pads are concrete, but seem just a little short. (maybe need an extra 6-12") Distance for most holes is ok. The arrangement could've been a little bit different to add challenge.
Cons: Some baskets are a little close to one another. A couple holes are in open fields with no obstacles.
Other Thoughts: No one there when I was there, but I can see it being busy on the weekends. There is a petting zoo on the property, as well as a playground, so families could potentially be in the way. There's a golf course on the left side of hole 3, so watch your throw, keep it straight.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 B = Better than average 9-holer

1    3/18/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  does the trick

5+    1/7/2009   1/10/2009
Review By: Poolguyky
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very easy access with a good mix of shots. Some of the holes have a very pretty set up, like #1,2,3,10. Good practice course. Takes about 25-35 min to complete a round.
Cons: The course is a little shorter than i like. A few holes you can open up on if your an average driver like me.
Other Thoughts: There is pleanty of space for more holes. I was speaking with someone who was in on the designing of the course and there is def a possibility of extending the course to 18 holes if it seems prosperous. so get out there and show them that its worth it to put them in.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Missed Opportunity

2-4    11/27/2008   11/27/2008
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 19.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2008
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The location is a great exposure point for disc golf. Randall Oaks is a very well-known and busy park, and the basket for # 6 is in plain view of traffic on Randall Road. The course does have more elevation changes than your typical Chicagoland course and features a couple of elevated tees and uphill shots. The tees are made from paver bricks and there are good tee signs and markings to help you get around the course. All in all, it's a pretty good course.
Cons: There is only one 400+ ft shot despite having the space for a least a couple of more long shots that would separate it from you typical Chicago 9-hole pitch & putt. The one 400+ ft shot is flat and wide open, something that is becoming all too familiar to me. Just because a hole is long, that does not mean you can't have any trees or elevation in play.

Despite having a great big hill to work with, only four out of the 10 holes use the elevation to any significant extent. Neither of the elevated tee shots are long enough to throw a driver on. Again, they missed an opportunity to create a course that would be unique from most Chicagoland courses.

The basket for # 4, the tee for # 8 and the basket for # 9 are all right next to each other. If you hyzer your drive on # 8 it will fall out onto # 9's fairway as the fairways are right next to each other, separated more by elevation than anything. It seemed like the entire hole # 8 could have been moved south to avoid these conflicts.

To get from # 4's basket to # 5's tee, you have to walk right past # 7's basket. # 5 shoots over a park service road, and the obstacles are mostly the stop sign and speed limit sign you have to throw over. Really if the course is busy, there is going to be a logjam of people around 4, 5, 7, 8 and 9 because they all come together in the same spot.

There are 10 holes, but hole # 10 adds nothing to the course. Its an 200 ft elevated tee putter drive that is there mostly to get you to walk around to the other side of the parking lot so everyone will exit and enter the parking lot in the same place.
Other Thoughts: The baskets were set into these big concrete stands that were about a foot and a half in diameter, so there was a big ring of concrete around each basket. I found that a little odd. They were flush with the ground, so it really did not effect play one way or the other.

I was excited when I heard about this course, as I had been to the park many times and had often looked at the hill and thought "I'd love to launch a drive off there." Well, the course is there and is on that hill...but sadly you never get to launch a drive off the hill. The terrain is there to have an outstanding 9-hole course, but instead the course design seems to draw from all the other ho-hum courses in the area and does not stand out significantly from them. It's not a bad course by any stretch of the imagination, but when you look around you can see the potential for so much more.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    11/2/2008   11/5/2008
Review By: smokescreen247
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very nice layout with a good mix of shots. The course if pretty easy to navigate.
Cons: On hole #3, out of bounds is a barbed wire fence dividing the park from the golf course, not allowing a disc recovery should you throw thier. On the weekends many large group functions get in the way of the course and during the week of halloween, the course was completly altered for a haunted hay ride.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little 10 Holer

5+    10/19/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: Kola
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Brick tees, a few shots to get an ace, the open holes are also a bit challenging
Cons: Only 10 holes
Other Thoughts: Make a couple more holes

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great new course!

1    10/9/2008   10/9/2008
Review By: krc1130
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is very, very beautiful. Ample parking and right off Randall Road...visible right from the road. Great baskets, awesome brick paver tees, easy to follow, and a pretty decent layout. The course seems pretty open when you get there, but there's actually a pretty good amount of obstacle. Good mix of open holes and holes with more obstacles. Pretty good amount of elevation, just a surprisingly great course.
Cons: In the middle of a park which I imagine can get very busy on the weekends. Some baskets are pretty close to one another. Some holes are a bit too open, providing little challenge other than being a bit longer.
Other Thoughts: This was such a pleasant surprise. I was told by a local that the course has maybe been open for a couple of months, so it's in good shape being so new. When you get to the park, follow the service road all the way until you get to the parking lot near the shelter. The first tee is just west of that parking lot...it can be a bit confusing, but once you find the first, it's easy to follow. I highly recommend checking this course out. It's such a beautiful, picturesque course, and it's a lot of fun to play. I had a blast playing here.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.