Albany, GA 
Joshua W. Franklin DGC Share
Uploaded By: Connor Jones Hole #6 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 357ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

2-4    10/26/2014   10/27/2014
Review By: tailorholley
Played: 28  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee's on all holes with plenty of run room.
-3 Pin locations for each hole
-Some long holes, some short holes, even an island hole
-Great course map at the 1 tee pad
-Great use of elevation change for the course, especially for some of the long pin positions
-Each layout has its challenges although C is by far the hardest layout.
-1 elevated, podium basket
-practice basket
Cons: -$3 park entree fee
Other Thoughts: Just got back from playing a wonderful tournament at this course. The 2014 Josh Franklin Memorial Tournament. I couldn't ask for a better run tournament and a more kept up course. B-Tier tournament made very challenging with walking path OB's and one way roads. John E. McCray and Josh Childs were in attendance as well. I will be back next year.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

WORTH IT

2-4    6/24/2013   5/18/2014
Review By: carpan09
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Most professional course I have played at so far
2. great teeboxes
3. multiple pins
4. beautiful
5. a great challenge
Cons: 1. a few LONG par 4s
2. Some throws over one way roads
Other Thoughts: Bring sunscreen and bug spray. I was the only player there when I played. Free and very challenging

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

It keeps getting better!

1    10/14/2013   1/6/2014
Review By: Curtis Loew
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Beautiful Park
First Class Facilities
Concrete tee pads are excellent
Signage is great
Challenging Course requiring both technical and long distance shots
New pin placements (effective October 2013) are awesome - hole 5 may be the new signature hole now
Cheehaw Park has numerous ammenities that have already been mentioned in other reviews.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This is a definite MUST PLAY course if you are in the SW Georgia area. If you are traveling through this area then make an overnight stay in the cabins or camp and play a fantastic course!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very Underrated Course

5+    10/6/2011   10/6/2011
Review By: BGlenn
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has always been in great condition every time I've played. I rarely see any trash on the course, and nearly every Saturday volunteers are on the course keeping it maintained.

Bathrooms, vending machines, and water fountains are located by hole 1 tee, nine basket, and 18 basket.

Both 9s finish in the same area, making for an easy way to only play 9 holes if you wish.

Tees Signs are accurate and have distances to both pin positions, as well as a Next Tee arrow.

Teepads are large, and give you plenty of room to run up.

This course requires many different throwing types - Hyzers, Anhyzers, and Flicks.

Nearly all holes are wooded, with the exception of the two fairly open par 4's. All wooded holes have multiple lanes which, if played correctly, can lead to many birdie opportunities.

Cons: One of the few cons is that this is a fairly short course. Longer throwers who like to bomb may get annoyed since most of the holes are short and technical.

Also, to get to some of the next holes you have to backtrack a little bit, and if you missed the Next Tee sign, it may become a little confusing.
Other Thoughts: Like many others have said, there is a $2 entrance fee to the park. However, I don't list this as a con because I find the couple of dollars totally worth playing this course.

Other things inside the park include:
- Campgrounds and Cabins
- BMX Track
- A giant playground right by the Disc Golf course
- And a pretty decent zoo that children will really love.

I don't list the entrance fee as a con because it's only a one time fee per day, and you get all these other amenities in the park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    2/23/2011   2/23/2011
Review By: robasse
Played: 91  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great layout with very well designed holes. New A and B backet locations that really add to the course difficulty and make multi round tournament play tough to settle in on. I think that the course signs look great.
Cons: None to speak of.
Other Thoughts: I love the course and i think that it is one of the more challenging courses in South GA.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/24/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: Rock
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice park with playground for kids very close, as well as restrooms. Clean and well kept. Nice signs with distances for multiple basket locations. Good basket locations.
Cons: Sometimes hard to tell which basket I was going to and not always sure where the next tee was.
Other Thoughts: It did cost $2 per person to get into the park ($1 for kids 3-12), but it was well worth it! I don't mind paying a bit for a clean well kept course!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Overrated

2-4    9/11/2010   9/11/2010
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 75  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2011
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very beautiful park,there were people out doing work on some of the grounds in the course while we were playing.
Great teepads,plenty big for a nice run up.
Teesigns with a pretty detailed map for each hole,and the distances all seemed to be pretty accurate by eye.

Cons: Would be nice to have 1 or 2 more long holes to balance out the mix some,but overall the second time round this course was much more enjoyable
The navigation of the course was a bit iffy,had to backtrack a couple of times to get to the next hole,but nothing overly troublesome.
Other Thoughts: I came back to play this one a second time when all the pins were in the proper position,and this course was really,really fun.
They had a few holes that took advantage of the elevation which is always a plus in my book,and it had a fair balance of shots for all throwing types,lefty & righty.

There is a two dollar fee as other people have mentioned,but that's to get in the park,not for the course itself,so once you're in you can play as much as you want,but there are limited hours in the off-season.


7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Joshua W. Franklin

1    8/12/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very pretty park with many amenities for every one. There is a large bathroom facility at the beginning of the course with enough room to change in. There is a large playground right at the beginning of the course to keep the kids occupied. There is also a zoo and camping facilities here. There were very few people around when I played, but I would think this park has be well used on the weekends. One other very nice plus is the perimeter of the disc golf course is very well marked with signs warning the uninitiated what is there. Hopefully this helps keep the wandering pedestrian out of harms way. The park is dominated by large pines with a sprinkling of oak and magnolias as well. The park is very well maintained with no trash seen by me when I played. There is not a lot of elevation change in this part of the country so trees are main obstacle and there are plenty of them. Very good thing in the heat of August, the shade was appreciated. The signs are great they have a lot of information on a small sign including the direction of the next tee. Most were fairly obvious but in a few cases this was necessary. The tees are concrete and in good shape with plenty of grip for footing. However with my long legs I found them a little short. Most of this course is fairly technical with a couple of holes over 500 feet. The opening nine holes are easier with the closing nine featuring much tighter lines. This course is beginner friendly with enough trees to navigate around to please the more accomplished player.
Cons: Mosquitoes, lots of mosquitoes bring some good bug repellent with you. There are not many trash cans or benches around, but the park is remarkably clean even so.
Other Thoughts: This is not a particularly difficult course but fun none the less. It should be noted that there is a $2.00 entry fee for the park. However this is one of the best maintained parks I have visited. Maintenance is not cheep. Par should be 3 for all the holes except the two 500 foot holes that could be Par 4. If you are an advanced player, Par 3 on all holes. If you are in the Albany area this course is worth playing.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Play

1    4/2/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: SteveHalsell
Played: 30  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was a really enjoyable round for me to play. In the springtime you get a lot, A LOT, or pollen on your stuff, but it wasn't enough to stop me from playing here again. I had stopped by the park in December 2009 to check out the course and playground and made a note to come back as soon as I could to play a round. The following is my positive feedback:

- The layout of the course is great. There are good open holes and some wooded holes. There are short and long holes with both hyzer and anhyzer shots. Great variety of throwing styles.

- Navigation of the course was pretty easy. There is a huge map at the begining of the course (I always take a cell phone picture of maps at the begining of rounds and reference it if necessary). Also, there was string at the end of each basket on the ground in the direction of the next tee pad. It wasn't on all of the baskets, but it was helpful when it crossed roads or long distances.

- Difficulty of the course wasn't terrible, but it wasn't simple either. I was putting well and had some good approaches. I played par 3 for each hole (overall par 54) and shot a 53 (one under par).

- The setting for this course was great as well. There were enough trees to keep a lot of shade on the course.

- Big bonus for me was that Hole #1 tee pad, basket for Hole #9, and basket for Hole #18 were all near one another. This will allow for a quick 9 if you want, or a full 18 with a bathroom break in the middle of the round.

- The course seems very well maintained. The tee pads were concrete and well built, the baskets and tee signs were easy to see and had good detail, and there was little to no trash anywhere on the course.
Cons: - It is a pay to play course, but that's because it's in a park. It's $2 for a car. I always consider paying a con, but this isn't bad at all.

- There aren't a lot of very long holes. I don't think many top over 500 feet. It's good to have one or two, but if you just want wide open grip and rip, this isn't the course. I think it could use one or two more long holes, and to extend the wooded holes (the wooded holes were usually pretty short).
Other Thoughts: - If you come here in December there are lights everywhere. It's not nearly as extensive as Callaway Gardens, but it is impressive still.

- There are a few camping sports for tents, RVs, and even cabins if you want to make it an overnight trip.

- For kids there is an impressive looking zoo. I can't vouch for it because I haven't been there.

- I can vouch for the playground. It's gigantic and my daughter loved playing on it.

- This is a pay to play course, which I normally think is a con, but here it was worth the $2 to get into the park because it has so much else to offer, plus the course is really great.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 It's just okay

2-4    3/15/2010   3/19/2010
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great tee pads and clean. bathrooms and soda machines are close. very good signage but you could miss a hole by not paying very close attention to where the hole is next.
Cons: Cost 2 bucks per person to get in the park.
the course is clean but nothing special. It plays a bit short and water never comes into play. There are no blind shots and it's not very tech hard. Tons of trees.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.