Angier, NC 
Jack Marley Park Share
Uploaded By: LeeLK Hole #9 (Taken 10/2014)
-- / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Nice small town park, DG is a stretch here.

1    2/27/2016   8/11/2016
Review By: pmay5
Played: 83  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 13.5 Years
Pros: Nice DISCatcher baskets, tee pads (although pretty small), decent enough tee signs.
#1, #2 and #3 were all good holes, on open grass away from other park users, I think we all agree on that!
Cons: Several holes are adjacent to (or on) the walking path, the volleyball court, parking lots and the ballfield concession stand! Real dangerous for the other park users.
A couple of holes were across or next to the pond (on their left). Since this would usually attract families and newbies, no worse feeling then sending your plastic for a swim, then, GAME OVER!
Other Thoughts: Going back and looking at the aerial of this park, they've really crammed a lot of things into it, pond, walking path, tennis court, sand volleyball, basketball, horseshoes, bocce, picnic shelters and 4 ball fields that can double as soccer, oh and the DG course.
They really should pull the baskets after the first 3 and maybe put 3 of them around the other ballfields, from where they are now. That way they are behind the outfields, less traffic and would finish a little closer to the start. Then donate the extra baskets to another course that needs a practice basket, like Campbell and Anderson Creek.
I think this would make a better family and newbie DG experience and not give us a bad name if someone gets hurt.

Great idea - terrible execution

5+    6/20/2015   5/20/2016
Review By: anhyzer09
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are baskets, tee pads, running water and bathrooms.

Holes 1-3.
Cons: Everything about this course seems like wasted money. There could have been a place to put it or a better place to spend the money. When it was first put in, it wasn't bad because the park wasn't busy yet. Impossible to play now with so many people.
Other Thoughts: Not sure what the idea was here. Pads face the wrong way constantly and most of the holes are waaaaaay to close to populated areas.

Maybe the town can find another location and use the baskets there.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Mostly annoying

1    10/12/2014   10/12/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 60  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are in nice shape. Pads are concrete. Water makes it a bit interesting.
Cons: Pads are small and often facing the wrong direction. Signage at pads is too close, or missing. Except for #1-3, the holes all play very close to walking paths or ball fields so come on a slow day or you're going to be waiting a while to tee off. #6 is missing?
Other Thoughts: #1-3 are legit, shortish holes that are good warm ups. #4 and #5 are pretty fun, flirting with water. The rest play too close to structures and are mostly annoying.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/7/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: evilempire
Played: 27  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great park, nicely maintained and baskets in good shape.
Cons: Water hazard got 3 of our discs! Be careful (we are new to the sport). Pretty tight course with cars, people walking, lake, and buildings.
Other Thoughts: Kind of challenging cause you need decent accuracy on holes 4 and 5. We only got that far into the course. First 3 holes are great for letting some long shots rip in a nice open field.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 stop the train

1    3/4/2014   3/14/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice baskets in good shape. Solid tees for the most part. Decent tee signs too. The first three holes, while nothing special, are very playable. Wide open shots across a field but playable nonetheless. For a practice area, it should suffice nicely. There isn't a ton of driving space but the three baskets make a nice triangle with two-to-three hundred feet per side. It's also on nice grass with a creek running along one side. A nice area to throw.
Cons: The next stretch of holes has some potential but it's pretty much wasted. 4 has a short carry and I was kinda excited to throw it as I walked up to the tee, until someone drove in and parked about ten feet from the basket. He wasn't do anything wrong, there was a spot there, but I wasn't about to throw 230 ft over water with a car that close to the basket. Likewise, 5 could be a good hole, with the lake on the left and the basket on the water's edge. But, most of that fairway passes over volleyball courts and walkways. There was no one there to possibly spike my disc over the net, so I actually played that one. 6 has the potential to be the best hole there. It has the water and it has a guarded pin. But either the tee is directly behind the fifth basket or 5 has the shortest short pad in the history of disc golf.

The last three holes do not have potential. The fairway for these holes essentially is the paved walkway. That's how little space typically exists between two fences. Sandwiching a hole between a ballfield and the edge of the park was not a great idea. Luckily for the pedestrians, Very few golfers likely play this course. Those that do probably get lost somewhere before hole seven anyways.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 3 holes.

1    7/27/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: mrpolarbear
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes #1 - #3: Open, Kentucky blue grass short holes. Small creek runs along side hole #2.
Cons: Hole #4: Over the short corner of a retention pond. Unfortunately, there is a sidewalk running right in front of the pin & a park bench in striking distance as well.
Hole #5: Runs along the pond on one side and a volleyball court on the other. Too close.
Hole #6: MIA. Hole #6 was removed to extend the parking lot.
Holes #7 - #9 Wrap around the ball fields with very little "fairway". Hole #8 for example, catch a crosswind & your disc may be in someone's fenced back yard, or worse yet, in their living room. Grip-lock & your climbing another fence into the locked ballpark.
Other Thoughts: I have to echo what someone else wrote regarding this course. Holes #1 - #3 are nice practice holes. I'd recommend playing them a few times each and skipping the rest.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/9/2011   6/9/2011
Review By: New013
Played: 150  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 6.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All the baskets were there.
Holes 1-6 didn't piss me off.
The baseball fields looked nice.

There were 2 hookers or normal Angier women strutting around (I would put the hookers in the Cons section but they were still alive, when I find dead hookers i will put it in the cons section.
The grass was good for my bare feet.
Cons: Everyone else at the park.

Think of a thing you hate about small, underfunded, poorly planned dg courses and this has it.

My 2yo who spends hours taking tops off of things and then putting them back on got bored.
Other Thoughts: As another reviewer said... just play 1-6.

7-9 will lead you on an Indiana Jones adventure in which the lead character gets mauled by a redneck bear on steroids with a baseball bat.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 DON"T GO HERE!

2-4    3/5/2011   3/13/2011
Review By: Mpconrad
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Open area short holes make for great ace opportunities
Cons: 9 holes, Short, Deep pond, LOTS OF PEOPLE who don't get out of the way and possibility of killing a kid. Baseball fields are right beside holes, and course ends NO WHERE near parking area
Other Thoughts: Wouldn't waste your time unless you live within walking distance and don't feel like driving to Campbell's Course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Treeless

1    1/14/2011   1/17/2011
Review By: PDaddy
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: No trees! I wouldn't want to play this course regularly, but it was nice to get to sling the disc toward a goal with out so many obsticles. This course allows you to practice your distance throwing.
Cons: Like others say, throwing around the ball fields cold be a problem, but at lest there are gates in the fences if your disk lands on the field.
Other Thoughts: After playing the nine holes, we repeated 1 through 3 a couple more times. These three holes reallly allow you to let loose and make a big triangle that allows for repeating these three as often as you wish.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Work with what you have

5+    4/27/2010   5/6/2010
Review By: uncjibble
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all it was a real surprise to find a course in this area, as I live relatively nearby and any other course is close to 30 min. away. Like the other reviews said, the first 6 holes are fine. The ones where the lake comes into play are great (except for the occasional jogger). They did a good job of making use of limited space. One thing that hasn't been mentioned is that the park lighting pretty much follows the course. With the exception of 1-3 being a little dim, you can play this course after dark!
Cons: Unfortunately, they really ran out of space after 6. 7-9 are around the baseball fields and are unplayable about 90% of the time once baseball starts. I've tried before b/c I think disc golf has just as much of a right to the park as baseball does, but after a while its just not worth it. I've hit empty bleachers enough times to not want to risk it on full bleachers. Also on hole 4 there are parking spots within 30 ft of the hole. There are not usually cars there, but I hate throwing at when they are there, since you could have a pretty solid shot and still hit a car.
Other Thoughts: I work nearby, and I come over to play on my lunch break every now and then. In the middle of the day during the week, the course is uncrowded, and most of its problems go away. If you catch the course at a time like this, its actually a pretty decent course. I'm really glad they put this course in, and I think they did the best they could with the small amount of land they had. Considering there are no other courses nearby, its nice to have it when you don't want to drive 30 min to Middle Creek or 45 to Kentwood, Cedar Hills, or Buckhorn.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.