Angier, NC 
Jack Marley Park Share
Uploaded By: aggreen Hole #9 (Taken 2/2011)
-- / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    6/7/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: evilempire
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great park, nicely maintained and baskets in good shape.
Cons: Water hazard got 3 of our discs! Be careful (we are new to the sport). Pretty tight course with cars, people walking, lake, and buildings.
Other Thoughts: Kind of challenging cause you need decent accuracy on holes 4 and 5. We only got that far into the course. First 3 holes are great for letting some long shots rip in a nice open field.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

stop the train

1    3/4/2014   3/14/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 176  Reviewed: 175  Exp: 3.1 Years
Pros: Nice baskets in good shape. Solid tees for the most part. Decent tee signs too. The first three holes, while nothing special, are very playable. Wide open shots across a field but playable nonetheless. For a practice area, it should suffice nicely. There isn't a ton of driving space but the three baskets make a nice triangle with two-to-three hundred feet per side. It's also on nice grass with a creek running along one side. A nice area to throw.
Cons: The next stretch of holes has some potential but it's pretty much wasted. 4 has a short carry and I was kinda excited to throw it as I walked up to the tee, until someone drove in and parked about ten feet from the basket. He wasn't do anything wrong, there was a spot there, but I wasn't about to throw 230 ft over water with a car that close to the basket. Likewise, 5 could be a good hole, with the lake on the left and the basket on the water's edge. But, most of that fairway passes over volleyball courts and walkways. There was no one there to possibly spike my disc over the net, so I actually played that one. 6 has the potential to be the best hole there. It has the water and it has a guarded pin. But either the tee is directly behind the fifth basket or 5 has the shortest short pad in the history of disc golf.

The last three holes do not have potential. The fairway for these holes essentially is the paved walkway. That's how little space typically exists between two fences. Sandwiching a hole between a ballfield and the edge of the park was not a great idea. Luckily for the pedestrians, Very few golfers likely play this course. Those that do probably get lost somewhere before hole seven anyways.

3 holes.

1    7/27/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: mrpolarbear
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes #1 - #3: Open, Kentucky blue grass short holes. Small creek runs along side hole #2.
Cons: Hole #4: Over the short corner of a retention pond. Unfortunately, there is a sidewalk running right in front of the pin & a park bench in striking distance as well.
Hole #5: Runs along the pond on one side and a volleyball court on the other. Too close.
Hole #6: MIA. Hole #6 was removed to extend the parking lot.
Holes #7 - #9 Wrap around the ball fields with very little "fairway". Hole #8 for example, catch a crosswind & your disc may be in someone's fenced back yard, or worse yet, in their living room. Grip-lock & your climbing another fence into the locked ballpark.
Other Thoughts: I have to echo what someone else wrote regarding this course. Holes #1 - #3 are nice practice holes. I'd recommend playing them a few times each and skipping the rest.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/9/2011   6/9/2011
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All the baskets were there.
Holes 1-6 didn't piss me off.
The baseball fields looked nice.

There were 2 hookers or normal Angier women strutting around (I would put the hookers in the Cons section but they were still alive, when I find dead hookers i will put it in the cons section.
The grass was good for my bare feet.
Cons: Everyone else at the park.

Think of a thing you hate about small, underfunded, poorly planned dg courses and this has it.

My 2yo who spends hours taking tops off of things and then putting them back on got bored.
Other Thoughts: As another reviewer said... just play 1-6.

7-9 will lead you on an Indiana Jones adventure in which the lead character gets mauled by a redneck bear on steroids with a baseball bat.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 DON"T GO HERE!

2-4    3/5/2011   3/13/2011
Review By: Mpconrad
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Open area short holes make for great ace opportunities
Cons: 9 holes, Short, Deep pond, LOTS OF PEOPLE who don't get out of the way and possibility of killing a kid. Baseball fields are right beside holes, and course ends NO WHERE near parking area
Other Thoughts: Wouldn't waste your time unless you live within walking distance and don't feel like driving to Campbell's Course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Treeless

1    1/14/2011   1/17/2011
Review By: PDaddy
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: No trees! I wouldn't want to play this course regularly, but it was nice to get to sling the disc toward a goal with out so many obsticles. This course allows you to practice your distance throwing.
Cons: Like others say, throwing around the ball fields cold be a problem, but at lest there are gates in the fences if your disk lands on the field.
Other Thoughts: After playing the nine holes, we repeated 1 through 3 a couple more times. These three holes reallly allow you to let loose and make a big triangle that allows for repeating these three as often as you wish.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Work with what you have

5+    4/27/2010   5/6/2010
Review By: uncjibble
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all it was a real surprise to find a course in this area, as I live relatively nearby and any other course is close to 30 min. away. Like the other reviews said, the first 6 holes are fine. The ones where the lake comes into play are great (except for the occasional jogger). They did a good job of making use of limited space. One thing that hasn't been mentioned is that the park lighting pretty much follows the course. With the exception of 1-3 being a little dim, you can play this course after dark!
Cons: Unfortunately, they really ran out of space after 6. 7-9 are around the baseball fields and are unplayable about 90% of the time once baseball starts. I've tried before b/c I think disc golf has just as much of a right to the park as baseball does, but after a while its just not worth it. I've hit empty bleachers enough times to not want to risk it on full bleachers. Also on hole 4 there are parking spots within 30 ft of the hole. There are not usually cars there, but I hate throwing at when they are there, since you could have a pretty solid shot and still hit a car.
Other Thoughts: I work nearby, and I come over to play on my lunch break every now and then. In the middle of the day during the week, the course is uncrowded, and most of its problems go away. If you catch the course at a time like this, its actually a pretty decent course. I'm really glad they put this course in, and I think they did the best they could with the small amount of land they had. Considering there are no other courses nearby, its nice to have it when you don't want to drive 30 min to Middle Creek or 45 to Kentwood, Cedar Hills, or Buckhorn.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Three Three Three

1    9/25/2009   10/24/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 226  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/23/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very scenic park with a nice pond and wild life. Nice Discatcher baskets, strategically positioned to use the water to increase the difficulty of some holes.

Grass was very well maintained, plenty of parking and nice bathrooms.
Cons: Located in a multi use park, so there is the potential for a lot of pedestrians walking through the course. The last 6 holes are basically unplayable if there are too many people walking around.

Holes 4-6 wind along the one side of the pond, but there is a sidewalk that runs parallel and through most of the fairways. There is also a beach volleyball court in 5 fairway, which could be dangerous if a game is taken place.

Unfortunately, the last 3 holes are located around two baseball fields and unplayable if a game is present at either field. Basket and fairways too close to the bleachers and/or field, makes some very dangerous throws.

Basket 9 might be the worst designed hole I've played. There is a walking path through the length of the fairway, with a blind corner near the basket. Pedestrians come around this corner into 9 fairway and can easily get hit with a drive coming towards them.

9 basket ends near #6 basket, a long way from #1 tee. Maybe if no one else is playing the course, you might be able to play holes 6 to 3 backwards to return back to #1.
Other Thoughts: This course could potentially be very good. It already uses the pond to it's advantage, but it needs some tweaking to really make it good.

If it could circle the pond, it would add difficulty, avoid non disc golfers and return back towards #1.

Best time to play this course is when there isn't an athletic event happening. Early or late in the day would be best, but there are still plenty of walker/joggers to avoid.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Played here twice

2-4    9/5/2009   10/3/2009
Review By: Sp00ks
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 25.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I have to agree with Olorin almost 100%. However, it appears that I enjoyed the course a little more.

Holes 1-3 are gorgeous albeit a little short.
Cons: 7-9 are not as enjoyable. Ball fields, people, fences etc. I would fear playing these holes with a ball game going on.
Other Thoughts: There is a danger factor here. We had a family picnicking and were oblivious to where they were sitting and the danger they could be in. They sat in a place that they could be struck from two different holes. We ended up picking up and not playing 9 for fear of hurting someone.

I was surprised to even see a course in this little park. I commend whomever built the course for the undertaking and fear this will never be a viable option for most but if you live close it is good for a quick round.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 3 sections: the OK, the Good, & the Bad

2-4    9/23/2008   9/26/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 302  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2008
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays in 3 distinct sections: 1-3 "the OK"/ 4-6 "the Good"/ 7-9 "the Bad". Holes 1-3, "the OK", are short, open, grassy holes with only 1 tree in play. I will say that hole 2 is a nice little open plum just begging to be aced, so that makes it fun to run at. Holes 4-6, "the Good", are still short, but they have water in play or at least in view that make these the best on the course. They're the most scenic, have the most risk vs. reward, and are the most fun. (Comments on holes 7-9 are below.) There are good tee signs with a map of the hole.
Cons: Holes 7-9, "the Bad". The first hint of things getting worse is that after basket 6 confusion sets in trying to find tee 7. You see a basket nearby, but it turns out to be number 9. So where is tee 7? It turns out that you have to cross the hole 9 fairway and walk a ways to get to tee 7. Lawyers looking for lawsuit clients should hang out near holes 7-9 and just wait for unwary park patrons to get pegged with discs. These threes holes play on the sides of two baseball fields. On hole 7 the shortest route is over the baseball field, plus there's a walking path the whole length of the fairway. On holes 8 and 9 you throw over the walking trail and over bleachers that may have parents watching little league baseball games! Holes 1-6 are a little below average, but holes 7-9 pull that rating way, way down.
-Safety issues- There are also safety issues galore! On six holes you need to watch out for people in parking lots, on walking trails, on baseball fields, or on volleyball courts. If you play after 5:00 p.m. when the joggers and walkers are out, or on weekends when little league teams are using the ball fields and bleachers, the park is very crowded, so watch out!
-Tees: The tee pads are way too short (~6 ft long), and some tee pads (1, 3) are put in at awkward angles to the flight path.
-Signs: Some tee signs are at the right front corner of the tee, so a RHBH follow through could get a whacked hand (3, 8, 9).
-Length variety: quite low: 6 holes of 205-255/ 3 holes of 315-330
-Elevation changes: The course is almost all flat with a 4 ft drop as the biggest change.
-I'm pretty sure that holes 1-5 are actually quite a bit shorter than the lengths on the tee signs.
-After you finish hole 9 there's a very long walk back to the parking lot near hole 1. You can decrease your walk back if you park near basket 4 or 5, but then you have a long walk just to get to hole 1.
Other Thoughts: Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 875-925.) Holes 1-6 are pretty short.

You be the judge-

As far as amenities go there are good bathrooms, and some park benches on the walking trail (that can also be in the fairways), but not much else. The course is still new, though.

I realize that it takes a lot of work to get a disc golf course put in, so I'm sorry that I have to be so negative in my review, but this course shows how necessary it is to use a qualified course designer. The course might even be improved by taking the drastic, and very unusual, step of removing holes 7-9. In my opinion, if the course only had the first 6 holes it would be better than the current layout. As it is now, you shouldn't go out of your way to play there, and after you've played it once there's not much reason to go back.

Note: If you want to read more specifics about my evaluation, please send me an email to <playdiscgolf(at)gmail.com> and I'll send you a file with more details.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.