St. Charles, MI 
The Pines DGC Share
Uploaded By: catiadude69 Hole #8 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 289ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Another techical wooded Michigan course.

1    7/23/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you're looking for a clean, family friendly park with a great course for skill development, this is the place to go.

This is a typical, heavily wooded Michigan course with almost no elevation changes. The course meanders through the park with nicely cleared fairways, simple but descriptive tee signs, well kept baskets, and several benches.

Hole variety includes short pipelines, fading rights and lefts, a couple of "S"s, a dog-leg or two and 2 more open holes where intermediate players can open up a bit.

The stand-outs on this course are:

The wide open drive on #7 with the pin tucked into the tree line on the left - a nice change after the first 6 heavily wooded holes! Next is #13 with the creek bed lining the entire right side of the hole and #16 with its super narrow pine tree alley. Finally, #18 is a sneaky left fade with the pin protected by trees.
Cons: The asphalt tee pads are too short, even for me, and many of the are already showing their age with buckling, flaking, and general disintegration.

This course is packed into a very small area and most holes parallel each other. While the abundant tree coverage makes it feel like you're not that close to neighboring players, you really are and the likelihood of getting hit by errant throws is pretty high.

Course flow is hampered by the plot the course was built on, so there are 3 fairly significant hikes to #5, #6, and #18. Navigation is made mostly painless in these areas by the use of the walking path and hole #s with directional arrows painted on key trees in hunter orange, so make sure you're looking up so you don't miss them. BTW, #18 proved the most difficult to find for us....it can be found with a sharp left just past the skating rink.
Other Thoughts: There's lots of other stuff happening in this park and the course was clean and well tended. In addition, there's a water spigot available near the #18 tee in case your water bottle is empty.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, but on the small side.

5+    5/1/2012   5/1/2012
Review By: Mac423
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -located in nice park in small town. Basketball courts, softball fields, picnic pavilions and playgrounds are available.
-very beginner friendly
-rarely any backups on the course
-generally hard to lose a disc (unless it buries itself in leaves)
-Local PD often patrols parking lot, keeping vehicles secure.
Cons: -near zero terrain change in the entire course.
-some truly horrible tee pads (short and very unlevel)
-many holes are mirror images of those next to it, making for repetitive play
Other Thoughts: While a nice course, it lacks anything to truly set it apart. Being a 15 minute drive, it is still worth the occasional play. Would make a great course to teach new players or children the game. A nice DG store named DiskZone is open right outside the entrance to the park. They carry a nice selection of new and used discs!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 small park

1    4/25/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: AKasprzak
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Alot of right handed holes. Clean, easy to follow signs. nice pads. enjoyed our self, child friendly.
Cons: all the holes are really close together cramed together in the woods, but still nice to play.
Other Thoughts: We had a fun time at this park. I dont think i would go out of my way to go back, but if i was in the area i would stop and play a round.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 New Course

1    11/6/2008   11/7/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Hole Variety/Course Layout--
Mostly tech but not by anymeans a "pinball course". Good layout that comes in and out of a patch of woods. You play around a baseball field and hocky rink but they never become a factor.

Course Maintenance--
Nice clean park near downtown St. Charles. There are tee pads on every hole, and I had never seen tee pads like this before! They're asphalt with wood surrounding them and they have the same grip as concrete (maybe better).

Course Navigation--
Some of the nicest signs ive ever seen! Every sign shows a picture of the course map and has the hole your on highlighted. Also every sign has the hole distance on it. No maps online but you can see where the next hole is by arrows marked on the trees and by looking at the maps on every hole.
Cons:
--"no holes over 600 ft" and pretty much no "open" holes, these arn't cons in my book but I know it might be in some peoples.

--It somewhat lacks variety, alot of the holes feel repetative.
Other Thoughts:
Course Atmosphere--
Its in a small village park in some woods, you feel like your playing in peoples backyards some of the time. We only saw one other person playing when I was there.

Hazards--
Small creek on 2 or 3 holes (deep enough to get you wet, but not deep enough to lose your disc).

Access To Course--
Easy! One road off the main street in the city (St. Charles).

Once inside park the course is half way down the park road on the left hand side (If you see a basket about 20 feet from the road then you went a little to far because thats basket 18, hole #1 is on the left a little before basket 18).

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.