St. Charles, MI 
The Pines DGC Share
Uploaded By: catiadude69 Hole #4 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 292ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    7/13/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: SAxDrc
Played: 23  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -well maintained; nice benches and trash cans on most holes.
-decent signs. a post with a picture of the hole and the distance
-good tee pads (though short)
-navigation is pretty easy.
-I could see this course being very good for either beginners or a more advanced player who wants to work on his/her mid and putter throws.
-something about the atmosphere of the place was good. I had a lot of fun at this course for some reason.
Cons: -the biggest con was that it gets repetitive. 17 short holes(<300') through some trees, 1 medium length(341') hole with slightly less trees.
-tee pads seemed short.
-the water hazard was nasty and smelled bad.
-no elevation change at all.
Other Thoughts: not a destination course, but fun to play if you're in the area.

near the course there is a store called "disc golf zone." they had a good selection of innova and discraft discs at reasonable prices.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch & Putt at The Pines

1    5/28/2011   5/28/2011
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 163  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 10.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Setting: Fun course with a woodsy Michigan feel. Course is set apart from other activities in a quiet, well maintained, multi-use community park in small-town USA with easy access off the main road with plenty of parking.

Disc Play: short and technical, but every hole (except for one) had quite executable lines. Decent mix of left, right, and straight shots. Good course for beginners to learn shot shaping and line execution.

Lots of Ace & Birdie runs. Except for its relatively remote location, this would be a GREAT COURSE FOR AN ACE RACE!!!

Hardware: Asphalt pads were fine but a too short for my tastes (although not much of a run-up is required on these short holes). Baskets were in great shape. Benches made from split logs on many holes and the bridges that take you over the creek add a little something.

Navigation: Virtually effortless - course flows really well. Map on board by 1st tee shows many holes zig-zag back and forth with parallel fairways running in opposite directions. Had to search for next tee pad 2-3 times, but only for a couple of minutes. I really liked the short red tee markers - quite effective with distance and line diagram of hole layout.
Cons: Course feels monotonous by the time you finish the front nine.

Would really benefit from a few long holes (even if they were wooded) as well as a couple of open holes.

Not much challenge, but I don't get the feeling that's what this course was intended for.

No elevation changes - completely two dimensional (I don't ding ratings for this - hard to change mother nature).

This is anything but a "complete" course that uses every disc in your bag and every shot in your repertoire. Some will say this course is boring. Others will find it frustrating as hell. If you're looking for grip'n'rip, don't bother visiting.
Other Thoughts: Personally, I like short, technical, control courses, but there's no denying this course gets repetitive. I teed off with a mid or putter on 14 of the 18 holes, only pulling a driver out 4 times.

Stand-out holes: Hole 16 was interesting: it's a very short fairway that curves to the right with the basket situated in the middle of several carefully planted rows of mature pine trees… must have been part of a pine tree farm - seriously. I was lucky enough to birdie the hole, but you could easily have a pretty nice shot that pinballs around on that particular hole. I wouldn't call it good hole design, but it's certainly different, and stuck out for me.
17 is easily the longest hole on the course, and the only one I would call moderately open. After 16 holes worth of pitch and putt, it really felt good to let one rip on a fairway that had enough room for a disc to turn over a bit, and then fade back.

Limiting my rating strictly to disc play, I can't give this course anything more than 2.5. But throw in good tee markers, solid (if short) tees, easy navigation, great baskets, and the overall charm of the place, and well… I'll bump another ˝ disc for those.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 short

1    7/9/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Mostly solid hole design, has variety
- Short is a pro here it's a course designed for newer players or to polish skills
- "Up North" woodsy feel
Cons: - Well marked, well maintained
- Not much rough
- Near the end a few holes have no realistic flight path they get poke and pray towards the basket at the end
Other Thoughts: worth playing if nearby but not a destination course. beats the Vines nearby

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 a general fun course

5+    7/5/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: bigjohnd24
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set in a park off the main road, and they did a good job with the space they had to work with. There are maps located around the course and it would be almost impossible to get lost. Mostly tech in the woods, but not as dense as other courses I've played. Hole #17 has a cool approach over a creek to the tee. Some of the back 9 get tough with severe hyzers/anhyzers, but all in fun.
Cons: The holes can seem to get a little repetitive in the middle of the course. If you run off the fairway on some of the 'tree line' holes, just lay up back on; you're not making par. And some of the holes seemingly lack any fairway at all, with the pin back some 200-300 ft behind a bunch of scattered trees.

My buddy constantly complains about the short tee pads 'messing up his footwork'.
Other Thoughts: I can understand how some would say this course is easy, but it's not really much different than Titta. Park or the Banks. I actually need to get back out to this course, because it really helps focus your extreme hyzer/anhyzer shots.

There's a grocery store down the road that sells discs and beer and there's a bar right across the street, which is always a plus.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/12/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: Jazzbass33
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: You don't have to wait through a lot of other groups on this course.The rough is woody enough to be a challenge,yet you won't easily loose a disk.Benches are vary nice.
Cons: Some high level players might say this course is a bit short,or even a little easy...
Other Thoughts: I like #15&18,they both have a somewhat "extreme" dog leg thing going on....Over all a clean,fairly varied course with a "fun"level of challenge.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center