St. Charles, MI 
The Pines DGC Share
Uploaded By: fleeulrich Hole #2 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 218ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Marker



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    4/29/2012   4/30/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is a great course for beginners, and even for solid player. hand made benches, trash cans on every hole, nice baskets, nice tee pads, there wasnt one hole that was crazy.
Cons: I really dnt see any cons for this course. The course was very clean.
Other Thoughts: Had 9 birdies, almost had a ace, just missed it, this course rocks

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/16/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: carlzmyhomeboy
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short holes are good for beginners, but if you've been playing for awhile, hitting trees and getting a 5 is a real bummer.
It's a good oportunity to work on technique and aim.
Very clean, we only saw a few pieces of trash on the whole course.
The markers tell you where the basket is and how many feet the hole is.
Cons: A lot of trees!
We got a little confused going from 5 to 6, so go with someone who has played there before or print up a map.
Other Thoughts: I go discing with my daughter and my niece so the fact that they have an awesome old style playground is a huge bonus.
Despite the fact that it was windy and overcast we all had a blast playing and would love to go back and play it again, we drove over an hour and a half to get there.
There are so many trees because it is a planted forest, all the trees line up almost perfectly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/1/2010   6/10/2009
Review By: fleeulrich
Played: 36  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to find the holes. Very clean, trash cans and benches are available. I have ran into the course designer many times, he's always working on the course to perfect it. Signage is very nice. Most holes have a mostly straight on path through the trees, but there are other holes like #1 has a nice lil bend to the left, but is very short, #3 has a nice bend to the right, #15 has a nice hook to the left, #16 is a bend to the right with rows and rows of trees on both sides. You have to use good disc placement, because if you get too deep in the trees it is very hard to salvage a par.

*Update*4/01/2014
Lots of upgrades happening. The old black top pads are being replaced with concrete most of which have been completed already. Hole layouts have changed for the following holes: 5, 6, 7, 8, 12, 13. Holes 7 and 8 layouts are completely different making them much more challenging. The rest of the changes were mainly keeping the same layout but making them longer.
Cons: This course can at times be full of hungry mosquitos. Careful in the fall, and keep an eye on those discs because the leaves on the ground will swollow your disc.
Other Thoughts: I have played many courses, and I have played this one many times, as it is one of the courses closest to my house, hole #17 is my favorite hole. You have a nice straight drive then right before the basket, maybe 25 feet is a creek, makes for some fun puts across the creek. I love how they moved the tee pad for hole #3, making it more difficult with a big tree right in front of you.

*UPDATE*..as this course is getting more popular I have notice more and more vandalism as of late. I think it is hole 13 that has three trees broken down. Not to mention the numerous signs that have been ruined throughout the course. This is still a real fun course it just bothers me when immature idiots find the need to ruin good things.

*UPDATE*3/20/2011: After playing a couple times over the winter I have noticed all the signs have been removed. At least now all those idiots that were trashing the signs dont have anymore signs to ruin.

*UPDATE* 4/2/2011
I just finished playing the course and they have new signs up at each pad now. They are just a basic sign constructed from a short piece of 4 X 4 painted red with the hole #, distance, and an arrow showing the hole layout.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Laundry Room

1    5/13/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: -johnbob
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The layout as far as what they had to work with is really well done. The bridge and benches are very nice and well designed. It has the ability to be a quick run through with some interesting challenges. Some of which are the creek running through the course , or as I found out, someones backyard. The course is very well kept! One of the cleanest free courses I have played. While I was playing, the course designer was there doing maintenance on it. He was nice, and welcomed me and my friends. Well printed maps at every hole made it nice and easy to find your way around. They also marked the trees with arrows so you knew which way to go.
Cons: As stated below the course does have the "playing in someones yard" feel. When we played I was watching the man in fron of me hang up his underwear to dry in his back yard. And though the tees are nice I felt that they ran a little short for my liking.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played this course, do it. There's not that many people that play it so you don't have to wait. It is a great course to hone your skills.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.