St. Charles, MI 
The Pines DGC Share
Uploaded By: catiadude69 Hole #10 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
second verse, same as the first...

1    11/15/2013   11/15/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through a large multi-use park. intersects walking paths and trails. shouldn't be a huge distractor though.

Routing and nav-- not bad. the long walk past the "pool" x2 is a bit annoying but not overly bad.

Teepads-- adequate. See "other thoughts"

Teesigns--very basic, gives a tee number and MAYBE a distance and crude map. more of a tee marker than anything.

Cons:
Repetition- this course is the most repetitive course ever. the switch backs from 5-17 are AWFUL. I wanted to quit about five holes into them. they were the same hole over and over and over...

Challenge-- not an overly challenging course by any means. most holes are relatively straight and dont' have much topography to help them.
Other Thoughts:
Course seems to be under construction. many teepad forms are in place and some of the concrete pads are in. should improve the course overall.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A little too blah

1    8/17/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: jon33jon2003
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.4 Years
Pros: Easy course, plenty of benches and trash cans. almost impossible to lose a disc.
Cons: Too easy, extremely repetitive. Middle holes are all the same and layed out side by side for quite a few holes. Creek is stinky and nasty. Not secluded at all. Very short holes. Confusing getting to the next tee in some cases.
Other Thoughts: I didnt expect too much going into this course and got just what I was looking for. Not a bad course for kids or beginners who are not looking for a challenge. This will be a good course to take friends who are playing for the first time. Just a little too boring and repetitive for me as I like the walk in the woods as much as the actual playing most times.

 Another techical wooded Michigan course.

1    7/23/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you're looking for a clean, family friendly park with a great course for skill development, this is the place to go.

This is a typical, heavily wooded Michigan course with almost no elevation changes. The course meanders through the park with nicely cleared fairways, simple but descriptive tee signs, well kept baskets, and several benches.

Hole variety includes short pipelines, fading rights and lefts, a couple of "S"s, a dog-leg or two and 2 more open holes where intermediate players can open up a bit.

The stand-outs on this course are:

The wide open drive on #7 with the pin tucked into the tree line on the left - a nice change after the first 6 heavily wooded holes! Next is #13 with the creek bed lining the entire right side of the hole and #16 with its super narrow pine tree alley. Finally, #18 is a sneaky left fade with the pin protected by trees.
Cons: The asphalt tee pads are too short, even for me, and many of the are already showing their age with buckling, flaking, and general disintegration.

This course is packed into a very small area and most holes parallel each other. While the abundant tree coverage makes it feel like you're not that close to neighboring players, you really are and the likelihood of getting hit by errant throws is pretty high.

Course flow is hampered by the plot the course was built on, so there are 3 fairly significant hikes to #5, #6, and #18. Navigation is made mostly painless in these areas by the use of the walking path and hole #s with directional arrows painted on key trees in hunter orange, so make sure you're looking up so you don't miss them. BTW, #18 proved the most difficult to find for us....it can be found with a sharp left just past the skating rink.
Other Thoughts: There's lots of other stuff happening in this park and the course was clean and well tended. In addition, there's a water spigot available near the #18 tee in case your water bottle is empty.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great for the not so good

5+    6/10/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: qqq1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Most holes have a good amount of room to play in.
-No painfully long holes
-Not a lot of places to totally lose a disc
-Generally pretty clean
-Interesting how you suddenly switch between 2 forest types and a field.
-No need for advanced skills
Cons: -No need for advanced skills
-The small stream smells pretty bad some times
-Occasional people from the park walking/biking on the course (I say throw anyway. They know they shouldn't be there.)
-Tightly laid holes means most are pretty similar
-Some tees need fixing
-Squirrels everywhere. Not actually an issue
Other Thoughts: This course is probably best for beginners and people like me, those who just aren't that good. Don't know how people are so slow sometimes here. I'll start with no one on 1-4, get over to the 5th, and they're just teeing off.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, but on the small side.

5+    5/1/2012   5/1/2012
Review By: Mac423
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -located in nice park in small town. Basketball courts, softball fields, picnic pavilions and playgrounds are available.
-very beginner friendly
-rarely any backups on the course
-generally hard to lose a disc (unless it buries itself in leaves)
-Local PD often patrols parking lot, keeping vehicles secure.
Cons: -near zero terrain change in the entire course.
-some truly horrible tee pads (short and very unlevel)
-many holes are mirror images of those next to it, making for repetitive play
Other Thoughts: While a nice course, it lacks anything to truly set it apart. Being a 15 minute drive, it is still worth the occasional play. Would make a great course to teach new players or children the game. A nice DG store named DiskZone is open right outside the entrance to the park. They carry a nice selection of new and used discs!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/29/2012   4/30/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is a great course for beginners, and even for solid player. hand made benches, trash cans on every hole, nice baskets, nice tee pads, there wasnt one hole that was crazy.
Cons: I really dnt see any cons for this course. The course was very clean.
Other Thoughts: Had 9 birdies, almost had a ace, just missed it, this course rocks

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/13/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: SAxDrc
Played: 23  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -well maintained; nice benches and trash cans on most holes.
-decent signs. a post with a picture of the hole and the distance
-good tee pads (though short)
-navigation is pretty easy.
-I could see this course being very good for either beginners or a more advanced player who wants to work on his/her mid and putter throws.
-something about the atmosphere of the place was good. I had a lot of fun at this course for some reason.
Cons: -the biggest con was that it gets repetitive. 17 short holes(<300') through some trees, 1 medium length(341') hole with slightly less trees.
-tee pads seemed short.
-the water hazard was nasty and smelled bad.
-no elevation change at all.
Other Thoughts: not a destination course, but fun to play if you're in the area.

near the course there is a store called "disc golf zone." they had a good selection of innova and discraft discs at reasonable prices.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch & Putt at The Pines

1    5/28/2011   5/28/2011
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Setting: Fun course with a woodsy Michigan feel. Course is set apart from other activities in a quiet, well maintained, multi-use community park in small-town USA with easy access off the main road with plenty of parking.

Disc Play: short and technical, but every hole (except for one) had quite executable lines. Decent mix of left, right, and straight shots. Good course for beginners to learn shot shaping and line execution.

Lots of Ace & Birdie runs. Except for its relatively remote location, this would be a GREAT COURSE FOR AN ACE RACE!!!

Hardware: Asphalt pads were fine but a too short for my tastes (although not much of a run-up is required on these short holes). Baskets were in great shape. Benches made from split logs on many holes and the bridges that take you over the creek add a little something.

Navigation: Virtually effortless - course flows really well. Map on board by 1st tee shows many holes zig-zag back and forth with parallel fairways running in opposite directions. Had to search for next tee pad 2-3 times, but only for a couple of minutes. I really liked the short red tee markers - quite effective with distance and line diagram of hole layout.
Cons: Course feels monotonous by the time you finish the front nine.

Would really benefit from a few long holes (even if they were wooded) as well as a couple of open holes.

Not much challenge, but I don't get the feeling that's what this course was intended for.

No elevation changes - completely two dimensional (I don't ding ratings for this - hard to change mother nature).

This is anything but a "complete" course that uses every disc in your bag and every shot in your repertoire. Some will say this course is boring. Others will find it frustrating as hell. If you're looking for grip'n'rip, don't bother visiting.
Other Thoughts: Personally, I like short, technical, control courses, but there's no denying this course gets repetitive. I teed off with a mid or putter on 14 of the 18 holes, only pulling a driver out 4 times.

Stand-out holes: Hole 16 was interesting: it's a very short fairway that curves to the right with the basket situated in the middle of several carefully planted rows of mature pine trees… must have been part of a pine tree farm - seriously. I was lucky enough to birdie the hole, but you could easily have a pretty nice shot that pinballs around on that particular hole. I wouldn't call it good hole design, but it's certainly different, and stuck out for me.
17 is easily the longest hole on the course, and the only one I would call moderately open. After 16 holes worth of pitch and putt, it really felt good to let one rip on a fairway that had enough room for a disc to turn over a bit, and then fade back.

Limiting my rating strictly to disc play, I can't give this course anything more than 2.5. But throw in good tee markers, solid (if short) tees, easy navigation, great baskets, and the overall charm of the place, and well… I'll bump another ˝ disc for those.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 small park

1    4/25/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: AKasprzak
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Alot of right handed holes. Clean, easy to follow signs. nice pads. enjoyed our self, child friendly.
Cons: all the holes are really close together cramed together in the woods, but still nice to play.
Other Thoughts: We had a fun time at this park. I dont think i would go out of my way to go back, but if i was in the area i would stop and play a round.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Technical Course

5+    5/1/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: Gyro
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well kept park with tee pads. Many fun and interesting shots that provide a challenge. Mostly a tree/technical course.
Cons: No really long holes and not many holes that really let you open up.
Other Thoughts: Not a terribly difficult course as long as you avoid all the pine trees.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.