St. Charles, MI 
The Pines DGC Share
Uploaded By: catiadude69 Hole #13 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 262ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
  

1    4/16/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: carlzmyhomeboy
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short holes are good for beginners, but if you've been playing for awhile, hitting trees and getting a 5 is a real bummer.
It's a good oportunity to work on technique and aim.
Very clean, we only saw a few pieces of trash on the whole course.
The markers tell you where the basket is and how many feet the hole is.
Cons: A lot of trees!
We got a little confused going from 5 to 6, so go with someone who has played there before or print up a map.
Other Thoughts: I go discing with my daughter and my niece so the fact that they have an awesome old style playground is a huge bonus.
Despite the fact that it was windy and overcast we all had a blast playing and would love to go back and play it again, we drove over an hour and a half to get there.
There are so many trees because it is a planted forest, all the trees line up almost perfectly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Pines

2-4    6/15/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: Ace_star2103
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course Design:
-A good variety of holes for how small the park is, some holes get repetative
-Sticks to the course, there is a baseball diamond, but nothing ever gets in the way of play. Some holes go right behind peoples houses
-(Obviously) plays through a lot of pines

Maintenence:
-Course is well kept and very clean with a couple trash cans
-Every tee has a post with a detailed map of the hole your on and how long it is
-Nice, asphalt pads on every hole
-Very easy navigation to the next hole, just look for arrows on trees to show the way

Highlight Holes:
For me the hole that really stood out was hole number 17. After 16 solid holes of dodging and curving through pines hole 17 brings you into a small straight opening. Its the longest hole that goes over a small creek to the hole.
Cons: Hazards:
-A small creek comes into play especially on 17 but also along side of holes 5,13, and 14. The creek is the only thing to dodge besides all of the pines.

-No long holes, all holes are relatively short and technical. Lots of the holes either require a big hyzer or anhyzer. Some holes in the back 9 get repetative
Other Thoughts: A great course with a great atmosphere! It gives you the real "Michigan woodsy" kinda feel. The course is easy to access, right off of the main street. Course never really gets packed. Some holes are definetly ace-able and many birdie opportunities. Get lots of birdies on the front nine before you get to the less forgiving back nine, especially holes 15-18. A very fun short, technical course that defiently worth checking out!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 short

1    7/9/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Mostly solid hole design, has variety
- Short is a pro here it's a course designed for newer players or to polish skills
- "Up North" woodsy feel
Cons: - Well marked, well maintained
- Not much rough
- Near the end a few holes have no realistic flight path they get poke and pray towards the basket at the end
Other Thoughts: worth playing if nearby but not a destination course. beats the Vines nearby

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Pines

5+    4/9/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: Pickles
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course with many different hole layouts. Great for honing your hyzer/anhyzer skills. Plenty of birdie opportunities right from hole 1. Holes 1, 5 & 7 are ace-able, but I've never done it. Rarely crowded and seldom are there periods of waiting for large groups. Course is kept up well despite vandalism. In the winter there were trails through the snow and pads are swept of leaves in the fall.
Cons: A lot of trees, but if you can't avoid them then its easy to maintain par cause the holes are mostly shorter. Bad mosquitos in the summer. There is a disgusting ditch/creek that is just nasty in the summer and late fall and can stinkify your discs and or shoes if you get off the fairway on holes 5, 13, 14 and 17. Seriously its nasty, I call it the cancer ditch because it was bright orange at one point last year. Very technical course, some may see that as a con, but I don't. Pads are shortish, but nice.
Other Thoughts: Nice play park for kids and pool and skate rink right at the park, plus trails for walkers. Always friendly people there too. Pollution and destruction are a problem, but mostly I am assuming because young kids hangout there since St. Charles doesn't have a lot of other places for the kids to be. I play here very often and love it!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pine Scented

5+    10/20/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: Mad Scientist
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course's shorter, technical layout rewards accuracy and control. Getting some birdies early on might save you on the back 9. Plenty of shade throughout the course helps keep you cool on those hot Summer days.

Frank's IGA nearby sells Innova and Discraft. They usually have a decent selection on hand, and re-stock fairly regularly - so keep checking back for new discs. Stop at "The Freezer" across the street from the course for some ice cream or a cold drink.

The rest of the park is very nice as well, with plenty to do for non-golfers. Water fountains and bathroom facilities are convenient, as are the pavilions with picnic tables.
Cons: With only one hole over 300', there aren't many opportunities to get some "big D", and in the Autumn months the leaf litter can swallow your disc. There are a few spots of poison ivy, so know what to look for if you're in the brush. Some holes have a lot of small stumps where the fairways were cleared that can trip you up, or that you can stub your toe on (but I'm sure those will be taken care of soon - most are marked with spray-paint).
Other Thoughts: The vandalism is a bummer. Graffiti on the benches, and tee-signs broken or pulled out of the ground. It's not the course designer's fault, and it's not really bad enough to affect play or anything; it's just too bad that some people can't leave things nice for everyone to enjoy.

Did I mention this course is pine-scented? :)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 a general fun course

5+    7/5/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: bigjohnd24
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set in a park off the main road, and they did a good job with the space they had to work with. There are maps located around the course and it would be almost impossible to get lost. Mostly tech in the woods, but not as dense as other courses I've played. Hole #17 has a cool approach over a creek to the tee. Some of the back 9 get tough with severe hyzers/anhyzers, but all in fun.
Cons: The holes can seem to get a little repetitive in the middle of the course. If you run off the fairway on some of the 'tree line' holes, just lay up back on; you're not making par. And some of the holes seemingly lack any fairway at all, with the pin back some 200-300 ft behind a bunch of scattered trees.

My buddy constantly complains about the short tee pads 'messing up his footwork'.
Other Thoughts: I can understand how some would say this course is easy, but it's not really much different than Titta. Park or the Banks. I actually need to get back out to this course, because it really helps focus your extreme hyzer/anhyzer shots.

There's a grocery store down the road that sells discs and beer and there's a bar right across the street, which is always a plus.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/12/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: Jazzbass33
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: You don't have to wait through a lot of other groups on this course.The rough is woody enough to be a challenge,yet you won't easily loose a disk.Benches are vary nice.
Cons: Some high level players might say this course is a bit short,or even a little easy...
Other Thoughts: I like #15&18,they both have a somewhat "extreme" dog leg thing going on....Over all a clean,fairly varied course with a "fun"level of challenge.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/1/2010   6/10/2009
Review By: fleeulrich
Played: 36  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to find the holes. Very clean, trash cans and benches are available. I have ran into the course designer many times, he's always working on the course to perfect it. Signage is very nice. Most holes have a mostly straight on path through the trees, but there are other holes like #1 has a nice lil bend to the left, but is very short, #3 has a nice bend to the right, #15 has a nice hook to the left, #16 is a bend to the right with rows and rows of trees on both sides. You have to use good disc placement, because if you get too deep in the trees it is very hard to salvage a par.

*Update*4/01/2014
Lots of upgrades happening. The old black top pads are being replaced with concrete most of which have been completed already. Hole layouts have changed for the following holes: 5, 6, 7, 8, 12, 13. Holes 7 and 8 layouts are completely different making them much more challenging. The rest of the changes were mainly keeping the same layout but making them longer.
Cons: This course can at times be full of hungry mosquitos. Careful in the fall, and keep an eye on those discs because the leaves on the ground will swollow your disc.
Other Thoughts: I have played many courses, and I have played this one many times, as it is one of the courses closest to my house, hole #17 is my favorite hole. You have a nice straight drive then right before the basket, maybe 25 feet is a creek, makes for some fun puts across the creek. I love how they moved the tee pad for hole #3, making it more difficult with a big tree right in front of you.

*UPDATE*..as this course is getting more popular I have notice more and more vandalism as of late. I think it is hole 13 that has three trees broken down. Not to mention the numerous signs that have been ruined throughout the course. This is still a real fun course it just bothers me when immature idiots find the need to ruin good things.

*UPDATE*3/20/2011: After playing a couple times over the winter I have noticed all the signs have been removed. At least now all those idiots that were trashing the signs dont have anymore signs to ruin.

*UPDATE* 4/2/2011
I just finished playing the course and they have new signs up at each pad now. They are just a basic sign constructed from a short piece of 4 X 4 painted red with the hole #, distance, and an arrow showing the hole layout.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Laundry Room

1    5/13/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: -johnbob
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The layout as far as what they had to work with is really well done. The bridge and benches are very nice and well designed. It has the ability to be a quick run through with some interesting challenges. Some of which are the creek running through the course , or as I found out, someones backyard. The course is very well kept! One of the cleanest free courses I have played. While I was playing, the course designer was there doing maintenance on it. He was nice, and welcomed me and my friends. Well printed maps at every hole made it nice and easy to find your way around. They also marked the trees with arrows so you knew which way to go.
Cons: As stated below the course does have the "playing in someones yard" feel. When we played I was watching the man in fron of me hang up his underwear to dry in his back yard. And though the tees are nice I felt that they ran a little short for my liking.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played this course, do it. There's not that many people that play it so you don't have to wait. It is a great course to hone your skills.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New Course

1    11/6/2008   11/7/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Hole Variety/Course Layout--
Mostly tech but not by anymeans a "pinball course". Good layout that comes in and out of a patch of woods. You play around a baseball field and hocky rink but they never become a factor.

Course Maintenance--
Nice clean park near downtown St. Charles. There are tee pads on every hole, and I had never seen tee pads like this before! They're asphalt with wood surrounding them and they have the same grip as concrete (maybe better).

Course Navigation--
Some of the nicest signs ive ever seen! Every sign shows a picture of the course map and has the hole your on highlighted. Also every sign has the hole distance on it. No maps online but you can see where the next hole is by arrows marked on the trees and by looking at the maps on every hole.
Cons:
--"no holes over 600 ft" and pretty much no "open" holes, these arn't cons in my book but I know it might be in some peoples.

--It somewhat lacks variety, alot of the holes feel repetative.
Other Thoughts:
Course Atmosphere--
Its in a small village park in some woods, you feel like your playing in peoples backyards some of the time. We only saw one other person playing when I was there.

Hazards--
Small creek on 2 or 3 holes (deep enough to get you wet, but not deep enough to lose your disc).

Access To Course--
Easy! One road off the main street in the city (St. Charles).

Once inside park the course is half way down the park road on the left hand side (If you see a basket about 20 feet from the road then you went a little to far because thats basket 18, hole #1 is on the left a little before basket 18).

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.