Green, OH 
Boettler Park Share
Uploaded By: Mike C Hole #5 (Taken 8/2010)
4 / 546ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Frustrating

1    9/27/2013   10/1/2013
Review By: Meesta_Bleesta
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Signs and teepads at every hole. Generally well manicured in the fairways/around the teepads and baskets

-Quiet and secluded; we didn't see another player once (which made much more sense after having played...)

-Quality baskets, all labeled with the appropriate hole number

-Some neat hole designs, definitely room for lots of different shot types
Cons: -Signs were completely inaccurate in distance (one hole in particular seemed to be off by almost 200 feet) as well as in visual aid (the diagrams did more to confuse than help)

-The teepads were tiny. Really strange. Enough space to throw a stand-still drive from, but otherwise scaled for a person about the size of a three-year-old(?) I know that sounds ridiculous but...well...they were kind of ridiculous

-Beware of the brush and vegetation - this is the most obvious problem with this course. The first couple of holes start out okay, but after that it quickly becomes apparent that you're going to have a frustrating round. On seven out of nine holes, thick brush comes into play virtually everywhere except for in a small pathway of grass leading to each basket. Don't wear shorts (I learned the hard way). There are prickers, burrs, that tall thick grass that slashes at you - basically, it's a feral prairie. Even with two spotters on each hole, my group spent the majority of our time looking for our discs (it took my three-person group an hour and a half to play nine holes, the same amount it usually takes for eighteen). Unless you're extremely comfortable with throwing your discs within a fifteen foot chunk of space every time you throw, you're gonna have a bad time.
Other Thoughts: A couple of cool holes; the design would be okay if it weren't for all that damn brush.

My friend pointed out a sign as we were leaving that said something to the effect of 'wildlife area; do not cut' - I'm all for that, but a wildlife preserve makes for a terminal problem if you're trying to install a quality disc golf course. Confusingly, the park surrounding the course seemed to be pretty large, with a lot of open spaces/grass/non-brush filled areas.

If you like scavenging for discs, hole 9 would probably be a good spot. Most people are probably so frustrated by that point they'd be more inclined to just say 'screw it' and leave one behind if they don't get it in the fairway. I found an old Pro Wraith in the woods that looked like it had been sitting in the same relatively open spot for over a year.

Might be a good course to practice your putter or mid game. I probably won't be back, though, especially with Oak Ledges and Arboretum-Spiker nearby.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Prickly Wicket

1    9/5/2013   9/5/2013
Review By: hysteria
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Concrete tee pads
* Well situated in the park scheme
Cons: * If you are not accurate you will lose discs in painful brier patches.
* Seemingly inaccurate hole layouts posted on tee signs.
Other Thoughts: I played the first five holes of this course and spent well over 80% of my time searching through a mess of prickly plants for my slightly errant tee shots; it made for a miserable experience so I decided to spend the rest of my day practicing putting. The course may play well for more advanced players, but will be quite frustrating for beginners and those still mastering accurate tee shots.

With so many other great courses in the area, especially Portage Lakes & Spiker Park you should only invest in this one if you have great confidence in your driving accuracy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Epic Fail

1    7/7/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: kinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Secluded, natural, peaceful setting.
~Pristine baskets (I assume because nobody plays this course, for reasons indicated below)
Cons:
~Essentially non-playable during the growing season as any disc that veers left or right ends up in high vegetation.
~Spent more time looking for discs and tee pads than actually playing the game.
~Each hole (except for #2) consists of a 15' wide mowed strip of land surrounded on each side by 2'-3' high brush making this course extremely unplayable by anybody who can't tee off with expert precision.
~Concrete tee pads are only 6' long.
~Would never have found the course in the park had it not been for the notes on this site.
~Did not complete round due to spending too much time wading through the brush chasing down almost every shot.
Other Thoughts:
May revisit during the Autumn, Winter and/or early Spring to see how it is without the high brush.
Hole No.'s 1, 2 and 3 are somewhat playable (use a mid-range for 1 and 3 to be safe) as they are the only holes that provided me with a fighting chance of not losing a disc off the tee. No. 2 is the only hole with an open fairway and is actually rather nice as it's located next to a bog. Everything after is simply throwing a disc over a single wide mowed strip of land surrounded by dense vegetation.
With so much land to roam in this park, I'm baffled as to why they crammed 9 holes on top of one another in this small of an area.
Throwers beware on this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  NEW TEES SIGNS NOW !!!

5+    4/24/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: ricky lutz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 5/11/2009
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: NEW tees signs now !!! sweet new deep baskets, in a very nice park, great play area for the kids.a great course for tomahawks because most of the holes are fairly short + its such a new course not many people know about it.
Cons: only 9 holes - tee signs don't fell quite properly placed - marshy field with bee's all over the damn place - beware of a sheriff on a 4 wheeler i guess you cant hang you hoodie on the tee sign while you throw. BEWARE OF BEE'S, TICS!!!
Other Thoughts: needs A ton of work but i can see a nice course in the future the [very long future]

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.