Green, OH
Boettler Park Share
Uploaded By: Mike C Hole #4 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 African Savannah

1    6/28/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 324  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Top quality new baskets. "Heritage Hill Playground, a 30,000 square foot playground" and plenty of other activities for non-golfers.
Cons:
The distance and the location of the basket listed on the tee signs often seemed quite misleading. Concrete tees too short/narrow. Single tee/pin position. High chance of disc loss in high grass!
Other Thoughts:
Plays in the gently rolling, mostly open with small trees, bits of forest, land that composes the side of a very large public park. A long, continuous, hedged-lined right-turner greets you has hole #1. A moderate-length straight toss with a pretty pond to the left describes hole #2, and #3 is straight, requiring a little right-n-left hook at the end, as two lines of trees are pinching in from both sides. The safari begins at hole #4, as each hole, some quite long and up-n-over small rises (causing you to lose sight of your disc), have fairways that are 15'-wide swaths cut through waist-high grass (also causing you to lose sight of your disc). There's also the random small tree which may take yoru disc off its intended path. Despite having multiple spotters with me, spent quite a bit of time looking for discs, especially on #7 (bushes and trees to contend with in addition to the grass) and #8 (quite long, blind over a rise, right-turning, multiple small trees, i.e. all sorts of ways to lose sight of your disc).

Navigation: Follow the paved path out the end of the parking lot, then look for tee-1 and basket-9 to your left through an opening. Map was fairly accurate for finding next tee/basket.

With nine more holes in the future, as indicated by the map, and the grass at a reasonable height, probably during the non-summer months, this will likely be a decent course, but currently as a summer-time 9-holer, only come here if you enjoy looking for, and quite possibly losing, discs.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Meh

5+    9/17/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: InsaneGoonRules
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Course has it's own little area, very little traffic from other park users.
Cons: Some holes still have terrible distance/par's listed.
Park Rangers there are complete morons and watch you like you've commited some sort of crime for using the park.
Other Thoughts: Fire those park worker dolts.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Needs mowing badly

2-4    12/21/2008   12/22/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2009
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
First played this course Dec 2008, most recently in Aug 2009.

Beautiful new double chain DISCatcher baskets. Baskets have (small) numbers on them to help navigation. Course has some gradual elevation changes from tee to basket, but no significant hills. Big blue trash cans on every tee make the tees easy to find.

The course is in an isolated part of the park that should be free of interference from most other park activities with the exception of the walking trail. As you enter the park there are multiple signs guiding you to the disc golf course.
Cons:
There is no official course map. Heavily favors LHBH throwers. Poison ivy, some very close to baskets. Tee #1 is less than 20' from basket #9: a big safety hazard. Tee pads are undersized at only 3' by 6'. Tee signs look nice but most of the distances are wrong (some very wrong) and the layout maps aren't right on some either. The fairway of #3 goes through a drainage ditch that is a mud pit and forces you to walk out of your way, i.e. back up #2's fairway, to get to the basket. #4's throws will likely end up on #5's fairway or #5's tee pad, more safety issues.

While there are paths mowed from tee to basket, at only 10-12' wide you can hardly call them fairways. Once you're off that path the rough is at least 2' high making it really tough to find just about every thrown disc. This is an awful Summer course when the foliage is fully green. I spent way too much time looking for discs.
Other Thoughts:
The first time I played was a snowy day that was zero degrees (F) with the wind, which was blowing 24mph and gusting 34mph. I shot a 30 for a nine hole layout that was marked with temp flags. That layout didn't end up being the completely correct layout once I saw the design map. At the time there were no tee pads or signs, so I had high hopes for what this course might become.

The temp #8 was a really cool ~500 ft shot on a downhill slope with a basket moderately guarded by trees.

The official #8 is a ridiculous hole that invites a 222' perfectly straight shot to a 10' wide gap atop a hill to a landing zone probably 15' in diameter. From there you have a 412' downhill shot to a mostly blind basket position tucked away in the trees.

The temp course I saw in the winter had nice potential, but after seeing what they did with undersized tee pads, incorrect tee signs, and horrible rough in the Summer I'm only bumping my rating from 1.0 to 1.5 stars. This course was not fun to play in the summer, I spent far more time looking for my discs than I did throwing them. I've got no desire to go back when the course is green.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Work in Progress

1    10/21/2008   11/9/2008
Review By: spenlee3
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Seems like a great location and property, but this course is not complete. Couldn't figure out where the tee boxes were for each hole. I am sure that the more people get involved that this could be a really cool course. We work close to this one, so we will check it out frequently and make updates as they happen.So far seems to have mostly short holes. Some open and some protected by trees and bushes.
Cons: Seems to still be a work in progress.
Other Thoughts: Did not know about this course, so it was a pleasant surprise. Hope they continue to improve this one. Very cool property in Green, close to the Akron-Canton Airport.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not finished.. but has potential

1    9/26/2008   9/26/2008
Review By: basmith42
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2008
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: when I played it, the course was not finished (I hope).
It has baskets and a good use of the terrain allotted to the course. This will probably not offer you the oppurtunity to bomb drives.
Cons: - When I played it, there were no tee boxes so we used flags that seemed to mark where the tee boxes will be.
- Holes are short.
- Most of the course is shoe-horned into too small a piece of land. The area is pretty and it will be quiet.
Other Thoughts: With the addition of tee markers, this will evolve into a nice rec course where control and finesse are valued over length and power. It will be a good 9 holes to practice your short game.
- A buddy of mine confirmed with the parks that the course is still under construction as fo early october.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.