Green, OH 
Boettler Park Share
Uploaded By: Mike C Hole #1 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 264ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Okay course, Has potential...I guess

2-4    12/18/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: kcoates
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are tee pads
"Technical" shots. I use the term technical loosely, because there's really long overgrowth in the rough that make shots impossible if you're not very accurate.
There are a good amount of trash bins.
Discatcher Baskets
Okay use of elevation
Cons: The tee pads are short, but they aren't impossible to use.
Navigation is hard, some baskets you can't see from the tees, and although the baskets are numbered, you can only see the tiny numbers from close up.
Distances on the signs are waaaaay off, I mean not even close.
Very easy to lose a disc, lost one in the brush on hole 3, though there was a few inches of snow.
Overgrowth on rough, see above.
Other Thoughts: I've played this both in the summer and in the winter. There are holes in the summer that are almost impossible unless you can throw perfectly accurate or are willing to search through the hell that is ten million pricker bushes in the thick rough. Definitely not recommended for beginners, but you can have a decent time if you are careful and not crazy with your shots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not very good, but it can be enjoyed

5+    3/23/2010   3/23/2010
Review By: Mike C
Played: 60  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Fresh baskets.

-Concrete teepads for every hole. Multiple benches and trashcans spread throughout the course.

-Some holes are pretty fun. There are some enjoyable lines to throw on the drives from 1, 2, 5 and 4 and others provided you keep it in the fairway.

-Various amenities include large playground, miles of walking paths, clean restrooms, basketball and tennis courts, farmers market and pleasant scenery.

-There's a good mix of left and right turning shots. While most the holes are short and easy to reach with a putter, the course does feature two long holes that are longer than most players can reach in a single drive.
Cons: -An absolute jungle of thorn bushes over the entire course, along with 4' high grass surrounding every fairway. Staying on the fairway is essential to being able to play the course without spending 30 minutes searching for errant throws.

-Teepads are undersized. Take 1/3 off your typical teepad's length and that's what Boettler has. Not a huge deal since the holes are so short but it's there.

-The teesigns are a joke. Some of them give distances that are off by over 200' and don't even accurately depict the line the hole takes. Just ignore them.
Other Thoughts: I raised my score because the course has improved slightly as of 9/18/11.

The course overall was mowed a little better than my last visit, which was some time ago. Particularly I noticed 3's fairway had much fewer thorn bushes in the middle of the rough, and 5's putting green had been cleared out better.

Also all the tee signs have been moved so they are no longer directly to the right of the teepads, removing one of the courses biggest annoyances.

There are still much superior courses surrounding Boettler Park, but in its current shape it can be a fun 9 hole course if you're careful with your drives.

I've heard rumors before about the city planning to expand the course to 18 holes but I've seen nothing to indicate they're doing this anytime soon.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Please add the final 9!

2-4    3/12/2010   3/14/2010
Review By: TommyGun'n
Played: 55  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -shiny innova disc catcher baskets
-concrete tee pads
-no long walks between tees
-on the way to massillon and arboretum dgc's
-hole #9 ends at hole one so multiple rounds are easy to do
-good sings direct you to tee one from park entrance
-easy to find, nice park with everything you could need
Cons: -only 9 holes (could easily fit 18 and i hope they do)
-signs are a good thought but wrong distances and even wrong layouts
-pricker bushes all over the place (don't wear shorts!)
-numbers on baskets are very small/hard to see
-not very difficult (compared to medina, massillon, wooster and other courses in the area)
-windy (i hate that)
Other Thoughts: almost aced hole #8 from #7's teepad, which i didn't realize until i got up to my disc that i was shooting at the wrong basket. this sort of thing is probably common for first timers here as on many holes you can see baskets which are not the proper ones.

if 9 more holes are added i think this course would get another star, the potential is def there. I would suggest making alternate pin positions to increase the difficulty.

overall, a reasonable pit stop to warm up before heading to massillon or arboretum

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Where are the tees

1    3/24/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: rcracer757
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The baskets are top notch. Nice to see some really nice baskets around town now.
Cons: Well after getting there and walking for 2 hours just to figure out where in the world the tees were. I found out they were trash cans that were numbered. Also the baskets are not numbered so you have to kind of pick one you think it maybe. Also There is a few holes that just cross one another. Making it possible if it gets busy. To hit another golfer. Not very good placement.
Other Thoughts: This look to be a work in progress. I will revisit to see if any progress was made.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Still not finished

1    3/24/2009   3/24/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are baskets..lol. Nice new tee signs recently added. By the time summer roles around and everything grows in, this might just be a real difficult technical course.
Cons: No tees not finished ...Lots of obstacles . Can be very muddy and swampy in places. fairways criss cross. Who ever did the measurements on this course needs to do it over.
Other Thoughts: upon recent visit to this course i found it to be increasingly difficult. High grass and very limited fairway room make drive placement a must!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.