Green, OH 
Boettler Park Share
Uploaded By: Mike C Hole #8 (Taken 8/2010)
4 / 635ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Mid-Fairway: Just after the dogleg



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Frustrating

1    9/27/2013   10/1/2013
Review By: Meesta_Bleesta
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Signs and teepads at every hole. Generally well manicured in the fairways/around the teepads and baskets

-Quiet and secluded; we didn't see another player once (which made much more sense after having played...)

-Quality baskets, all labeled with the appropriate hole number

-Some neat hole designs, definitely room for lots of different shot types
Cons: -Signs were completely inaccurate in distance (one hole in particular seemed to be off by almost 200 feet) as well as in visual aid (the diagrams did more to confuse than help)

-The teepads were tiny. Really strange. Enough space to throw a stand-still drive from, but otherwise scaled for a person about the size of a three-year-old(?) I know that sounds ridiculous but...well...they were kind of ridiculous

-Beware of the brush and vegetation - this is the most obvious problem with this course. The first couple of holes start out okay, but after that it quickly becomes apparent that you're going to have a frustrating round. On seven out of nine holes, thick brush comes into play virtually everywhere except for in a small pathway of grass leading to each basket. Don't wear shorts (I learned the hard way). There are prickers, burrs, that tall thick grass that slashes at you - basically, it's a feral prairie. Even with two spotters on each hole, my group spent the majority of our time looking for our discs (it took my three-person group an hour and a half to play nine holes, the same amount it usually takes for eighteen). Unless you're extremely comfortable with throwing your discs within a fifteen foot chunk of space every time you throw, you're gonna have a bad time.
Other Thoughts: A couple of cool holes; the design would be okay if it weren't for all that damn brush.

My friend pointed out a sign as we were leaving that said something to the effect of 'wildlife area; do not cut' - I'm all for that, but a wildlife preserve makes for a terminal problem if you're trying to install a quality disc golf course. Confusingly, the park surrounding the course seemed to be pretty large, with a lot of open spaces/grass/non-brush filled areas.

If you like scavenging for discs, hole 9 would probably be a good spot. Most people are probably so frustrated by that point they'd be more inclined to just say 'screw it' and leave one behind if they don't get it in the fairway. I found an old Pro Wraith in the woods that looked like it had been sitting in the same relatively open spot for over a year.

Might be a good course to practice your putter or mid game. I probably won't be back, though, especially with Oak Ledges and Arboretum-Spiker nearby.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Prickly Wicket

1    9/5/2013   9/5/2013
Review By: hysteria
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Concrete tee pads
* Well situated in the park scheme
Cons: * If you are not accurate you will lose discs in painful brier patches.
* Seemingly inaccurate hole layouts posted on tee signs.
Other Thoughts: I played the first five holes of this course and spent well over 80% of my time searching through a mess of prickly plants for my slightly errant tee shots; it made for a miserable experience so I decided to spend the rest of my day practicing putting. The course may play well for more advanced players, but will be quite frustrating for beginners and those still mastering accurate tee shots.

With so many other great courses in the area, especially Portage Lakes & Spiker Park you should only invest in this one if you have great confidence in your driving accuracy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Why?

1    6/10/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: Matt O
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Best course around to practice looking for discs.
Cons: -Rarely do you throw the route of the fairway.
-If you don't see exactly where your disc goes into the rough, you probably will be seaching for a while.
-No really memorable holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is probably best played by little kids who can't throw very far. If the disc only goes 100 feet, you probably won't lose sight of it. Not worth checking out. Many other courses in the area that are worth the time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Okay course, Has potential...I guess

2-4    12/18/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: kcoates
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are tee pads
"Technical" shots. I use the term technical loosely, because there's really long overgrowth in the rough that make shots impossible if you're not very accurate.
There are a good amount of trash bins.
Discatcher Baskets
Okay use of elevation
Cons: The tee pads are short, but they aren't impossible to use.
Navigation is hard, some baskets you can't see from the tees, and although the baskets are numbered, you can only see the tiny numbers from close up.
Distances on the signs are waaaaay off, I mean not even close.
Very easy to lose a disc, lost one in the brush on hole 3, though there was a few inches of snow.
Overgrowth on rough, see above.
Other Thoughts: I've played this both in the summer and in the winter. There are holes in the summer that are almost impossible unless you can throw perfectly accurate or are willing to search through the hell that is ten million pricker bushes in the thick rough. Definitely not recommended for beginners, but you can have a decent time if you are careful and not crazy with your shots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 African Savannah

1    6/28/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Top quality new baskets. "Heritage Hill Playground, a 30,000 square foot playground" and plenty of other activities for non-golfers.
Cons:
The distance and the location of the basket listed on the tee signs often seemed quite misleading. Concrete tees too short/narrow. Single tee/pin position. High chance of disc loss in high grass!
Other Thoughts:
Plays in the gently rolling, mostly open with small trees, bits of forest, land that composes the side of a very large public park. A long, continuous, hedged-lined right-turner greets you has hole #1. A moderate-length straight toss with a pretty pond to the left describes hole #2, and #3 is straight, requiring a little right-n-left hook at the end, as two lines of trees are pinching in from both sides. The safari begins at hole #4, as each hole, some quite long and up-n-over small rises (causing you to lose sight of your disc), have fairways that are 15'-wide swaths cut through waist-high grass (also causing you to lose sight of your disc). There's also the random small tree which may take yoru disc off its intended path. Despite having multiple spotters with me, spent quite a bit of time looking for discs, especially on #7 (bushes and trees to contend with in addition to the grass) and #8 (quite long, blind over a rise, right-turning, multiple small trees, i.e. all sorts of ways to lose sight of your disc).

Navigation: Follow the paved path out the end of the parking lot, then look for tee-1 and basket-9 to your left through an opening. Map was fairly accurate for finding next tee/basket.

With nine more holes in the future, as indicated by the map, and the grass at a reasonable height, probably during the non-summer months, this will likely be a decent course, but currently as a summer-time 9-holer, only come here if you enjoy looking for, and quite possibly losing, discs.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Epic Fail

1    7/7/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: kinger
Played: 36  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Secluded, natural, peaceful setting.
~Pristine baskets (I assume because nobody plays this course, for reasons indicated below)
Cons:
~Essentially non-playable during the growing season as any disc that veers left or right ends up in high vegetation.
~Spent more time looking for discs and tee pads than actually playing the game.
~Each hole (except for #2) consists of a 15' wide mowed strip of land surrounded on each side by 2'-3' high brush making this course extremely unplayable by anybody who can't tee off with expert precision.
~Concrete tee pads are only 6' long.
~Would never have found the course in the park had it not been for the notes on this site.
~Did not complete round due to spending too much time wading through the brush chasing down almost every shot.
Other Thoughts:
May revisit during the Autumn, Winter and/or early Spring to see how it is without the high brush.
Hole No.'s 1, 2 and 3 are somewhat playable (use a mid-range for 1 and 3 to be safe) as they are the only holes that provided me with a fighting chance of not losing a disc off the tee. No. 2 is the only hole with an open fairway and is actually rather nice as it's located next to a bog. Everything after is simply throwing a disc over a single wide mowed strip of land surrounded by dense vegetation.
With so much land to roam in this park, I'm baffled as to why they crammed 9 holes on top of one another in this small of an area.
Throwers beware on this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not very good, but it can be enjoyed

5+    3/23/2010   3/23/2010
Review By: Mike C
Played: 43  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Fresh baskets.

-Concrete teepads for every hole. Multiple benches and trashcans spread throughout the course.

-Some holes are pretty fun. There are some enjoyable lines to throw on the drives from 1, 2, 5 and 4 and others provided you keep it in the fairway.

-Various amenities include large playground, miles of walking paths, clean restrooms, basketball and tennis courts, farmers market and pleasant scenery.

-There's a good mix of left and right turning shots. While most the holes are short and easy to reach with a putter, the course does feature two long holes that are longer than most players can reach in a single drive.
Cons: -An absolute jungle of thorn bushes over the entire course, along with 4' high grass surrounding every fairway. Staying on the fairway is essential to being able to play the course without spending 30 minutes searching for errant throws.

-Teepads are undersized. Take 1/3 off your typical teepad's length and that's what Boettler has. Not a huge deal since the holes are so short but it's there.

-The teesigns are a joke. Some of them give distances that are off by over 200' and don't even accurately depict the line the hole takes. Just ignore them.
Other Thoughts: I raised my score because the course has improved slightly as of 9/18/11.

The course overall was mowed a little better than my last visit, which was some time ago. Particularly I noticed 3's fairway had much fewer thorn bushes in the middle of the rough, and 5's putting green had been cleared out better.

Also all the tee signs have been moved so they are no longer directly to the right of the teepads, removing one of the courses biggest annoyances.

There are still much superior courses surrounding Boettler Park, but in its current shape it can be a fun 9 hole course if you're careful with your drives.

I've heard rumors before about the city planning to expand the course to 18 holes but I've seen nothing to indicate they're doing this anytime soon.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent, has potential

1    3/21/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Brand new DISCatcher baskets
Nice, clean park & course
Relatively easy to navigate for first-timers
Secluded for the most part from other park activities
Cons:
Tee signs are *very* inaccurate. The distances are all over the place and the maps are very generic, almost not even worth having them.
Hole #8 would have been a cool hole if I knew where it was.
Some holes are a bit confusing, and a bit of overlap on the drives.
Tees are too short/small, but better than nothing I suppose.
Other Thoughts: This course has potential. If it was a full 18 with some technical holes on the back nine, it could be a cool course.

I'd say if you are in the area or it's on the way to another local course, it's worth a round. But as far as a specific visit to play, it's nothing special.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Please add the final 9!

2-4    3/12/2010   3/14/2010
Review By: TommyGun'n
Played: 52  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -shiny innova disc catcher baskets
-concrete tee pads
-no long walks between tees
-on the way to massillon and arboretum dgc's
-hole #9 ends at hole one so multiple rounds are easy to do
-good sings direct you to tee one from park entrance
-easy to find, nice park with everything you could need
Cons: -only 9 holes (could easily fit 18 and i hope they do)
-signs are a good thought but wrong distances and even wrong layouts
-pricker bushes all over the place (don't wear shorts!)
-numbers on baskets are very small/hard to see
-not very difficult (compared to medina, massillon, wooster and other courses in the area)
-windy (i hate that)
Other Thoughts: almost aced hole #8 from #7's teepad, which i didn't realize until i got up to my disc that i was shooting at the wrong basket. this sort of thing is probably common for first timers here as on many holes you can see baskets which are not the proper ones.

if 9 more holes are added i think this course would get another star, the potential is def there. I would suggest making alternate pin positions to increase the difficulty.

overall, a reasonable pit stop to warm up before heading to massillon or arboretum

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/27/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: kev32650
Played: 60  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good course in terms of variety. 8 was a great hole, a true par 4 and one that makes you want to come back. Lots of little trees add challenge to a relatively open course and make the course play longer than the distance. I took a first timer to the course and before we'd finished the first round he said "can we play another one?" For whatever that's worth. I enjoyed it as well, and I've been playing for awhile.

The park itself looks pretty awesome with good amenities. There were trash cans at every hole and the course was clean and look well kept up. A good course to bring the whole family to.
Cons: Tee pads were pretty small. It didn't affect me that much, but on some of the longer holes I was definitely thinking about it. Tee signs distances almost made things worse than not having them there at all. There are several holes that switch back and not knowing the course and knowing that the distances were inaccurate made it a little frustrating. A couple of times we threw at one basket and then figured out where we were actually supposed to be throwing. Some of the fairways and bakets/tees are too close together. It didn't matter on a day like today, but when the course gets more popular there's defiintely going to be issues especially with 9's basket and 1's tee.
Other Thoughts: I know it's a new course so I'm giving my judgement of it with that in mind. It will get better. I can't wait til its 18 and some of the trees have grown in and hopefully the tee signs will get reworked.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.