Green, OH 
Boettler Park Share
Uploaded By: Mike C Hole #9 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee: Basket near hole #1 tee

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >

1    11/27/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: kev32650
Played: 68  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good course in terms of variety. 8 was a great hole, a true par 4 and one that makes you want to come back. Lots of little trees add challenge to a relatively open course and make the course play longer than the distance. I took a first timer to the course and before we'd finished the first round he said "can we play another one?" For whatever that's worth. I enjoyed it as well, and I've been playing for awhile.

The park itself looks pretty awesome with good amenities. There were trash cans at every hole and the course was clean and look well kept up. A good course to bring the whole family to.
Cons: Tee pads were pretty small. It didn't affect me that much, but on some of the longer holes I was definitely thinking about it. Tee signs distances almost made things worse than not having them there at all. There are several holes that switch back and not knowing the course and knowing that the distances were inaccurate made it a little frustrating. A couple of times we threw at one basket and then figured out where we were actually supposed to be throwing. Some of the fairways and bakets/tees are too close together. It didn't matter on a day like today, but when the course gets more popular there's defiintely going to be issues especially with 9's basket and 1's tee.
Other Thoughts: I know it's a new course so I'm giving my judgement of it with that in mind. It will get better. I can't wait til its 18 and some of the trees have grown in and hopefully the tee signs will get reworked.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/17/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: InsaneGoonRules
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Course has it's own little area, very little traffic from other park users.
Cons: Some holes still have terrible distance/par's listed.
Park Rangers there are complete morons and watch you like you've commited some sort of crime for using the park.
Other Thoughts: Fire those park worker dolts.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Concrete Tees are IN!!

1    7/20/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: Gorm
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Course is starting to take shape. Signs and tees have been moved to correct the distance. Concrete tees were added on 7/18.
Cons: Still only 9 holes but they are planning on adding the additional 9 when they are completed with the first 9. Still TOO many bees!

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/24/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: ricky lutz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 5/11/2009
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: NEW tees signs now !!! sweet new deep baskets, in a very nice park, great play area for the kids.a great course for tomahawks because most of the holes are fairly short + its such a new course not many people know about it.
Cons: only 9 holes - tee signs don't fell quite properly placed - marshy field with bee's all over the damn place - beware of a sheriff on a 4 wheeler i guess you cant hang you hoodie on the tee sign while you throw. BEWARE OF BEE'S, TICS!!!
Other Thoughts: needs A ton of work but i can see a nice course in the future the [very long future]

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Where are the tees

1    3/24/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: rcracer757
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.7 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The baskets are top notch. Nice to see some really nice baskets around town now.
Cons: Well after getting there and walking for 2 hours just to figure out where in the world the tees were. I found out they were trash cans that were numbered. Also the baskets are not numbered so you have to kind of pick one you think it maybe. Also There is a few holes that just cross one another. Making it possible if it gets busy. To hit another golfer. Not very good placement.
Other Thoughts: This look to be a work in progress. I will revisit to see if any progress was made.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Still not finished

1    3/24/2009   3/24/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are Nice new tee signs recently added. By the time summer roles around and everything grows in, this might just be a real difficult technical course.
Cons: No tees not finished ...Lots of obstacles . Can be very muddy and swampy in places. fairways criss cross. Who ever did the measurements on this course needs to do it over.
Other Thoughts: upon recent visit to this course i found it to be increasingly difficult. High grass and very limited fairway room make drive placement a must!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Needs mowing badly

2-4    12/21/2008   12/22/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 201  Reviewed: 151  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2009
13 Helpful / 2 Not
First played this course Dec 2008, most recently in Aug 2009.

Beautiful new double chain DISCatcher baskets. Baskets have (small) numbers on them to help navigation. Course has some gradual elevation changes from tee to basket, but no significant hills. Big blue trash cans on every tee make the tees easy to find.

The course is in an isolated part of the park that should be free of interference from most other park activities with the exception of the walking trail. As you enter the park there are multiple signs guiding you to the disc golf course.
There is no official course map. Heavily favors LHBH throwers. Poison ivy, some very close to baskets. Tee #1 is less than 20' from basket #9: a big safety hazard. Tee pads are undersized at only 3' by 6'. Tee signs look nice but most of the distances are wrong (some very wrong) and the layout maps aren't right on some either. The fairway of #3 goes through a drainage ditch that is a mud pit and forces you to walk out of your way, i.e. back up #2's fairway, to get to the basket. #4's throws will likely end up on #5's fairway or #5's tee pad, more safety issues.

While there are paths mowed from tee to basket, at only 10-12' wide you can hardly call them fairways. Once you're off that path the rough is at least 2' high making it really tough to find just about every thrown disc. This is an awful Summer course when the foliage is fully green. I spent way too much time looking for discs.
Other Thoughts:
The first time I played was a snowy day that was zero degrees (F) with the wind, which was blowing 24mph and gusting 34mph. I shot a 30 for a nine hole layout that was marked with temp flags. That layout didn't end up being the completely correct layout once I saw the design map. At the time there were no tee pads or signs, so I had high hopes for what this course might become.

The temp #8 was a really cool ~500 ft shot on a downhill slope with a basket moderately guarded by trees.

The official #8 is a ridiculous hole that invites a 222' perfectly straight shot to a 10' wide gap atop a hill to a landing zone probably 15' in diameter. From there you have a 412' downhill shot to a mostly blind basket position tucked away in the trees.

The temp course I saw in the winter had nice potential, but after seeing what they did with undersized tee pads, incorrect tee signs, and horrible rough in the Summer I'm only bumping my rating from 1.0 to 1.5 stars. This course was not fun to play in the summer, I spent far more time looking for my discs than I did throwing them. I've got no desire to go back when the course is green.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Work in Progress

1    10/21/2008   11/9/2008
Review By: spenlee3
Played: 67  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Seems like a great location and property, but this course is not complete. Couldn't figure out where the tee boxes were for each hole. I am sure that the more people get involved that this could be a really cool course. We work close to this one, so we will check it out frequently and make updates as they happen.So far seems to have mostly short holes. Some open and some protected by trees and bushes.
Cons: Seems to still be a work in progress.
Other Thoughts: Did not know about this course, so it was a pleasant surprise. Hope they continue to improve this one. Very cool property in Green, close to the Akron-Canton Airport.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not finished.. but has potential

1    9/26/2008   9/26/2008
Review By: basmith42
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2008
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: when I played it, the course was not finished (I hope).
It has baskets and a good use of the terrain allotted to the course. This will probably not offer you the oppurtunity to bomb drives.
Cons: - When I played it, there were no tee boxes so we used flags that seemed to mark where the tee boxes will be.
- Holes are short.
- Most of the course is shoe-horned into too small a piece of land. The area is pretty and it will be quiet.
Other Thoughts: With the addition of tee markers, this will evolve into a nice rec course where control and finesse are valued over length and power. It will be a good 9 holes to practice your short game.
- A buddy of mine confirmed with the parks that the course is still under construction as fo early october.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.