Disc Golf Center
Hokah, MN
Twin Creeks DGC Share
Uploaded By: barg0076 Hole #6 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 281ft.   -- / --   3 / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Great Course, Great Owner!

5+    6/25/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: barg0076
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -New 19 hole course this year
-Hole signs with distance and par
-Nice maps in the clubhouse
-Challenging but possible pars for the holes
-Good variety of long/short and left/straight/right holes
-Many creek and water hazards to keep things interesting
-Rakes and nets to get discs out of water
-Bob, the owner, is a great guy!
-Nice clubhouse with refreshments
Cons: -Swampy water gets annoying while finding stray shots
-Long weeds can be hard to find discs in
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses in the area! There is an awesome variety of holes that are challenging and interesting. Many tricky par 3s and some long birdie-able par 4s. New hole signs have distances and pars on them which is a great upgrade. The creeks and ponds make you choose your shots wisely, yet there is plenty of room for stray shots on most holes. The owner, Bob, is a great guy and puts a lot of hard work into this awesome course!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  awesome course

5+    5/7/2011   5/18/2011
Review By: miguelven05
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: new full 19 hole course, camping area, a short mini golf course.beach volleyball,snack bar with plenty of refreshmenst where they also have a few good discs for sale, all the water hazard holes have rakes or nets so reaching for your disc wont be much of a problem, beautiful scenary providing that the course is set up through a valley, all the holes are marked so no problem on navigating
Cons: some teepads can confuse you at first if you have never been there,there are a few swampy areas where the grass can get pretty tall over the summer, some water hazards where you can really lose your disc if you want to go for it but dont quite make it.
Other Thoughts: you better bring your game on if you want to always stay under par. it really forces you to know wether you should really go for it or play it safe, beginner players should probably play it safe and advanced players can get a good days practice and as for pros....its gonna be fun!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/15/2009   1/22/2010
Review By: ThomasOrion
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A nice location, the owner of the land is a great guy.
There's mini-golf too, but a basic course, and small...but fun to play in between rounds of disc.
Cool holes integrated with the little hills and water hazards.
Cons: It is a small course, and there are a couple tee's that are right by the water, but if you live nearby and want a little variety it's pretty fun. just need to play it a couple times. trying different tee pads adds variation.
Other Thoughts: Nicest thing...the shack has drinks and snacks...and BEER...many beers actually...single 'fancy' beers and 6-12 packs of domestic's....reasonable prices on all of them...I got a Shock Top bottle for 2.50... or a 12 pack of Budweiser for 10 bucks...either way its a good way to spend a nice day.

Good ol Bob

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Time!

1    7/12/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: thor_freya
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is nestled in a neat area with water hazards on 7 of the 9 holes. The water hazards make the course quite technical, with a few pins in more open area to allow for some distance shots. Most have a Pro and Amateur tees, with orange flags denoting the amateur tees and blue flags for pro tees. My wife and I played the amateur tees on the first round and Pros the second. Since the creek (and a few deeper ponds) come into play so often, the course owners put long rakes along the bridges to fish out discs, which happened a few times for us. All tees are artificial turf and hole putting areas on some are artificial turf, most are natural grass. For hole descriptions, I will reference the Pro Tees.

Hole 1- Starts near parking lot. Low hanging trees and a thick brush along the creek bank make for a low, hard shot. Go for a slight hyzer around the pine tree for good placement. Don't go long on your second shot, you will end up in the drink where the creeks split.

Hole 2- After crossing the creek to your right, you will tee off heading straight. Keep along the right side of the line of red flags for good placement. The pin is nestled, literally, right on the bank of the creek by a bridge. If you lay short on your tee, you can take a chance by heading low and hyzering around the bridge (what I did).

Hole 3- I actually enjoyed the amateur tees more on this one. The pro tees are right along the creek with a long shot. The pin is located on top of a steep bank. Playing the am tees, had 1 bounce off the basket from the tee shot. Fun hole, but don't overshoot your putt, you may end back down the other side of the bank.

Hole 4- Long, straight tee shot will put you good placement at the foot of another bank. If you are uncomfortable going over the pond from just below the bank, there is large sign warning of a water hazard. Aim at the sign to stay left on the high (and dry) side of the bank. Nice shot/approach from that spot.

Favorite Hole- #5. You tee off on the top of a steep hill with the basket right below you at about 175'. Use your putter and aim right in between the trees. There are two arrows which help you find the best path. Had one actually made it through. The basket is conveniently placed right in front of a large tree, which did help me from overshooting the hole.

Hole 6- Good hole off the pro tee. Stay on the near side of the creek and stay right of the bridge. Large bush right in front of basket forces you to make a long tee shot for a set up. Had a disc go into creek on this hole.

Hole 7- Tee is elevated slightly with hole placed on the left. The tall grass on the left is not water marsh (thankfully) so you obviously want to hug the right if a RHBH thrower. Another pond sits right behind the basket so once again, don't overshoot that second throw (or off the tee if you have a long drive).

Hole 8- Since I am not a big driver, the Am tees where enjoyed by my wife and I. It's not too often for me to overshoot a hole off the tee, but I did on this one. Pond comes into play off the Am tees, and from the approach from the pros. Stay to the right again and you won't have any trouble. Tall grass is right behind the putting area, so prepare to do some searching if it is over shot.

Hole 9- Finally a straight hole with no water! Definitely a Par 4 distance, objects coming into the way are a windmill, a few trees and some bushes. Nice hole to end the round. Take a few minutes and sit in one of the covered picnic tables!
Cons: Could use some footage signs from tee to pin, and note Par for each hole at the Am and Pro Tees. I would say most fall into the Par 3, and Par 4 range. The artificial turf tees are very nice, but a bit narrow and short on some occasions.

Other Thoughts: My wife and I play only recreationally, so take the notes/advice for what it's worth. Since I'm a RHBH thrower, my throws all naturally hyzer a bit, so I often had to play safe and hug the right side.

But definitely make it a fun day! The $3 per person for a full day is more than worth it. There is also a golf driving range, miniature golf course, two volleyball courts, a disc golf basket and practice area, and a nice snack bar. We were very impressed at the layout, especially with the creeks encompasing the entire area (hence the name Twin Creeks). We got the best ever course map from the snack bar, hand drawn up by a 9 year old! We will be returning!

Check out their website at http://www.twincreekshokah.com /

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.