Three Rivers, MI 
Meyer Broadway Park - North Share
Uploaded By: TimSyl Hole #14
3 / 189ft.   3 / 231ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Myer Broadway’s friendlier course

1    7/2/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 171  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Features some significant terrain changes to keep things interesting, but the North course has a few holes that play flat or close to it. Decent mix of shorter, wooded holes that limit you to relatively few lines and long open fairways (lined with tall, thick grass) which let you air it out and allow for many different routes. Offers some nice shot variety requiring hyzer, annie and straight shots off the tee, and mixes it up enough to keep things interesting over the entire 18 holes. Fairly scenic with decent eye appeal.
• Open holes have some well-placed trees and/or elevation changes to keep them interesting.
• Relatively beginner friendly while offering enough challenges for experienced players.
• Makes you pay for going off the fairway, but not as severely as the Original.
• Most of the course is pretty well segregated from other park activities.
• Finishes strong with a long 18th over a large valley. Long arms should be able to clear the huge dip, but shorter throwers will be taking a 2nd shot from a steep uphill lie. Real bombers could be looking for deuces.
• Good baskets, but I'm not sure whether tees and signs will be improved - they could use it.
• Decent amenities near the first/last hole: Clean bathroom, and a large pavilion with picnic tables to beat the heat/rain, soda/pop machine, as well as a playground for small children.
Cons: Not always obvious where next hole is. Flows OK from hole to hole, but, course map was a big help as a first timer. The walk from 5 to 6 seems considerably longer than the others, and had me wondering if I was going the right way.
• Course info has tee type as rubber, but all I saw was grass/dirt. Played OK, but probably just a matter of time before they just become depressions for collecting water.
• Tall grass makes finding discs that don't hold the fairway tough going. Found myself searching longer than I though was reasonable for drives that were just a bit wide of the fairway.
• The water behind hole 7 is pretty much blind, reachable from the tee, and not something I'm willing to wade into to retrieve a disc.
Other Thoughts: All in all, MB North is fun to play, and can stand on its own as a solid course, with enough challenge and variety to keep most players engaged. Makes a nice 36 hole day-trip combined with the more challenging Original located near the park entrance. With all the open holes and elevation changes, playing both can be exhausting on a hot day, and would be much more enjoyable when things start cool off towards the fall.

I'd have to say 18 is the signature hole, bit there are some other memorable holes on the course, including: 4, 8, 10, and 17.

Drop box for donations near the park entrance is on the honor system, so please pay your fair share to keep these courses in nice shape.

Located quite close to civilization and a variety of restaurants.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 North

2-4    4/23/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 193  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The north course provides a layout with similar feel to the original, although generally shorter and easier. Rolling grassy terrain interspersed with clumps of trees comprises the majority of the course, although some more wooded areas come into play. On the best holes, players can choose the safe lay up route for a sure par or try for longer shots. The sprawling elevation and mature trees that protect the longer lines provide plenty of risk for those trying for birdies. Water comes into play behind the pin on #7. #18 is an epic finisher across a broad grassy valley to a pin that is situated at a higher point than the tee.
- The course flows with the land. Nothing seems out of place.
- Above average earthen tees where the rubber pads had recently been removed (according to locals). Level and totally sufficient. At no point did the tees seem awkward or a hinderance.
Cons: - Tall grasses in the rough can make finding discs a pain, although punishment is for the most part very fair. Windy days can make it staying on the fairway more of a challenge.
- Navigation isn't always completely clear, but isn't terrible either. Ask one of the many friendly locals if you get turned around.
Other Thoughts: - The North layout is a wonderful compliment to the Original course. With two fine courses on site, and several other good courses nearby, Meyer Broadway is well worth a day trip.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Is There Anybody Out Here?

1    7/21/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 12.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There was absolutely nobody out here playing on a beautiful summer day. Hard to believe, but it allowed me to meditate without distraction and I loved that. Not one bit of litter on the whole course either. The first hole started off with a shot toward some trees through a well manicured and large wide open fairway. Two moves through the woods. The sound of a handgun popping off round after round could be heard close enough to make me nervous. I kept listening to make sure the rounds weren't whizzing by in my direction. Three takes you out the back door to an expansive field for another couple holes with circular landing areas that do indeed evoke the thought of crop circles. These holes simply demand a shot within the mowed areas, as like the original park, the roughs are tall grass and blooming weeds. There are no obstacles to negotiate other than a tucked in basket on five, but it can be a real nightmare trying to find your shot in this tangle. Hole six started my navigational woes as I walked the right way, became convinced it was the wrong way and doubled back, and finally made it back the right way again thinking all the while that the next hole couldn't possibly be this far from the last. It was. Back to the woods for a couple. One short but memorable shot to a tall mound sticks out as well as the water hazard that made me laugh. The hazard was a small basin of scummy green water right behind the basket on hole seven. You should have seen all of the frogs go leaping when I chained out. The rest of the holes were fairly unmemorable after this point apart from eighteen on the sledding hill. I think I saw a badger hole on number twelve. There are some nice uphill shots on the back nine and things do have a nice flow after the trek from five to six is accomplished. I liked being able to open up and at the same time be forced to control my shots.
Cons: The signage is poor, don't even remember if I saw any, and navigation is questionable in a few places. At times, the crop circles dictate how you will play a hole. There are instances where a longer drive would be inevitably lost in the tall grass and you are forced to lay up to a shorter spot simply because it is clear and would be the smart play. I can't figure out if I like that or not. I guess I respect it. The shooting all around was a bit nerve wracking. I am talking about guns here! It sounded like I was in a hot zone at times. The back nine is not all that memorable. It is hard for me to remember anything striking about it other than shooting up to a basket I could see peeking at me from atop a hill lined with crop circles and the bomb hole at eighteen.
Other Thoughts: I kept thinking of the song Into The Great Wide Open as I walked this. I did enjoy this walk thoroughly. It is a very good course, but I cannot justify rating it the same as original because it really lacks the variety that original has. 3.5 doesn't really do this place justice but I am at a loss here. As a pair, these two make Meyer Broadway something special. Overall, this is a great park and I am excited to get back out there and play these two again. I am thinking that a round here when the air is still crisp and a hoodie and long pants are the perfect attire would be dreamy. This place was well worth the drive.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Meyer Broadway North

5+    10/10/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: CRDV-3400
Played: 68  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 37.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good variety of topography and hole design. Uphill, downhill, moderatly wooded to corridor. Many holes require placement as well as distance. Flows well. Requires one to have control of a number of shots to score well. Never crowded. This course makes you play golf!
Cons: Concrete tees would be nice. Certain holes have extreme rough- keep it on the fairway. Too many tweener holes - most pros will par, few will duece, few will bogey.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyable course close to home!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/3/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is mainly a combination of right-sized holes (300'-450') in hilly, grassy meadows, and shorter-to-average length forest holes. Some of the meadow holes feature steep hills (up and down), all with neatly mowed fairways that are fun to place drives onto. The best of them have unique, crop-circle shaped patterns at the 250-300 range to approach from. Forest holes are flatter and very tightly wooded, and are similar to some of the forest holes at Branstrom Park in Fremont. Rubber tee pads on all holes (at least it's not grass). Holes 3, 4, 12 and 18 (a sledding hill) are signature meadow holes, with terrific tee shots that are mostly wide open but have a few obstacles to keep it interesting. Good navigation for the most part, though Hole 6 is a long walk from Hole 5. Signs at most tees, though a couple are missing. Decent baskets throughout that are better than the baskets on the Original course.
Cons: Some of the rubber tee pads are cracked/damaged and are somewhat slippery at times (in 2011, they were apparent;ly pulled altogether). The forest holes are challenging but not necessarily fun, with lots of bugs and really rough areas. Tall grass bordering fairways of the meadow holes is easy to lose discs in, but as mentioned by Mashnut, do not increase challenge appropriately. Almost twisted an ankle looking for a disc by stepping in a mole hole in the right side rough of Hole 1.
Other Thoughts: Secluded with few golfers (a relief from Oshtemo), but no alcohol allowed in park (didn't stop me). A solid 3.5 course that is best in fall, and could make 4.0 or even 4.5 with cement pads and some work on the forest holes. Course retains its appeal after repeated rounds, with significantly more epic holes than nearly any course in the area, and in some cases, better than the Original course. With two great parks next to each other that are better than any course near bigger/busier areas like Lansing or Grand Rapids, make the time to check out Three Rivers disc golf.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.