Three Rivers, MI 
Meyer Broadway Park - North Share
Uploaded By: TimSyl Hole #2
3 / 145ft.   3 / 247ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Myer Broadway’s friendlier course

1    7/2/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 202  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 11.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Features some significant terrain changes to keep things interesting, but the North course has a few holes that play flat or close to it. Decent mix of shorter, wooded holes that limit you to relatively few lines and long open fairways (lined with tall, thick grass) which let you air it out and allow for many different routes. Offers some nice shot variety requiring hyzer, annie and straight shots off the tee, and mixes it up enough to keep things interesting over the entire 18 holes. Fairly scenic with decent eye appeal.
• Open holes have some well-placed trees and/or elevation changes to keep them interesting.
• Relatively beginner friendly while offering enough challenges for experienced players.
• Makes you pay for going off the fairway, but not as severely as the Original.
• Most of the course is pretty well segregated from other park activities.
• Finishes strong with a long 18th over a large valley. Long arms should be able to clear the huge dip, but shorter throwers will be taking a 2nd shot from a steep uphill lie. Real bombers could be looking for deuces.
• Good baskets, but I'm not sure whether tees and signs will be improved - they could use it.
• Decent amenities near the first/last hole: Clean bathroom, and a large pavilion with picnic tables to beat the heat/rain, soda/pop machine, as well as a playground for small children.
Cons: Not always obvious where next hole is. Flows OK from hole to hole, but, course map was a big help as a first timer. The walk from 5 to 6 seems considerably longer than the others, and had me wondering if I was going the right way.
• Course info has tee type as rubber, but all I saw was grass/dirt. Played OK, but probably just a matter of time before they just become depressions for collecting water.
• Tall grass makes finding discs that don't hold the fairway tough going. Found myself searching longer than I though was reasonable for drives that were just a bit wide of the fairway.
• The water behind hole 7 is pretty much blind, reachable from the tee, and not something I'm willing to wade into to retrieve a disc.
Other Thoughts: All in all, MB North is fun to play, and can stand on its own as a solid course, with enough challenge and variety to keep most players engaged. Makes a nice 36 hole day-trip combined with the more challenging Original located near the park entrance. With all the open holes and elevation changes, playing both can be exhausting on a hot day, and would be much more enjoyable when things start cool off towards the fall.

I'd have to say 18 is the signature hole, bit there are some other memorable holes on the course, including: 4, 8, 10, and 17.

Drop box for donations near the park entrance is on the honor system, so please pay your fair share to keep these courses in nice shape.

Located quite close to civilization and a variety of restaurants.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 North

2-4    4/23/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 210  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The north course provides a layout with similar feel to the original, although generally shorter and easier. Rolling grassy terrain interspersed with clumps of trees comprises the majority of the course, although some more wooded areas come into play. On the best holes, players can choose the safe lay up route for a sure par or try for longer shots. The sprawling elevation and mature trees that protect the longer lines provide plenty of risk for those trying for birdies. Water comes into play behind the pin on #7. #18 is an epic finisher across a broad grassy valley to a pin that is situated at a higher point than the tee.
- The course flows with the land. Nothing seems out of place.
- Above average earthen tees where the rubber pads had recently been removed (according to locals). Level and totally sufficient. At no point did the tees seem awkward or a hinderance.
Cons: - Tall grasses in the rough can make finding discs a pain, although punishment is for the most part very fair. Windy days can make it staying on the fairway more of a challenge.
- Navigation isn't always completely clear, but isn't terrible either. Ask one of the many friendly locals if you get turned around.
Other Thoughts: - The North layout is a wonderful compliment to the Original course. With two fine courses on site, and several other good courses nearby, Meyer Broadway is well worth a day trip.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Is There Anybody Out Here?

1    7/21/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 13.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There was absolutely nobody out here playing on a beautiful summer day. Hard to believe, but it allowed me to meditate without distraction and I loved that. Not one bit of litter on the whole course either. The first hole started off with a shot toward some trees through a well manicured and large wide open fairway. Two moves through the woods. The sound of a handgun popping off round after round could be heard close enough to make me nervous. I kept listening to make sure the rounds weren't whizzing by in my direction. Three takes you out the back door to an expansive field for another couple holes with circular landing areas that do indeed evoke the thought of crop circles. These holes simply demand a shot within the mowed areas, as like the original park, the roughs are tall grass and blooming weeds. There are no obstacles to negotiate other than a tucked in basket on five, but it can be a real nightmare trying to find your shot in this tangle. Hole six started my navigational woes as I walked the right way, became convinced it was the wrong way and doubled back, and finally made it back the right way again thinking all the while that the next hole couldn't possibly be this far from the last. It was. Back to the woods for a couple. One short but memorable shot to a tall mound sticks out as well as the water hazard that made me laugh. The hazard was a small basin of scummy green water right behind the basket on hole seven. You should have seen all of the frogs go leaping when I chained out. The rest of the holes were fairly unmemorable after this point apart from eighteen on the sledding hill. I think I saw a badger hole on number twelve. There are some nice uphill shots on the back nine and things do have a nice flow after the trek from five to six is accomplished. I liked being able to open up and at the same time be forced to control my shots.
Cons: The signage is poor, don't even remember if I saw any, and navigation is questionable in a few places. At times, the crop circles dictate how you will play a hole. There are instances where a longer drive would be inevitably lost in the tall grass and you are forced to lay up to a shorter spot simply because it is clear and would be the smart play. I can't figure out if I like that or not. I guess I respect it. The shooting all around was a bit nerve wracking. I am talking about guns here! It sounded like I was in a hot zone at times. The back nine is not all that memorable. It is hard for me to remember anything striking about it other than shooting up to a basket I could see peeking at me from atop a hill lined with crop circles and the bomb hole at eighteen.
Other Thoughts: I kept thinking of the song Into The Great Wide Open as I walked this. I did enjoy this walk thoroughly. It is a very good course, but I cannot justify rating it the same as original because it really lacks the variety that original has. 3.5 doesn't really do this place justice but I am at a loss here. As a pair, these two make Meyer Broadway something special. Overall, this is a great park and I am excited to get back out there and play these two again. I am thinking that a round here when the air is still crisp and a hoodie and long pants are the perfect attire would be dreamy. This place was well worth the drive.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Meyer Broadway North

5+    10/10/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: CRDV-3400
Played: 68  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 38.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good variety of topography and hole design. Uphill, downhill, moderatly wooded to corridor. Many holes require placement as well as distance. Flows well. Requires one to have control of a number of shots to score well. Never crowded. This course makes you play golf!
Cons: Concrete tees would be nice. Certain holes have extreme rough- keep it on the fairway. Too many tweener holes - most pros will par, few will duece, few will bogey.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyable course close to home!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Scenic Holes---Intermediate

5+    9/6/2009   9/10/2009
Review By: landon77
Played: 53  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2016
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Very challenging, very fun, big throwers delight.
--The holes are memorable and exciting.
--Each hole presents a challenge whether it is wooded or wide open. Hilly or flat, windy or not windy.
--This course has a great amount of variety on the holes! And even one water hole!
--The holes are in general very long and well groomed.
--The holes have signs. (albiet old and needing replacement)
--Excellent baskets!
--Well marked and layed out.
--Well groomed (crop cirlces) that clearly define the fairways.
--Very long wooded hole (longest in the surrounding area)
--Hole 18 is awesome and scenic!
--Not busy and secluded!
Cons: --Immature players destroying signs and not respecting the course.
--Springtime between May15th and June 15th ish has many many many ticks!!!!
--Grass and fields can get long and easy to lose a disk!!!!
--Rubber tee pads are old and worn, easy to lose footing and possibly sustaining an injury.
--Not enough benches or places to sit, you will get tired.
--The rough is really rough and EASY to lose a disc.



Other Thoughts: I am waivering on the score. This course has potential to be a 4.5 star course with improvements and a few changes on some of the holes. Cement tee pads and better signs with more benches. I could make it a 4.5 but felt improvements should be implemented. Out of the 2 courses between original and North, I like original better because of the challenge and slightly better holes. Both these courses are fun and excellent, and both have some epic holes.
Course has been improved and new signs installed. New tee pads on shorts. Plays much better.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.