Three Rivers, MI 
Meyer Broadway Park - North Share
Uploaded By: TimSyl Hole #10
3 / 240ft.   3 / 351ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Huge Tracts of Land

1    7/24/2015   7/30/2015
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 229  Reviewed: 212  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Playing here for the first time at the 2015 Am Worlds, the main thing that struck me (while hiking out to begin on hole 10) was that the course designers were given an impressively huge parcel of land on which to build a course, and they must've done a great deal of hiking to find the cool shots and variety they built! The course plays amongst rolling, prairie grass fields for half of its holes, and in amongst the woods for half. Distances from the long tees included two under 200', five under 300', three reaching toward 400', five more in the mid-400's and three more over 500'. There's plenty of distance to challenge all levels of amateur arms. With short tees averaging more than 100' shorter, I sometimes envied the fun Recreational players might have here.

Brand new, large, level concrete tees aim toward top quality DGA Mach 5 baskets, and are accompanied by excellent, detailed signage. For the most part, the flow is logical, and there's next tee signage where needed. An excellent course map awaits at the first tee, near the shelter, playground, and bathrooms. The final hole (a glorious, rolling valley shot) leads you back to the paved path and your return to where you parked.

The constantly changing variety of holes is a major plus for me. Beginning with a bang on hole 1, which requires a strong drive, but retains a few trees to force a line, and finishes with a cool basket position tucked just into the woods. A true par four hole. 2 is a finesse woods deuce opportunity, then 3 emerges like a sunbeam back out into the open. Into the woods at the end of 4, followed by the ace run 5, another deuce chance on 6, then 7 & 8 make a dastardly pair, with a left to right shot and a murky pond barely past the blind pin position, then a right to left to a blind position at the top of the hill. Shorties, but difficult. 9 is woody and has a rollaway 'green'. 11 is a pretty sweeping shot into the woods after the more open 10. 12 plays around and long to the left with two places where your fairway constricts. 13 has a 'window' from the long tee, but really plays down an S-shaped fairway to the pin. 14 presents another ace-deuce run, then 15 & 16 give you open, sunny fields again, with elevations to challenge your shot (especially the slope down beyond 15). 17 is a wooded lane with choices of lines, then you wrap up on the aforementioned valley shot on 18.

In all, an excellent competition level course that should keep players motivated to try new options from the longs and the shorts, and keep coming back for more. When combined with the pride the crew out here displayed during Worlds (I was astonished to see them hustling out before our round to use a leafblower on all the tees), it's clear the Three Rivers disc golf community has a winner in the pair of Meyer Broadway courses.
Cons: The design of the course is so spread out, it wasn't possible to create a good 'nine-and-nine' loop, so folks going out for a scramble start in tournament play do have to hike a bit. And you will need spotters for the tall grass, as well as bug spray.

I noted (only once or twice, though) that a tee here and there sloped a little with the terrain, rather than having been terraced in. Just my personal preference, but up-sloping tees get in my head too much. Like I said, I only noted it once or twice. Can't recall which ones.

My usual caveat about pay to play: it's $5, and OK by me, but you should know that going in, if you prefer 'free'.

Finally, the signage at the long tee on 13 suggested a straight fairway. It ain't.
Other Thoughts: Even though I screwed up a batch of shots as I finished my round on 8 & 9, I still enjoyed this course. There were a bunch of holes that were too long for me, but the course balanced those out very nicely with a bunch of deuce opportunities. I'm sure regular players can learn the lines, eliminate bogies on the longer holes, and really score well on a course like this.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    6/17/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: Indiana574
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park was beautifull when I went there no other people around very clean. It will test every shot you have straight s curve an hyzer hyzer you name it. Nicely mowed fairways. Can really open up on some holes. Very tall long grass for the ruff errant throws will be punished. Hole 7 has a nasty lil green pond right behind the basket be carefull cuz I Dout your gonna go wade it out lol. Also be carefull to not overthrow 7 thinkin the baskets on the hill that's basket 8. Hole 6 is aceable but you only have a small window. Hole 18 is the signature hole you throw from a hill up to another hill deffinetly can bomb one here :)
Cons: I really don't have to many cons some would say the ruff is to much but I like how each hole looks like it was cut out an placed there. Navigation could be ruff if you don't print out a map like I did.
Other Thoughts: Great park deffinetly Awsome. I would say if you are just a begginers or can't throw to far it's gonna be a real tuff course for you. An it's best to play with 1 or 2 buddy's an have a spotter on some holes

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    4/23/2011   4/27/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 444  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 12.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large section of the park property, with lots of rolling hills and a good amount of forest. Walking path is much more common on this course, but nothing else is going to get in the way.
- Good use of the forest to force some different lines; for the most part a straight shot is the key, but there are also some slight hyzers and annys. These hole definitely test the short game, as many can easily be reached (4 in a row under 253'). But, with thick rough and jail, saving a par can become very difficult. A few holes stand out like #7, with a murky pool of water behind the basket, and #8, which sits protected atop a small hill.
- Holes out the open have plenty of character as well, as lots have serious elevation changes. #18 is a big valley shot, with the basket sitting higher than the tee pad. Mowed fairways add a little more challenge, as well as some sloped greens here and there. There are definitely some more bomber shots out here; especially with the constant inclines.
- Some holes out in the open have some additional trees and forest to force some more line shaping. Most spots let you choose which line to take, but there are definitely places where a bad line can lead to major trouble. The holes have length to spare, but also need some semblance of accuracy.
- Good baskets. Teepads are a work in progress, but the dirt ones are in good shape. Signage is lacking in some spots, and the natural teepads can be a little tricky to spot, but the flow makes sense. Might want to check the map beforehand.
Cons: - A large amount of the course is set in the great wide open, so little thought is needed. Long hole lengths make it a grip and rip driving range. The elevation changes definitely help to mix things up, but otherwise there is no thought required.
- In general, the longer holes were wide open, and the shorter holes were tighter. Definitely testing accuracy and distance at different times; which made the longer holes seem blander. There were definitely some memorable ones, but others were nothing special at all.
Other Thoughts: - Definitely a solid course, with a good amount of variety to be found. Some of the bomber holes were very enjoyable, including the valley shot and the two-hill uphill hole with an elevated, sloping green. Holes in the forest ranged from pretty easy to pretty tough, with a few around 175' and a few over 300'. Constant elevation changes on top of that, and it's a little bit of everything.
- Much more beginner-friendly than the original course, but still challenging. A true new player is going to find some tough shots and punishment. A more advanced player will probably find some shots a little too easy, and some of the open holes too bland. Still, a solid stand-alone course with plenty of challenge.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 GREAT COURSE WOW!! again lol

5+    3/14/2011   3/15/2011
Review By: Emoney
Played: 59  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The second of 2 great courses meyer broadway north compliments the original. Great course design with all shots required, long/short and wide open/tight and uphill/downhill holes really push your game. Grass mowed consistently on fairways. Baskets are in good shape. Great long walk through nature, half in the woods and half in the open. Beautiful course that will challenge anyone. The fairways offer fair landing zones with tall grass rough if you miss and if your really off you get sticker bushes.. This course is great fun and a great challenge. my favorite holes are 1(wow big hole right off the back,long throw and a blind approach) and 3(simply beautiful open straight forward hole, you walk out of the woods into a field of rolling hills and nature, breathtaking). Just as good as the original course. Clean bathrooms before hole 1 and a pop machine! Good finishing hole that lets you throw out of your shoes,then throw a difficult blind approach.

PEOPLE PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE! PUT A DONATION IN THE BOX NEAR THE FRONT PARKING LOT. THESE COURSES ARE BAD A$$
Cons: There a few things that make me rate this course a half a disc lower.
*teepads are rubber and uneven and some missing
*very few tee signs at all
*harder to navigate than original course(if its ur first time). after hole 5 walk down the path left to get to next hole.
Other Thoughts: From what i heard this was a temp course originally and thats why it has rubber pads and poor signage. However, this course is amazingly beautiful and challenging. Rec players will have a hard time with these 2 courses. If u wanna play a game ,stay at home and play monopoly. If ur ready for a challenging sport,come out to these DESTINATION courses.

PLEASE DONATE SOME DOLLARS TO THESE BEAUTIFUL COURSES.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 All Day Wilderness Adventure

2-4    10/12/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: Anheuser
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Thought I'd review the North course as reviewing both seemed a little redundant. Both courses offer beautiful scenery and a lot of unique holes. Both score a solid 4 in my book. Huge arms are required for the long tees, and the shorts are still challenging. Every shot in your arsenal will be used at both courses. The course is clean, well maintained and has very little traffic. Both courses are a HIKE and provide a great workout. Classic Michigan disc golf. And with 36 holes it's a one stop destination course. Hands down the best 18+ hole park in all of southwest MI. Vending machines offer pop (that's what we call it here) and water. Outhouse style bathrooms on site. Practice basket just to the left of hole #1 on the South course. The park is not far from civilization either, with a variety of restaurants, gas stations and convenience stores right up the road. It costs a dollar to play (per person I think), on the honor system with a drop box. Please give more.
Cons: No short tee markers for the North course (the south course has wooden markers), except for rock piles which are absent on a couple of holes. The North course also has rubber tees as opposed to the concrete ones on the South course, which I didn't like as much. Somewhere in the back nine you run up against "civilization" i.e. a fence and houses, but it doesn't detract too much from the experience and you're soon back in the woods. Both courses can be difficult to navigate at times, even with a course map handy. No water. Lake views, concrete tees on every hole and short tee markers on the North course would give both courses a 4.5 to 5 rating in my opinion. Beginners will have a difficult time with this course, even from the shorts. Don't get frustrated, just enjoy the ride.
Other Thoughts: I would give a slight edge to the South course as far as rating. The North course I would give a 3.75, but having to choose I'd round up to 4. The "front" 18 is a solid 4 in my book.
I recently played both courses back to back with a short break in between. It was pretty grueling, especially since it was unseasonably hot. I pretty much lost my steam around hole 30 or so, but we pressed on and finished up.
No alcohol is allowed on the course, and the local league team there enforces that according to what I've read on the billboard there. Not that I'd even consider drinking while trudging around on this marathon hike.
A couple of course maps are pretty much a necessity here for your first time (or if you have a sense of direction like mine- your first 10 times).
This park is DEFINETLY a disc golf destination spot, and worth a good amount of driving to play. It's a hidden gem.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.