Three Rivers, MI 
Meyer Broadway Park - North Share
Uploaded By: TimSyl Hole #10
3 / 240ft.   3 / 351ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Is There Anybody Out Here?

1    7/21/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 13.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There was absolutely nobody out here playing on a beautiful summer day. Hard to believe, but it allowed me to meditate without distraction and I loved that. Not one bit of litter on the whole course either. The first hole started off with a shot toward some trees through a well manicured and large wide open fairway. Two moves through the woods. The sound of a handgun popping off round after round could be heard close enough to make me nervous. I kept listening to make sure the rounds weren't whizzing by in my direction. Three takes you out the back door to an expansive field for another couple holes with circular landing areas that do indeed evoke the thought of crop circles. These holes simply demand a shot within the mowed areas, as like the original park, the roughs are tall grass and blooming weeds. There are no obstacles to negotiate other than a tucked in basket on five, but it can be a real nightmare trying to find your shot in this tangle. Hole six started my navigational woes as I walked the right way, became convinced it was the wrong way and doubled back, and finally made it back the right way again thinking all the while that the next hole couldn't possibly be this far from the last. It was. Back to the woods for a couple. One short but memorable shot to a tall mound sticks out as well as the water hazard that made me laugh. The hazard was a small basin of scummy green water right behind the basket on hole seven. You should have seen all of the frogs go leaping when I chained out. The rest of the holes were fairly unmemorable after this point apart from eighteen on the sledding hill. I think I saw a badger hole on number twelve. There are some nice uphill shots on the back nine and things do have a nice flow after the trek from five to six is accomplished. I liked being able to open up and at the same time be forced to control my shots.
Cons: The signage is poor, don't even remember if I saw any, and navigation is questionable in a few places. At times, the crop circles dictate how you will play a hole. There are instances where a longer drive would be inevitably lost in the tall grass and you are forced to lay up to a shorter spot simply because it is clear and would be the smart play. I can't figure out if I like that or not. I guess I respect it. The shooting all around was a bit nerve wracking. I am talking about guns here! It sounded like I was in a hot zone at times. The back nine is not all that memorable. It is hard for me to remember anything striking about it other than shooting up to a basket I could see peeking at me from atop a hill lined with crop circles and the bomb hole at eighteen.
Other Thoughts: I kept thinking of the song Into The Great Wide Open as I walked this. I did enjoy this walk thoroughly. It is a very good course, but I cannot justify rating it the same as original because it really lacks the variety that original has. 3.5 doesn't really do this place justice but I am at a loss here. As a pair, these two make Meyer Broadway something special. Overall, this is a great park and I am excited to get back out there and play these two again. I am thinking that a round here when the air is still crisp and a hoodie and long pants are the perfect attire would be dreamy. This place was well worth the drive.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Crop circles

5+    5/17/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: Red Wings Fan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Huge course, Lots a variety and good elevation changes. wild life (I've seen a deer every time I've been there). can really max out your drive, good makings and most hole have a picture at the tee to give you an idea of where your throwing if you don't know. very spread out course. EMPTY very small amount of player out there so no rush, just relaxing. Some of the fairways look like crop circles.
Cons: not cement tees (I think this will be updated) Lots of tall grass
Other Thoughts: watch for ticks

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Meyer Broadway North

5+    10/10/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: CRDV-3400
Played: 68  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 38.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good variety of topography and hole design. Uphill, downhill, moderatly wooded to corridor. Many holes require placement as well as distance. Flows well. Requires one to have control of a number of shots to score well. Never crowded. This course makes you play golf!
Cons: Concrete tees would be nice. Certain holes have extreme rough- keep it on the fairway. Too many tweener holes - most pros will par, few will duece, few will bogey.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyable course close to home!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Scenic Holes---Intermediate

5+    9/6/2009   9/10/2009
Review By: landon77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 15.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Very challenging, very fun, big throwers delight.
--The holes are memorable and exciting.
--Each hole presents a challenge whether it is wooded or wide open. Hilly or flat, windy or not windy.
--This course has a great amount of variety on the holes! And even one water hole!
--The holes are in general very long and well groomed.
--The holes have signs. (albiet old and needing replacement)
--Excellent baskets!
--Well marked and layed out.
--Well groomed (crop cirlces) that clearly define the fairways.
--Very long wooded hole (longest in the surrounding area)
--Hole 18 is awesome and scenic!
--Not busy and secluded!
Cons: --Immature players destroying signs and not respecting the course.
--Springtime between May15th and June 15th ish has many many many ticks!!!!
--Grass and fields can get long and easy to lose a disk!!!!
--Rubber tee pads are old and worn, easy to lose footing and possibly sustaining an injury.
--Not enough benches or places to sit, you will get tired.
--The rough is really rough and EASY to lose a disc.



Other Thoughts: I am waivering on the score. This course has potential to be a 4.5 star course with improvements and a few changes on some of the holes. Cement tee pads and better signs with more benches. I could make it a 4.5 but felt improvements should be implemented. Out of the 2 courses between original and North, I like original better because of the challenge and slightly better holes. Both these courses are fun and excellent, and both have some epic holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/3/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 86  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is mainly a combination of right-sized holes (300'-450') in hilly, grassy meadows, and shorter-to-average length forest holes. Some of the meadow holes feature steep hills (up and down), all with neatly mowed fairways that are fun to place drives onto. The best of them have unique, crop-circle shaped patterns at the 250-300 range to approach from. Forest holes are flatter and very tightly wooded, and are similar to some of the forest holes at Branstrom Park in Fremont. Rubber tee pads on all holes (at least it's not grass). Holes 3, 4, 12 and 18 (a sledding hill) are signature meadow holes, with terrific tee shots that are mostly wide open but have a few obstacles to keep it interesting. Good navigation for the most part, though Hole 6 is a long walk from Hole 5. Signs at most tees, though a couple are missing. Decent baskets throughout that are better than the baskets on the Original course.
Cons: Some of the rubber tee pads are cracked/damaged and are somewhat slippery at times (in 2011, they were apparent;ly pulled altogether). The forest holes are challenging but not necessarily fun, with lots of bugs and really rough areas. Tall grass bordering fairways of the meadow holes is easy to lose discs in, but as mentioned by Mashnut, do not increase challenge appropriately. Almost twisted an ankle looking for a disc by stepping in a mole hole in the right side rough of Hole 1.
Other Thoughts: Secluded with few golfers (a relief from Oshtemo), but no alcohol allowed in park (didn't stop me). A solid 3.5 course that is best in fall, and could make 4.0 or even 4.5 with cement pads and some work on the forest holes. Course retains its appeal after repeated rounds, with significantly more epic holes than nearly any course in the area, and in some cases, better than the Original course. With two great parks next to each other that are better than any course near bigger/busier areas like Lansing or Grand Rapids, make the time to check out Three Rivers disc golf.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 3 rivers

1    3/21/2009   3/21/2009
Review By: mmyersdisc
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice chainstar baskets, nice signage although the second hole was confusing to find...we actually played hole 15 instead (wasn't paying attention to the sign) walked around entire course and finally found 3 and 2....nice wooded shots and open bomb shots, becareful of the rough!!!
Cons: The rough would be rough in the spring/greener seasons...thorns are horrible on the back 9 so keep it on the fairway or else!!!
Other Thoughts: All-in-all the 2 courses offered here at broadway are well worth the trip, my friends and I traveled about a hour and it was very fun!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

better than ever

5+    7/20/2015   11/18/2008
Review By: TimSyl
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2015
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Full disclosure: I helped design and build this course for 2008 Worlds. Nine wooded/technical holes, nine open longer holes-good variety.
-5x12 cement pads longs and shorts.
-ample fairways on the open holes.
-have to shape shots, not simply throw bombs.
-new tee signs.
-new "next" tee signs for those with navigation issues.
Cons: Ticks and mosquitos bad at certain times of the year.
Rough thick it spots, but continues to be reduced.
Other Thoughts: With 36 holes, Three Rivers is a disc destination!

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center