Disc Golf Store
Chili, NY 
Chili DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 380ft.   3 / 430ft.   4 / 490ft. Par / Distance:
Next Tee Sign



Reviews: 64
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
VooDoo Chili

1    8/24/2014   9/17/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 234  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: FYI, Chili DGC, is not pronounced like the Red Hot Chili Peppers. Long i, times two. I didn't know, until a local clued me in (thanks Marshall). The disc golf course has a little water, almost no elevation change, and a variety of widely spaced trees. I liked the first hole the best, playing a little downhill, and a big anhyzer RHBH, that I parked and hit the birdie putt. There are several long holes, and a pair of really long holes (911' on 11, and 719' on 18). Some OB, watch for white posts marking the edges of some fairways. Par 58 overall seemed about right to me, I scored 60 on my first and only round. There are concrete tees with decent signs, and Mach 3 baskets. Circular tin shack on the back 9 looked cozy, provides a rare bit of shade.
Cons: Very open, not overly technical. I played during nearly perfect weather, but I'm sure wind is often a factor, and exposure to the sun is unavoidable. The distance is the main obstacle on a few holes, sort of repetitious, but making the most of what is there. Layout isn't too confusing, but a course map may come in handy. Keep your dog on a tie, leash law breakers will get a $200 ticket. There were cops finishing a report on a car break in when I showed up, with a distraught looking couple and broken glass on the ground.
Other Thoughts: Chili is a pretty solid course, and worth a play. Liked what I saw, but not enough pizzaz. Really felt like a ball golf course, tree canopy will rarely limit airspace or force tight lines. Well equipped and well established, mostly clean and nicely kept. 3.75 rating would be my call, I will round up to for on the merit of the front 9, and the two monsters on the back. May cause soreness of the arm, especially if played in succession with additional rounds.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wide Open Spaces

2-4    6/7/2014   7/9/2014
Review By: Akedos
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete teepads, mostly maintained fairways, wide open spaces, and just a little bit of everything to play with. Trees on most holes, but nothing that is closed up. Some righty holes, some lefty. Lots of straight shots. A few over mild water. A few really long holes and a couple short ones. There are benches set up frequently throughout the course which is nice since it is pretty long. And you will probably only lose a disc in high grass if you don't look long enough. Good course over all to play a round.
Cons: A couple spots are perpetually muddy. A few actual bridges ought to be installed over the creek instead of logs. The tee signs are not helpful at all, take a map. There are supposedly a second set of tees, but if you can find them then you are already a daily player of the course because they are just stakes in the ground. The wind is terribly unpredictable out there too. Bathrooms available sometimes, other times not.
Other Thoughts: If you want someplace to go air it out this is the place. If you want someplace to test out the flight path of your disc... you have about a 75% chance of wind.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/28/2014   6/29/2014
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 25  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 0.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Nice concrete tees
- Excellent hand painted signs showing layout, par, and distances. (wish they drew the short/mid tees on them)
- Natural course flow with 2 9 hole loops.
- Bathrooms & pavilion on site
- The course is beautifully maintained very clean.
- There is very little elevation on site, but what is here is well used including a few man made mounds, elevated pins, and an elevated tee.
- A few creative obstacles such as a small windmill and a corn crib guarding a basket add character.
- 2 very long holes (911' & 716' par 4s) with a few short ones (207' & 223') to give both the long & short armed players some fun. Most other holes are ~350-400' par 3s.
-Very little lost disc opportunity. Don't be afraid of the 7 holes marked as water - they are almost all just a ditch that is pretty easy to find your disc in. Not much high grass. The brush that is there around the outside is good at knocking discs back in play and if not is fairly open once inside. The only hazard that is a pain are the abundant disc eating pine trees - but those can be solved with a hockey puck.
Cons: - There is not a lot of shot variety and very few forced lines. Most play almost straight ahead down the fairway where any shot will do as long as your placement is good. This became crystal clear to me when I was showing this course to someone who had never played and I found myself repeatedly saying something along the lines of "there is the pin (straight ahead) keep it in the fairway and make sure aren't in jail behind that pine tree" when explaining the holes.
- It is wide open with very little shade. Bring lots of water and don't forget the sunscreen.
- 3 sets of tees are useless when you can't find the mid & short tees. I've been through quite a few times and I've yet to locate them all. I pretty much consider this course to just have long tees.
Other Thoughts: Although the course is very open they have done a good job with the trees that they have to create a variety of chokepoints. Most holes have a gap (although usually generous) that you must hit and if you miss it you find yourself in jail behind a very large pine tree or 3.

Overall I really like this course and it always provides a good test to my game. I just wish there was a bit more variety in play here to bring this to the next level. I was very close to giving it a 4.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Chili

1    11/19/2012   11/19/2012
Review By: sfoulkrod
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.4 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy to drive to from downtown and offers a very rural and scenic experience. Lots of wildlife to be seen, which is nice and lots of small touches that would indicate this course has been worked on and thought about. I really liked the silo and the windmill, my dog loved the creek. The holes weren't hard to find or play (I brought a map, but didn't need to use it).
Cons: Although there are trees and other obstacles, almost everything can be navigated by throwing over because of the openness. Most of the holes are short par 3's, but 11 and 18 are over 600 feet. I didn't quite understand why there were three different distance markers and I had no idea which one pertained to the cement tee I was throwing from, but it didn't really matter to me because I'm new at the sport.
Other Thoughts: Great course well worth the visit. The front 9 are mostly straight par 3's, although 6 has an early dog leg left that was fun to play (as a lefty). The back 9 was more interesting starting with #10 which has a hard right break after about 150 feet. #11 is a long straight hole, #14 is a dog leg right and #18 is a long dog leg left. Clearly, whoever made this course spent a lot of time designing it and it's well worth a visit.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice!

1    9/1/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: Skiddy28
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Well maintained and challenging. Good mix of long and short holes.
Cons: Very narrow fairways compared to Ellison and high ruff that you need to search through for your disc if it goes wide at all.
Other Thoughts: Would recommend playing here.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Day of DGing in the Sun!

2-4    7/11/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: bosoxbrent
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Nice concrete tee boxes
* Excellent signage
* Beautiful meadow that is pretty well maintained
* Baskets are in great condition
* Very quiet
* There are a couple monster holes, 700+ feet that were a lot of fun to play.
Cons: * Could have used more wooded areas, but still the open play is fantastic.
* There was a lot of trash in the parking lot and at various holes along the course
* Park was hard to find from road due to no sign for "Widemer Park". You should instead be looking for a small sign for Baker Park.
Other Thoughts: Overall I loved playing here. Not as much as I loved playing Parma (mainly due to the mix of woods and fields there), but this was a close second. The course was beautiful, challenging enough for veterans, but easy enough for newbies. There is a lot of open space and it gets plenty of sun, so I can't imagine it getting too muddy or wet. I had a lot of fun at this course and will definitely be back.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Choke Points

1    6/23/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Long-n-wide concrete teepads. Two nine-hole loops. Excellent online map.

Pretty and well manicured. Lots of nice, little touches (e.g. a mini-windmill). Area dedicated to disc golf. Set upon a fairly flat piece of land, with the occasional random slope. Bordered on three sides by rows of trees. A tiny stream runs across a section of the course.
Cons:
Single basket location.

While the signs at the long tee locations indicate that there are two other (middle=red, short=blue) tee location per hole, it wasn't until the last couple of holes that these small, in-ground markers made themselves easily visible.
Other Thoughts:
The main theme of the course is its choke points. While the majority of the fairways are quite broad, there typically will be trees and/or bushes forming choke points 100'~200' from the tee. Additionally, most every green will also be guarded by trees/bushes squeezing the approach as well. While only a few of these choke points would be considered tight, the steady diet of them will need to be overcome to score well.

From the long tees, there are a few long (four > 400') and short (two < 225') holes, but most fall into the ~300~400' range. Straight off the tee will serve you well in most cases, except for numbers 1, 10, and 12 (rights) and number 6 (left).

For the most part, the fairways are wide enough, and separated by scattered trees, that cross-fairway encroachment should be fairly minimal. The most dangerous spot is a right-to-left tee shot from tee-16 passing over tee-7.

Favourite hole #6: Needing an early left-turner from the tee, the mid-fairway and green-area contains small pockets of trees/bushes, making for a very challenging approach.

The corn crib, or whatever it is near basket-17, makes a distinctive thumping-sound if you happen to hit with your approach - or airmail a 35' putt past the basket, as I did.

Very nice course, worth a play if in the area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A fun relaxed round awaits

1    5/29/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 nice concrete tee pads. Decent signs at the tees with distances and general hole layout. Signs appear hand painted which is a nice look.

Park is pristine and very well maintained. It seems like a lot of love and work has gone into this course. Grass is mowed, and rough is trimmed to leave baskets and fairways looking great.

No other park activities to hinder your efforts. It's just you and the course. This is a pretty piece of land with some creeks and small ponds mixed in with varying trees and grasses. A round here does feel like a pleasant walk in a country farm.

Even though the entire course has the same feel to it, there is a big variety of hole lengths to keep things a little mixed up. You'll be throwing from 220' all the way up to about 900'. That variety helps make up for some of this course's limitations.
Cons: Almost every hole has the same look and feel. Course is mostly open with mowed grass fairways, large trees, and well-tended island of trees or bushes. There is not a huge variety of looks and shots. Many of the holes are dead straight shots that require you to miss a big tree or two. Not really any line shaping needed.

No elevation. A basket or two on a very small hill, and a tee or two up a few feet, but it really is flat.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very good course. Being a noodle arm from NC, I prefer tightly wooded courses that force you to make certain shots. If you like a more open course then you would probably rate this course a little higher than me.

This would be a great course to bring a beginner as the fairways are generous, and you can save an errant shot in most locations. Also a great place to,work on rollers. Many long fairways with nice short grass.

This course is flat but used a few small hills and some piles of woods chips to create some variety in the terrain. All that helps, but this would be a great place for an elevated basket or two. I wouldn't want to see the overall look and feel of the course change dramatically, but one or two creative tweaks would liven up a round.

For those of you that do enjoy some technical lines #12 is a nice little 223' shot that has a low ceiling andmfairlymtight window off the pad. Then a RHBH played must either make a decent flick or turnover shot to get to the basket which is wedged on the edge of the woods in some trees. And if you go too far right you end up in some thick woods. Cool little hole mixed in to the open course.

This is definitely a course worth playing when you are in the area, and doubly so if you enjoy a more wide open, less technical round.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great

5+    3/27/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: jkanick38
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete pads are real nice Wide open light trees plays more like an actual golf course, great for all levels of skill and very forgiving if u have a bad day, multiple tees make great for kids or beginers, very pretty course during full foliage
Cons: liter is a problem on a few holes
Other Thoughts: nicely cut fairways, well kept overall, just a fun time, give u many shot options to test out and play with, good for learning and praticing new shots or disc, overall one of the better corses in rochester in my mind

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 professional calliber

5+    2/6/2012   2/8/2012
Review By: GrEaTeRNaTeR
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is maticulously maintained with a professional feel to it. Nicely mowed fairways navigate you through this what was once farm land. tastefully placed baskets give you a chance to shoot around some challenging obstacles such as and old silo and windmill. creek comes into play on a handful of holes to give it that extra edge
Cons: walking from basket 11 to tee pad 12 is a little soggy this time of year but not a huge issue.
Other Thoughts: just a couple of things to give it a better review.... some type of net such as a pool skimmer set up next to the creek to retrieve submersed discs in these chilly winter months. more seating next to some of the tee pads for those times of waiting your turn

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.