Disc Golf Store
Chili, NY 
Chili DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 202ft.   3 / 300ft.   3 / 381ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Pro Tee



Reviews: 65
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Chili

1    11/19/2012   11/19/2012
Review By: sfoulkrod
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.6 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy to drive to from downtown and offers a very rural and scenic experience. Lots of wildlife to be seen, which is nice and lots of small touches that would indicate this course has been worked on and thought about. I really liked the silo and the windmill, my dog loved the creek. The holes weren't hard to find or play (I brought a map, but didn't need to use it).
Cons: Although there are trees and other obstacles, almost everything can be navigated by throwing over because of the openness. Most of the holes are short par 3's, but 11 and 18 are over 600 feet. I didn't quite understand why there were three different distance markers and I had no idea which one pertained to the cement tee I was throwing from, but it didn't really matter to me because I'm new at the sport.
Other Thoughts: Great course well worth the visit. The front 9 are mostly straight par 3's, although 6 has an early dog leg left that was fun to play (as a lefty). The back 9 was more interesting starting with #10 which has a hard right break after about 150 feet. #11 is a long straight hole, #14 is a dog leg right and #18 is a long dog leg left. Clearly, whoever made this course spent a lot of time designing it and it's well worth a visit.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A soggy course with potential.

2-4    11/26/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 120  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through, across, and around the marshes and wetlands that meander through the property. The course is mostly open, but the many pine trees keep you honest. The signature of the course is the piles of wood chips that dot some of the fairways, acting as artificial obstacles to the pin. I really like these as a feature and think more courses should use this when planting trees is impractical (as it often is). A couple times my approach collided with the pile, and I navigated the footing for a unique type of putting.

There are a couple of ace runs, and there are several very long holes (one was over 900 feet).

Tee pads are all concrete, but they are not especially long.
Cons: The baskets are grey and not always very visible from the tee. Navigation is okay, but I highly recommend the map. Several times the closest tee is not actually the next tee.

The tee signs aren't great. They are homemade, painted boards. The distances may or may not be accurate, but the fairways depicted are not helpful and in some cases are just wrong. Hole #6's sign shows the fairway basically going straight ahead, and there is indeed a basket straight ahead. But it's for another hole. The actual basket is a 90-degree dogleg to the left. Honestly, every fairway on every sign looked almost exactly the same.

The tee signs show distances for red and blue tees. Honestly, I didn't realize until I read some other reviews that there were alternate tees (which are apparently just stakes in the ground). I thought they were alternate pin positions. I don't see much point in multiple tees if the tees aren't clearly marked!

This course is really saturated. It didn't rain in the few days before I played, but the course was sloshy, even on the fairways. Wear boots or some waterproof footwear.

There isn't much elevation here. If you can throw 300+ feet with accuracy (I can't!), you will probably score well here.
Other Thoughts: This course certainly has character with the wood chip piles, marshes, and a variety of windmills here and there. The course seems to be popular. There were 10-12 groups there when I played. It is only about 15 minutes from the airport, so this is a convenient one to hit if you are looking for a round or two before your flight.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My first course

1    11/13/2010   11/22/2010
Review By: Flippy
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This was my introduction to disc golf. After playing other courses recently, this course offers a challenge that will get newbies hooked. The holes are long yet forgiving in terms of trying new shots. No real hazards to worry about.
Cons: No real cons; it's overall a good course to play.
Other Thoughts: If you're new, bring a driver or two. I started with a mid range and putter -- this made it a long day. Plus, you'll get great practice driving.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Big Shot Required

1    5/10/2007   10/10/2008
Review By: nickstaudt
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2010
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Huge layout with different tees. The fairways are large enough to allow you to air it out with everything you have on many holes without fearing your disc will never be seen again. Well manicured. Elevated tees and greens and some signature holes you won't see duplicated elsewhere. (11 and 18) A small creek comes into play on a couple holes which serves as a water hazard.
Cons: Many if not most holes favor the biggest throwers. Too open on too many fairways.
Other Thoughts: Very fun course that provides a unique challenge in terms of the vast length of some holes. A must play if you find yourself in the Rochester area. Beautiful course all the way around. I'd bring a golf cart if I owned one.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2/20/2008   2/20/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful looking course. Very unique in Disc Golf standards. Groomed to look like a ball golf course with a lot of landscaping. Three tee placements per hole which change often. Plus most holes have additional pin placements. (can be windy) Has a couple of raised greens that are nice to look at and challenging to putt on. If you play from the RED (middle position tee) you have a lot of potential birdie holes and if you play from YELLOW (long position tee) you have a lot of practice with letting it rip. Great course for beginners.
Cons: The last few years the town hasn't been the best supported for Disc Golf. Hopefully that will improve.
Other Thoughts: On a side, note, It is said when Ed Hendrich (Father of Disc Golf) first visited this course, he got out of his car, stared out into the course and said something like… This is exactly how I dreamt Disc Golf courses would look like. (Quote isn't an exact quote because I wasn't there, but you get the idea)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open spaces

8/25/2007   9/1/2007
Review By: MattK
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 8.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a true disc golf course, not just disc golf wedged into park space. Tees are well marked with detailed carved wooden signs. The length of the holes make driving a workout. The unique terrain of the greens, with mounds, trees, and even a silo can make putting interesting as well.
Cons: The color scheme of the tees is unconventional, thinking that reds were the shortest I played from the yellows, not noticing the order of Yellow>Red>Blue...confusing for the first time through.
Also I echo the sentiments about some of the holes on the back nine, particularly the long 11th and 18th. They reminded me of what I don't like about ball golf: throw it as far as you can; chase it; repeat.
Other Thoughts: Everyone who complains that DG has no driving ranges will love this course. For the rest of us, it is still a very interesting, unique and relaxing place that is worth the visit.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ehhh

5/25/2007   6/12/2007
Review By: CraigC
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/29/2008
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The front 9 has a wide variety of short-medium length holes. A creek brings course management into play for 3-4 holes on the front. Hole signage is very nice. It's not part of a public park, so there isn't any non-DGers to get in your way.
Cons: The back 9 is terrible. Basically it's "see how far you can throw your disc across an open field" with little originality.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

8/24/2006   5/24/2007
Review By: Raoul Duke
Played: 16  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 7/12/2007
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Creative course design have made this a fun course to play.
Cons: Some holes were too wide open. Hucking in a field is not golf to me.
Other Thoughts: Loads of work have turned a farmer's field into an interesting experiment in dg.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.