Chili, NY
Chili DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18 (Taken 7/2009)
4 / 380ft.   4 / 622ft.   4 / 716ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Pro Tee



Reviews: 61
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Nice!

1    9/1/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: Skiddy28
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well maintained and challenging. Good mix of long and short holes.
Cons: Very narrow fairways compared to Ellison and high ruff that you need to search through for your disc if it goes wide at all.
Other Thoughts: Would recommend playing here.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great Day of DGing in the Sun!

2-4    7/11/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: bosoxbrent
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Nice concrete tee boxes
* Excellent signage
* Beautiful meadow that is pretty well maintained
* Baskets are in great condition
* Very quiet
* There are a couple monster holes, 700+ feet that were a lot of fun to play.
Cons: * Could have used more wooded areas, but still the open play is fantastic.
* There was a lot of trash in the parking lot and at various holes along the course
* Park was hard to find from road due to no sign for "Widemer Park". You should instead be looking for a small sign for Baker Park.
Other Thoughts: Overall I loved playing here. Not as much as I loved playing Parma (mainly due to the mix of woods and fields there), but this was a close second. The course was beautiful, challenging enough for veterans, but easy enough for newbies. There is a lot of open space and it gets plenty of sun, so I can't imagine it getting too muddy or wet. I had a lot of fun at this course and will definitely be back.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 professional calliber

5+    2/6/2012   2/8/2012
Review By: GrEaTeRNaTeR
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is maticulously maintained with a professional feel to it. Nicely mowed fairways navigate you through this what was once farm land. tastefully placed baskets give you a chance to shoot around some challenging obstacles such as and old silo and windmill. creek comes into play on a handful of holes to give it that extra edge
Cons: walking from basket 11 to tee pad 12 is a little soggy this time of year but not a huge issue.
Other Thoughts: just a couple of things to give it a better review.... some type of net such as a pool skimmer set up next to the creek to retrieve submersed discs in these chilly winter months. more seating next to some of the tee pads for those times of waiting your turn

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Open Course

5+    9/1/2011   9/1/2011
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 77  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - cement tee pads
- signs in good condition with one par and distances for all three tees
- fairways well mantained and defined
- course flows very well with signs pointing in the direction of the next tees. Starts and ends at the parking lot
- never seems to be a lot of people
Cons: - The shorter tees are not easy to find . However this is not a problem because I never play them.
- Since the course is wide open and there is not much shade, it can get very hot in the summer
- Hole 11 is par 4 900 feet straight shot with lots of brush on both sides where discs can get lost
- There might be a discrepancy of the distances on the sign and actual distances
Other Thoughts: Although there are no "wooded" holes most of the open drives require you to place your drive in a certain area. Their are also several "ceiling" drives where you have to keep your drives low to avoid trees. Overall there is enough variety to make up for no wooded holes. My favorite holes include hole 8 which is a possible "ace run" where you tee off from a hill and have to throw around a large tree to the basket less than 200 feet away which is on another hill. Hole 12 also tees off from a hill with out of bounds on your right and the basket nestled in an opening to the right about 223 feet away guarded by a fence. Finally for hole 18 you tee off 700 feet away from the basket and drive down the faiway which turns to the left. If you hyzer too much yu will end up in trees. The basket is on a hill and if you overshoot your put you could be looking at a really hard putt.

8/31/13 I played Chili today and the alternate tees are now very visible by a red plank in the ground

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

a must play

5+    8/19/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: jayman33
Played: 43  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - description: excellent, pristine 18 hole course, lightly wooded and mostly flat on what was once farm land. has a small stream in play on several holes. some cool features include man-made mounds, a windmill, a small cilo, and a old-style wooden fence on two holes.
- tees and signs: painted signs and concrete tee pads are excellent
- hole design: long course. the first 9 are shorter than the back, but still long. fairways/trees force you to shape your shots even though they're mostly open. back 9 is more open and even longer with hole 11 at 911 feet and hole 18 at 716. uses mowed fairways, letting the rough grow quite high.
- basket locations: good. hole that stands out the most is 18, a long par 4 with the basket located on the top of a 10 or 15 foot high mound. from the top of the mound, you get a cool view of much of the course.
- favorite hole: hole 9. after about 300 feet, the fairway closes in with pines on the left and right that extend 80 feet further back to the green.
- flow and player traffic: good. seems to always have several groups playing, but never really a long wait.
- difficulty: high. very challenging course, perhaps the hardest (parma's up there, too).
Cons: - alternate tees: shorter tees would definitely be recommended for beginners but are hard to find
- long grass: makes finding discs difficult and can be extremely itchy
- wetness: because of terrain, this course is very wet in early spring
Other Thoughts: - one of rochester's best, side by side with parma. a definite must play!
- if you're not interested in the length of the back 9, play the front twice. this would make the course more beginner friendly as well

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    7/29/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: PKBrownE87
Played: 44  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is Extremely beautiful with well manicured fairways. Very open which makes for a wide variety of shots. Short holes/longs holes. Concrete Tee pads for Long Game. Interesting objects such as wood chip barriers, wind mills, and a silo. Small creek that runs through the course. Overall an excellent course!
Cons: Tee pad signs need correct distance and a more graphic overview of the hole. Other than that, i could not complain at all.
Other Thoughts: Got to play Round 5 of the 2011 World Ams there in the pouring rain and had a blast!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Rochester Gem

1    7/28/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Concrete tee pads on the long tees. Short & Medium tees are marked with either colored stakes on the ground or small colored markers flush with the ground (most of these are pretty hard to find). MachIII baskets are all in good shape with numbers. Tee signs are pretty, but the painted hole diagrams aren't typically enough detail to help you out much, and the distances on about a third of them are wrong. The creek bed (dry or not) that runs through the course plays OB which increases the challenge. Combine that with all the perimeter tree lines being OB and you've got a tough course. There aren't a whole lot of tight lines to hit here which make Chili somewhat forgiving. "Inverted bunkers" (or "piles" to the rest of us) made from wood chips and hay bales add a challenge on some holes. "Next tee" signs keep you headed in the right direction. Course info board, restrooms and decent parking on site.
Cons:
There aren't many cons at Chili, especially just after being prep'ed for PDGA AM Worlds. Weak alternate tee markings and incorrect distances are a couple. This course can get dangerous when filled with players, i.e. during a tournament. The fairways are close, play back on each other, and you can't see a lot of incoming discs until they're right on top of you because of the trees. Limited shade on the course so Summer rounds will be hot. Tall grass off-fairway can make finding discs tough.
Other Thoughts:
This course has character. The windmills, mini silo, wooden fences, manicured fairways, all make this course a joy to look at. There isn't really an unfair hole on the course, which makes it a joy to play. I waver between a 4.0 and 4.5 for this course, it's definitely solid, but doesn't give me that "wow" feeling after a round that I expect from a 4.5 course.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open course! Loved it!

2-4    3/12/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: sethELT
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/13/2011
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful course that's incredibly well laid out!
Holes are cleverly placed sometimes, hidden in trees, over berms, etc. Use of farm equipment as obstacles is interesting (Silo, hay bales, etc)
Well maintained and the large signs and concrete pads clearly mark the holes
Cons: Can be a little monotonous, some of the obstacles are annoying, but challenging. Not many close wooded holes, lot of loooooong drive shots.
Other Thoughts: May be a little boring for some people, although I loved it, others may not enjoy the lack of wooded holes, or constant long distance driving.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Throw WIDE N yER PARKed

1    9/26/2010   9/30/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 11.9 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I have been hearing about Chili for 10 yrs now and finally got up to western NY to give it a whirl. I had heard about the many obstacles such as the silo, windmill, haybales, farm equipment, mounds and elevated greens. I also was prepared to grip-n-rip all day. I wasn't prepared for what unfolded before me as I played this world class course on the grounds of the old Baker Farm. The park itself is truly a disc golf only property and it has its own pavillion with actual restrooms and a huge parking lot with no other activities present. I felt like I was at an actual Bolf course and would have payed for such upkeep and amenities had someone been charging. The land itself is mostly flat with a few slowly rolling hills and a small stream that washes through the center of the course.
What wowed me was the design of the holes that actually created thought provoking holes for big armed players. I have never played a course that forced big guns to think so much..with far away obstacles, alternate skyzer lines, inviting treelines to fly over, and all of these with enough risk reward to tempt birdie for the over 350' crowd leaving lesser arms to throw into the great wide open off the tee and do our thinking on shot 2. The Big Arms who usually have a "me big arm..me throw far" now had to say "me big arm..me thinks now" as they ponder the shot off the tee. I'd imagine weenie arms are like just throw already geeze unaware of the distant choices running through a longer players mind off the tee.
The farm equipment was more fun and less gimmicky to me. I'd love to be able to hit the aluminum silo 389 uphill of the tee that guards basket 17 off the tee. kind of like letting everyone know your there...THWACK! oh SH1T Mr Big Arm is here!!!! Holes 4,11, 14,15, have particularly tempting up and over routes. A well placed big drive could set you up for birdie on several of these holes. Hole 10 is one of the better R doglegs I've played with a well defined lane that if you hit correctly is an easy bird but miss it slightly and you are behind a wall of evergreens. Ace runs on holes 8 and 13 were welcoming and well timed in the flow of the course. Long multi throw holes such as the 911 ft hole 11 and to a lesser extent 6 and 18 provided chances to drive to set up a critical second drive. The elevated greens and elevated baskets brought the wind and fun into teeing off and approaching. Gap throwin over the wash on 5 and blind greens like 16 provided for some interesting moments. Well defined fairways using uncut grass and planted trees to form a true golf experience. The best part of this course is the temptation to go up and over, skyzer around, or just simply bypass many of the obstacles that define the course. Much of the course reminded me of places on Moraine where your tempted to roll, line shape through, or fly over trees and shrubs. You will be rewarded if you have an overhand and a sidearm as getting over or out of evergreens can be tough on the strictly BH player. Did I mention the peaceful serene DG only atmosphere.
Cons: A few things kept me from going 5 rating here. A few of the holes are not very remarkable and I never got that WOW feeling here. For all the definition that the high grass provides it can cause some long searches for not so terrible throws. Thick schule on the border holes that line the property (2,3,11,12,13)
Probably my biggest con is that the course didn't punish me enough. I often felt my scrambles were more like minor adjustments.
Other Thoughts: Initially was gonna put this under cons but decided its more of my own idea and belongs here. I don't have a long arm and I pictured myself playing with some 990 rated players from my home course. I pictured them going big on the uphill hole 14 over the evergreens and getting within 60 ft of the basket missing the putt and dropping in a 3.....birdie look but unlikely. I would throw a more tradional 300 footer into the wide open spaces of the fairway, have a 150 foot approach and make the 15 footer. We both 3. Not fair he outplayed me and we both get a 3. A lot of the course plays like this. I think too many of the obstacles and choices are far from the tee. I'd rather there be a bit more initial danger off the tees here. I was basically looking at open space off the tee and could catch up to those tremendous longer players without much trouble. If there was some more earlier trouble for me to negotiate near the tees and for the bigger guns to bypass then I think your truly creating some real reward for going big here. Is that a popular opinion...no as most players will enjoy getting their 3s along with top players. I just think there are enough technical courses for weenies to slice up the big D guys. I'd like to see Chili be a true Big Arm delight where you have to go big or go home. I also think some subtle off the tee weaving might add something to this course and add some enjoyment to shorter arms while further rewarding the Big Boys. I'm just thinking maybe that one little tree 100 ft away or 2 evergreens forming a low gap 75 feet off the tee. The kind of thing that will add thought to a short arm and be basically invisible to a 400+ thrower.
All in All this is the best open air course I've played and I relish the chance to come back here....for those who want technical go to Basil. This place is an older more open course that somehow seems to have withstood the test of time.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf sanctuary

1    7/24/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 115  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Disc golf only park! Nice newly constructed pavilion next to parking lot
Meticulously maintained, gorgeous piece of land. Somewhat reminiscent of ball golf in appearance
Interesting obstacles (windmill, wood chips, silo, windmill, etc)
Some creative pin placements to add challenge (elevated, protected)
Concrete tee pads, nice signage and baskets in good shape
Well designed, easy to navigate, flows naturally
Many water hazards but few are truly disc eating
Loops back to parking lot after #9
Even though mostly open and long, there's enough dense rough and woods bordering some of the fairways to make you think twice about blindly gripping and ripping your drive on some holes.
Cons: Lacks diversity/technicality as there are no true wooded holes (mainly open)
Very little elevation change (mostly flat)
Seems to not drain very well - was very wet when I played (region around course is swap land)
Alt. tees are not marked well and difficult to locate
Other Thoughts: This course is a thing of beauty - disc golf eye candy! There's just so much visually stimulating about the place that I use the much-detested comparison to a ball golf course - except here you don't have to pay to play.

The strongest part of the course was the front nine as it seemed to have more variety and diversity. Most of the elevation, water, trees, rough & creative pin placements were to be found here. These holes had more character & challenge resulting in greater enjoyment .

The back nine wasn't as strong - while containing more of the longer holes, it was much more open, had fewer of the enjoyable features found on the front nine and played similarly. However, it did consist of many interesting obstacles and manmade structures which gave it a certain charm not often found on disc golf courses.

Weidner Park is a very relaxed, peaceful & overall enjoyable place to play - a type of a disc golf sanctuary if you will. I cannot imagine being in the Rochester area and not playing this course. That would be an epic fail.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.