Disc Golf Store
Chili, NY 
Chili DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 380ft.   3 / 430ft.   4 / 490ft. Par / Distance:
Next Tee Sign



Reviews: 63
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great

5+    3/27/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: jkanick38
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete pads are real nice Wide open light trees plays more like an actual golf course, great for all levels of skill and very forgiving if u have a bad day, multiple tees make great for kids or beginers, very pretty course during full foliage
Cons: liter is a problem on a few holes
Other Thoughts: nicely cut fairways, well kept overall, just a fun time, give u many shot options to test out and play with, good for learning and praticing new shots or disc, overall one of the better corses in rochester in my mind

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your arm!

5+    10/9/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: Chiefstang
Played: 75  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Being a dedicated course is great. The fairways are beautifully manicured, with sawgrass for the rough, making it worthwhile to stay on the short stuff. BIG course with many long distance holes. 11 is over 900 ft..... And slightly uphill. The facilities are great, there's concrete at every tee, and the upkeep is amazing. Obstacles are well placed, making for some challenging long throws. LOVE the inverted "bunkers"! Really one of the nicer Rochester courses, and host of the 1999 Worlds. This is the course than ended Climo's streak!
Cons: The tall grass does make it tricky to find your disc if it ends up in the rough, so watch your disc all the way to the ground. If you're looking for any tight/wooded holes, you will be disappointed.
Other Thoughts: The majority of the holes are pretty long, but there are a few birdie/ace holes mixed in, giving the course great variety. Really a gorgeous course all around. It's just as nice as any ball course, but luckily has baskets instead of holes. If you're in the area, you owe it to yourself to play this one!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best one yet!

1    5/29/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: jlandry117
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Each hole is clearly labeled; so no guessing where to go next. Grounds are kept up nice. I actually felt like i was on a golf course. There's a few very long holes and some good natural obstacles; tons of trees and high brush along with defined fairways and rough. This is the nicest course i have been to so far!
Cons: Honestly none. I have been enjoying heavily wooded courses lately which this is not at all but was still a great course to play on.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't been here yet you should definately check it out, you will not be dissappointed.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Can't wait to get back

5+    5/30/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: OzzyMac
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was the course that I started playing on, and it still stands up to any other local course. This place really simulates the "real" golf course environment, complete with some raised tees and greens, lots of un-mowed "rough" and the best variety around. The concrete teepads makes my 4 into a 4.5.

UPDATE: Played a few Rochester rounds this weekend and this course is REALLY nice now. The signs are great and I really like the illustrated full course signs.
Cons: The bugs can get REALLY nasty in mid-summer. Also, there's a few places where you can easily lose a disc in high grass/nasty brush.

UPDATE: Seems that this course can get rather crowded these days.
Other Thoughts: I took the game for granted when I was playing rounds weekly here. I'd kill to be 10 minutes away from this place like I used to be.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Loved this course

5+    10/26/2009   10/27/2009
Review By: paul1969
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Perfectly mowed course. No Dogs. No strollers. JUST DISC!!! Haven't been out to the Farm in few years. The old building was gone. New parking lot. Concrete pads( no ruts-AWESOME)
Cons: It does get swampy. But I ususually waited until 4th Julyish to start playing. Dry Spring you can play earlier.
Other Thoughts: Papier-māche tree gone. STill have the tin shed and old windmill. Absolutley love this course. Ellison was my 1st but this is my fave after that silly redesign at Elllison.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Destination Course

1    8/25/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: shirfan
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: "Immaculate" is the first word that comes to mind. Beautiful golf-course setting with manicured fairways and great scenery. Wood chip bunkers, a couple murky ponds, a stream, and some good old-fashioned woodsy rough can come into play if you're not careful. A variety of pine and deciduous trees also dot the landscape in strategic spots.

Course flow and the play of each hole are well thought out, rewarding good throws and punishing bad (although usually not too severely.)

A big arm will definitely help here, but smart upshots and good putting are probably more important. Most baskets are either elevated or guarded by trees and/or other hazards.

Freshly installed concrete pads are a nice bonus.

The locals must take a lot of pride in this course, as I saw no garbage cans yet hardly any litter. It was also nice to be in a setting almost entirely geared towards disc golf. No close traffic, no loud parties at park shelters nearby, no dog walkers or oblivious park zombies wandering around fairways.
Cons: Ladies' tees are tough to find; my wife guessed where to throw from on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth the trip. I would gladly pay to play at a course like Chili.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course

1    8/2/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: Firefinger
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well laid out course, cement tee's, and ladies tee's as well. Clean no trash and cut grass, trees, ect... emaculate!!
Cons: only one I can think of if you don't like long courses this one has some long holes... and I hear bugs can be a pain but really wasn't bad when I was there...

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of a kind

5+    8/10/2008   7/19/2009
Review By: RocCityDiscer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very unique links style course that highly resembles a real golf course with mowed fairways and tee boxes. Practice basket near parking lot. Three sets of tees on each hole. Great mix of distance from really short deuceable holes to a monster 911' hole. Along with some really unique obstacles/basket locations.
Cons: Be prepared to play in the wind, even on a relatively calm day the wind will mess with your shots. Unmowed grass off the fairway gets pretty tall and will eat your disc if you don't keep a really good eye on it. A few swampy areas make disc retrieval not so fun.
Other Thoughts: I call this the best course in the Rochester area due to its one of a kind feel. Bring your distance drivers and big arm, but don't forget your accuracy either.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Just like a golf course

1    6/16/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: runnaman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Amazingly manacured fairways with roughs and everything.
- Moderate amount of trees, making for the necesity of a good drive, otherwise you're going to get stuck behind I pine (as I did many times).
- A lot of long holes which most courses tend to skip out on so they can fit more holes into a smaller area.
Cons: - No concrete tee pads which make it hard for me to get a good release.
- The unmanacured parts of the course are very overgrown and could use some trimming.
- Very hard to navigate alone.
Other Thoughts: Upon arrival I was a little sceptical because the parking lot was under construction, but after walking around the course a little bit I could tell that it was going to be a nice course. It is set up like a links style golf course and is one of the best courses I have played and I would recommend it to anyone in the Rochester, or even New York, area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun For Beginers

5+    6/1/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This Cousre has nice fairways and Challenging long shots not a lot of water.

Side note you can wear Flip Flops on this course too...
Cons: It is one of the longest cousres in rochester so it takes like a full two hours to play
Other Thoughts: I have taken many first time players here and with the golf course like atmosphere and not a ton of obsticals they were hooked.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.