Chili, NY 
Chili DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 155ft.   3 / 200ft.   3 / 223ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign



Reviews: 65
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 professional calliber

5+    2/6/2012   2/8/2012
Review By: GrEaTeRNaTeR
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is maticulously maintained with a professional feel to it. Nicely mowed fairways navigate you through this what was once farm land. tastefully placed baskets give you a chance to shoot around some challenging obstacles such as and old silo and windmill. creek comes into play on a handful of holes to give it that extra edge
Cons: walking from basket 11 to tee pad 12 is a little soggy this time of year but not a huge issue.
Other Thoughts: just a couple of things to give it a better review.... some type of net such as a pool skimmer set up next to the creek to retrieve submersed discs in these chilly winter months. more seating next to some of the tee pads for those times of waiting your turn

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A little open

1    8/20/2011   1/8/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a sprawling grassy park with scattered trees. Many of the trees are dense evergreens that make excellent obstacles and that can really affect your next shot if you end up in or behind one. There are some small stream beds and marshy areas in play that add a little risk reward to some shots. The fairways are nicely mowed, and the park was in nice shape with good baskets and decent concrete tees. The signs have hole layout and distance, and the layout is pretty easy to follow.

The course plays fairly open, so there aren't a ton of shots where you really have to hit a specific line. That said, there is still some variety here, with everything from ace runs to a 900 footer. Many of the longer holes call for some attention to shot placement to avoid the pines and piles of wood chips placed as fairway obstacles.
Cons: The openness makes the course feel a bit repetitive at times. The designer(s) did a nice job with the available land, and the manmade obstacles like wood chip piles and the silo are fun additions. The tee signs aren't always accurate as to hole shape and distance. The long grass along some fairways is my least favorite type of obstacle, it adds frustration rather than challenge. The shorter sets of tees are natural and only marked with small stakes. Most don't really change the hole much, they just shorten the hole. There are a few holes that are very close to one another, errant shots can easily make it onto other fairways.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find some of the holes pretty long, though inaccurate shots aren't terribly punished on most holes here. More experienced players will find some challenges, but it's pretty open and doesn't really make you execute different kinds of shots.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A soggy course with potential.

2-4    11/26/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 117  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through, across, and around the marshes and wetlands that meander through the property. The course is mostly open, but the many pine trees keep you honest. The signature of the course is the piles of wood chips that dot some of the fairways, acting as artificial obstacles to the pin. I really like these as a feature and think more courses should use this when planting trees is impractical (as it often is). A couple times my approach collided with the pile, and I navigated the footing for a unique type of putting.

There are a couple of ace runs, and there are several very long holes (one was over 900 feet).

Tee pads are all concrete, but they are not especially long.
Cons: The baskets are grey and not always very visible from the tee. Navigation is okay, but I highly recommend the map. Several times the closest tee is not actually the next tee.

The tee signs aren't great. They are homemade, painted boards. The distances may or may not be accurate, but the fairways depicted are not helpful and in some cases are just wrong. Hole #6's sign shows the fairway basically going straight ahead, and there is indeed a basket straight ahead. But it's for another hole. The actual basket is a 90-degree dogleg to the left. Honestly, every fairway on every sign looked almost exactly the same.

The tee signs show distances for red and blue tees. Honestly, I didn't realize until I read some other reviews that there were alternate tees (which are apparently just stakes in the ground). I thought they were alternate pin positions. I don't see much point in multiple tees if the tees aren't clearly marked!

This course is really saturated. It didn't rain in the few days before I played, but the course was sloshy, even on the fairways. Wear boots or some waterproof footwear.

There isn't much elevation here. If you can throw 300+ feet with accuracy (I can't!), you will probably score well here.
Other Thoughts: This course certainly has character with the wood chip piles, marshes, and a variety of windmills here and there. The course seems to be popular. There were 10-12 groups there when I played. It is only about 15 minutes from the airport, so this is a convenient one to hit if you are looking for a round or two before your flight.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 good, tough course

1    9/9/2011   9/10/2011
Review By: icorey
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good amount of variety, long holes. Well maintained. Holes were fun. Looks like a lot of effort is put into the course.
Cons: The shorter tees are almost impossible to find. A few teepads face slightly in the wrong direction toward other backets, so I threw a few in the wrong direction. There's a lot of long grass (rough?) that I lost my discs in way too many times. Also, <200' hole is par 3, >900' hole is par 4?
Other Thoughts: I didn't see any garbage cans and towards the back of the park there was a lot of trash on the ground.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Open Course

5+    9/1/2011   9/1/2011
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 90  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - cement tee pads
- signs in good condition with one par and distances for all three tees
- fairways well mantained and defined
- course flows very well with signs pointing in the direction of the next tees. Starts and ends at the parking lot
- never seems to be a lot of people
Cons: - The shorter tees are not easy to find . However this is not a problem because I never play them.
- Since the course is wide open and there is not much shade, it can get very hot in the summer
- Hole 11 is par 4 900 feet straight shot with lots of brush on both sides where discs can get lost
- There might be a discrepancy of the distances on the sign and actual distances
Other Thoughts: Although there are no "wooded" holes most of the open drives require you to place your drive in a certain area. Their are also several "ceiling" drives where you have to keep your drives low to avoid trees. Overall there is enough variety to make up for no wooded holes. My favorite holes include hole 8 which is a possible "ace run" where you tee off from a hill and have to throw around a large tree to the basket less than 200 feet away which is on another hill. Hole 12 also tees off from a hill with out of bounds on your right and the basket nestled in an opening to the right about 223 feet away guarded by a fence. Finally for hole 18 you tee off 700 feet away from the basket and drive down the faiway which turns to the left. If you hyzer too much yu will end up in trees. The basket is on a hill and if you overshoot your put you could be looking at a really hard putt.

8/31/13 I played Chili today and the alternate tees are now very visible by a red plank in the ground

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 a must play

5+    8/19/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: jayman33
Played: 44  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - description: excellent, pristine 18 hole course, lightly wooded and mostly flat on what was once farm land. has a small stream in play on several holes. some cool features include man-made mounds, a windmill, a small cilo, and a old-style wooden fence on two holes.
- tees and signs: painted signs and concrete tee pads are excellent
- hole design: long course. the first 9 are shorter than the back, but still long. fairways/trees force you to shape your shots even though they're mostly open. back 9 is more open and even longer with hole 11 at 911 feet and hole 18 at 716. uses mowed fairways, letting the rough grow quite high.
- basket locations: good. hole that stands out the most is 18, a long par 4 with the basket located on the top of a 10 or 15 foot high mound. from the top of the mound, you get a cool view of much of the course.
- favorite hole: hole 9. after about 300 feet, the fairway closes in with pines on the left and right that extend 80 feet further back to the green.
- flow and player traffic: good. seems to always have several groups playing, but never really a long wait.
- difficulty: high. very challenging course, perhaps the hardest (parma's up there, too).
Cons: - alternate tees: shorter tees would definitely be recommended for beginners but are hard to find
- long grass: makes finding discs difficult and can be extremely itchy
- wetness: because of terrain, this course is very wet in early spring
Other Thoughts: - one of rochester's best, side by side with parma. a definite must play!
- if you're not interested in the length of the back 9, play the front twice. this would make the course more beginner friendly as well

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 IDragon

1    7/26/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: idragon
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice and flat with one really long whole to let it rip! Built for only disc golf, it is really nice and well maintained.
Cons: Lots of OB! For beginners like me it was a challange.
Other Thoughts: Lot of different looks on this course, I would diffently play it again!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    7/29/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: PKBrownE87
Played: 72  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is Extremely beautiful with well manicured fairways. Very open which makes for a wide variety of shots. Short holes/longs holes. Concrete Tee pads for Long Game. Interesting objects such as wood chip barriers, wind mills, and a silo. Small creek that runs through the course. Overall an excellent course!
Cons: Tee pad signs need correct distance and a more graphic overview of the hole. Other than that, i could not complain at all.
Other Thoughts: Got to play Round 5 of the 2011 World Ams there in the pouring rain and had a blast!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Rochester Gem

1    7/28/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 7 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Concrete tee pads on the long tees. Short & Medium tees are marked with either colored stakes on the ground or small colored markers flush with the ground (most of these are pretty hard to find). MachIII baskets are all in good shape with numbers. Tee signs are pretty, but the painted hole diagrams aren't typically enough detail to help you out much, and the distances on about a third of them are wrong. The creek bed (dry or not) that runs through the course plays OB which increases the challenge. Combine that with all the perimeter tree lines being OB and you've got a tough course. There aren't a whole lot of tight lines to hit here which make Chili somewhat forgiving. "Inverted bunkers" (or "piles" to the rest of us) made from wood chips and hay bales add a challenge on some holes. "Next tee" signs keep you headed in the right direction. Course info board, restrooms and decent parking on site.
Cons:
There aren't many cons at Chili, especially just after being prep'ed for PDGA AM Worlds. Weak alternate tee markings and incorrect distances are a couple. This course can get dangerous when filled with players, i.e. during a tournament. The fairways are close, play back on each other, and you can't see a lot of incoming discs until they're right on top of you because of the trees. Limited shade on the course so Summer rounds will be hot. Tall grass off-fairway can make finding discs tough.
Other Thoughts:
This course has character. The windmills, mini silo, wooden fences, manicured fairways, all make this course a joy to look at. There isn't really an unfair hole on the course, which makes it a joy to play. I waver between a 4.0 and 4.5 for this course, it's definitely solid, but doesn't give me that "wow" feeling after a round that I expect from a 4.5 course.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/6/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: Spock
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 36.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's open year round, so when you have a nice weekend in early March you can still play.
It's fairly challenging... most birdies are rare enough here to actually mean something.
Cons: A lot of the course is very swampy for much of the year.
Too many blind holes.
The course is usually very windy.
I have a love-hate affair with concrete tee pads, especially on long, swampy courses. I want to wear cleats for play in the fairway and the rough, but cleats don't ride well on the concrete tees.
Other Thoughts: When originally designed, there were few trees (in fact, they had paper-mache trees and hale bales for obstacles). Now that a bunch of the trees have grown up, the fairways have disappeared (for example, hole 5 has become pure luck... skill is no longer a significant part of this hole. There are similar problems with growth near hole 12 and others over the past 20 years).
I know that everybody else thinks having a bunch of 700+ ft holes is cool, but for me, it's just boring and stupid.
Similarly, when I bring newbies here, they ALWAYS lose a disc... whether in the high grass on the rough (rare) or the deep and blind water hazards near holes 6 and 9 (common). It is also too easy to lose a disc on hole 15 since the trees have grown, because the hole is now blind.
I don't really care for the artificial bunkers, either... they make me conscious of how artificial the holes are. As someone who's been playing since before Steady Ed's marketing of the pole-hole, I like courses that are more natural.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.