Chili, NY
Chili DGC Share
Uploaded By: lcra0825 Hole #3 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 155ft.   3 / 260ft.   3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 61
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Chili

1    11/19/2012   11/19/2012
Review By: sfoulkrod
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy to drive to from downtown and offers a very rural and scenic experience. Lots of wildlife to be seen, which is nice and lots of small touches that would indicate this course has been worked on and thought about. I really liked the silo and the windmill, my dog loved the creek. The holes weren't hard to find or play (I brought a map, but didn't need to use it).
Cons: Although there are trees and other obstacles, almost everything can be navigated by throwing over because of the openness. Most of the holes are short par 3's, but 11 and 18 are over 600 feet. I didn't quite understand why there were three different distance markers and I had no idea which one pertained to the cement tee I was throwing from, but it didn't really matter to me because I'm new at the sport.
Other Thoughts: Great course well worth the visit. The front 9 are mostly straight par 3's, although 6 has an early dog leg left that was fun to play (as a lefty). The back 9 was more interesting starting with #10 which has a hard right break after about 150 feet. #11 is a long straight hole, #14 is a dog leg right and #18 is a long dog leg left. Clearly, whoever made this course spent a lot of time designing it and it's well worth a visit.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Nice!

1    9/1/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: Skiddy28
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well maintained and challenging. Good mix of long and short holes.
Cons: Very narrow fairways compared to Ellison and high ruff that you need to search through for your disc if it goes wide at all.
Other Thoughts: Would recommend playing here.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great Day of DGing in the Sun!

2-4    7/11/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: bosoxbrent
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Nice concrete tee boxes
* Excellent signage
* Beautiful meadow that is pretty well maintained
* Baskets are in great condition
* Very quiet
* There are a couple monster holes, 700+ feet that were a lot of fun to play.
Cons: * Could have used more wooded areas, but still the open play is fantastic.
* There was a lot of trash in the parking lot and at various holes along the course
* Park was hard to find from road due to no sign for "Widemer Park". You should instead be looking for a small sign for Baker Park.
Other Thoughts: Overall I loved playing here. Not as much as I loved playing Parma (mainly due to the mix of woods and fields there), but this was a close second. The course was beautiful, challenging enough for veterans, but easy enough for newbies. There is a lot of open space and it gets plenty of sun, so I can't imagine it getting too muddy or wet. I had a lot of fun at this course and will definitely be back.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Choke Points

1    6/23/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 324  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Long-n-wide concrete teepads. Two nine-hole loops. Excellent online map.

Pretty and well manicured. Lots of nice, little touches (e.g. a mini-windmill). Area dedicated to disc golf. Set upon a fairly flat piece of land, with the occasional random slope. Bordered on three sides by rows of trees. A tiny stream runs across a section of the course.
Cons:
Single basket location.

While the signs at the long tee locations indicate that there are two other (middle=red, short=blue) tee location per hole, it wasn't until the last couple of holes that these small, in-ground markers made themselves easily visible.
Other Thoughts:
The main theme of the course is its choke points. While the majority of the fairways are quite broad, there typically will be trees and/or bushes forming choke points 100'~200' from the tee. Additionally, most every green will also be guarded by trees/bushes squeezing the approach as well. While only a few of these choke points would be considered tight, the steady diet of them will need to be overcome to score well.

From the long tees, there are a few long (four > 400') and short (two < 225') holes, but most fall into the ~300~400' range. Straight off the tee will serve you well in most cases, except for numbers 1, 10, and 12 (rights) and number 6 (left).

For the most part, the fairways are wide enough, and separated by scattered trees, that cross-fairway encroachment should be fairly minimal. The most dangerous spot is a right-to-left tee shot from tee-16 passing over tee-7.

Favourite hole #6: Needing an early left-turner from the tee, the mid-fairway and green-area contains small pockets of trees/bushes, making for a very challenging approach.

The corn crib, or whatever it is near basket-17, makes a distinctive thumping-sound if you happen to hit with your approach - or airmail a 35' putt past the basket, as I did.

Very nice course, worth a play if in the area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

A fun relaxed round awaits

1    5/29/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 nice concrete tee pads. Decent signs at the tees with distances and general hole layout. Signs appear hand painted which is a nice look.

Park is pristine and very well maintained. It seems like a lot of love and work has gone into this course. Grass is mowed, and rough is trimmed to leave baskets and fairways looking great.

No other park activities to hinder your efforts. It's just you and the course. This is a pretty piece of land with some creeks and small ponds mixed in with varying trees and grasses. A round here does feel like a pleasant walk in a country farm.

Even though the entire course has the same feel to it, there is a big variety of hole lengths to keep things a little mixed up. You'll be throwing from 220' all the way up to about 900'. That variety helps make up for some of this course's limitations.
Cons: Almost every hole has the same look and feel. Course is mostly open with mowed grass fairways, large trees, and well-tended island of trees or bushes. There is not a huge variety of looks and shots. Many of the holes are dead straight shots that require you to miss a big tree or two. Not really any line shaping needed.

No elevation. A basket or two on a very small hill, and a tee or two up a few feet, but it really is flat.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very good course. Being a noodle arm from NC, I prefer tightly wooded courses that force you to make certain shots. If you like a more open course then you would probably rate this course a little higher than me.

This would be a great course to bring a beginner as the fairways are generous, and you can save an errant shot in most locations. Also a great place to,work on rollers. Many long fairways with nice short grass.

This course is flat but used a few small hills and some piles of woods chips to create some variety in the terrain. All that helps, but this would be a great place for an elevated basket or two. I wouldn't want to see the overall look and feel of the course change dramatically, but one or two creative tweaks would liven up a round.

For those of you that do enjoy some technical lines #12 is a nice little 223' shot that has a low ceiling andmfairlymtight window off the pad. Then a RHBH played must either make a decent flick or turnover shot to get to the basket which is wedged on the edge of the woods in some trees. And if you go too far right you end up in some thick woods. Cool little hole mixed in to the open course.

This is definitely a course worth playing when you are in the area, and doubly so if you enjoy a more wide open, less technical round.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great

5+    3/27/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: jkanick38
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete pads are real nice Wide open light trees plays more like an actual golf course, great for all levels of skill and very forgiving if u have a bad day, multiple tees make great for kids or beginers, very pretty course during full foliage
Cons: liter is a problem on a few holes
Other Thoughts: nicely cut fairways, well kept overall, just a fun time, give u many shot options to test out and play with, good for learning and praticing new shots or disc, overall one of the better corses in rochester in my mind

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 professional calliber

5+    2/6/2012   2/8/2012
Review By: GrEaTeRNaTeR
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is maticulously maintained with a professional feel to it. Nicely mowed fairways navigate you through this what was once farm land. tastefully placed baskets give you a chance to shoot around some challenging obstacles such as and old silo and windmill. creek comes into play on a handful of holes to give it that extra edge
Cons: walking from basket 11 to tee pad 12 is a little soggy this time of year but not a huge issue.
Other Thoughts: just a couple of things to give it a better review.... some type of net such as a pool skimmer set up next to the creek to retrieve submersed discs in these chilly winter months. more seating next to some of the tee pads for those times of waiting your turn

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A little open

1    8/20/2011   1/8/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a sprawling grassy park with scattered trees. Many of the trees are dense evergreens that make excellent obstacles and that can really affect your next shot if you end up in or behind one. There are some small stream beds and marshy areas in play that add a little risk reward to some shots. The fairways are nicely mowed, and the park was in nice shape with good baskets and decent concrete tees. The signs have hole layout and distance, and the layout is pretty easy to follow.

The course plays fairly open, so there aren't a ton of shots where you really have to hit a specific line. That said, there is still some variety here, with everything from ace runs to a 900 footer. Many of the longer holes call for some attention to shot placement to avoid the pines and piles of wood chips placed as fairway obstacles.
Cons: The openness makes the course feel a bit repetitive at times. The designer(s) did a nice job with the available land, and the manmade obstacles like wood chip piles and the silo are fun additions. The tee signs aren't always accurate as to hole shape and distance. The long grass along some fairways is my least favorite type of obstacle, it adds frustration rather than challenge. The shorter sets of tees are natural and only marked with small stakes. Most don't really change the hole much, they just shorten the hole. There are a few holes that are very close to one another, errant shots can easily make it onto other fairways.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find some of the holes pretty long, though inaccurate shots aren't terribly punished on most holes here. More experienced players will find some challenges, but it's pretty open and doesn't really make you execute different kinds of shots.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A soggy course with potential.

2-4    11/26/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 102  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through, across, and around the marshes and wetlands that meander through the property. The course is mostly open, but the many pine trees keep you honest. The signature of the course is the piles of wood chips that dot some of the fairways, acting as artificial obstacles to the pin. I really like these as a feature and think more courses should use this when planting trees is impractical (as it often is). A couple times my approach collided with the pile, and I navigated the footing for a unique type of putting.

There are a couple of ace runs, and there are several very long holes (one was over 900 feet).

Tee pads are all concrete, but they are not especially long.
Cons: The baskets are grey and not always very visible from the tee. Navigation is okay, but I highly recommend the map. Several times the closest tee is not actually the next tee.

The tee signs aren't great. They are homemade, painted boards. The distances may or may not be accurate, but the fairways depicted are not helpful and in some cases are just wrong. Hole #6's sign shows the fairway basically going straight ahead, and there is indeed a basket straight ahead. But it's for another hole. The actual basket is a 90-degree dogleg to the left. Honestly, every fairway on every sign looked almost exactly the same.

The tee signs show distances for red and blue tees. Honestly, I didn't realize until I read some other reviews that there were alternate tees (which are apparently just stakes in the ground). I thought they were alternate pin positions. I don't see much point in multiple tees if the tees aren't clearly marked!

This course is really saturated. It didn't rain in the few days before I played, but the course was sloshy, even on the fairways. Wear boots or some waterproof footwear.

There isn't much elevation here. If you can throw 300+ feet with accuracy (I can't!), you will probably score well here.
Other Thoughts: This course certainly has character with the wood chip piles, marshes, and a variety of windmills here and there. The course seems to be popular. There were 10-12 groups there when I played. It is only about 15 minutes from the airport, so this is a convenient one to hit if you are looking for a round or two before your flight.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 good, tough course

1    9/9/2011   9/10/2011
Review By: icorey
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good amount of variety, long holes. Well maintained. Holes were fun. Looks like a lot of effort is put into the course.
Cons: The shorter tees are almost impossible to find. A few teepads face slightly in the wrong direction toward other backets, so I threw a few in the wrong direction. There's a lot of long grass (rough?) that I lost my discs in way too many times. Also, <200' hole is par 3, >900' hole is par 4?
Other Thoughts: I didn't see any garbage cans and towards the back of the park there was a lot of trash on the ground.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.