Chili, NY 
Chili DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 155ft.   3 / 260ft.   3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 65
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Can't wait to get back

5+    5/30/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: OzzyMac
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was the course that I started playing on, and it still stands up to any other local course. This place really simulates the "real" golf course environment, complete with some raised tees and greens, lots of un-mowed "rough" and the best variety around. The concrete teepads makes my 4 into a 4.5.

UPDATE: Played a few Rochester rounds this weekend and this course is REALLY nice now. The signs are great and I really like the illustrated full course signs.
Cons: The bugs can get REALLY nasty in mid-summer. Also, there's a few places where you can easily lose a disc in high grass/nasty brush.

UPDATE: Seems that this course can get rather crowded these days.
Other Thoughts: I took the game for granted when I was playing rounds weekly here. I'd kill to be 10 minutes away from this place like I used to be.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Throwin' on the Farm

1    4/2/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: mobster
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course layout with most of the holes flowing very nicely. There are some great technical holes from the cement tees; some very long bombs from the same tees as well. The mounds and fences add another dimension in obstacles and make you think about where your throw will land. Course is kept nice; hardly saw any trash or vandalism.
Cons: The shorter tees are hard to find at times; they're not marked on the maps.
Other Thoughts: I was expecting a lot out of Baker and it didn't disappoint. I'm going to suggest we add mounds like Baker at my local course instead of just planting more trees. As a Rec player, the cement tees weren't that big of a challenge until hole 11. The most important thing was that I had fun and my father-in-law had a blast for his first time as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Links Style

5+    10/17/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: Gator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 9 has the more technical holes but are still fairly long. The back 9 is where a big arm really helps. The course is fairly open and the wind is genearlly a big factor in your score. The course has fresh cement teepads as of 2009. Even with the length of the course the holes still require you to hit lines and shape shots.
Cons: If you don't have the arm for the cement tee's there are other tee's out there (but poorly marked)
Other Thoughts: This course hosted the 1999 Pro Worlds and will host the 2011 Am Worlds.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The best course in Rochester

2-4    5/20/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: jonnieoh
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long, challenging, great course layout, private and quiet. Each hole has different, interesting challenges and obstacles to overcome. This is only a disc golf course. It doesn't share real estate with hikers, bikers and dog walkers.
Cons: Can get squishy/muddy, so bring waterproof shoes or boots.
Other Thoughts: Highly recommended!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 killer long course

5+    6/17/2009   11/25/2009
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 213  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: beautiful plot of land dedicated only to disc golf (not a public park)
lots of long, challenging holes
some variety of shots but mainly open
new concrete teepads (installed summer '09)
easy to navigate
interesting man-made designs and obstacles (inverted woodchip bunkers, elevated baskets, silo, windmill)
very well manicured and maintained
lots of parking
never crowded
a few minor water hazards
i believe the new building they just put up in the parking lot has bathrooms, not sure
Cons: needs new tee signs, old ones are great (carved wood) but some are missing and some are outdated
short tees are unmarked or very difficult to find (just colored squares even with or under grass)
no alternate pin locations
no trash cans (carry out your trash!!!)
few technical holes, not much risk/reward
Other Thoughts: Another great Rochester course! This one is long and brutal but a lot of fun. One of the great things about this course is that the holes are mostly open but there are lots of tree lines that shape the fairways and give lots of options for flight lines. A few great signature holes too: 6 with a drive over a creek with a few tree obstacles to a dogleg left, then straight another 300' to a protected, elevated green; 11 is a 911' straight and narrow, open fairway; 18 is another big one, 716' with left and right turns in the open, tree-lined fairway to an elevated green. Obviously, this is a course for the big arms. Bring your cannons and get ready to launch some ICBMs on this one!

While there are lots of variously shaped fairways, there are almost no holes that force you to make certain kinds of shots except 10, a sharp right dogleg.

Water hazards on 2,4,5,6 (creeks) and 7 (very small but deadly pond behind basket); elevated tees on 1,8,12, (sort of on 13,15; small downhill elevation change); elevated baskets on 6,8,18; protected baskets on 2,6,12,16,17. Most of the holes on the edge of the land have tree lines with very thick shule, you don't want to hyzer into them.

All in all, a great course. Lots of fun to play and the long holes are definitely a challenge to those of us mortals. A little out of the way but a necessary stop for any locals and a good choice for out-of-towners too.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Loved this course

5+    10/26/2009   10/27/2009
Review By: paul1969
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Perfectly mowed course. No Dogs. No strollers. JUST DISC!!! Haven't been out to the Farm in few years. The old building was gone. New parking lot. Concrete pads( no ruts-AWESOME)
Cons: It does get swampy. But I ususually waited until 4th Julyish to start playing. Dry Spring you can play earlier.
Other Thoughts: Papier-mÔche tree gone. STill have the tin shed and old windmill. Absolutley love this course. Ellison was my 1st but this is my fave after that silly redesign at Elllison.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 So close to amazing..

2-4    9/19/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: WillACarpenter
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course starts off pretty standard but with some nice views and pretty features but soon changes in to man-made elevation changes (tee/ hole on a 6' mound) and plays pretty well. There are some short holes and a few insanely long ones. Good variety. You can tell that somebody has loved this course over the years, it's not a public park, it's a disc golf course, end of story. But it has qualities to it that are simply there to be pretty, an old wheel and a small grain silo come to mind. Also a few objects around make it really pretty some times like a short fence right in front of hole 12. This course has a LOT of things going right for it.
Cons: This course needs some new Tee signs. It also needs a map at the front board and maybe some arrows to point the way from time to time. I also hear this course can get swampy and I saw the potential for it.

Most of this can be fixed or avoided, this is really a nice course.
Other Thoughts: I haven't looked it up, but I'm pretty sure they made the front 9 one time and tacked the back 9 on much later, hole 10 is designed just to get you as far away from the front 9 as possible so you can play 11-18 back towards the parking lot. It makes the park a little less newbie friendly, but that's not exactly a problem.

I am going to try playing through the park starting at hole 9 and ending at hole 8, I think this will be a bit less fatiguing for my newbie arm, as the super long hole won't be towards the back of my game.

If you're nearby...you should play this course, and you should love this course, and you should want to take care of this course. With just a bit of support from all of us this course will be 4.5 star quality without much effort. As always *please* keep your parks clean.

P.S. I will be playing this park more in the future, but I want to see the other Rochester parks first.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Destination Course

1    8/25/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: shirfan
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: "Immaculate" is the first word that comes to mind. Beautiful golf-course setting with manicured fairways and great scenery. Wood chip bunkers, a couple murky ponds, a stream, and some good old-fashioned woodsy rough can come into play if you're not careful. A variety of pine and deciduous trees also dot the landscape in strategic spots.

Course flow and the play of each hole are well thought out, rewarding good throws and punishing bad (although usually not too severely.)

A big arm will definitely help here, but smart upshots and good putting are probably more important. Most baskets are either elevated or guarded by trees and/or other hazards.

Freshly installed concrete pads are a nice bonus.

The locals must take a lot of pride in this course, as I saw no garbage cans yet hardly any litter. It was also nice to be in a setting almost entirely geared towards disc golf. No close traffic, no loud parties at park shelters nearby, no dog walkers or oblivious park zombies wandering around fairways.
Cons: Ladies' tees are tough to find; my wife guessed where to throw from on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth the trip. I would gladly pay to play at a course like Chili.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun course.

5+    8/1/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: Frolfer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Concrete pads
- Mostly wide fairways
- Long course
- Never crowded, most cars I've seen is 10
- Well mowed and manicured
- Very challenging
Cons: - Distance can be hard to overcome some holes
- Windy days = lost discs
- Flooding possible
- Easy to get lost
Other Thoughts: This is the best park in Rochester. Period. It is extremely well maintained and just had concrete pads put in. It is an extremely challenging course for beginners like I was at the beginning of the season. My first time out there from the pro tees I finished +24 or something.

The famous Par 4 911ft. hole is not only famous for being long but if you throw a fade you can easily lose you disc in the untamed wilderness. Though, you get a great feeling of accomplishment getting a 5 or better on it.

Hole #18 is also very long at 728' from the pro's. So bring a big arm!

This summer has been very rainy, and the streams that run through several of the holes have overrun the path between holes several times, which means backtracking or foraging for wood to build a bridge.

I try to play here at least 1 time every weekend as it's my favorite course, and is night and day compared to others.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course

1    8/2/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: Firefinger
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well laid out course, cement tee's, and ladies tee's as well. Clean no trash and cut grass, trees, ect... emaculate!!
Cons: only one I can think of if you don't like long courses this one has some long holes... and I hear bugs can be a pain but really wasn't bad when I was there...

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.