Chili, NY 
Chili DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 380ft.   3 / 430ft.   4 / 490ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 65
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 CONCRETE TEES

5+    7/26/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: DanDwyer
Played: 40  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: brand spanking new concrete tee pads, i was the 1st person to ever use them, there was a do not use tees sign up, but they were done, and i tore the course up
Cons: after heavy rain it can flood, like today 7/26, and theres lots of snakes, i've seen like 6 this year, and the bugs are a little bad
Other Thoughts: thanks for the tee pads, sorry you couldn't have been the first to use them :)

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of a kind

5+    8/10/2008   7/19/2009
Review By: RocCityDiscer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very unique links style course that highly resembles a real golf course with mowed fairways and tee boxes. Practice basket near parking lot. Three sets of tees on each hole. Great mix of distance from really short deuceable holes to a monster 911' hole. Along with some really unique obstacles/basket locations.
Cons: Be prepared to play in the wind, even on a relatively calm day the wind will mess with your shots. Unmowed grass off the fairway gets pretty tall and will eat your disc if you don't keep a really good eye on it. A few swampy areas make disc retrieval not so fun.
Other Thoughts: I call this the best course in the Rochester area due to its one of a kind feel. Bring your distance drivers and big arm, but don't forget your accuracy either.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 beautiful and tough

5+    6/7/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: ScottMunFrigginro
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful sights, very neatly kept fairways help keep you from getting lost going from hole to hole. Some long tee's will give you the opportunity to work on your long drives. Very interesting obstacles that you wont see at other courses.
Cons: Some holes seem a little to long for their low pars. Heavy vegetation will eat your disc's if you don't keep a close on on where your not so perfect shots land.
Other Thoughts: Course is beautifully designed with Variety of shots required. Pars are relatively low for some of the distances, but i guess they may be doable on a professional level. A big arm is required on a few holes, example being hole 11. A 911foot par 4, with a thick field hugging the right side. Most hole's have heavy vegetation that will leave you wishing you had thrown your stray shot a little better, but i think this not necessarily a bad thing. I've notice a few holes have moved their pin location to even more difficult locations this year.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Mecca of Rochester Disc Golf

5+    6/17/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: Tmart
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is by far the best course in the Greater Rochester area. The land is solely there for disc golf. The course is huge, well groomed, and never too busy.

Some people complain that it's a course for big arms but anyone who can throw over 300 ft should love it.
Cons: The hole that is 911ft long is only a par 4 when it should be a par 5 according to PDGA standards.
Other Thoughts: (revised) My old other thoughts section was created when I was a noob and when Ellison had no teepads and I sort of bashed it so I am updating it finally. Now that I've got a few years under my belt and Ellison has teepads I can honestly say that these courese are both 4-5 stars. Althought Ellison isn't as pretty, secluded, or vacant as Chili it has MANY different shots layed out which keeps it fun to play no matter how many times you've played it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Just like a golf course

1    6/16/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: runnaman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Amazingly manacured fairways with roughs and everything.
- Moderate amount of trees, making for the necesity of a good drive, otherwise you're going to get stuck behind I pine (as I did many times).
- A lot of long holes which most courses tend to skip out on so they can fit more holes into a smaller area.
Cons: - No concrete tee pads which make it hard for me to get a good release.
- The unmanacured parts of the course are very overgrown and could use some trimming.
- Very hard to navigate alone.
Other Thoughts: Upon arrival I was a little sceptical because the parking lot was under construction, but after walking around the course a little bit I could tell that it was going to be a nice course. It is set up like a links style golf course and is one of the best courses I have played and I would recommend it to anyone in the Rochester, or even New York, area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun For Beginers

5+    6/1/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This Cousre has nice fairways and Challenging long shots not a lot of water.

Side note you can wear Flip Flops on this course too...
Cons: It is one of the longest cousres in rochester so it takes like a full two hours to play
Other Thoughts: I have taken many first time players here and with the golf course like atmosphere and not a ton of obsticals they were hooked.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wow nice course!

1    5/2/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Super well maintained, well layed out. Multiple tees multiple pin positions. Town is installing
Cons: Fairways are real close on many holes.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to play this one again. too bad its two hours from home!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/1/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: Nerdboy
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Clever lay out, varied enough to keep you driving an hour to play it, accessible enough for beginners to do reasonably well. No real danger of losing your precious plastic. This course has more elevation than most ppl think. 25-30ft?
Cons: tees, drainage, an hour drive from me...

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Baker my Baby!!

5+    11/20/2008   3/9/2009
Review By: Noel757
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you've got an arm then you'll love this course. I was blessed to live nearby for 5 years. The ideal time to play this course is in the spring or summer. When the tall grass is as tall as yourself, and the fairways are perfectly mowed. Very demanding fairways. This course may be wide open treewise but you definately dont want to find yourself off the fairways. This is a big arm course. accuracy will help but you need to be able to throw at least 300< to truly appreciate this course. It has 2 holes over 800 feet and a couple more over 600'. It is beautiful however, old farm fencings, an antique windmill, a small silo, and creeks on a few holes. Also it is usually fairly empty even in the busy seasons as there is no local club that exclusively takes care of it (but the township does).
Cons: If your specialty is short and accurate not you cup-o-tea but an amazing course still. There is no local club that maintains it, but the township does an amazing job!!
Other Thoughts: Many people think that Ellsion park is sooo much better. I lived here for seven years and i'll say. Bakers farm is every bit as good (better in my opinion, if you've got an arm), but the club for Ellison is much more active & greater!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A real course!

5+    8/30/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: turkey33
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Unique. Lots of interesting obstacles created out of a basically flat and treeless terrain. Trees are growing in many places and so it keeps getting better. This place is just a disc golf course and not a park also. Although it can be long and challenging enough for pros it's a fun place to bring beginners to see what this sport can be like.
Cons: A little too open and long on the back 9. Some of the old signs are broken or missing. Although there are alternate tees, they can be hard to find since they're flush with the ground.
Other Thoughts: The Town of Chili and committed to fixing this place up so hopefully it will return to it's greater glory.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.