Disc Golf Store
Toronto, ON
Toronto Island Share
Uploaded By: AdamH Hole #6 (Taken 8/2009)
4 / 621ft.   4 / 511ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Long Tee Sign



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
A great Metro Park DG course

2-4    8/22/2012   1/22/2013
Review By: Sandude
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well laid out, seasoned and groomed (in a park).Nice variety of shots required. Weekend play was not crazy busy. Water holes provided no problems in retrieving wet discs (2 for me in 2 rounds) Easy navigation w/good signage. Picturesque view of downtown Toronto & the Space needle.
Cons: Flat with no elevations, A hike from the ferry, which costs $6.50 to ride.,The walk to the first tee is a good couple of holes worth of steps. Same to return. Road traffic to get to the ferry is hectic every day. Especially around rush hour. but besides some elevations I would say as far as the course itself goes, there are not many Cons.
Other Thoughts: If you are in or near Toronto, this is well worth the cost of the ferry. If you can avoid rush hour traffic or walk or ride a bike you will do better. 4 My hotel was only 4 miles away, but it took me 25 minutes in lakeshore traffic to get to the ferry

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Home course love.

5+    12/14/2012   12/25/2012
Review By: HEATER
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful, scenic course a short ferry ride from metro Toronto.

2 practice baskets about 70 feet from each other near 1 tee.

Friendly locals.

Course plays tough but fair from the white tees with most holes falling between 260 and 650 feet. difficult and demanding from the longs with lots of tight lines, tunnel shots and massive trees all over the course.

Locals play everything as a par 3 although there are 3 holes that are every bit a par 4 (6, 8 and 16 and 1 if you play the championship tee near the practice baskets)

2 sets of big asphalt tees on each pad

Grounds are maintained by the city and are always pristine.

People complain about the amount of non gofers on the course but if you can get over there any time that isn't a weekend in the summer the course is mostly deserted.

Great league that runs Wed night in the summer and Saturday morning all winter (yes ALL winter)

Be prepared to air out some big bombs and every shot in your bag will be needed.

Best view of the Toronto skyline anywhere.

Feels like a golf course with each hole being a separate entity.

Easy to spend a a whole day golfing and hanging out on the best parkland in the GTA.

Baskets are getting older but are still in great shape.
Cons: The cost of the ferry is a con although I never feel it isn't worth my money. Also if you are a local or are planning on going a couple times with some friends you can buy a 10 pack of tickets at a discount.

The land is flat.

Course can get busy in the summer with both holders and tourists.

If you can bring a bike as it is a bit of a hike to and from the ferry

Multiple pins aren't utilized. Typically it plays all long pins in the summer and all short pins in the winter.

Island residents aren't big fans of the course and go out of their way to sabotage work on the course. We tried to add a new amazing hole and the locals took the basket out of the ground and threw it into the water.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I plays and it will always hold a special place in my heart. 4 years later and I am still honored to call it home.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/9/2012   9/13/2012
Review By: timbo
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Disc golf paradise on a sunny day. Long, challenging holes in beautifully maintained park on Ward's Island looking across the lake at the city of Toronto. Good course for power players, lots of placement shots required too. Power and accuracy is what it takes on the island.
Cons: No elevation changes, though a couple of the baskets are elevated.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A true gem

5+    9/9/2012   9/13/2012
Review By: The Miniac
Played: 245  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 37.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I haven't played enough Canadian courses to call the Toronto (Ward) Island disc golf course, the best in Canada, or even in Ontario. But it is certainly among the most unique. No one will dispute that this course is a very special place to play disc golf.

A 10 minute ferry-ride from the mainland, the Ward Island course is separated from the big city, which gives the island(s) a genuinely placid ambiance. The view of Toronto's skyline is unparalleled, particularly at night.

The only vehicles allowed on the islands belong to the park system or Emergency services. Even those who live on the islands must get around on foot, bike, boat or skateboard, if they so choose.

The course I played in September of 2012 bears little resemblance to the 1987 PDGAW courses that put me in the disc golf spotlight for years to come. It is better. Far better. Admittedly, this place holds incredible sentimental value for me. But the quality of this venue transcends this sort of bias.

At well over 8,000 feet in length, whether or not it is listed as a "par 64", it plays like it. And due consideration should be given to par on this course. This course gives the smart player plenty to think about and puts the less-strategy-oriented players to work. Risk vs Reward is artfully engrained into the multi-shot holes. The most basic tenant in the game of golf is to reward well executed shots and punish poorly executed shots; which the Ward Island course accomplishes in spades.

The fairways are immaculately manicured. The rough areas are well-defined and often unforgiving, but I do not recall any thorns or vines.

Mach 5 baskets provide the player with a solid place to finish out each hole. There is talk of a 2nd set of permanent targets. Combined with 2 and even 3 tees per hole, that's 4 to 6 ways to play each fairway… without having to move equipment.

Benches adorn most tee areas, though mostly by the longer blue tees.
Cons: The asphalt tee pads are usually long enough and grippy enough, but several aren't flat enough. The tees (not installed by players) go with the lay of the land, rather than lying uniformly flat, which I feel is the course's biggest short-coming. Others may barely take notice.

That said, the course topography is primarily flat. The only real elevation change of any substance is the drop-off beyond the sea-wall to the right of fairway #4 and the elevated baskets on #4 & 9. (Usually reserved only for tournaments)

A mandatory ferry ride or water taxi makes the course just inconvenient enough to keep the course from being overrun by players. The shortest walk is 10-12 minutes to tee #1. If you want something during the course of the round, you'll have to bring it on the ferry. Bikes and strollers come in handy here.

In playing the event, it seemed that some of the par 3 distances were longer than the tee signs indicated. If they are, in fact, correct, kudos may be in order for making fairly flat fairways play longer than they actually are.

There are a couple of holes that I might consider a "tweener" distance, but top-level Open Pros would likely not. The shorter tees bring many of these holes into range for a GM, like myself.
Other Thoughts: All things considered, the Toronto-Ward Island disc golf course is a rare and beautiful gem. An "absolutely MUST PLAY" course if you love a fair challenge, a beautiful setting or if you are looking for a reason to get on a boat with a bag of discs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Drivers Delight

1    4/28/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: poorredz
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice long fairways, some narrow and some wide open. A good mix of challenges, water hazards and trees. Very quiet and uncrowded during the week. I'd play it again next time I'm in town.
Cons: Signage has been damaged on some holes. Downloaded maps dont agree with the current course around 7,8,9&10. It looks like they change the holes.
Other Thoughts: Awesome island to walk around with spectacular views of the city skyline. The course winds through a quaint community and harbor on the island. Worth the ferry ride out there. $6 r/t on the Ward Island Ferry

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great views and some fun shots

1    8/7/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nice park on Toronto Island. There are numerous great views over the lake and back across the harbor at the city, along with some nice stretches along the yacht club. The park is nicely kept, with all the grass recently mowed and the fairways cleared of dead branches. There are baskets in decent shape, and two tee pads on every hole. Two sets of adequate signage are a nice touch, with the distance and layout from both tees to both pin locations.

There is some nice variety here. A couple holes bring water into play for some fun risk/reward shots, including one where the best line is a wide hyzer out over the water and back on to the fairway. There is a good mix of lengths and hole shapes, and enough trees and brush to punish errant shots in many cases. The alternate pin locations often changed up the hole quite a bit, if they're moved reasonably often they're a great addition to the variety of the course.
Cons: Unless you live on the island, it's a $6.50 trip on the ferry to play. If you're planning on spending the day enjoying the parks and sights on the islands, that's no big deal, but it's a little pricey just for disc golf (though the views from the ferry and from the island back at downtown made it worth it to me, so I didn't ding the rating at all for the cost).

There are some safety issues with the walking path and a couple picnic areas, and the pedestrians and picnickers didn't seem to be aware of disc golf. The course is very flat, and does feel a bit repetitive after a while. The dual pads are a good thought, but they are often directly in line, and only different by a little bit of distance so they don't really differentiate the course for various levels of players. The asphalt makes for a pretty slick surface even with just a little dew on it.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, and the scenery on the island makes it worth the ferry trip. Beginners will find the course approachable, though the rough can get a little punishing, and errant throws on a couple holes could end up lost in the water. More experienced players will find some nice challenges, but not a whole lot of variety.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a visit

5+    9/1/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: cubby96
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Going to this course is a pleasant escape from the city, on a picturesque island a short ferry ride from the harborfront.

Wooded, tight holes and a variety of shots (left/right, short/long holes) make the course challenging. Short/long asphalt teepads and multiple pin locations per hole mean it is approachable for amateurs.

The City of Toronto maintains the course, but volunteers generally do trimming of the bushes/trees.

Wednesday night club rounds in summer (generally), Saturdays in winter

Annual Maple Leaf tournament in September is well-run and worth attending

Course is rumored to be receiving 18 additional baskets for a permanent double-tee/double-basket layout for every hole.
Cons: The volunteer-run trimming of bushes/trees is not done as regularly as necessary and the course can occasionally get a bit overgrown.

Alcohol is officially not permitted in the park, though many people ignore the rule.

Ferry ride costs $6.50 per person, round-trip, but discounts can be had if purchasing in groups of 10. Lineups for ferry tickets on weekends (generally late morning/afternoon) can be up to an hour, so come in the morning and stay all day.

Water (OB) is indeed in play on holes 4 and 9, though it is pretty easily avoidable as the canal just lines the right side of both holes. I have even seen an errant drive or two end up wet on holes 17 and 18, though that would be a spectacularly poor shot.

Other park guests occasionally find our well-mowed course to be a great spot for a private picnic. Most people are happy to move to a safer spot if you politely explain the dangers of laying in the fairway. There are many other areas in the park that are better suited for picnics. This is generally a non-issue, but can occasionally be a nuisance in the summer on weekend afternoons.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course for the past 3 years, so I am a little biased.

Take the ferry to Ward's Island and you'll have a 10 minute walk to the course. Bring a bike instead, and it is a shorter trip, plus you can spend some extra time exploring the rest of the park.

Also, there is a forum available if you have questions: http://www.discgolfontario.co...php?BoardID=2

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good, not Great

1    7/24/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: maniak
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a number of positive things to say about this course. To start, it's very well signed. There are two concrete tee pads and two baskets for each hole, each tee pad on each hole has its own sign indicating how far it is to both baskets.

As a result of the course having both short and long tees plus two basket positions for nearly all the holes, it gives the course a great replay factor. The front tees are short enough to allow the beginners to have fun but well placed enough to challenge intermediate players. The back tees are quite long on some holes, good for the big arms out there.

What the course lacks in elevational variety, it makes up for in obstacle variety. There are some short tight holes, some open holes with a narrow section to shoot through, tunnel shots etc… There are even yellow fire hydrants all over the place that you could hit if you're not careful. Another factor to consider is the wind. When I played the wind was quite calm, but I imagine it could pick up since this course is somewhat exposed in the middle of the great lakes.
Cons: As others have brought up, the course is very flat, leading to a slight repetitive feel. If this course could employ some elevation, it could really take advantage of the beautiful scenery and incorporate it more into the course layout.

I don't know if it's just me, but it seems as though the holes tend to curve off to the right more than they do to the left, making it easier for a natural LHBH thrower or RHFH thrower to play through the course. I'm all for some challenge but I believe in balanced course design and this course could benefit from it.

For such a highly rated and talked about course, I honestly expected the course maintenance to be better. Not that it's bad or really even much of an issue per se, but I expected more.

I liked the fact that there are two pin locations on each hole but it wasn't consistent and I often couldn't tell which hole location was being used. As a result, I had to walk halfway down the fairway just to see where I was shooting. This caused my round to take a little longer than expected which was ok, but it got annoying after a while.
Other Thoughts: The ferry ride over to the course offers great views of the city!

Even if you're with people who aren't into disc golf, there's a variety of other ways for them to amuse themselves on Toronto Island while you get a round in.

Other people have mentioned the price of the ferry as being a con to this course. The course is but a small part of the Toronto Islands and there is so much else to do that if you play disc golf, maybe go for a bike ride or check out the amusement park, you'll get your money's worth no problem. As of summer 2010, the price of the ferry round trip is $6.50 CAD, a bargain if you ask me.

One last thing, it seems as though if you play early, you'll have the course to yourself, if you play later on, it seems to get quite busy from what I hear. I played around 11am and had the entire course to myself, with just the odd bicycle cruising by.

Overall, this course is good but not fantastic. I had heard all kinds of hype about this course before I played it. I didn't look at the pictures on DGCR before I played and I just expected a bit more. I expected this course to be in my top 3 but sadly its not.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Island

2-4    9/17/2008   1/6/2010
Review By: Gator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Like everyone else said its a fun challenging course on a bueatiful island. I drive up from Rochester, NY (5 hours) to play this once a year for a tourney. Camping is available on the island. After the first tourney we tossed discs back at the island as we pulled away on the ferry (a local tradition we were told) it was really cool.
Cons: The cost of the ferry ride.
Other Thoughts: I think the fact that the course is really flat isn't so bad sense the course is fairly technical. Look for the Team Discraft player on the island.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointing Actually

1    10/12/2009   10/18/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 407  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - it's on an island. In Toronto. 'nuff said.
- many tough pin locations
- 2-3 pin locations per hole
- good balance of long and short holes gives a 'disc golf country club' atmosphere as you're playing
- nice signs at both sets of tees on each hole (36 signs). Very descriptive and accurate.
- large asphalt tees provide for decent grip, your only issue coming if it's raining really hard
- many people (mainly tourists) walking on the paths as you're playing will ask you what you're doing, giving you a chance to tell them about disc golf and promote the sport
- the view of the Toronto skyline is pretty cool
Cons: - the short tees are pretty much pointless. Almost all of them are 30-50 feet directly in front of the longs, which doesn't provide a much different experience for Amateurs, or make the course any easier for them.
- the course is extremely flat, almost zero elevation change through 18 holes
- it's an 'out and back' course, meaning that once you start playing there isn't a good place to cut the round short because the course is one big loop
- it's a pretty long walk (600m or 10 mins) from where the ferry lets you off to the start of the course
- the ferry to the island costs C$6.50, so it's not a course you're going to want to play every day just because of cost.
- the description says there are water hazards, and this is not at all true. Water doesn't even come close to being in play.
Other Thoughts: Toronto Island is a pretty quality course, and definitely a challenge for any skill level.

I'm only giving it 3 discs however, because after the first few holes it honestly got to be really boring. After about 6 holes all of them start to look pretty much the same. The obstacles change slightly, but it's still a flat course and the basket is pretty much straight ahead of you off the tee (except for 8).

The walk to the course from the ferry and the cost of the ferry to the Island are also reasons that I'm knocking off some points too.

In the end I was actually disappointed with Toronto Island and I don't think it lived up to it's hype. It's worth a trip to place once, but not a course I think I'll go back to unless it's for the Toronto Maple Leaf, which is a really legit tournament there.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.