Toronto, ON 
Toronto Island Share
Uploaded By: AdamE Hole #7 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 378ft.   3 / 299ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Short Tee Sign



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Wonderful springtime rounds

2-4    6/7/2014   6/7/2014
Review By: klassikstile
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple pads and pin locations
Good signage
Beautiful setting
Cons: The map that is linked doesn't seem to be the latest, I was misled a few times, but eventually found my way
Other Thoughts: This was a really fun course to play while on a business trip! The ferry across to the island was pleasant
It was a gorgeous saturday and there were only a handful of other discers, so it was easy breezy

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A great Metro Park DG course

2-4    8/22/2012   1/22/2013
Review By: Sandude
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well laid out, seasoned and groomed (in a park).Nice variety of shots required. Weekend play was not crazy busy. Water holes provided no problems in retrieving wet discs (2 for me in 2 rounds) Easy navigation w/good signage. Picturesque view of downtown Toronto & the Space needle.
Cons: Flat with no elevations, A hike from the ferry, which costs $6.50 to ride.,The walk to the first tee is a good couple of holes worth of steps. Same to return. Road traffic to get to the ferry is hectic every day. Especially around rush hour. but besides some elevations I would say as far as the course itself goes, there are not many Cons.
Other Thoughts: If you are in or near Toronto, this is well worth the cost of the ferry. If you can avoid rush hour traffic or walk or ride a bike you will do better. 4 My hotel was only 4 miles away, but it took me 25 minutes in lakeshore traffic to get to the ferry

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A true gem

5+    9/9/2012   9/13/2012
Review By: The Miniac
Played: 278  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 38.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I haven't played enough Canadian courses to call the Toronto (Ward) Island disc golf course, the best in Canada, or even in Ontario. But it is certainly among the most unique. No one will dispute that this course is a very special place to play disc golf.

A 10 minute ferry-ride from the mainland, the Ward Island course is separated from the big city, which gives the island(s) a genuinely placid ambiance. The view of Toronto's skyline is unparalleled, particularly at night.

The only vehicles allowed on the islands belong to the park system or Emergency services. Even those who live on the islands must get around on foot, bike, boat or skateboard, if they so choose.

The course I played in September of 2012 bears little resemblance to the 1987 PDGAW courses that put me in the disc golf spotlight for years to come. It is better. Far better. Admittedly, this place holds incredible sentimental value for me. But the quality of this venue transcends this sort of bias.

At well over 8,000 feet in length, whether or not it is listed as a "par 64", it plays like it. And due consideration should be given to par on this course. This course gives the smart player plenty to think about and puts the less-strategy-oriented players to work. Risk vs Reward is artfully engrained into the multi-shot holes. The most basic tenant in the game of golf is to reward well executed shots and punish poorly executed shots; which the Ward Island course accomplishes in spades.

The fairways are immaculately manicured. The rough areas are well-defined and often unforgiving, but I do not recall any thorns or vines.

Mach 5 baskets provide the player with a solid place to finish out each hole. There is talk of a 2nd set of permanent targets. Combined with 2 and even 3 tees per hole, that's 4 to 6 ways to play each fairway… without having to move equipment.

Benches adorn most tee areas, though mostly by the longer blue tees.
Cons: The asphalt tee pads are usually long enough and grippy enough, but several aren't flat enough. The tees (not installed by players) go with the lay of the land, rather than lying uniformly flat, which I feel is the course's biggest short-coming. Others may barely take notice.

That said, the course topography is primarily flat. The only real elevation change of any substance is the drop-off beyond the sea-wall to the right of fairway #4 and the elevated baskets on #4 & 9. (Usually reserved only for tournaments)

A mandatory ferry ride or water taxi makes the course just inconvenient enough to keep the course from being overrun by players. The shortest walk is 10-12 minutes to tee #1. If you want something during the course of the round, you'll have to bring it on the ferry. Bikes and strollers come in handy here.

In playing the event, it seemed that some of the par 3 distances were longer than the tee signs indicated. If they are, in fact, correct, kudos may be in order for making fairly flat fairways play longer than they actually are.

There are a couple of holes that I might consider a "tweener" distance, but top-level Open Pros would likely not. The shorter tees bring many of these holes into range for a GM, like myself.
Other Thoughts: All things considered, the Toronto-Ward Island disc golf course is a rare and beautiful gem. An "absolutely MUST PLAY" course if you love a fair challenge, a beautiful setting or if you are looking for a reason to get on a boat with a bag of discs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Drivers Delight

1    4/28/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: poorredz
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice long fairways, some narrow and some wide open. A good mix of challenges, water hazards and trees. Very quiet and uncrowded during the week. I'd play it again next time I'm in town.
Cons: Signage has been damaged on some holes. Downloaded maps dont agree with the current course around 7,8,9&10. It looks like they change the holes.
Other Thoughts: Awesome island to walk around with spectacular views of the city skyline. The course winds through a quaint community and harbor on the island. Worth the ferry ride out there. $6 r/t on the Ward Island Ferry

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a visit

5+    9/1/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: cubby96
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Going to this course is a pleasant escape from the city, on a picturesque island a short ferry ride from the harborfront.

Wooded, tight holes and a variety of shots (left/right, short/long holes) make the course challenging. Short/long asphalt teepads and multiple pin locations per hole mean it is approachable for amateurs.

The City of Toronto maintains the course, but volunteers generally do trimming of the bushes/trees.

Wednesday night club rounds in summer (generally), Saturdays in winter

Annual Maple Leaf tournament in September is well-run and worth attending

Course is rumored to be receiving 18 additional baskets for a permanent double-tee/double-basket layout for every hole.
Cons: The volunteer-run trimming of bushes/trees is not done as regularly as necessary and the course can occasionally get a bit overgrown.

Alcohol is officially not permitted in the park, though many people ignore the rule.

Ferry ride costs $6.50 per person, round-trip, but discounts can be had if purchasing in groups of 10. Lineups for ferry tickets on weekends (generally late morning/afternoon) can be up to an hour, so come in the morning and stay all day.

Water (OB) is indeed in play on holes 4 and 9, though it is pretty easily avoidable as the canal just lines the right side of both holes. I have even seen an errant drive or two end up wet on holes 17 and 18, though that would be a spectacularly poor shot.

Other park guests occasionally find our well-mowed course to be a great spot for a private picnic. Most people are happy to move to a safer spot if you politely explain the dangers of laying in the fairway. There are many other areas in the park that are better suited for picnics. This is generally a non-issue, but can occasionally be a nuisance in the summer on weekend afternoons.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course for the past 3 years, so I am a little biased.

Take the ferry to Ward's Island and you'll have a 10 minute walk to the course. Bring a bike instead, and it is a shorter trip, plus you can spend some extra time exploring the rest of the park.

Also, there is a forum available if you have questions: http://www.discgolfontario.co...php?BoardID=2

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/13/2009   8/14/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 215  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Picturesque course with lots of large mature trees, views of Lake Ontario, the channels between the islands and lush green fairways in the summer. The fairways are sufficiently wide with some nasty rough in places. The mature trees really increase the difficulty of the course by lowering the ceiling on many holes.

There are nice tee signs at both the short and long pads that show both pin positions and the distances to each. Attached to the bottom of each basket is a small arrow pointing you towards the next hole.

There's a good variety of distances on this course ranging from roughly 250ft to around 600ft. There are dual pad and pin positions on every hole making the course good for beginners and pros alike. This is the kind of course that will challenge players of all skill levels and keep them coming back for more.
Cons: I printed out a map posted by aaronarndt (thanks a bunch!) in his review before I played here and it greatly helped me navigate the course. I'm sure I could have got got by without one because of the signs attached to the bottom of the basket, but it definitely helped me.

The island is heavily populated with people walking around however I feel the designed did an excellent job keeping the course as far away from walking paths as possible. I played here on a week day but I understand people sometimes sit down or have picnics on the fairways on the weekends.

There were a lot of mosquitoes when I was there so I recommend bug spray in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Having a course on an island is very unique requiring a ferry trip across the bay to get there. The cost of the ferry trip is definitely out weighed by the trip across providing best view of the Toronto skyline and of course the quality of the course.

This course is truly a gem and well worth going out of your way to play!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Sweetness

5+    6/16/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: Che Starr
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great layout, easy to understand.
Challenges include a couple of water holes and some longer holes.
Beauty location, pleasant journey to get there. Easy to go with non-DG players and have something for them to do.
Cons: No elevation changes.
Easy to lose a disc
Other Thoughts: Really it's not fair, cause this is my home course but it's the best course I've played and the location is just sweet.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.