Toronto, ON
Toronto Island Share
Uploaded By: Raoul Duke Hole #4
3 / 357ft.   3 / 328ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Long Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 

1    8/13/2009   8/14/2009
Review By: AdamH
Played: 182  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 10.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Picturesque course with lots of large mature trees, views of Lake Ontario, the channels between the islands and lush green fairways in the summer. The fairways are sufficiently wide with some nasty rough in places. The mature trees really increase the difficulty of the course by lowering the ceiling on many holes.

There are nice tee signs at both the short and long pads that show both pin positions and the distances to each. Attached to the bottom of each basket is a small arrow pointing you towards the next hole.

There's a good variety of distances on this course ranging from roughly 250ft to around 600ft. There are dual pad and pin positions on every hole making the course good for beginners and pros alike. This is the kind of course that will challenge players of all skill levels and keep them coming back for more.
Cons: I printed out a map posted by aaronarndt (thanks a bunch!) in his review before I played here and it greatly helped me navigate the course. I'm sure I could have got got by without one because of the signs attached to the bottom of the basket, but it definitely helped me.

The island is heavily populated with people walking around however I feel the designed did an excellent job keeping the course as far away from walking paths as possible. I played here on a week day but I understand people sometimes sit down or have picnics on the fairways on the weekends.

There were a lot of mosquitoes when I was there so I recommend bug spray in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Having a course on an island is very unique requiring a ferry trip across the bay to get there. The cost of the ferry trip is definitely out weighed by the trip across providing best view of the Toronto skyline and of course the quality of the course.

This course is truly a gem and well worth going out of your way to play!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Sweetness

5+    6/16/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: Che Starr
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great layout, easy to understand.
Challenges include a couple of water holes and some longer holes.
Beauty location, pleasant journey to get there. Easy to go with non-DG players and have something for them to do.
Cons: No elevation changes.
Easy to lose a disc
Other Thoughts: Really it's not fair, cause this is my home course but it's the best course I've played and the location is just sweet.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Toronto Island Scenic Disc Golf Course (and more)

1    3/27/2009   3/28/2009
Review By: aaronarndt
Played: 26  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.7 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice baskets. (A short and long basket layout for each hole)
Excellent tee pads (really nice). (Short and long tee pads for each hole)
Very well maintained.
Nice mix of required shots.
Very picturesque.
Nice views. When you are there, it is hard to believe you are actually in Toronto. It feels like you are in cottage country, even though you can still see the Toronto skyline on a few of the holes (and of course during the ferry ride).
Generous gaps, long course with moderate amount of precision required to score well.
I played this course with most of the baskets in the long position, and it is definitely a challenging course. It is long, with a few par 4's scattered throughout. But, it is tight enough that you have to be accurate on every drive. Most of the roughs are unforgiving. If you are careless, and simply shoot for distance on your drive, you'll likely end up in the rough, and it will definitely affect your score.
It is a nice mix of requiring you to be accurate and/or conservative, while definitely testing your long game. It's tough to shoot under par without a big arm. I only had one birdie my whole first round on one of the par 4's. A few of the holes require you to plan your shots. There is a really nice par 4 right dog-leg (when #8 is in the long position) that can lure you into taking some risk...
Nice mix of short and longs, a crew periodically moves the baskets to keep the course seeming fresh to the regulars. I believe they are soon to put in multiple baskets on a few of the longest holes for permanent flexibility in course options.
A few looks for aces, I had a look on #9 that was "oh so close" (basket in the short position).
A nice practice area with two baskets that can really help space out the groups (which is needed, see [*] below).
The ferry ride can be a nice touch if you are from out of town and want to see Toronto. It is one of the nicest ways to see the skyline, take a picture, etc... Plus, there is plenty of other stuff to do on the Islands.
Cons: No elevation change to speak of.
The ferry ride.
The cost. $6.50 for the ferry, plus parking plus transit.
You are bound by the ferry schedule. Not necessarily going to negatively affect you, but you lose the flexibility of simply arriving and leaving whenever you want to. Do check the ferry schedule before you leave. You could be waiting as long as two hours for the next ferry to leave if you arrive at the wrong time expecting to just hop on a boat.
The course can be crowded with other golfers. On the nicest days, the golfers will flock to the island in droves, and they all get there at the same time (on a ferry[*]). And yes, they do watch the weather. If you arrive there on a nice Saturday, and it's your first time on the course, you might feel a bit cramped by other groups playing around you. It's not the easiest course to navigate (though with a map you shouldn't have any trouble) Link: http://img72.imageshack.us/im...landdicz0.jpg, so the first time on the course you are likely going to encounter regulars that are able to play the course faster than you. It shouldn't be a problem, as I think just about every Canadian Disc Golfer is super friendly, but if you are looking for a nice quiet isolated game, this probably isn't the ideal course unless you are playing at a particularly low-traffic time.
The water is really only in play on one hole #9, but it can be pretty intimidating. I saw about six or seven discs sitting on the ice.
Other Thoughts: I don't get it. Don't get me wrong, this is a great course. But, between the commitment of time getting there, the ferry, getting into the city, and getting back, the experience on the whole wasn't as spectacular as I'd hoped. Maybe I am spoiled (I live 5 minutes from White Spruce Park in Brampton), but I think a "just as good" or better Disc Golf experience can be had at either WSP or Bronte Provincial Park. Personal opinion: If I were from out of town, was looking for a really great DISC GOLF experience, but had the chance to only play one course, it wouldn't be the Island. The other courses are just that good.
If you do go to the Toronto Island Disc Golf Course, take my advice: go early, take the whole day, bring a bike and a lock, and see and do more there than just Disc Golf. Take a tour and enjoy the rest of the island and the scenery, then it will truly be worth the investment of time.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Unique Setting

8/7/2008   8/10/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 8.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Would be a good challenging course to accomplished players I'm sure. Precision shots required on many of the holes, and there are plenty of challenges, doglegs to the left and right, tunnel shots, and a few 'big arm' holes. Scenery is varied and interesting, from views of the Toronto skyline to Lake Ontario to marinas full of sailboats, and surrounding islands and channels.
Cons: Rough can be frequently unforgiving, we wasted a lot of time poking through the mosquito infested schule searching for errant throws. After a while the flat terrain got a little monotonous, even a molehill would have been a welcome distraction. Very pricey to play for someone out of the area, parking ($$), subways ($$), and ferry ($$) made this the most expensive course we played during our recent vacation.
Other Thoughts: Allow plenty of time to visit these islands, aside from the disc golf, there was a lot of the island that we didn't get to see because we were stuck to a tight schedule. A very picturesque little place to visit, and the ferry ride is quite short and painless (about 5-10 minutes)

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2/20/2008   2/20/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: When course is in the long position this course is very challenging. No elevation changes, all flat land. The course did use the land they had very well. The long position makes me want to go back and try again because I know I could do better.
Cons: Parking (need $$$) and the ride over to the island on the ferry (more $$$$) makes it like a play to pay course since you have to pay to get to the island.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Best Course in Ontario

10/20/2007   10/20/2007
Review By: island man
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Beautiful Scenery, Many different shots, New Teepads.
Other Thoughts: If you are anywhere close to this course make sure you play it.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the price of admission

9/22/2007   9/24/2007
Review By: timg
Played: 220  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 11.9 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well maintained, Dual concrete tee-pads, multiple pin positions, a practice area with 2 baskets and signs at each tee with hole maps. Also, benches at most tees and very friendly locals.
Cons: First-timers might have difficulty making their way from hole to hole without a map. No elevation changes. Also, price to play ($6 Ferry plus parking.. so ~$15 or so).
Other Thoughts: This was a great course with a lot of challenging holes and diversity. Water comes into play on 2 holes although it is a only a major threat on one of those. Each hole has plenty of trees and bushes to contend with as well, making even some of the shorter shots a potential challenge. As far as length goes, most holes on the island play in the middle. There aren't any that I would consider too short nor are there any that are particularly long. In short, disc golfers at any skill level can have an enjoyable round here.

So, should you play this course if you're in the area? Definitely. There is a great mix of holes here in a very scenic park that I can't imagine anyone not liking.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 swim if you have to

5/24/2007   5/24/2007
Review By: Raoul Duke
Played: 16  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 8/3/2007
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: An amazing getaway from the city, it's a 10 minute ferry ride away. Well manicured course with a mix of long and short holes. A "shot maker's course" as per Des Reading.
Cons: No elevation. Have to ferry it there (unless you live on the islands).
Other Thoughts: Course was re-designed in 2006, new teepads poured, signage on the way. Canadian Open NT event coming in July. Compared to some Michigan courses (eg. Toboggan) by Nate Doss.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.