Disc Golf Store
Rocky Mount, NC 
Rocky Mt. Sports Complex Share
Uploaded By: bgreen Hole #8
3 / 275ft.   3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Totally mixed up

1    8/7/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: 252chevyboyz
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amazing views and the water holes can be really challenging. Beautiful course though. Shots in my opinion range from Pro to Amateur so its a great course if you want to challenge yourself
Cons: Holes are NOT marked at all. Each tee box number has been changed and with the the basket for each hole is different.

I couldnt follow the course so I played random holes here and there.
Other Thoughts: I would really like the course to be re marked and I would play it 4-5 times a week like a play the Sunset course

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1st Run

1    1/19/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: clementsjd1
Played: 45  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Mixing things up with the water.
- Mix of wide open, woods, over water and around water shots.
- Park for the kids if they tag along
Cons: - Sign's were not there for every hole, the wooden stands were there, but it seems they have been defaced.
- Rubber tee-pads is a very bad idea, I played off to the side of them as the ground was wet.
Other Thoughts: My least favorite course out of Rocky mounts 4 courses.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/22/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: GRISWOLD87
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: i love this course! some really big ace attempts and alot of birdies. pretty well maintained. 8 and 9 are the exciting ones over water shots, idk if my blood preasure rises bc of the unique shot or iam affraid to loose my disc! 12 is a nice straight bomb and if you have a good arm you can birdie this one. 13 has really gotten tought, they have added a batting cage which make it very difficult to throw. nice short woods hole 14-18 but can cause major trouble if your not accurate.
Cons: water stands really bad right after the rain. tee pads are aweful! ruber mats can cause a broken neck! advice is to throw beside the tee pad if it is wet. could use some brush clean up in the woods. some mando signs which dont really make since bc it doesnt make the shot any harder.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/13/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 103  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great signs made it easy to navigate the course. The water holes make a nice risk/ reward. Choose your shot carefully, my friend did not and he went swimming. Was not crowded the day we were there. The park is easy to find from the highway. Park was very clean. The multiple tees were nice for any level player to join in.
Cons: The course can be muddy so just be prepared for that. Many holes are rather short. I used my putter most of the day. There was a soccer tournament going on and they used a grassy area for parking on the fairway. (I hope that isn't common.)
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course. The shorter holes were in the wooded areas which gave them more challenge. If your in the area this is definetely worth playing, I had a great time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 SO much hope, so little reward

1    12/23/2009   12/23/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of open long holes and challenging wooded holes. Several holes near a pond that offer some good risk vs reward opportunity. Holes also placed near walkway for some good OB risk. A course that requires the use of all of your shots. Multiple tee locations for different skill levels. Good signs at tee pads.
Cons: Where to start?? Rubber tee pads over bumpy ground. This is a good place to twist an ankle or land on your arse. Many holes play around or near a walkway. You could kill a pedestrian or biker there on a good day. Watch out. Water, water, water. There is a pond that offers some decent risk, but there is also enough standing water and swamps to keep you damp all day. Hadn't rained in a while and there was still water everywhere. My impression is that this was a swamp that they turned into a disc golf course. There is also drainage culverts dumping water from the surrouning sports fields. My guess is that in Spring, Fall and Winter you need waders to play here. Maybe a nice dry summer would help. We played when about 1/3 of the fairways had 2-3 inches of standing water covering large portions of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of promise. It has some cool holes that are fun to play. Concrete tee pads would easily allow me to give this course a 2.5 or 3. If they could ever drain some water away also this could turn into a fun place. I'm just not sure it will ever happen. If you're in Rocky Mount, and North Carolina has been in an extended drought by all means go play this course. If you play it when it's wet and warm I'd be on the lookout for some reptiles. This looks like it could hold some big *ss snakes!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Swamped

2-4    3/9/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 302  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
*There are 2 sets of tees, so there's some variety. (White = Short, Black = Long)
*There's water in play on 3 holes. The drive from hole 8's Long tees is the most dramatic, and the one I enjoyed the most.
*Navigating the course is pretty easy, even without a map.
*The Long layout has a perfect balance of fairway shapes with 6 St/ 6 Left/ 6 Right. (But the Short layout has a preponderance of straight holes with 10 St/ 3 Lt/ 5 Rt)
Cons:
-When I played in March there were big swamps or swampy areas on 11 holes. The hole 4 tee was totally under water. Hole 7 was the worst with a big deep black swamp that you could lose discs in. Hole 16 could have water on lots of the fairway and all around the basket. A few holes were hard to get down the fairway because I had to walk over logs. These inconveniences were the major hindrance to my enjoyment, but maybe it's drier in the summer.
-Like the other courses in Rocky Mount, this one is mostly flat. The greatest elevation change is +6 ft.
-The tee signs could be improved. They were small and minimal.
Other Thoughts: Black tees (Long) Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 900.)
White tees (Short) Course Level: Red (most suited for Juniors and Intermediate players rated 850)
Both layouts are shorter than average for their level.

You be the judge-
My favorite hole: 8 from the Long tees. A beautiful shot over the water that's loaded with risk vs. reward.

It's in a wetland area, so there are restrictions on what can be built on the course.
Each layout has 10 holes in the woods, with the other 8 a mixture of wide open grass or scattered trees.
The new double chain Discatcher baskets are in great shape. I thought the rubber mat tee pads were adequate, but just a little bit too short.
They use a non-standard tee color system instead of the usual PDGA colors. This may lead some confusion since the short (White) tees are actually Red level while the long tees (Black) are actually White level.
There a few amenities-- no course map, no warm up basket, no message board, no benches, and no trash cans-- but the course is still new, so hopefully those will come in time.

All in all, there were some good holes over the water and through the woods, but I think the swamps dampened my enthusiasm so that my enjoyment factor was merely average.

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Quality Course When It Is Dry

5+    7/26/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: TAKRep
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has wide fairways in the woods which are great for beginners and has long open shots from 10-14 that are good for practicing driving.
UPDATE: The course has recently received tee signs. Also, there are now professional "drop zone" signs by the holes near the pond. There are two different tee placements for most holes, and three for some of them so any skill level can enjoy this course. The thick brush surrounding the pond and the creek behind hole 12 has been removed completely. This makes losing a disc in these areas much harder.
Cons: Don't even go if it has rained at any point within 18 hours of your visit. The course does not hold water well and when the rubber tees are wet it is easy to slip (I know from experience...). I went after two days of rain, and the fairways of holes 15 16 and 17 were totally underwater. Also, the water is kind of murky, so if you throw a disc into the water you probably won't be able to see it even if you throw it in a shallow spot. This is course is basically unplayable in the winter. During this time, a few holes remain flooded throughout the entire season (especially hole 7).
Other Thoughts: Great layout. Nice course for beginners. The city of Rocky Mount is always working to improve this course. They have put a lot of money into it over the past few months.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    5/16/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: brooksjames80
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not to hard. This course allows begginers to have a decent score. Multiple tee pads. Great pin placement.
Cons: Can get wet in some areas. This course is located in a run off area to a few softball and baseball fields. Tee pads are rubber. Easy to slip and twist an ankle.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. 8 & 9 will test you because they are over a pond. The holes are fairly easy. Watch out for poison ivy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 fun and usually hardly anyone there

2-4    6/1/2009   6/6/2009
Review By: whiskeytreefrog
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10 Years
Pros: Mix of wooded, open, tight, lefts, rights, water, picnic area, horseshoe pits, close parking, easy to find. two sets of tees on most holes!!! great challenge and good for beginners.
Cons: may be too short/tight, water, no benches, no trash cans, needs a little trimming back in some areas, poison ivy; wear shoes in summer. baseball season brings traffic and people in the park.
Other Thoughts: nice place to spend a day and play two three rounds lose to amenities and can eat at picnic shelter in park. hope more improvements are done this place has a lot of potential

 third best course in RM

2-4    2/4/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: Virtual PBandJ
Played: 70  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 26.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Two fun water holes, two sets of pads, a few fun technical holes, set in an awesome sports complex
Cons: The course is set in the water run off area of the park, not lefty friendly, in a marsh(hope you like snakes in the summer), the fence on 10-11 is to close to the holes. several pins are dangerously close to the next pads.
Other Thoughts: This is a course confused, the first several holes are short and technical in the woods from both pads. then the course just explodes into a course with big drives over a nice pond then a few holes later shrinks back to it's original short and technical layout. the holes just dont fit with the rest of the park.

: ) :

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.