Disc Golf Center
Rocky Mount, NC 
Rocky Mt. Sports Complex Share
Uploaded By: LeeLK Hole #2 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Could use polishing.

1    7/27/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 56  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The ~5 holes that have water in play are great. Good variety of shots through the trees. Nice to have multiple tees, although I've only played the whites.
Cons: Signage was pretty bad. It looks like they're moving some around because they were using different number signs at different holes. Tee pads were pretty bad, but we were playing in the rain.
Other Thoughts: Nice use of the space, but it could use some polishing. The parking lot seems to be a common spot for high school kids to come get high too, as we saw two groups doing so as we rolled up, which did not make us feel good about leaving our car full of stuff there.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1st Run

1    1/19/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: clementsjd1
Played: 45  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Mixing things up with the water.
- Mix of wide open, woods, over water and around water shots.
- Park for the kids if they tag along
Cons: - Sign's were not there for every hole, the wooden stands were there, but it seems they have been defaced.
- Rubber tee-pads is a very bad idea, I played off to the side of them as the ground was wet.
Other Thoughts: My least favorite course out of Rocky mounts 4 courses.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/13/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great signs made it easy to navigate the course. The water holes make a nice risk/ reward. Choose your shot carefully, my friend did not and he went swimming. Was not crowded the day we were there. The park is easy to find from the highway. Park was very clean. The multiple tees were nice for any level player to join in.
Cons: The course can be muddy so just be prepared for that. Many holes are rather short. I used my putter most of the day. There was a soccer tournament going on and they used a grassy area for parking on the fairway. (I hope that isn't common.)
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course. The shorter holes were in the wooded areas which gave them more challenge. If your in the area this is definetely worth playing, I had a great time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Quality Course When It Is Dry

5+    7/26/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: TAKRep
Played: 36  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has wide fairways in the woods which are great for beginners and has long open shots from 10-14 that are good for practicing driving.
UPDATE: The course has recently received tee signs. Also, there are now professional "drop zone" signs by the holes near the pond. There are two different tee placements for most holes, and three for some of them so any skill level can enjoy this course. The thick brush surrounding the pond and the creek behind hole 12 has been removed completely. This makes losing a disc in these areas much harder.
Cons: Don't even go if it has rained at any point within 18 hours of your visit. The course does not hold water well and when the rubber tees are wet it is easy to slip (I know from experience...). I went after two days of rain, and the fairways of holes 15 16 and 17 were totally underwater. Also, the water is kind of murky, so if you throw a disc into the water you probably won't be able to see it even if you throw it in a shallow spot. This is course is basically unplayable in the winter. During this time, a few holes remain flooded throughout the entire season (especially hole 7).
Other Thoughts: Great layout. Nice course for beginners. The city of Rocky Mount is always working to improve this course. They have put a lot of money into it over the past few months.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    5/16/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: brooksjames80
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not to hard. This course allows begginers to have a decent score. Multiple tee pads. Great pin placement.
Cons: Can get wet in some areas. This course is located in a run off area to a few softball and baseball fields. Tee pads are rubber. Easy to slip and twist an ankle.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. 8 & 9 will test you because they are over a pond. The holes are fairly easy. Watch out for poison ivy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 40mph winds...

1    12/1/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: tomschillin
Played: 147  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 19.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes #8 & #9 are the best holes on the course, both cross portions of the lake and can be challenging for any body. Most of the wooded holes have well defined fairways. Fairly easy to navigate through, I made 18 holes in about 90 minutes, and that's with never playing it before. They made great use of the land they had, weaving it in and out of a chunk of trees and following along a lake's edge.
Cons: The course holds water, granted we've had several inches of rain in the past few weeks, but most all of the holes had some standing water on it. Hole 17 in particular was impossible to get down the fairway without my disc getting wet as well as my feet. The tee pads need to be concrete, or something other than that crappy plastic, i slipped on 2 drives and ended up just teeing to the side of the plastic for safety's sake...i didn't really like the open holes of 12-14...they were long, flat and boring, it probably didn't help that I was plaing in 40 mph winds and it was a headwind on 2 of those holes.
Other Thoughts: this is a newer course, and is still a work in progress...when completed this will be a top notch course. I hear rumors of a championship caliber course that will add 2000 feet to the total distance. to do this though they're gonna need to add tee pads, bridges, trash cans. benches and signs.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 sports complex

5+    3/5/2011   11/6/2008
Review By: ecupirate82
Played: 47  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2011
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy course from the short tees. Very tough course from the longs. This course has it all...in the woods, the wide open, and over 2 ponds!!! Makes you use just about every shot possible!
Cons: Not really feeling the black carpet tee box things. Holds water really bad during those rainy days.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.