Rocky Mount, NC 
Rocky Mt. Sports Complex Share
Uploaded By: LeeLK Hole #12 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 390ft.   4 / 575ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2

1    9/13/2015   9/16/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 258  Reviewed: 256  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
The first half of this course is easily the best stretch of holes in the Rocky Mount area. Three of the holes do traverse a walking path but they are short holes and the tees command views that gives advanced warning of anyone walking towards the hole. So that is grudgingly acceptable to keep the best holes on the course. 2 is a short hole that features a basket cut into the woods to the left, up a ridge that should provide an uphill put next to a small waterfall. 8 and 9 play along a pond, with a safe route around the pond available and a direct path offered by carrying the water. 9 is a decent amount past the pond while 8 sits high above the water on a small bluff surrounded by three sides of water.
10 provides the other open look of the first half and it features the best chance to air out a disc that I saw as well as basket situated on hillside. The other holes, (3-7 as well as 18) cut through a small section of woods that is not fantastically maintained at the moment but offers wooded fairways of a few different widths and allows the trees to force shot shaping. Overall the course has a nice variety, with a little bit of everything discwise, and the ten hole stretch from 2 to 11, with the addition of 18 are a nice introduction to the sport and should appeal to most new players.
The back half, well it doesn't match the map. Hopefully, the map represents what the course is going to be. After failing to find a tee for 12, I noticed that the basket that was located where the 12 should be said 15. And the tee that was supposed to be 13 said 16. So I guess 13-15 play out in the open fields towards the road. I missed those but the terrain didn't look interesting in any case A bunch of athletic fields in what can be the only place they were.. The actual 16 and 17 were worse. The baseball field is very much in play on those two holes and the current game going on made them unplayable. The maps showed a trio of holes in that section of woods, so hopefully the plan is to cut holes in that unused woods. That would vastly improve the course. Otherwise some way should be found to get directly from 10 to 18 and make this course a decent twelver. Nothing wrong with a twelve-hole course.
Other Thoughts: Nice beginner course that needs some work in a few areas. If matching the map is planned and the 16 and 17 are scrapped in favor of carving fairways out of that woods section, this could be very soild.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    5/16/2015   5/16/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 43  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It starts out promising, with a unique hole #2 on a peninsula between a creek and a pond, with an elevated basket, but it goes bad quickly after that.
Cons: I get the sense that the course has been in much better shape in previous months or years, but when I played, the signs were dilapidated or missing, so navigation was hard, the tee boxes were overgrown or in disrepair, and poison ivy was everywhere, including in some "fairways." Yes, the water holes are cool, but it's no fun if your trekking through poison ivy to play them. High risk of losing discs in the underbrush.
Other Thoughts: I live in eastern Wake County, so the Rocky Mount courses and the southwestern Wake courses are approximately equidistant to me. But I won't be playing this course again, unless significant improvements are made. There are too many other good alternatives.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Could use polishing.

1    7/27/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 60  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The ~5 holes that have water in play are great. Good variety of shots through the trees. Nice to have multiple tees, although I've only played the whites.
Cons: Signage was pretty bad. It looks like they're moving some around because they were using different number signs at different holes. Tee pads were pretty bad, but we were playing in the rain.
Other Thoughts: Nice use of the space, but it could use some polishing. The parking lot seems to be a common spot for high school kids to come get high too, as we saw two groups doing so as we rolled up, which did not make us feel good about leaving our car full of stuff there.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Totally mixed up

1    8/7/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: 252chevyboyz
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amazing views and the water holes can be really challenging. Beautiful course though. Shots in my opinion range from Pro to Amateur so its a great course if you want to challenge yourself
Cons: Holes are NOT marked at all. Each tee box number has been changed and with the the basket for each hole is different.

I couldnt follow the course so I played random holes here and there.
Other Thoughts: I would really like the course to be re marked and I would play it 4-5 times a week like a play the Sunset course

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 1st Run

1    1/19/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: clementsjd1
Played: 47  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Mixing things up with the water.
- Mix of wide open, woods, over water and around water shots.
- Park for the kids if they tag along
Cons: - Sign's were not there for every hole, the wooden stands were there, but it seems they have been defaced.
- Rubber tee-pads is a very bad idea, I played off to the side of them as the ground was wet.
Other Thoughts: My least favorite course out of Rocky mounts 4 courses.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/22/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: GRISWOLD87
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: i love this course! some really big ace attempts and alot of birdies. pretty well maintained. 8 and 9 are the exciting ones over water shots, idk if my blood preasure rises bc of the unique shot or iam affraid to loose my disc! 12 is a nice straight bomb and if you have a good arm you can birdie this one. 13 has really gotten tought, they have added a batting cage which make it very difficult to throw. nice short woods hole 14-18 but can cause major trouble if your not accurate.
Cons: water stands really bad right after the rain. tee pads are aweful! ruber mats can cause a broken neck! advice is to throw beside the tee pad if it is wet. could use some brush clean up in the woods. some mando signs which dont really make since bc it doesnt make the shot any harder.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    11/13/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great signs made it easy to navigate the course. The water holes make a nice risk/ reward. Choose your shot carefully, my friend did not and he went swimming. Was not crowded the day we were there. The park is easy to find from the highway. Park was very clean. The multiple tees were nice for any level player to join in.
Cons: The course can be muddy so just be prepared for that. Many holes are rather short. I used my putter most of the day. There was a soccer tournament going on and they used a grassy area for parking on the fairway. (I hope that isn't common.)
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course. The shorter holes were in the wooded areas which gave them more challenge. If your in the area this is definetely worth playing, I had a great time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 SO much hope, so little reward

1    12/23/2009   12/23/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of open long holes and challenging wooded holes. Several holes near a pond that offer some good risk vs reward opportunity. Holes also placed near walkway for some good OB risk. A course that requires the use of all of your shots. Multiple tee locations for different skill levels. Good signs at tee pads.
Cons: Where to start?? Rubber tee pads over bumpy ground. This is a good place to twist an ankle or land on your arse. Many holes play around or near a walkway. You could kill a pedestrian or biker there on a good day. Watch out. Water, water, water. There is a pond that offers some decent risk, but there is also enough standing water and swamps to keep you damp all day. Hadn't rained in a while and there was still water everywhere. My impression is that this was a swamp that they turned into a disc golf course. There is also drainage culverts dumping water from the surrouning sports fields. My guess is that in Spring, Fall and Winter you need waders to play here. Maybe a nice dry summer would help. We played when about 1/3 of the fairways had 2-3 inches of standing water covering large portions of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of promise. It has some cool holes that are fun to play. Concrete tee pads would easily allow me to give this course a 2.5 or 3. If they could ever drain some water away also this could turn into a fun place. I'm just not sure it will ever happen. If you're in Rocky Mount, and North Carolina has been in an extended drought by all means go play this course. If you play it when it's wet and warm I'd be on the lookout for some reptiles. This looks like it could hold some big *ss snakes!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    3/9/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 319  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 36.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2010
6 Helpful / 2 Not
*There are 2 sets of tees, so there's some variety. (White = Short, Black = Long)
*There's water in play on 3 holes. The drive from hole 8's Long tees is the most dramatic, and the one I enjoyed the most.
*Navigating the course is pretty easy, even without a map.
*The Long layout has a perfect balance of fairway shapes with 6 St/ 6 Left/ 6 Right. (But the Short layout has a preponderance of straight holes with 10 St/ 3 Lt/ 5 Rt)
-When I played in March there were big swamps or swampy areas on 11 holes. The hole 4 tee was totally under water. Hole 7 was the worst with a big deep black swamp that you could lose discs in. Hole 16 could have water on lots of the fairway and all around the basket. A few holes were hard to get down the fairway because I had to walk over logs. These inconveniences were the major hindrance to my enjoyment, but maybe it's drier in the summer.
-Like the other courses in Rocky Mount, this one is mostly flat. The greatest elevation change is +6 ft.
-The tee signs could be improved. They were small and minimal.
Other Thoughts: Black tees (Long) Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 900.)
White tees (Short) Course Level: Red (most suited for Juniors and Intermediate players rated 850)
Both layouts are shorter than average for their level.

You be the judge-
My favorite hole: 8 from the Long tees. A beautiful shot over the water that's loaded with risk vs. reward.

It's in a wetland area, so there are restrictions on what can be built on the course.
Each layout has 10 holes in the woods, with the other 8 a mixture of wide open grass or scattered trees.
The new double chain Discatcher baskets are in great shape. I thought the rubber mat tee pads were adequate, but just a little bit too short.
They use a non-standard tee color system instead of the usual PDGA colors. This may lead some confusion since the short (White) tees are actually Red level while the long tees (Black) are actually White level.
There a few amenities-- no course map, no warm up basket, no message board, no benches, and no trash cans-- but the course is still new, so hopefully those will come in time.

All in all, there were some good holes over the water and through the woods, but I think the swamps dampened my enthusiasm so that my enjoyment factor was merely average.

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Quality Course When It Is Dry

5+    7/26/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: TAKRep
Played: 36  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has wide fairways in the woods which are great for beginners and has long open shots from 10-14 that are good for practicing driving.
UPDATE: The course has recently received tee signs. Also, there are now professional "drop zone" signs by the holes near the pond. There are two different tee placements for most holes, and three for some of them so any skill level can enjoy this course. The thick brush surrounding the pond and the creek behind hole 12 has been removed completely. This makes losing a disc in these areas much harder.
Cons: Don't even go if it has rained at any point within 18 hours of your visit. The course does not hold water well and when the rubber tees are wet it is easy to slip (I know from experience...). I went after two days of rain, and the fairways of holes 15 16 and 17 were totally underwater. Also, the water is kind of murky, so if you throw a disc into the water you probably won't be able to see it even if you throw it in a shallow spot. This is course is basically unplayable in the winter. During this time, a few holes remain flooded throughout the entire season (especially hole 7).
Other Thoughts: Great layout. Nice course for beginners. The city of Rocky Mount is always working to improve this course. They have put a lot of money into it over the past few months.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.