Rocky Mount, NC 
Rocky Mt. Sports Complex Share
Uploaded By: LeeLK Hole #18 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 third best course in RM

2-4    2/4/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: Virtual PBandJ
Played: 70  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 26.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Two fun water holes, two sets of pads, a few fun technical holes, set in an awesome sports complex
Cons: The course is set in the water run off area of the park, not lefty friendly, in a marsh(hope you like snakes in the summer), the fence on 10-11 is to close to the holes. several pins are dangerously close to the next pads.
Other Thoughts: This is a course confused, the first several holes are short and technical in the woods from both pads. then the course just explodes into a course with big drives over a nice pond then a few holes later shrinks back to it's original short and technical layout. the holes just dont fit with the rest of the park.

: ) :

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet

5+    1/4/2009   1/16/2009
Review By: ngpbeaver
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide variety of holes, long, short, hazards, wooded and wide open. The alternate tees are great! Definitely provides a little something for everyone.
Cons: Played the other day and had to skip half the course due to the fact that it was under a couple inches of water. The area is a flood plain. So if there is a lot of consistent rain, bring lots of towels.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 40mph winds...

1    12/1/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: tomschillin
Played: 147  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 19.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes #8 & #9 are the best holes on the course, both cross portions of the lake and can be challenging for any body. Most of the wooded holes have well defined fairways. Fairly easy to navigate through, I made 18 holes in about 90 minutes, and that's with never playing it before. They made great use of the land they had, weaving it in and out of a chunk of trees and following along a lake's edge.
Cons: The course holds water, granted we've had several inches of rain in the past few weeks, but most all of the holes had some standing water on it. Hole 17 in particular was impossible to get down the fairway without my disc getting wet as well as my feet. The tee pads need to be concrete, or something other than that crappy plastic, i slipped on 2 drives and ended up just teeing to the side of the plastic for safety's sake...i didn't really like the open holes of 12-14...they were long, flat and boring, it probably didn't help that I was plaing in 40 mph winds and it was a headwind on 2 of those holes.
Other Thoughts: this is a newer course, and is still a work in progress...when completed this will be a top notch course. I hear rumors of a championship caliber course that will add 2000 feet to the total distance. to do this though they're gonna need to add tee pads, bridges, trash cans. benches and signs.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Rocky Mount's Finest

2-4    11/9/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: j1s1a1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the best course in Rocky Mount. You don't have to worry so much about poison ivy ,briars and overgrown brush. It is a challenging course that is well maintained.
Cons: The markers are stone for now. The pad are very short and made of rubber. I have trouble teeing off on them because of the unlevel terrain.
Other Thoughts: I would like to see hole markers with bag holders and a website like kinston's course http://www.kinstondiscgolf.com/. I also would like to see (on all of Rocky Mounts courses) flouresant markers that are easy for all level players to see where the next hole is located, or I would like to see some sign or marker showing where the next tee is located. I think alot of people do not play because of getting from one hole to the other. Pros do not need this but for all of the rest of us starting out we do! It is terrible to wander through the woods while people are coming up to play behind you.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 sports complex

5+    3/5/2011   11/6/2008
Review By: ecupirate82
Played: 47  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2011
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy course from the short tees. Very tough course from the longs. This course has it all...in the woods, the wide open, and over 2 ponds!!! Makes you use just about every shot possible!
Cons: Not really feeling the black carpet tee box things. Holds water really bad during those rainy days.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Silver Lake

5+    10/14/2008   10/14/2008
Review By: bgreen
Played: 34  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very good mix of holes that have a risk/reward factor. Even the shorter holes you will need to use some finesse on as you have to choose the correct and best path. White tees are great for beginners while the black tees will give you a challenge. You will need to go over water on 8, 9 (or lay up) and be careful on 2, 10 or you could get wet here also. Hole 8 will/ is the signature hole as you are 330' over water to an elevated basket at 350'; but don't over throw as it is on a pinnacle. To short, left, or long and you are wet.
Cons: Still doing the finishing touches. Perminate tee pads are coming, and cleanup is still in process.
Other Thoughts: I think that this is going to be a great course and my rating is somewhat to that. There are plans to make a few of the holes longer.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.