Virginia Beach, VA 
Virginia Wesleyan College Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #8 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    6/16/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: evilempire
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice easy course to play. Does not take alot of time to play a round. Hard to lose your disc. Not busy. Signage at the tee is good. Baskets in good shape. Easy access.
Cons: 1st hole has been removed, looks like a new memorial and landscaping has been done recently. Signage leading from one hole to another could be a little better. Just a little work would make this a fun daily course. No formal tee box but you can figure it out.
Other Thoughts: Nice little course and fun, I think all skill levels would enjoy it. If you google "virginia wesleyan disc golf" the first link has a nice map of the course. We started at hole 2. Security van passed us and waved no problems at all. Did not run into the bike security which a previous review said they got kicked out.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Virginia Wesleyan

2-4    6/11/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: knoxstephen5
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 27.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Uncrowded, and by the looks of it, an unused course. Fun and close to metro area. I liked this course because it was a good way to get in a quick round or 2 without having to drive too far or wait to play due to crowds. Easy to park and walk to since you need a pass to park on campus.
Cons: Only a 9 hole course with the first hole missing. There is some kind of a memorial where the first hole used to be. But we just used hole 9 for hole one since it was close. Also by the sounds of previous reviews it seems this course is open to the public as long as you park off campus and walk on...not the case! The first few times we played we saw campus security several times. They would wave to us and even say hello until we ran into a security officer on a bike. He stopped us and asked if we were students or in any way affiliated with the school. We said no and were asked to leave the campus because it is private property. There is no way of knowing this due to the lack of signs or fences . If you decide to try to play here, you will be asked to leave if you are not a student or have any affiliation with the school. Also when you look up this course on line, it is not listed as a private course which it should.
Other Thoughts: This course needs to be listed as a private course. It is a fun and seldom used course. Good luck if you try to get on campus and play because you will be asked to leave by security.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disrepair

1    11/30/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: Nemmers
Played: 37  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 1.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- I was surprised at how few courses there are in a bustling area as big and populated as the Tidewater area, so having a few more baskets to throw at is a plus. Especially if you go to Virginia Wesleyan.

....and that's it for the pros.
Cons:
- Absolutely abysmal layout. There's no rhyme or reason to this course. Nothing to tell you where to begin and the vast majority of holes have no logical progression to them. For instance, we started on hole #4 and couldn't tell where to go next. "Oh, wait...there's a sign across the street." Got to the sign and the throwing lane is directly THROUGH a huge climbing tower that looks as if it belongs to SEAL Team Six. All this, coupled with the fact that hole #1 was nonexistent -- literally, we could not find any evidence that this course had a first hole -- makes this course nonsensical. Another example is #7: You finish the hole and there's no real indication of where to go next. Come to find out that it's way across a barren field and the sign for #8 (such as it is) faces a pond. Very awkward and completely unnatural.

- No tee boxes whatsoever. The signs at the supposed starting point for each hole were sporadic at best and gave you the distance and par, but no signal as to from whence you're supposed to throw your first shot.

- Some baskets were okay, but some were bent to hell, as if someone took a baseball bat to them.

- Did I mention that the layout sucks?

- No topless Hooters girls frolicking along the #8 fairway.
Other Thoughts: The only reason this course even gets half a star is because there are eight more baskets to throw at in Hampton Roads. That's it. This course is a nice amenity if you go to Virginia Wesleyan College, but other than that there's no benefit to going out of your way to play it. It's shoddy, disheveled, and in a state of chaotic disrepair. If I had to use two words to describe it they would be "strategically ridiculous." It literally seems as if someone put in the baskets in some random places throughout the campus and then another guy with glaucoma came in and installed the tee signs.

Bottom line: if you live in VB this might be worth checking out just for a change of pace, but if you're visiting Hampton Roads you're better of skipping this course altogether. It's not worth the time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/17/2010   1/17/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a clean and pleasant campus with water fountains and ponds. Good Tee signs with bag hooks. My favorite hole was #8, you throw from an open field into a cluster of trees with the basket inside. It is a private course on a college campus so you might have the course to yourself. Most of the course is begginer friendly, but there are some challenging aspects to keep a more seasoned player interested.
Cons: Holes 1-3 are short holes with buildings, parking lots, and walkways way too close to the basket. Also basket 9 has a blind walkway behind it. You really need to becareful on these holes! I hope they can change these basket positions. Tees are grass/dirt that can be slippery.
Other Thoughts: There is a guard house at the entrance of the campus so if you do not go to this college you may not be able to drive right in. I parked at a church on Baker Road and walked over. The first tee is near the Godwin and Clarke buildings. The 4-8 tees are in the open areas near the woods. From 8 cut across the soccer field to find 9. I can't rate this very highly but if you live nearby go ahead and check it out for yourself.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 short but nice

2-4    2/21/2009   2/21/2009
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 453  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well groomed with great signs and baskets. Each sign post has a bag hook to hang your bag from. Well placed basket locations, and close to the dorms if you live on campus.
Cons: holes are mostly ending on the left. could use some signage to point to the first tee from the parking lot and from 3 to 4.
Other Thoughts: I started by parking around the corner from the school at a church, then walked across campus to the course, wasn't that long of a walk and the course was easy enough to find. The tee signs were great. The holes were short but the tee placements made up for it, the tees were almost all on the left but everything was extremely well kept. The campus was extremely nice and had lots of beach cars around all painted different, kinda cool. A quick round but fun, great for newbies.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/23/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: swellerdiscgolf
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/14/2009
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a nice short college campus course, with good baskets, and good signage. It makes good use of the space and trees available. There is also a small creek that comes into play, but not deep enough or wide enough to claim any discs.
Cons: It is hard to get in to the college to play unless you go to the school, or know somebody that does. The first couple of holes play beside walking paths for the campus, which could get dangerous if noone is paying attention. There is a long walk between basket for 8 and tee for 9. If they could have used the land with the trees near the edge of the campus to make it 18 holes, the course would improve greatly.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little college course, good for when you don't have a lot of time to play, and can get onto the campus. It is possible to bring a stroller along for the parents out there.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.