Miranda, CA 
Birds of Paradise Share
Uploaded By: humchris85  



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Pleasant Surprise

1    11/10/2012   2/8/2013
Review By: Dottedmind
Played: 181  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2013
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hear is a list of the pros I found on the course

+ Challenging layout that never bores.
+ wicked elevation throughout
+ signature water hole and yes water too!
+ Course starts and finishes where you start
+ course goes by the parking area a few times enabling you to load up on beverages.
+ Par 3's, par 4's, and par 5's.
+ Very clean on private land.
+ Camping option on course.
+ plenty of parking on top of the hill.
+ Flow is good and all the holes are tied in together with no long walks between holes.
+ location, location, location. Norcal with beautiful weather and its never to cold or hot to play here.
+ always has a guide if its open for play
+ Course is always changing a little by adding or losing a hole. keeps it interesting.
+ honest, pack your trash in and out.
+ brews are acceptable and welcomed
+ Awesome host and the course bleeds "for the love of the game"
+ course maintenance is fine and course was in great shape.
Cons: - Best accessed by truck or SUV. You can get to the course with a car but its rough road at times and you dont want the car to be weighed down.
- No teepads (kinda not a con since the course is always evolving and changing layouts). Especially when your teeing from rock structures. This also applies to the no tee signs, but you have a guide so you dont need them its private.
- limited trash cans, but it s private and you will know ahead of time.
- No stores or places to buy food for 5 miles
- bathrooms, none. Use nature.
- At times course feels only big arm friendly. Really makes you want those birdies on shorter holes if you cant reach the big ones.
- Baskets are mixed or seasoned ( i'm just happy to play with baskets)
- Gaitors required at certain times of the year.
- Side of mountain can get tall grass around the large green at certain times of the year.
- The drive in from the freeway is slow and grueling.
Other Thoughts: This is a tough to get to but beautiful BIG ARM COURSE. The holes are epic in grandeur but many many long shots. I can't say it's the best course in Cali. But it is a spectacular thing for sure.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Top 3 Course

2-4    7/23/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: McComasDG
Played: 50  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.9 Years
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Shot variation, beautiful scenery, challenging layout, variety of length. multiple basket locations. Direction of play can be altered.
Others' comments say it all. An incredible course all around.
Cons: the natural teepads can be a bit slippery or uneven. It's tough to get a time when you can play the course outside of tourneys. lots of burrs when you get off the fairways. Very hilly, so you should be ready for a vigorous hike.
Other Thoughts: wonderful course. Worth the drive every time.

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Paradise found

1    8/13/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: Stan McDaniel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
19 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Thank you Caleb for giving me the guided tour of your incredible course. Thanks Tom and Rodney for setting that up. A short hike to hole 1 and then teeing of on a huge open downhill hole of around 400'. Grand and majestic. Tom's shot turned over and went about 700', oops. This is a course that those who do not like wooded tight courses will love, and those like me who do love wooded tight courses will love too. Wow, so many epic looking tee shots that seem to sail forever. So much steep terrain. Risk reward for long arms even though the course is mostly open. The short holes have plenty of danger. Diane, my wife, flew by the pin on a short hole and went 150' downhill. 27 holes of amazing views and challenging shots from steep downhill to steep uphill. Hole 25 dwarfs DeLaviega's top of the world shot. So many nearly 360 degree panoramic views that go for miles. Oh, to live near this place. My rating of 4 is only because this course is a work in progress. It will be much higher when Caleb gets further along. I can't begin to describe the beauty of this place.
Cons: Need benches for this arduous course.That much hiking needs to give legs a rest before each tee shot. No need for the crossing fairway with this much land even it they don't seem to be conflicting. There is a need for longer more level tee pads. I don't mind the natural pads, but length and more level is necessary for the long throws required. With all the terrain I am not sure how much a tee sign with distances would actually have helped, but, it would be nice to have those distances in my head before throwing. I would also like to see a bit more clearing on some green areas so that there was no fluff within the 10 meter zone. I would like to see an 18 hole layout of par 72 with the other 9 optional. With this land I wanted more par 4's and 5's.(nothing wrong with the existing par 3's) Tough walking with irregular ground. Bring ankle high shoes and those things that keep burrs and spiky grass seed off your socks or else they will be throwaways. Bring plenty of water and drinks if you go there in summer. As I stated before, this is a course that is a work in progress. When some of the aforementioned amenities have been provided this will likely the course that I call my favorite.
Other Thoughts: I will return. No trip to Cali without calling Caleb and returning to Birds.

Hey top pros, this is your course, the one you've been dying for. Go see it.

19 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 This place is Amazing!

2-4    7/15/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: ashmgee
Played: 53  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.5 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Where do you start?

All holes basketed!

Tons of variety including elevation, left, right, long, short, open, technical, multiple par ratings (3,4,5), and those are mixed well throughout this course.

Great flow!

Beautiful oak woodland mixed with larger Douglas-fir.

water hazards in play as well as plenty of trouble for errant shots.

I really am not going to get into the pros (the list could go on and on) any more than to say that if you get a chance to play here take it. This place is mountain style golf that will leave most feeling tired, not bragging about their score, but totally satisfied that they had a great day at a great course.
Cons: Poisonoak!!!

no concrete or rubber tees (it is private property so i totally understand)

It will be a long round so make a day of being there (not a con)

The hike will take it out of you so bring extra water because you will not be back to where you park for extended time.

Grass can be tall and lead to lost discs. Because this course is not played by public on a normal basis, if Caleb hasn't mowed it can be tall. The course has always been in great shape for tournament play.

If you haven't been here before it can be tough to navigate some places in between holes or even see the basket because there are no signs. (you would likely be playing with Caleb I am guessing so it wouldn't be an issue)
Other Thoughts: If you get a chance to play this course definitely do! It is a top notch design, and provides plenty of challenge. The designer is a great guy and has done a lot for Humboldt county disc golf.

Because this course is private my rating is going to be a little different than normal. I think that in terms of course potential, and actual design I would give it a 5. However because it lacks tees (pretty big deal) and signage (not as big a deal) I would have to deduct a point even though I don't want to in this case.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.