Centralia, IL 
Foundation Park DG Complex - Rec 9 Share
Uploaded By: Stevenunya Hole #2 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 356ft.   3 / 333ft.   3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Red Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Journey to the Centralia of the Earth, Pt. 1

1    9/12/2014   9/17/2014
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 194  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Foundation Park, home to both a championship quality 18-hole course and a significantly easier 9-hole course, provides an awesome example of park-style disc golf done the right way. The "beginner" 9-hole course, while accessible to beginners, will still provide some challenge even for more experienced players. The holes are all relatively short in length (even from the natural grass blue tees), but with two sets of tees and two pin positions, there is enough variety here to keep things fresh and interesting through multiple rounds.
- Concrete pads at the red tees and markers in the grass for the blue tees; both are in fine condition, as it seems the blue tees see minimal wear and tear. Signage helps with distance, and the very basic shape of the hole, but the details are scant. With the shorter hole lengths, this doesn't create as much of an issue as the lack of detailed signage does on the 18-hole course. Next tee signage, trash cans, and a course map at the parking lot are all sufficient and well-implemented.
- Variety and scale. For a nine hole course, Foundation brings it. At no point throughout the round did I feel like I was playing a park-style niner. The scope and design of the holes all seemed to be at the same level as a full-blown 18-hole course, which is encouraging to me as I live in the region of crappy Chicagoland park-style 9ers. There's enough challenge and variety here to satisfy most discers, even if more skilled players will be playing "deuce or die" golf. A good balance also exists between wooded and open, with semi-open shots coming in to play (e.g., #'s 1 and 5). A couple of large pines surround #7's pin, creating a tricky approach zone.
- Water comes into play nicely on #'s 2 and 3. Enough of a hazard to put a bit of a scare in you, but easily avoided if your discs stay on line. The creek plays to the right for both holes. Gently rolling elevation throughout adds enough up and down to keep this course from being flat, but there's not enough to warrant a "moderate" designation.
Cons: - The tee signage, while mostly sufficient, lacks some detail and could be upgraded to have more detailed/accurate maps of each hole.
- Concrete pads would be a nice touch at the blue tees, but the natural tees didn't detract much from our round. I could see them being more of a con in rainy/muddy conditions.
- The tee signage indicates whether the pin is in A or B position; however, the signage did not seem to match the pin positions. Either the hole maps were inaccurate or the pin indicators weren't set correctly (I'm leaning towards the later).
Other Thoughts: - I really enjoyed my round here. Enough of a challenge to provide a solid warm-up for the adjoining 18-hole monster lurking across the road, but also accessible enough for beginners or lesser players. This would be the perfect course, in my mind, for a family that wants a leisurely walk in the park while also getting in their dg fix. Although Foundation 9er does a great job accentuating the 18-hole layout, it is solid enough to stand on its own, any day.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    10/7/2013   8/7/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 146  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 14.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Centralia, IL is known for the monstrous beast that the Championship Course is but the 9 hole "Recreational" course is a nice course in its own right. If you like the breadsticks at Olive Garden with the alfredo sauce that's what I would define this course as: a wonderful appetizer before being treated to the main course!

What I find most fascinating about the Recreational course is that from the Red Tees this course is 3,500 feet over 9 holes. If you multiplied that by 2 for the purposes of seeing what the distance would be with 18 holes you'd have a course of 7,000 feet. Even taking aside that this course is fairly open, that's a pretty long Recreational Course in my opinion! My point is, this course is no slouch: you can make a 4 on this course. Here are my pros:

1) Like its big brother, this course has nice tee signs and the MARVELOUS Gateway Titan baskets. These are some of the most sturdy and durable baskets in the industry!

2) This 9 hole course is an easy play. There is little chance for loss of disc and it flows really nicely. Its a short play and a nice warmup for the big course.

3) Tees: The course includes Yellow, Red and Blue tees. The difference between the longest and short tees are very dramatic. The shortest tees are truly EASY and really would be good for a brand new player.

4) Even for a Recreational Course the design was fun! The pin location for hole 2 was really neat so close to the creek. It was nice to see the designer do some neat things like that even with the title of a Recreational Course.

Favorite Hole: Hole 7 was a really neat hole with a cool green built around the pine trees. It was a fun throw and a pleasant surprise!
Cons: Like its big brother, this course doesn't have a lot of bad things going for it. Here are my cons:

1) This course was fairly flat and didn't have a lot of elevation. It was more open than the Championship Course and the visuals of the course were not quite as strong as the Championship Course.

2) I hate comparing this course to the Championship course but the Recreational Course didn't have the luster of a course that should be rated as a Phenomenal Course. The course had some nice shots but nothing screamed phenomenal about this course.

3) This course is called the Recreational Course for a reason: the lines are more open and the trees are not as burdensome. This course is meant for Recreational players. This doesn't take away from the course, in my opinion, because it serves its purposes but it does hold down the rating.

4) Some of the holes are a little repetitive but once again its designed to be an easier course so there's going to be some repetition.
Other Thoughts: Don't take the 2.5 rating the wrong way. If this course was 18 holes it would probably be a solid 3.5. Its tough for me to give a 9 hole course above 3.5 because its only 9 holes. But this course was a GREAT warmup for the big dog. This course is a great course to warm the arm up and a nice compliment to the Championship Course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A great meal goes better with a tasty appetizer

1    4/18/2014   4/19/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Variety: Mix of semi-wooded and sparsely treed open holes with just a hint of rolling terrain on a few, and a few variations of hole shapes (but not much). Variety on hole lengths is quite good. Openness allows for several lines, but well placed trees give you something to think about on every hole. Multiple tees and rotating pins placements only enhance the variety. The blues provide somewhat tougher looks to go with the added distance. The longer "B" placements really stretch things out a bit and are tougher to reach in most cases.
• Kudos for not skimping on the distance - even the reds give big arms couple of chances to bomb.
• Equipment: I really like the Gateway Titans - built to last and catch great. Red tees are concrete and in great shape (having been recently poured) and easy to spot with their tee signs. The natural blue tees are a bit tougher to find, but decent (at this point - could become nasty, water holding devices if they don't pour concrete). Single tee signs only show red and blue tee locations (yellows aren't shown) as well as both pin positions, and help get around with no issues. Pin placement is shown on the post.
• Aesthetics - nothing special, but it's fairly pleasant and easy on the eyes.
• Navigation: easy, can be played in under an hour (even allowing for some extra shots,
• Nice warm up for big brother. Having another course that plays to a different skill level in the same park is a big plus
• Scorecards w/ map at kiosk are a nice touch.
Cons: While it's far from spectacular, there's honestly not a lot wrong with this course. It's simple, but well designed and well suited to beginning and intermediate players.
• I'd prefer a bit more variety in terms of hole shapes - the longer holes were all pretty straight, but it seems they were trying to fit this course into a relatively narrow strip of land in this section of the park, and it doesn't seem like long, sweeping hyzers or turnover shots would have fit into the scheme of things.
• I'd have liked more elevation, but they made good use of what little there is in this section of the park, and wisely saved the better elevation for the Pro Course.
Other Thoughts: Probably the 2nd best niner I've played to date. It's refreshing to play one where you can use a pretty full range of discs, or one where you can actually card a 4 or 5 if you throw badly.

I don't think they could really do anything about the "shortcomings," but there's no denying that elevation and big, curving fairways would add something this course lacks. That said, you gotta appreciate that what the Rec 9 lacks, the Champ 18 offers up.

Most definitely a good course. I'd rather play two rounds here than one on many 18's. Had it been able to address the two cons I listed, I'd be thinking about whether it deserves a 3.5 or not.

Interestingly, the Rec 9 plays much like a park style course, while the Champ 18 plays more like a woodsy, brushy, put on your big boy pants, metro park type of course… yet they're across the road from each other.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Underwhelming Compared to the Championship Course, but Serves it's Purpose

1    9/25/2013   10/1/2013
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 81  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The best part about this course is that is plays right across the street from one of the best (most demanding) courses in the country. This course is a shorter and less technical version of it's big brother course. Played on the same type of land, but with far less trees and elevation. Therefore, this a great way to warm up for the championship course and/or bring a beginner to. I actually enjoyed this 9-holer, there just wasn't anything special about it.

Three sets of tees are provided here with yellow, red, and blue. The different tees do a nice job of giving a variety of looks and distances. Tee signs, tees, and Gateway Titan baskets are all in good shape. Grass is mowed low and the course is very well maintained. Next tee signs are in abundance.

There is a nice mix of distances: all the yellows are under 330, the reds range from 257-510, and blues from 333-633. It provides a nice variety with 3 wooded holes and 6 open holes. The open holes aren't anything special but do have some challenges and thoughtful pin positions behind trees. Good mix of anhyzer and hyzer shots.
Cons: -The open holes, while not complete throw-aways seemed repetitive and even a little boring. However, I understand the purpose of this course as a recreation course.
-No benches (but you wouldn't really need any as it only took me 40 minutes to play)
-Only red tees have concrete tee pads
-Not much elevation at all
-Not a whole lot of cons, just a very simple course. The designers did a great job making it serve it's purpose
Other Thoughts: While this course had some underwhelming holes, it actually had some really fun ones despite being a rec. course:

2-Hyzer shot in the woods going slightly uphill to the basket. Tough pin position behind multiple trees
8-Longest hole on the course, have to throw through different patches of trees
9- Great way to end the course with a pretty tunnel shot

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Underwhelming if played Second.

1    11/25/2012   12/15/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Actual hole distances are pretty diverse (see also cons). You do have to bring your distance game or throw good upshots to play well. My upshots must have been on because I parred everything.
2) Directional in the one major place it is needed on the walk from #3-4 and from #8 to 9.
3) Nice concrete teepads.
4) There is an average amount of variety from foliage density. While most of the holes are open there are some obstacles to avoid.
5) Decent tee signs again showing all of the info needed.
6) Very beginner friendly because of alternate forward tees. All of the holes are under 300' from the front tees.
7) Garbage cans all around the course again for people to be able to throw their trash away as opposed to throwing it around the park.
Cons: 1) Overall the hole distances do not seem as different as the other course because it is more open. While there are holes ranging from 200's to 500's it just does not feel like that at all. The A pin positions take a lot of the distance variety away too.
2) Boring and repetitious is how it felt to play this course. Partially a let down from finishing the other 18 and then coming here.
3) This part of the park is less dramatic in terms of elevation change but it might also feel more this way because there are less trees and obstacles.
4) It's a shame they couldn't bring the river in to play . . . even if it is a rec course, even they will get a thrill of having to throw over or closely to a river.
Other Thoughts: This course is far from how awesome the Championship 18 is. The holes are similar lengths (at least in comparison to the other 18) and they all play similarly where the Champ 18 has character at every turn. These holes are more open and less obstacles. It is still a fun course but the distances lend the holes to be repetitive for players of my caliber. I literally got a par 3 on every hole so it became very boring. I like birdies and as sick as it sounds . . . I like bogies. I like to stress for every shot and this course does not lend itself to that type of feeling.
Is this a bad course . . . NO . . . but it does not even compare to across the street . . . so I recommend starting on this course as a warmup and then moving to the other 18 and you will be even more blown away!
I definitely appreciate they have a more beginner friendly course on the same property and it will hopefully keep many of the beginners off the Champ 18, because there really is no reason for a beginner to try that . . . it might turn many people away from the game . . . or it might create a bunch of addicts trying to improve. It is hard to say but as much negative could come from beginners playing over there as would positives.

I give this review a 2.0 . . . but the course gets a 3.0 . . . more accurately I would say it gets about a 2.75. I just cannot give it less than 3.0 rating just because I played it second. It is hard to write as much as I did on my previous review of the Champ 18 and it correlates to how these courses compare. I just cannot say that much about this course. It is fun, but boring at the same time and I felt underwhelmed about this course because I play the 18 first. Oh well . . . chalk this one up to experience.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Teaser for the Champ Course

1    6/23/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: absolutdork
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just like the 18 hole Championship course on the other side of the road, this course has great scenic holes. Short but very technical. The creek that runs through this 9 holer also makes you think about your shots. Very easy play, a great warm-up for the challenge that lies on the other side of the street.
Cons: Once again, those pesky dirt tee pads. Mainly cause this was the first time I had ever played on natural teeboxes, and not concrete ones. It's not a deal breaker at all because once I figured out the technique, which only took a couple holes, I didn't have much issues with them.
Other Thoughts: This is a perfect course to get a taste of the monster 18 on the other side. As a destination course, this only gets that approval if you play both in the same day like I did for a great day of 27 holes in one park. I met an older gentleman by the name of John who plays the course frequently and showed me around and told me about the course, the club that helps keep it in top notch shape, and informed me of the correct flight-paths. I will be back for sure, just wish it wasn't 2 hours away from me!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad at all, and a great warm-up.

1    12/5/2010   12/7/2010
Review By: REDARMY
Played: 32  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Probably not really 'rec' by most standards, this course would make an interesting 18 on it's own if played from the reds and blues.

Great layout, great flow, was happy to see 2's pin especially placed so close to the water, making it a righteous risk/reward deuce.

it's nice to see info kiosks anyway, but to have the one here at the rec nine was a nice touch since i'm sure the real destination for this park is the champ 18 on the other side of the street.

Good tee signs, and the little arrows in the ground that point from one basket to the next were a unique and welcome touch.

Plays long enough from the reds (didn't get to try the blues) that it's not the typical pitch-and-putt 9-er that you see in most places. (Bonus that the yellow/gold tees were there to make this a truly rec 9 for ams/newbies/juniors)

Also nice to see that despite bring a 'rec' course, the local club/park had the foresight to put trash cans at every other hole or so.

Not a lot of traffic/noise in the 30 degree weather, so it was a pleasantly quiet round of golf.
Cons: ...Not much really

It's only 9, no benches, no concrete pads, not a lot of elevation change (but you can't blame the topography i suppose).

Parking is sparse, but the course's location isn't condusive to a lot of traffic from what i saw.
Other Thoughts: Shot variety is covered, length is covered, trick pins and risk/reward is covered.... I'd say this course is actually worthy of being a destination by itself for newer players/weaker arms that don't want to brave the champ 18 across the street.

Concrete and some benches makes this an easy 4; but it's already a GREAT warmup for the champ 18 if you're brave enough to make a day of the two.


11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9

1    9/4/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays across the street from the championship 18 hole course which is a great bonus. The course plays through mature trees, rolling grassy fairways, and some wooded tunnels. There is a nice variety of tighter shots and more open shots, and most holes have at least a little bit of elevation change to add challenge. The course does an excellent job for a 9 hole course of mixing up hole lengths and shapes, without being too challenging for the players who aren't quite ready for the 18 hole course.

There are two sets of tees on every hole, adding another level of variety and challenge, and making the course more interesting for different levels of player. The blue tees aren't signed, but aren't too difficult to find. The red tees have good signage with distances from both tees, and solid hole maps that make the course easy to figure out. There are course maps provided at the beginning of the course, which makes the couple flow issues not a big deal. The gateway titans are great baskets, and were in really nice shape.
Cons: The elevation available was used well, but this part of the park is pretty flat, making it a little less interesting. Some holes had a third (short) set of tees marked with yellow markers, but they weren't obvious on every hole, and weren't marked on the hole signs. All three sets of tees were natural and were a little rutted out in spots, they looked like they would get pretty bad in rainy weather. The hole signs don't indicate which pin position is in use, so you don't always know exactly where to throw.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best 9 hole courses I've played, and it's even better when used as a warm up to the 18 hole course (they flow together as one big 27 hole course if you have the time and energy). There is enough challenge, especially from the longs, to keep better players interested, but not so much toughness that beginners will be too frustrated from the red tees.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    9/6/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A good portion of this park is devoted to this 9-holer, which has a great mix of woods and large trees to provide variety.
- Wooded holes do a good job of forcing certain lines with tight fairways and low ceilings. There are pretty rewarding birdie opportunities as accuracy and decent length are needed. Each of these holes have different curves to follow, which is a plus.
- Holes out of the forest have a great variety of trees to avoid, off the tee, in the fairways, and by the baskets. Lots of low branches and tricky approaches. Combined with a great amount of length, especially from the pro tees, the course offers a constant challenge.
- Good number of protected baskets, both in the forest and out. From skinny trees to giant pines, there are many ways to make things tough on yourself.
- Well markes tees, great baskets and signs. Navigation is easy.
Cons: - Land is pretty flat overall, there are no holes that have elevation changes as a major factor. Not many hazards other than the forest and trees either, so it is a pretty standard disc golf experience.
Other Thoughts: - Overall a very solid course that has above average length. The pro tees provide additional difficulty and some serious length. Add in protected baskets, and you get many spots that require long and accurate shots to score well.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Slightly more than just REC

1    8/1/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: peabody
Played: 46  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 11.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played the blue tees here. Made most of these holes hard par threes. Some good semi-open holes and some really neat wooded tight holes. Number 9 from the red tees stood out as being one of the cooler holes. Best 9 hole course I have ever played.
Cons: No concrete teepads. If the ground is a little wet ( with what they say during the winter and spring) you have a good chance of landing on your butt.
Also not very many places to sit down. If we didn't have a great guide finding the next hole might have been tough.
Other Thoughts: Nice friendly people ready to help you out and show you the way around.
Get someone to play a round with you ( bribe them if you have to) and watch their throws. Best learning you can get!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.