Lake Havasu City, AZ 
Grand Island Park Share
Uploaded By: Club Ced Hole #9 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 320ft.   3 / 380ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Lovely Little Neighborhood Course In A Interesting Setting!

1    3/25/2016   3/28/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 869  Reviewed: 819  Exp: 38 Years
Pros: This is a great little 9 hole course in a very nice park that this part lovely green grass and partly desert rockery. Holes 1,2, 6 and 9 play across the park's green grassy lawn while the remaining five holes play in two other separate sections of the park which are desert terrain. The holes are long enough that this isn't just a Pitch & Putt, I'd call it a nice little recreational course.

The course has simple tee signs. The distance is painted on rocks. The baskets are Innova Discatchers with the yellow bands. They do have small numbers on them. The Blues are the main tees and then there are marked red tees which are shorter.
Like everyone else, I enjoyed # 6 hole the most. It's an interesting anhyser shot, 246', with the basket set just around the corner on the grass, out of sightlines. I was able to throw a roller around the corner right up to the basket.
The course is just a little bit confusing to navigate as some tee pads are nice concrete pads while others tee off sidewalks and others off natural dirt areas.
Cons: Inexperienced groups/players were having a difficult time finding #2 tee area.
Variety of tee pads (concrete, sidewalks, dirt areas) is pretty confusing to inexperienced players.
The desert area is tough on your discs and not overly pleasant to play through.
Lake Havasu is well off the beaten path from anywhere.
Other Thoughts: I always love to see beginners taking up our game. On Grand Island today were two such groups. The first were a couple trying to play the course with one big "Freestyle" frisbee discs. The second was a rather large family group, complete with a couple of mothers, 3-4 kids, maybe a grandfather and a dad. I helped them with some navigational problems. Upon seeing my bag with a dozen discs, they just naturally assumed that I was some kind of super player. And when I cranked out a 270' drive they knew I was Godlike. I figured I was probably the most awesome player in playing in Lake Havasu today so I just let them believe it and strutted away with my chest puffed out.

Play it in February!

1    2/25/2016   2/29/2016
Review By: ricklev
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Well kept large desert green area, as well as clean rocky fairways on some holes
2. Mountain views
3. A few holes have nice doglegs left and right
4. Reachable baskets, though some might consider this a con since the course is not long
5. Safe, clean, and easy parking
Cons: 1. I agree with the comment that some tees aren't cement and harder to find. Hole #2, for example, is near the #1 basket, but look for it next to the walkway and it is not a cement tee.
2. Lake Havasu isn't the easiest place to reach, but this might be a pro since it's beautiful, and the surrounding area is spectacular.
Other Thoughts: Go in February! We have been to this area before, but never this time of year. The weather is perfect, and so it was also perfect for some disc golf. Be prepared to fall in love with the desert if you go in February. There were some wildflowers growing too, and some attractive purple wildflowers among the rocks on the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/28/2013   3/28/2013
Review By: CJshaggy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I loved this course! One of my favorites. The typical courses I play on are a grassy, woodsy kind of environment so I loved the difference this course has to offer with rocky surfaces and beautiful views of the mountains. The course is brilliantly designed in a circle-like fashion and every hole is fun in its own way! One of my favorites was hole 6, I believe, where the basket was WAY to the right of the field and out of sight from the tee-off position. It's a fun, puzzling challenge that puts your skills to the test considering discs usually curve to the left.
Cons: As awesome as this course is, it doesn't come without flaws. The location is not great. It's out of town, hidden behind a big neighborhood. It doesn't make it easy to find. Maintenance of the course is well needed, the stones that once told the par and distance of the basket is now faded away. And something I found odd was that only some holes have tee-off concrete pads while others don't. It makes it confusing for where to tee-off at for the ones that don't. And since it's close to a neighborhood, there is a slight risk of causing damage (really only one particular hole that's located just next to a home).
Other Thoughts: Excellent! Love it! Pros outweigh the cons by a longshot. I highly recommend this course!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great place to learn

2-4    3/10/2013   3/10/2013
Review By: RYDERDADDY143
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's a nice place to go play an take ur family to hang out an BBQ an play a few rounds. The course was laid out very well with some great shoots
Cons: The rocks eat up ur disc very much so. An some of the pads don't tell u how far the hole is
Other Thoughts: Maybe need to talk to city hall an make it a full 18hole course that's all I think it needs an maybe more parks in the area

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 loraski

5+    9/13/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: loraski
Played: 83  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: If you enjoy the desert you will really like this course. Word of advice, play it early in the morning, sunrise is awesome.
Cons: Some rocky fairways will ding your discs.
Other Thoughts: Great local course with beautiful views of Lake Havasu City and surrounding mountains. We love this course. Restrooms have been added.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Fun in the Sun

5+    5/16/2010   5/19/2010
Review By: Club Ced
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Year round course. Trees and shrubs are maturing and will only get better, already affecting holes 2 & 7. Always changing wind adds to the challenge, which is good. Easy course lay-out and a pleasant walk.
Cons: Additional targets would be great, enough room to add maybe 5 to 6 holes.
Other Thoughts: Well received in the community and played daily by locals as well as many positive experiences by out of town visitors.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 grand island dgc

1    7/5/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: jlogflagstaff
Played: 69  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great beginner course. nice desert views. cement tee pads ( plenty of room ). some holes have 2 tee pads making the course longer. 3 holes play on grass, 6 holes play in desert landscape.holes lengths from low 200ft-340ft, mostly shorter holes. innova chainstar baskets, trash cans. fast round of dg. the beach is close by to take a swim after a hot round.
Cons: very short course, hard to find location.
Other Thoughts: like the other reviews said, great introduction to dg. bring sun tan lotion you will need it. temps well over 110 in the summer time.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/14/2008   11/15/2008
Review By: gcr_russell
Played: 42  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2010
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course design given the minimal amount of space allotted in the park, being surrounded by upcoming housing developments. No real distance between baskets and tees for the coming holes, with only a couple minor overlaps in fairways. Great introduction to the sport for beginners with distances ranging between low 200's and mid 300 footers. Course is new and in good condition and the Discatcher baskets are a big improvement over the initially suggested poles or hoops. A practice basket is provided out of the way of a drive towards hole 9. 9 ends up at both the beginning of hole 1 and next to the parking lot, making everything very convenient.
Cons: All of the holes are basically wide open shots, with a minor exception on hole 6 where you need to shoot to the right at a basket you can't see from the tee (my favorite hole). Roughly five of the holes have fairways of rock which eats up pretty quickly at any of your DX (only type of disc available at local retailer Big 5 until higher grade Innovas begin selling at local businesses, soon to come) or Pro plastic discs. One playthrough and your discs look seasoned, without the added benefit of actually being broken in. A couple of fences ride fairly close to the fairways for the inexperienced level of players on the course, without close gates available. This requires occasionally long walks on a shanked throw, or even other throws no more than 20-30 feet from a couple of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall an enjoyable course with enough variety to continue playing and help work on your game. A great course to develop a love for disc golf, and a much needed addition to Lake Havasu. Success of the first DG tournament held by local Parks and Rec has led to the possibility of an 18 hole course also being developed in town in a much more open area, unfortunately living out in the desert doesn't cater well to a high number of obstacles or difficulty. Not a must-play for passers-by, but an enjoyable time and one that will help foster a knowledge and love of DG in a place previously unexposed.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    10/25/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: RKEENESR
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2008
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: easy course, great starter course for beginners. yet still challenging enough for experianced players as well. it may be a nine hole course but every body always plays 18 becuase the tee box for one is right off of 18 so you start were you stop a very friendly design if you ask me.
Cons: may not be challenging enough for pro players. no restrooms
Other Thoughts: nice fun course has extra basket for practice. just had the first annual "freedom bridge foundation open" disc golf tournament. 11/01/08 about a hundred people showed up for th event.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.