Vancouver, WA
Leverich Park Share
Uploaded By: Lost in the Brambles Hole #10
3 / 288ft.   3 / 414ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Good but very busy

5+    4/12/2014   4/15/2014
Review By: sgcduffman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Each hole is very different with a new challenge for new players and pro's.
Cons: 11 holes is odd, they removed one hole but did not add a replacement. This park gets very busy on nice days. if its sunny expect the 11 holes take you 90 minutes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

So long and thanks for all the birdies

1    4/13/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: SmaptyII
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
Pros: This is a 12 (?) hole course situated in a nice park. There was even a crew of Mtn. Bikers training in the park as I got there. There are a variety of holes (long to very short) and many chances to practice different shots. The replay value on this course is high.
Cons: There are a few issues I have with this course. First, hole # 9 was literally ripped out of the ground. So you are stuck with 11 holes. Some of the locals will play 12 from a different tee placement for the missing #9 which is rather annoying when you are trying to play #12 and dodging dics. While parking is good there is an issue with the lots filling up. No sign placement make it a challenge for first time players. The tee locations are hard to find with out a map or someone who has played the course.
Other Thoughts: The replay value on this course is very high. I am always thinking of new ways to play the different holes.

Beginner/Intermediate

1    9/15/2012   12/11/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a pretty big city park, which is definitely multi-use. Walking paths, playgrounds, benches, etc. etc. Definitely a chance for interference on a nice day.
- Good amount of wooded areas here to define some holes, along with larger trees. #2 is a short downhill shot over some rough, #4 is a hyzer into some dense woods, #5 plays around the woods on the right, and #11 is an uphill shot through a smaller gap in the forest. Holes with trees include #1, which has a large tree to the right of the basket. #7 and #8 play around and through a section of trees, respectively, and #9 is an anny shot with forest on the right. Definitely some line shaping going on here.
- Elevation changes are present here as well to liven things up. Downhill slopes include a drop shot on #2, an elevated teepad on #4 into the woods, and a gentle sloping fairway on #6 and #8. #11 is a short but steep uphill shot, and #5 is slightly uphill. A good mix of up and down overall.
- Some very hazardous areas here to punish errant shots. A small creek is present behind #2, to the right of #5 and #10, and to the left of #9. While it is not very close to the fairway, it is definitely possible to reach. The woods to the left of #12 have a nasty slope, and the rough to the right of #6 is quite thick.
- A few mandos present, mostly for safety concerns, that force some different lines. #4 is a mando RHBH hyzer, #5 a RHBH anny, and #8 another RHBH anny. Takes away some of the easier routes.
- Good pads and baskets, signage is good though #10's was missing as of 09/12. Navigation can be very tricky, like going back up to #6 after #5. Map helps out a ton.
Cons: - Layout is pretty crammed in some spots, not only with the other park activities but with the golf as well. Walking back up to #6 involves practically walking in front of #2's teepad. Also, #1 and #12 share a small bit of land for the fairway. A good idea to keep your eyes peeled.
- Course is on the short side, with an average hole length of 256' from the longs. Four of the holes are under 210', so there are some approach shots for sure.
- A few holes are mostly open, with only a tree or some rough to worry about. #1, #5, #6, and #12 don't require much thought.
Other Thoughts: - All in all, a pretty fun course that offers a lot of variety. Some open shots, some wooded shots, punishing rough in a few places, with a good mix of left, right, and straight lines. Elevation changes to boot. A couple holes to throw a driver for most players as well. Might be a little too challenging for true beginners, and maybe a little too straightforward for more advanced players.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/29/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 37  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The use of the small park near I5 is done well, just one or two things that I personally just didn't get. Great signage! Which is a must in my book! Holes 2, 4, 8, 10, and 11(or are they now 9 & 10) Seems to be the perfect place to hold an Ace Race.
Cons: Holes 1, 3, 5, 6, and 12. Wish they weren't just sitting out in the open without some type of challenge. Hole 9 is gone! Hopefully there are plans to find a new home for 9 and make it a 12 hole course again. A picnic table on the right side of 3 which was in my sons line and the people wouldn't even watch out for themselves so he had to go way out of his way. I understand it is a park for everyone but hated to be ignored like we didn't belong there.
Other Thoughts: I understand the limited land issue but wish the lay out would have limited the long walks between 5-6 and 10-11. And also the walk takes you thru the other playing areas. So be watchful.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun 12 Holer Next to the Freeway

1    3/16/2012   3/17/2012
Review By: Matt B.
Played: 46  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 21.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Concrete tee pads
Tee signs
Good use of small park space
O.B. paths and creek add challenge
Elevation
Fun ace run holes
Couple of longer holes
Cons:
Tight space
Crowded
Crossing walk-outs
First time navigation even with map difficult in a few spots
Other Thoughts:
Leverich is a fun little course, very close to I-5 and well worth a stop. The course is designed really well given the compressed park space and shape. Incorporation of the available elevation and the paths and creek running through the park add to the fun and challenge factor. I was able to reel off several birdies in a row only to goof up with OB and obliterate a good score. The walkouts, baskets and teepads are a little close together and crossing in a couple of spots but it was necessary to get the most out of the space. Lots of birdie runs, some technical holes, and a chance or two to air out a bit. Overall, that's a big plus in a small course. Definitely worth a stop and fun for repeated play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Leverich Park

2-4    10/29/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: CraigInPortland
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This heavily played 12 hole course is well broken in and provides variety throughout. The fairways and approach areas along with the few connecting paths between holes are usually well maintained by the Parks and Recs crews.

Elevation changes, right hand and left hand friendly holes, lots of trees, well defined OB and water hazards, and a few wide open holes means a lot of variety and few holes feel repetitive. Good cement tee pads, tee signs with distance and locations, good baskets; add that up with the fairly straight forward layout, makes this first timer friendly.

This course has a lot of local support from both Portland and Vancouver areas with a lot of opportunity to watch, talk with and learn from locals.
Cons: This course has a ton of foot traffic from a large contingent of homeless and transients to dog walkers and families out in the park. Not to mention the massive amount of disc golfers that hit this course. Outside of getting stuck behind a large group of players, which is frequent, the holes move quickly and waiting at tees is fairly short.

The biggest downside for me is the attitude and etiquette of many players that frequent this course. By in large the locals are fine and often very helpful. But there is a large contingent of rude players that leave their empty beer cans and bottles all over the course.
Other Thoughts: The course itself can be a lot of fun for repeat plays and is both beginner and advanced friendly. For the most part other players are easy to talk to and laid back. If only the crowds picked up after themselves this would be a great park.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  My Home Course

5+    10/12/2011   10/19/2011
Review By: RyanTech
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great baskets, they host alot of tournaments here, they constantly move the baskets around and leauge on Wed. night is alot of fun, come by the bottom parking lot around 5pm.
Cons: Homeless people, birthday parties and too much park dust at times.
Other Thoughts: This is my home corse, I've been coming here about 2 years & its awesome!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My out of state date

2-4    8/5/2011   8/31/2011
Review By: ripcitydisc
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety - The course has a lot of different shots with different variety. Hole 4 has a mando hole, hole 2 is 156 footer with a severe drop in elevation. Hole 11 is like hole 2 but backwards, hole 13 and 5 are fairly long, and hole 9 has a huge dogleg.

12 holes - I really enjoy 12 hole courses because they go by fairly quick, but if you want to play more you can go another round without dedicating too much time.

The park - Its fairly big with a lot of activities for the family

Location - its seriously RIGHT off the freeway, which may make it a tad noisy, but pass the first hole and the 12th hole and its much quieter after that.

Scenery - the trees are nice, and there is a neat flowing river as well.
Cons: CROWDED - big groups come in everytime ive been there, and while i normally dont mind a lot of groups, groups of like 6 - 10 can really slow down a game, sometimes i just jump around if i feel like im not getting in the way of anyone else, and one time a gentleman had me and my friend join him when he noticed we were waiting on him sometimes.

a little confusing - hole 5 to 6 is way out of the way and sort of cuts through holes 2 and 3, it breaks up which is an otherwise great layout.
Other Thoughts: The park has always been clean when ive arrived, and i love that its a full loop. I know some people dont like hole 2, but i love that feeling when i think i may get an ace, though it hasnt happened yet.

the bathrooms are in a great location, and although its a fairly easy course, its still fun to challenge yourself and challenge your best score there.

I particularly like hole 9, when i love turning the corner to see how close my disc was and hope it didnt go over the fence and into the river.

I wish i lived closer to this course, everyone should at least go to it once.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 best all around course in the area

5+    10/2/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: clutchcrusher
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good layout, all pins and tees are easy to find and well marked. Locals are super friendly and are usually willing to join up and give pointers. Basket 2 is very very aceable and is often a local players first ace.Basket 4 is a really fun, downhill dogleg left with a mando right.
Cons: CROWDED, always crowded, Bums, alot of 'em, and a suuuper smelly creek runs trough the middle of the course. Basket 9 is the only real danger of getting wet but I have see people go in the creek from the tee at 10 as well.
Other Thoughts: If your a novice, stay out of the way on league days. The walk paths are sometimes lined up with walkers, joggers and people walking dogs so watch out.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short and to the point

5+    9/29/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: AltitudeDiscGlf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Here is what is good:
-Easy to get to (right off of the I-5)
-Compact - making it easy for those lunch time rounds
-Enough technical to make it fun, but not overwhelming - there are only 12 holes, but a wide variety of shots, long, short, dog leg, even a shot (hole 11) where a tomahawk is the preferred way to get to the pin. There are nice tunnel shots (hole 4), and even a water hazard that is capable of eating discs in the spring.
-Concrete pads - nice traction in the wet weather
-Great scenery & friendly locals - everyone there is willing to direct you where you need to go.
Cons: There are two main cons:
- Hole #2 is weak. Unless you feel challenged on a down hill 156ft par 3 with no obstacles. Its nice to come close to an ace each time I play, but a new hole placement would be easy on that hole and better the challenge.
-The course is crowded. Though there are a lot of good courses in Portland, there is a shortage in the Vancouver area---especially for the amount of players in the area. The course is heavily crowded and the compact size, causing a people hazard on some shots.
Other Thoughts: I love the course, it is fun challenging and quick. Definitely worth the trip.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.