Vancouver, WA 
Leverich Park Share
Uploaded By: Lost in the Brambles Hole #1
3 / 222ft.   3 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Pretty course, odd layout

1    9/22/2014   9/23/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked this course, it has nice parking right by the first hole, mostly nice large textured teepads and some good elevation changes.

The course is located in a relatively small park, with a playground, picnic pavilion and walking and biking path. Nice accommodations, and the grounds were well maintained.

Well traveled too, I saw at least 6 othe groups playing many with kids which is always a good thing. Grow the sport, start them young!

Every hole has a marker with the distances and if there are mandos and OBs on that hole.

It's really pretty terrain cloaked in old growth evergreens with creeks running through and making the best of the land it has.

Only 12 holes but I don't know if you could fit many more in there. The last basket is right by the parking to again so easy access in and out.

Good baskets for the most part too, they aren't new but well balanced and well chained DGA baskets.
Cons: It's mostly pretty short only one hole over 400 and a few under 200, if it weren't for one or two longish holes it would fall closer to a pitch and putt course.

The main thing that was odd was the course crossed itself a few times when it doesn't really need to, it could be changed slightly to make it flow better.

Not too many complaints though it's solid.
Other Thoughts: It's a fun little neighborhood course, I might not have played it if I hadn't been right by my hotel but glad I did.

It's a pretty park a nice walk, around a nice somewhat technical little course.

Worth playing if your close.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

So long and thanks for all the birdies

1    4/13/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: SmaptyII
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a 12 (?) hole course situated in a nice park. There was even a crew of Mtn. Bikers training in the park as I got there. There are a variety of holes (long to very short) and many chances to practice different shots. The replay value on this course is high.
Cons: There are a few issues I have with this course. First, hole # 9 was literally ripped out of the ground. So you are stuck with 11 holes. Some of the locals will play 12 from a different tee placement for the missing #9 which is rather annoying when you are trying to play #12 and dodging dics. While parking is good there is an issue with the lots filling up. No sign placement make it a challenge for first time players. The tee locations are hard to find with out a map or someone who has played the course.
Other Thoughts: The replay value on this course is very high. I am always thinking of new ways to play the different holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun 12 Holer Next to the Freeway

1    3/16/2012   3/17/2012
Review By: Matt B.
Played: 46  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 22.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Concrete tee pads
Tee signs
Good use of small park space
O.B. paths and creek add challenge
Elevation
Fun ace run holes
Couple of longer holes
Cons:
Tight space
Crowded
Crossing walk-outs
First time navigation even with map difficult in a few spots
Other Thoughts:
Leverich is a fun little course, very close to I-5 and well worth a stop. The course is designed really well given the compressed park space and shape. Incorporation of the available elevation and the paths and creek running through the park add to the fun and challenge factor. I was able to reel off several birdies in a row only to goof up with OB and obliterate a good score. The walkouts, baskets and teepads are a little close together and crossing in a couple of spots but it was necessary to get the most out of the space. Lots of birdie runs, some technical holes, and a chance or two to air out a bit. Overall, that's a big plus in a small course. Definitely worth a stop and fun for repeated play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short and to the point

5+    9/29/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: AltitudeDiscGlf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Here is what is good:
-Easy to get to (right off of the I-5)
-Compact - making it easy for those lunch time rounds
-Enough technical to make it fun, but not overwhelming - there are only 12 holes, but a wide variety of shots, long, short, dog leg, even a shot (hole 11) where a tomahawk is the preferred way to get to the pin. There are nice tunnel shots (hole 4), and even a water hazard that is capable of eating discs in the spring.
-Concrete pads - nice traction in the wet weather
-Great scenery & friendly locals - everyone there is willing to direct you where you need to go.
Cons: There are two main cons:
- Hole #2 is weak. Unless you feel challenged on a down hill 156ft par 3 with no obstacles. Its nice to come close to an ace each time I play, but a new hole placement would be easy on that hole and better the challenge.
-The course is crowded. Though there are a lot of good courses in Portland, there is a shortage in the Vancouver area---especially for the amount of players in the area. The course is heavily crowded and the compact size, causing a people hazard on some shots.
Other Thoughts: I love the course, it is fun challenging and quick. Definitely worth the trip.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Leverich Park

1    5/2/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Leverich Park is a beautiful twelve hole disc golf course located directly off I-5 in the city of Vancouver, WA. The terrain in this city park is truly unbelievable, with massive second growth trees towering above the fairways, a meandering creek throughout the course, little underbrush, and lots of elevation. This hidden gem does a fantastic job incorporating elevation throughout, with a nice mixture of upshots and down hill shots alike. The course varies in length, with holes ranging anywhere from 156-378 feet, with several of the holes requiring accurate disc placement in order to score well on. Also, beware of the OB's, as there are several throughout including a creek, mandos, asphalt, and fence lines. Tee signs are all metal, colorful, and very well done, indicating hole number, distance, and par. The tee pads are all the appropriate size, cement, and in excellent condition, much like the Chainstar baskets. Pin placement throughout the course is well thought out for the most part, with only a few baskets wide open with nothing to obstruct them. Last, navigation was fairly easy to follow for first timers, with a few signs at times indicating where the next tee pad is located, although some of the walkouts can get confusing. If ever lost, ask one of the many friendly locals to give you a hand, as there is always someone out there playing.
Cons:
The course is not very long for the most part, not just because it is 12 holes, but mainly due to distance (with the exception of holes # 3, 5, and 10). However, on these holes, as well as a few others, players will often times find themselves in close proximity to other park users such as joggers, bikers, walkers, and picnickers. Just beware of these individuals and know that it will slow down your round. Also, because the local club has such a strong following, and the fact that this IS the most popular course in Vancouver, the course is almost always crowded. It is great to see, but makes for a long round, and can be quite difficult to play through do the every tee being busy. Last, holes #4 and 5 tend to have homeless laying around, and although not usually and issue, just be weary.
Other Thoughts:
What a fantastic little course, with a great following! Steve Carson and the Stumptown volunteers really did a nice job installing this course, and are doing a great job with the upkeep. There are garbage cans everywhere, and a local man who BBQ's and sells discs near hole #1. The course atmosphere reminds me a lot of Mineral Springs DGC in north Seattle. This course is well worth a stop if you have the time, only a few minutes off of I-5 corridor, and even better, only miles away from Portland!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/7/2010   2/9/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Leverich Park is a nice little twelve hole course just off of the freeway, very easy to find. There is lots of great little elevation shots here, both up and down. There is also a great mix of open/long/short/technical holes to keep your discs shuffling in and out of your bag and keep the course fun through out. The baskets, tee signs and tee pads (now concrete) are all in great shape and the course has some very fun basket placements with good flow, wasn't too hard to navigate around either.

Holes number ten and eleven were my two favorites. Hole ten is this slight downhill but open throw with a little creek running behind it. It was the only hole on the course where I had to struggle to reach the basket in one throw. Hole eleven was a fun uphill elevation, technical but fairly short hyzer shot, not something you see everywhere, it was fairly unique and really fun.
Cons: The course is quite small and for the most part the basket locations and tee pad areas made the course interesting but two or three holes on the course are really open and short. I was there at around 9:00am on a Sunday morning and there was barely enough room for parking, I thought there was an event going on maybe there was but there still was a ton of casual players like us on the course for an early Sunday morning so I can imagine the course can be pretty busy at times. There are some other park users, mainly joggers, walkers and bicycle riders that use a main path that plays through the park so you have to vigilant and watch for them.
Other Thoughts: This course seems like it gets a lot of love and respect from the local area club. This is just about the perfect course to show someone disc golf for first time as it shows all sorts of shots, is fairly short but also has a couple of bigger arm shots to humble them at. This is probably the best Vancouver course out of the three I played.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 New Teepads Are On The Way!

1    8/3/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in a pretty city park. It has nice, informative tee signs showing the pertinent information needed. It has a nice configuration forcing you to throw a variety of throws. When I played, forms were either in place or being built for new concrete teepads. They seem to be different sizes depending on the run-up needed. There is some elevation change to play with. The course starts and ends at the same place in the parking lot. I did like # 11. It's short, probably 150 ft. but straight up a small hill to a basket off to the left. The park is very close to freeways.
Cons: For a very new course, there has already been some vandalism. The # 2 basket has been moved and there seems to be some disagreement on which basket you should currently be throwing at. The course does have some long walkouts for a fairly small park. And there does seem to be a problem with non-playing folks in the way. I didn't finish # 3 as I didn't want to throw into a couple of scruffy looking dudes sitting on a picnic table right in front of the basket. As to be expected with a city park, there is some trash around.
Other Thoughts: I think the new teepads will be an welcome addition. This is a nice little course for the average recreational player. The locals seem to care about this course. I appreciate all their hard work and dedication toward making this a worthwhile little course to play in. Thanks guys!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course with few cons

5+    6/28/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: runnaman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Excellent use of long and short holes.
- Great use of the trees and other natural objects to make the course harder. On hole #11, you have to throw up a ~20 foot hill, with trees, to get to the basket.
- Nice signage that display hole lenth and OBs.
Cons: - No map at hole one and it can be difficult to find some of the later holes because of this.
- Holes 6-9 play though a high traffic area that is next to a picnic area, a play structure, and a parking lot.
- Most holes don't have concrete tee pads and the ones that do are made from pre-existing concrete slabs.
Other Thoughts: A great park for anyone who loves disc golf, but some of the more advanced players might not enjoy it as much. Once they get in some concrete tee pads, I think this course will be one of the better ones in the Northwest.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course worth playing

1    6/10/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very beautiful setting
Extremely creative usage of available space
Excellent signage
Very relaxed vibe
Nice combination of holes...no redundancy
Great place to intorduce people to the sport
Cons: Not a very intuitive flow to make transitions across public usage areas...make sure you download a map or hook up with a local
could be very hard to play on weekend with all the casual park users (picnic tables sit right in the fairways--I hit a couple on the fly with my drives) and the criss-crossing of fairways
Other Thoughts: All in all, this course is a blast to play...I would encourage you to seek it out...especially if you have a weekday to spare

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable City Park course

1    6/10/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: TrailBoss
Played: 149  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 38 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent signage
- Easy to navigate between holes
- Good mix of open grassy holes and fun woods and tree obstacle holes
- Freeway close
- Nice ambience and a really good vibe overall to the course and its scenery and setting
- No real redundancy in holes
Cons: - Tee pads were a nuisance to me. I am totally cool with natural tee pads, but when they are this short and unlevel, I have to say something.
- Some people might find the number of vagrant or homeless people inhabitating the course a bit unnerving, but it is not an issue in my mind
- I would probably not play this course on the weekend (just assuming). It seems like it would be crowded with other non DG users and create potential conflicts. Plus, if the course was busier with DG users, it could get a bit sketchy with tee pads and baskets from different holes so close to one another
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course and I wll be back with friends or family. Great place to introduce others to the game. I loved Hole 2 with its down hill tee off and ACE opportunity.
- Very fun course overall

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.