Vancouver, WA 
Leverich Park Share
Uploaded By: Lost in the Brambles Hole #3
3 / 378ft.   3 / 378ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2

1    6/30/2016   7/1/2016
Review By: karmalord
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lots of challenges. Good grassy fairways,friendly people,close to bus route, stores and gas.
Cons: Vagrants frquent the park but usually keep to themselves.
Other Thoughts: Good course to get out on and play, Something for everyone!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

great I-5 quick stop!

2-4    10/3/2013   3/13/2016
Review By: EverettSilvertips
Played: 65  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: i played touranment there under Vancouver Assoication for the Deaf event, it did had 18 basket with wheelies, portable basket, etc. i am aware of 12 orginial baskets. i find this park is a great place!

i liked how the park have variety of elevation, downhill, uphill, flat, but risky. it is pretty much techinical course.

they does have proper teepad, also have sign, marks to go next.
Cons: 12 baskets... oh well.

oddballs people hanging in the shed, seems like bums, drug addicts, etc.

Other Thoughts: would like to play there again once i'm visiting Vancouver.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Little Bit of Everything

5+    2/27/2016   10/10/2015
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 32  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The Leverich Park DGC makes great use of an odd park, right next to I-5. Holes 1, 11, and 12 are in one area, 2, 3, 4, 5 are in another, 6, 7, 8, and 9 are in a third area, and 10 is all alone in a fourth. The sections are broken up by a creek and some hills. If you want to play 18 holes just play 1-5, then 2-5 again, then 6-12, then 1 and 12 again. Or you can play 17 holes by playing 1-10, then 6-10 again, then 11 and 12. Or you can play 7 holes by playing 1-5, 11, and 12. Or you can park at the parking lot near #9 and make up whatever routing you want from there. You can make up many different course routings since 1 basket to 2 tee, 5 basket to 6 tee, and 10 basket to 11 tee are all in the same area.
-Pin locations are changed frequently, and there are two placements on every hole.
-Great variety, it has a bit of everything: short, long, wooded, open, hilly, and flat holes. Some of my favorites:
-#2 is a 150 ft downhill putter shot. You need an overstable putter to fade into the green. Keep an eye on your disc, lots of brush here.
-#3 is almost 400 ft, out of my range. I play it as a par 4. It is wide open but the basket is in a clump of trees straight ahead. Sometimes the basket is out in the open, which makes it even longer.
-#4 is a downhill 90 degree dogleg left with mando at the corner. It's really short so a very overstable putter or midrange hyzer shot with a skip is the way to go. If you throw too fast a disc and too straight you could be deep in the woods or even the creek.
-#7 is a fun forehand shot, open for most of the way but the basket is just in the woods on the hillside, probably not visible from the tee. Even if you throw a bad drive the hill behind the basket provides the opportunity to run your putt.
-Hole 9's creek adds an interesting factor. In summer it is shallow enough to wade in to retrieve a disc, but it runs high in winter/spring. It also comes into play if you throw an especially terrible shot on holes 4, 5, 6, or 10.
-There's a practice basket near the parking lot but it is sometimes used as the hole 9B basket.
-Chainstar baskets caught fine.
Cons: -Gets really busy. Vancouver is at a bit of a shortage on disc golf courses, expect to wait.
-This course is RIGHT next to I-5. It is super noisy. However there are enough trees to keep exhaust to a minimum.
-Hole 11 is short but straight uphill in front of the teepad, with a low ceiling. I don't know what the best shot is here. It's so uphill it's easy to slip on your way up.
-Hole 8 is right next to an extra parking lot. Definitely possible to hit a car, don't park there.
-Parking is scarce. Extra parking available along entry road or in second lot near #s 8&9.
Other Thoughts: -Unlike a lot of short courses on small parks, this one has a great variety of holes and keeps me coming back.
-This park is frequented by hard-livin' types. So far everyone I've talked to has seemed nice, but I'd avoid coming here after hours.
-Definitely a great local course, with a lot of variety.
-12 holes is perfect for a quick round, not too long, not too short.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Well kept

1    2/25/2015   2/26/2015
Review By: thespeedokid
Played: 65  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Manicured fairways on the mostly treeless holes. Dirt fairways on the wooded holes. Concrete tees. Hole distances on the post of every hole. Variation in elevation. Variety in wooded and non-wooded holes.
Cons: Creek can come into play on like 8 of the holes. Too much OB pathway. It's a little too short. Although it's always fun to get a birdie. Not enough parking. I had to go to the other parking lot and start on hole 10. It is nice that they have overflow parking though.
Other Thoughts: It's a fun course with lots of variety. Plus they even have an island hole.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Good but very busy

5+    4/12/2014   4/15/2014
Review By: sgcduffman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Each hole is very different with a new challenge for new players and pro's.
Cons: 11 holes is odd, they removed one hole but did not add a replacement. This park gets very busy on nice days. if its sunny expect the 11 holes take you 90 minutes.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Leverich Park

2-4    10/29/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: CraigInPortland
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This heavily played 12 hole course is well broken in and provides variety throughout. The fairways and approach areas along with the few connecting paths between holes are usually well maintained by the Parks and Recs crews.

Elevation changes, right hand and left hand friendly holes, lots of trees, well defined OB and water hazards, and a few wide open holes means a lot of variety and few holes feel repetitive. Good cement tee pads, tee signs with distance and locations, good baskets; add that up with the fairly straight forward layout, makes this first timer friendly.

This course has a lot of local support from both Portland and Vancouver areas with a lot of opportunity to watch, talk with and learn from locals.
Cons: This course has a ton of foot traffic from a large contingent of homeless and transients to dog walkers and families out in the park. Not to mention the massive amount of disc golfers that hit this course. Outside of getting stuck behind a large group of players, which is frequent, the holes move quickly and waiting at tees is fairly short.

The biggest downside for me is the attitude and etiquette of many players that frequent this course. By in large the locals are fine and often very helpful. But there is a large contingent of rude players that leave their empty beer cans and bottles all over the course.
Other Thoughts: The course itself can be a lot of fun for repeat plays and is both beginner and advanced friendly. For the most part other players are easy to talk to and laid back. If only the crowds picked up after themselves this would be a great park.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My out of state date

2-4    8/5/2011   8/31/2011
Review By: ripcitydisc
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety - The course has a lot of different shots with different variety. Hole 4 has a mando hole, hole 2 is 156 footer with a severe drop in elevation. Hole 11 is like hole 2 but backwards, hole 13 and 5 are fairly long, and hole 9 has a huge dogleg.

12 holes - I really enjoy 12 hole courses because they go by fairly quick, but if you want to play more you can go another round without dedicating too much time.

The park - Its fairly big with a lot of activities for the family

Location - its seriously RIGHT off the freeway, which may make it a tad noisy, but pass the first hole and the 12th hole and its much quieter after that.

Scenery - the trees are nice, and there is a neat flowing river as well.
Cons: CROWDED - big groups come in everytime ive been there, and while i normally dont mind a lot of groups, groups of like 6 - 10 can really slow down a game, sometimes i just jump around if i feel like im not getting in the way of anyone else, and one time a gentleman had me and my friend join him when he noticed we were waiting on him sometimes.

a little confusing - hole 5 to 6 is way out of the way and sort of cuts through holes 2 and 3, it breaks up which is an otherwise great layout.
Other Thoughts: The park has always been clean when ive arrived, and i love that its a full loop. I know some people dont like hole 2, but i love that feeling when i think i may get an ace, though it hasnt happened yet.

the bathrooms are in a great location, and although its a fairly easy course, its still fun to challenge yourself and challenge your best score there.

I particularly like hole 9, when i love turning the corner to see how close my disc was and hope it didnt go over the fence and into the river.

I wish i lived closer to this course, everyone should at least go to it once.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 best all around course in the area

5+    10/2/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: clutchcrusher
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good layout, all pins and tees are easy to find and well marked. Locals are super friendly and are usually willing to join up and give pointers. Basket 2 is very very aceable and is often a local players first ace.Basket 4 is a really fun, downhill dogleg left with a mando right.
Cons: CROWDED, always crowded, Bums, alot of 'em, and a suuuper smelly creek runs trough the middle of the course. Basket 9 is the only real danger of getting wet but I have see people go in the creek from the tee at 10 as well.
Other Thoughts: If your a novice, stay out of the way on league days. The walk paths are sometimes lined up with walkers, joggers and people walking dogs so watch out.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

2-4    6/19/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: tazzmann
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course especially for beginners. The course was well thought out and uses the land and elevation to the best that it can be used. Other golfers seem to be fairly friendly and willing to slow down for my son when playing with them. Tee pads and signs are fantastic and well maintained.
Cons: Vagrants galore, but generally stay out of your way. Some baskets are hard to see for first timers, so without a map, you have no idea where you are shooting to. Losing a disc is a possibility on some holes, but for the most part not too bad. There is a basket between hole #9 and 10 which is a "practice" putting basket, or from what I hear, an alternate basket for #10 during league. This basket is not marked, so the first time my son and I shot there, we thought that was the basket for #10. Just something to be aware of. Non-golfers are just one other thing you have to be aware of and can slow your game down on hot sunny days.
Other Thoughts: The Stumptown guys have done an excellent job on this course and should be congratulated. Other than a few things I have pointed out above, this is a very nice course offering some good challenges.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My Local Course

5+    10/12/2009   10/14/2009
Review By: Longfellow
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just one minute off I-5; easy to access. Ample parking in the lower lot or up on the access road.

PROS
-Great signs, nice new tee pads, alternate pin locations on some holes.
-Excellent use of available space.
-Technical: over half of the holes require very accurate disc placement to make par. OB's on several holes.
-Spectacular terrain: creek running through course, tall second growth trees and moderate elevation change.
Cons: -Short; only 12 holes and literally a short tee to pin distance on many holes as well.
-Extremely crowded in the late afternoon
-Close proximity to other park users (joggers, bikers, baseball, walkers, playground, picnickers)... many seem to be clueless that it's a disc golf course.
-A few homeless folk almost always hanging out around teepad 4. Never had any issues with them, however.
Other Thoughts: This is my local course; just a mile from my house and always worth the effort to bike or drive there and get 12/24 holes in. I've heard rumors they are going to expand the course in the near future as there is greenway space adjacent to the park and I'm really looking forward to that. I'll still play at Leverich 2-4 times a week as long as I'm living here in Vancouver. Great beginner or skill tuning course. For more experienced players: if you're in the area and have limited free time, it's probably most worth your while over the other 9 hole courses in the area, otherwise Pier Park (18), Dabney State Park (18) or Milo McIver State Park (27) are much more challenging courses in the area if you have 3-6 hours to commit to a round

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.