Vancouver, WA 
Leverich Park Share
Uploaded By: Discwog  
Typical hole in open



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Good but very busy

5+    4/12/2014   4/15/2014
Review By: sgcduffman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Each hole is very different with a new challenge for new players and pro's.
Cons: 11 holes is odd, they removed one hole but did not add a replacement. This park gets very busy on nice days. if its sunny expect the 11 holes take you 90 minutes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Leverich Park

2-4    10/29/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: CraigInPortland
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This heavily played 12 hole course is well broken in and provides variety throughout. The fairways and approach areas along with the few connecting paths between holes are usually well maintained by the Parks and Recs crews.

Elevation changes, right hand and left hand friendly holes, lots of trees, well defined OB and water hazards, and a few wide open holes means a lot of variety and few holes feel repetitive. Good cement tee pads, tee signs with distance and locations, good baskets; add that up with the fairly straight forward layout, makes this first timer friendly.

This course has a lot of local support from both Portland and Vancouver areas with a lot of opportunity to watch, talk with and learn from locals.
Cons: This course has a ton of foot traffic from a large contingent of homeless and transients to dog walkers and families out in the park. Not to mention the massive amount of disc golfers that hit this course. Outside of getting stuck behind a large group of players, which is frequent, the holes move quickly and waiting at tees is fairly short.

The biggest downside for me is the attitude and etiquette of many players that frequent this course. By in large the locals are fine and often very helpful. But there is a large contingent of rude players that leave their empty beer cans and bottles all over the course.
Other Thoughts: The course itself can be a lot of fun for repeat plays and is both beginner and advanced friendly. For the most part other players are easy to talk to and laid back. If only the crowds picked up after themselves this would be a great park.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My out of state date

2-4    8/5/2011   8/31/2011
Review By: ripcitydisc
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety - The course has a lot of different shots with different variety. Hole 4 has a mando hole, hole 2 is 156 footer with a severe drop in elevation. Hole 11 is like hole 2 but backwards, hole 13 and 5 are fairly long, and hole 9 has a huge dogleg.

12 holes - I really enjoy 12 hole courses because they go by fairly quick, but if you want to play more you can go another round without dedicating too much time.

The park - Its fairly big with a lot of activities for the family

Location - its seriously RIGHT off the freeway, which may make it a tad noisy, but pass the first hole and the 12th hole and its much quieter after that.

Scenery - the trees are nice, and there is a neat flowing river as well.
Cons: CROWDED - big groups come in everytime ive been there, and while i normally dont mind a lot of groups, groups of like 6 - 10 can really slow down a game, sometimes i just jump around if i feel like im not getting in the way of anyone else, and one time a gentleman had me and my friend join him when he noticed we were waiting on him sometimes.

a little confusing - hole 5 to 6 is way out of the way and sort of cuts through holes 2 and 3, it breaks up which is an otherwise great layout.
Other Thoughts: The park has always been clean when ive arrived, and i love that its a full loop. I know some people dont like hole 2, but i love that feeling when i think i may get an ace, though it hasnt happened yet.

the bathrooms are in a great location, and although its a fairly easy course, its still fun to challenge yourself and challenge your best score there.

I particularly like hole 9, when i love turning the corner to see how close my disc was and hope it didnt go over the fence and into the river.

I wish i lived closer to this course, everyone should at least go to it once.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 best all around course in the area

5+    10/2/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: clutchcrusher
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good layout, all pins and tees are easy to find and well marked. Locals are super friendly and are usually willing to join up and give pointers. Basket 2 is very very aceable and is often a local players first ace.Basket 4 is a really fun, downhill dogleg left with a mando right.
Cons: CROWDED, always crowded, Bums, alot of 'em, and a suuuper smelly creek runs trough the middle of the course. Basket 9 is the only real danger of getting wet but I have see people go in the creek from the tee at 10 as well.
Other Thoughts: If your a novice, stay out of the way on league days. The walk paths are sometimes lined up with walkers, joggers and people walking dogs so watch out.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

2-4    6/19/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: tazzmann
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course especially for beginners. The course was well thought out and uses the land and elevation to the best that it can be used. Other golfers seem to be fairly friendly and willing to slow down for my son when playing with them. Tee pads and signs are fantastic and well maintained.
Cons: Vagrants galore, but generally stay out of your way. Some baskets are hard to see for first timers, so without a map, you have no idea where you are shooting to. Losing a disc is a possibility on some holes, but for the most part not too bad. There is a basket between hole #9 and 10 which is a "practice" putting basket, or from what I hear, an alternate basket for #10 during league. This basket is not marked, so the first time my son and I shot there, we thought that was the basket for #10. Just something to be aware of. Non-golfers are just one other thing you have to be aware of and can slow your game down on hot sunny days.
Other Thoughts: The Stumptown guys have done an excellent job on this course and should be congratulated. Other than a few things I have pointed out above, this is a very nice course offering some good challenges.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My Local Course

5+    10/12/2009   10/14/2009
Review By: Longfellow
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just one minute off I-5; easy to access. Ample parking in the lower lot or up on the access road.

PROS
-Great signs, nice new tee pads, alternate pin locations on some holes.
-Excellent use of available space.
-Technical: over half of the holes require very accurate disc placement to make par. OB's on several holes.
-Spectacular terrain: creek running through course, tall second growth trees and moderate elevation change.
Cons: -Short; only 12 holes and literally a short tee to pin distance on many holes as well.
-Extremely crowded in the late afternoon
-Close proximity to other park users (joggers, bikers, baseball, walkers, playground, picnickers)... many seem to be clueless that it's a disc golf course.
-A few homeless folk almost always hanging out around teepad 4. Never had any issues with them, however.
Other Thoughts: This is my local course; just a mile from my house and always worth the effort to bike or drive there and get 12/24 holes in. I've heard rumors they are going to expand the course in the near future as there is greenway space adjacent to the park and I'm really looking forward to that. I'll still play at Leverich 2-4 times a week as long as I'm living here in Vancouver. Great beginner or skill tuning course. For more experienced players: if you're in the area and have limited free time, it's probably most worth your while over the other 9 hole courses in the area, otherwise Pier Park (18), Dabney State Park (18) or Milo McIver State Park (27) are much more challenging courses in the area if you have 3-6 hours to commit to a round

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  1st time played

1    3/21/2009   3/21/2009
Review By: ChrisC
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Location
Diversity of holes
Forced hole play
Cons: Hobos
Natural tees
Other Thoughts: I have been to this park before the cource was put in and it is much better from the hobo factor now. Hopefully with more traffic that element will find another bridge to drink under. On my first trip I was not going to take my child till I checked it out. Now would only take children if there are lots of people.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Leverrich park

5+    1/31/2009   2/1/2009
Review By: topdawgy58
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I really nice course lots of trees and different type of holes. Almost Ace hole 2 acouple of times. I real fun course.
Cons: Dogs running loose. No trash cans and when i did find one it was over flowing.
Muddy tee pads. Lots of mole mounds.
Other Thoughts: Enforce leash law. Get mole traps. Trash cans at tee Boxes. Put in cement Tee pads. Put on a walk path to hole 2and one going up the hill next to 2.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 great addition to vancover wa

1    1/25/2009   1/25/2009
Review By: Matt aka N.G.S.P.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Wonderful baskets.
*Nice hole maps.
*Course map/score cards provided.
* just off of I-5/close to main hwy access.
*A few challenging holes.
*Good variation of terrain and hole lengths.
*Beautiful scenery
Cons: I didn't feel the course flowed well. There were some long walks back and forth to the next tees. The tee boxes were natural dirt and get very muddy during winter/rainy seasons. I saw many homeless people loitering around through out the park which i've been told has always been a problem. (not so much now that the park has been turned into a course) some areas had a lot of trash laying around too.
Other Thoughts: This being a recently added course i hope the make better tees and im sure that the trash and loiterers will eventually decrease.

I was very happy how easy and fast it was to find coming from portland area. I also was pleased w/ some of the challenging holes and how beautiful some of the scenery was.

all in all it was a fun course and a wonderful addition to have been added to vancover wa allowing the 2 other courses near by for a possible 3 playable courses in one day.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/28/2008   1/4/2009
Review By: Lost in the Brambles
Played: 66  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easy to find each hole, with nice new signs
-Elevation changes
-Nice mix of distances
-Friendly locals
Cons: -No picture on sign showing where the pin is located
-Only 12 holes
-Dirt tee pads
Other Thoughts: Only played here once...but I have played the other two courses in Vancouver, and this is by far the best of the three.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.