Vancouver, WA 
Leverich Park Share
Uploaded By: Lost in the Brambles Hole #5
3 / 291ft.   3 / 291ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 My out of state date

2-4    8/5/2011   8/31/2011
Review By: ripcitydisc
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety - The course has a lot of different shots with different variety. Hole 4 has a mando hole, hole 2 is 156 footer with a severe drop in elevation. Hole 11 is like hole 2 but backwards, hole 13 and 5 are fairly long, and hole 9 has a huge dogleg.

12 holes - I really enjoy 12 hole courses because they go by fairly quick, but if you want to play more you can go another round without dedicating too much time.

The park - Its fairly big with a lot of activities for the family

Location - its seriously RIGHT off the freeway, which may make it a tad noisy, but pass the first hole and the 12th hole and its much quieter after that.

Scenery - the trees are nice, and there is a neat flowing river as well.
Cons: CROWDED - big groups come in everytime ive been there, and while i normally dont mind a lot of groups, groups of like 6 - 10 can really slow down a game, sometimes i just jump around if i feel like im not getting in the way of anyone else, and one time a gentleman had me and my friend join him when he noticed we were waiting on him sometimes.

a little confusing - hole 5 to 6 is way out of the way and sort of cuts through holes 2 and 3, it breaks up which is an otherwise great layout.
Other Thoughts: The park has always been clean when ive arrived, and i love that its a full loop. I know some people dont like hole 2, but i love that feeling when i think i may get an ace, though it hasnt happened yet.

the bathrooms are in a great location, and although its a fairly easy course, its still fun to challenge yourself and challenge your best score there.

I particularly like hole 9, when i love turning the corner to see how close my disc was and hope it didnt go over the fence and into the river.

I wish i lived closer to this course, everyone should at least go to it once.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 best all around course in the area

5+    10/2/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: clutchcrusher
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good layout, all pins and tees are easy to find and well marked. Locals are super friendly and are usually willing to join up and give pointers. Basket 2 is very very aceable and is often a local players first ace.Basket 4 is a really fun, downhill dogleg left with a mando right.
Cons: CROWDED, always crowded, Bums, alot of 'em, and a suuuper smelly creek runs trough the middle of the course. Basket 9 is the only real danger of getting wet but I have see people go in the creek from the tee at 10 as well.
Other Thoughts: If your a novice, stay out of the way on league days. The walk paths are sometimes lined up with walkers, joggers and people walking dogs so watch out.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short and to the point

5+    9/29/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: AltitudeDiscGlf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Here is what is good:
-Easy to get to (right off of the I-5)
-Compact - making it easy for those lunch time rounds
-Enough technical to make it fun, but not overwhelming - there are only 12 holes, but a wide variety of shots, long, short, dog leg, even a shot (hole 11) where a tomahawk is the preferred way to get to the pin. There are nice tunnel shots (hole 4), and even a water hazard that is capable of eating discs in the spring.
-Concrete pads - nice traction in the wet weather
-Great scenery & friendly locals - everyone there is willing to direct you where you need to go.
Cons: There are two main cons:
- Hole #2 is weak. Unless you feel challenged on a down hill 156ft par 3 with no obstacles. Its nice to come close to an ace each time I play, but a new hole placement would be easy on that hole and better the challenge.
-The course is crowded. Though there are a lot of good courses in Portland, there is a shortage in the Vancouver area---especially for the amount of players in the area. The course is heavily crowded and the compact size, causing a people hazard on some shots.
Other Thoughts: I love the course, it is fun challenging and quick. Definitely worth the trip.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Leverich Park= Sweeeet

5+    7/25/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: pdxslowpoke
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout with good elevation changes. Love the concrete pads along with good signage to help navigate. Hole 2 offers great ace opportunity.
This park used to be a s*hole, but now that the course has been put in, it is vastly improved.
Cons: Can get crowded, but I say the more the merrier.
You can easily lose a disc in the creek, but no risk= no reward.
Other Thoughts: I only started playing about 3 or 4 months ago, but this course is home, I love it. I originally thought WSU was the only course in town, but quickly learned otherwise. As a newbie I decided to test the waters and entered the Bad Monkey Open, had a blast and was treated well by the "hardcore" crowd. Love this place and play there as much as I can. Although, is hole 10 Really a par 3? That thing is long.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Nice and relaxing

2-4    7/21/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: garp7son
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great layout, diffrent challanges at each hole.Family friendly with play ground, and plenty of benches. plenty of water hazards and trees to challange you.
Cons: lots of ppl all the time, but great place to make friends.
Other Thoughts: we need an 18 holer in vancouver!!! if you make it in the drink beware that it smells like a terd and the bugs are heavy.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent park for anyone!

5+    7/8/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: jnicola
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quick 12 holes
Well maintained (grass, etc)
Great Signs
Great variety
Beautiful park
Challenging in a variety of ways
Cons: Some places to have grass put down again, like hole 1. It's becoming a guarantee that discs will roll down from there.

A decent amount of bums, who sell discs they find in the river. If you catch them with a disc that has a name on it, tell them it's your homie and keep it. Don't buy discs with names whatever you do, it's bad karma, and it encourages the bums to keep doing that stuff.
Hole 9 eats noobie discs.
Other Thoughts: The basket mentioned below as a practice basket is actually an additional basket for playing! Hole 9b, heh. You start up on the bank accross the river from it, and head right down there. It's an easy birdee.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

2-4    6/19/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: tazzmann
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course especially for beginners. The course was well thought out and uses the land and elevation to the best that it can be used. Other golfers seem to be fairly friendly and willing to slow down for my son when playing with them. Tee pads and signs are fantastic and well maintained.
Cons: Vagrants galore, but generally stay out of your way. Some baskets are hard to see for first timers, so without a map, you have no idea where you are shooting to. Losing a disc is a possibility on some holes, but for the most part not too bad. There is a basket between hole #9 and 10 which is a "practice" putting basket, or from what I hear, an alternate basket for #10 during league. This basket is not marked, so the first time my son and I shot there, we thought that was the basket for #10. Just something to be aware of. Non-golfers are just one other thing you have to be aware of and can slow your game down on hot sunny days.
Other Thoughts: The Stumptown guys have done an excellent job on this course and should be congratulated. Other than a few things I have pointed out above, this is a very nice course offering some good challenges.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in SW Washington

5+    6/12/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: himynameismatt
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous course, with an excellent layout and great variety of holes. From technical doglegs and elevation changes. A lil bit of water, long open field bombs. They have it all.

You will use nearly every disc in your bag here.

It's a public park. The grass, brush, branches, and trees are all trimmed, pruned, cut and maitained by the city. The park facilities are also maintained fairly well.

Concrete teepads that are all fairly uniform in length and width.

Great baskets and multiple pin locations that are changed throughout the year just add to the variety.

There's a great base of regulars and league players who observe etiquette follow rules and are generally helpful to newer and less experienced players.

Difficult to lose a disc here, but definetely not impossible.
Cons: Doesn't flow particularly well, with a decent bit of walking in between some holes and the next teepad.

Can get really crowded with non-Frolfers on nice days, Picnickers in fairways, bikers, walkers, joggers.

Can get really crowded with Frolfers on nice days as well.

Large population of homeless they are all fairly harmless just weird. Not to mention they've started combing the creek and surrounding areas for discs that they like to sell/trade for cash, beer or w**d. So don't lose a disc, chances are the homeless will get to it before someone who might actually call you would.

As a whole the leaguers and regulars are all very nice, but there's a select few that are elitist jerks i.e. I regularly play in a group of 3-4, however the leaguers commonly play in groups of 6-8, on the right day groups of 10+ are common. If you ask to play through or even play with in hopes of speeding up your round "Sorry Bro, this is a league game you're just going to have to wait" Is a fairly common answer. But like I said 95% of them are good dudes.


Other Thoughts: Overall this is an excellent course and I'd rate it as one of the Top-5 courses in the Southwest Washington/Portland Metro Area.

It's my 2nd favorite behind Pier Park, If you consider yourself an intermediate or even advanced player this a great course for you.

Edit: As of 6/27/10 the baskets have been moved back to their original, more challenging locations.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Leverich Park

1    5/2/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Leverich Park is a beautiful twelve hole disc golf course located directly off I-5 in the city of Vancouver, WA. The terrain in this city park is truly unbelievable, with massive second growth trees towering above the fairways, a meandering creek throughout the course, little underbrush, and lots of elevation. This hidden gem does a fantastic job incorporating elevation throughout, with a nice mixture of upshots and down hill shots alike. The course varies in length, with holes ranging anywhere from 156-378 feet, with several of the holes requiring accurate disc placement in order to score well on. Also, beware of the OB's, as there are several throughout including a creek, mandos, asphalt, and fence lines. Tee signs are all metal, colorful, and very well done, indicating hole number, distance, and par. The tee pads are all the appropriate size, cement, and in excellent condition, much like the Chainstar baskets. Pin placement throughout the course is well thought out for the most part, with only a few baskets wide open with nothing to obstruct them. Last, navigation was fairly easy to follow for first timers, with a few signs at times indicating where the next tee pad is located, although some of the walkouts can get confusing. If ever lost, ask one of the many friendly locals to give you a hand, as there is always someone out there playing.
Cons:
The course is not very long for the most part, not just because it is 12 holes, but mainly due to distance (with the exception of holes # 3, 5, and 10). However, on these holes, as well as a few others, players will often times find themselves in close proximity to other park users such as joggers, bikers, walkers, and picnickers. Just beware of these individuals and know that it will slow down your round. Also, because the local club has such a strong following, and the fact that this IS the most popular course in Vancouver, the course is almost always crowded. It is great to see, but makes for a long round, and can be quite difficult to play through do the every tee being busy. Last, holes #4 and 5 tend to have homeless laying around, and although not usually and issue, just be weary.
Other Thoughts:
What a fantastic little course, with a great following! Steve Carson and the Stumptown volunteers really did a nice job installing this course, and are doing a great job with the upkeep. There are garbage cans everywhere, and a local man who BBQ's and sells discs near hole #1. The course atmosphere reminds me a lot of Mineral Springs DGC in north Seattle. This course is well worth a stop if you have the time, only a few minutes off of I-5 corridor, and even better, only miles away from Portland!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Vancouvers best disc course

5+    4/8/2010   4/9/2010
Review By: zombie41
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of different shots(each hole is unique.)
Elevation and hazard challenges.
Most all players I've met are encouraging and positive.
Great for begginers and big parties(If you let faster groups play through.)
Lots of birdie shots.
Just off I5. easy to get to from anywhere.
Nice use of the parks natural layout.
Great signs at each tee.
Trash cans located troughout course.
Cons: Sometimes large parties of people will use the field on holes 6 and 7( which you'll have to skip)
First timers might have a hard time navigating between tees 5 and 6. and 10 and 11.
Sometimes the 1 bathroom is locked.
Hole 4 is really muddy on wetter days.
I always find water on hole 9. But Ive always been able to fish out my discs.
Holes are kind of short. 1,3,6 and 10 are the only holes that you can bomb it. and 6 and 10 are questionable for people who can really throw.
Crowded on nice days, the early bird gets the worm.
Pathways can get busy with pedestrians, so be curtious and yell fore.
Other Thoughts: Leverich park is extremely fun for any type of player and is easy to find. They have made very good use of the land for this disc golf course. This is my home coarse and I have played with parties of 2 people to parties of 8 people and had a tremendous time. Its lush foresty surroundings mixed with an abundance of local plantlife make this course a great way to wind down or start your day. It is medicinal to play disc golf at leverich.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.