Vancouver, WA 
Leverich Park Share
Uploaded By: Lost in the Brambles Hole #1
3 / 222ft.   3 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee

Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Leverich Park

2-4    10/29/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: CraigInPortland
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This heavily played 12 hole course is well broken in and provides variety throughout. The fairways and approach areas along with the few connecting paths between holes are usually well maintained by the Parks and Recs crews.

Elevation changes, right hand and left hand friendly holes, lots of trees, well defined OB and water hazards, and a few wide open holes means a lot of variety and few holes feel repetitive. Good cement tee pads, tee signs with distance and locations, good baskets; add that up with the fairly straight forward layout, makes this first timer friendly.

This course has a lot of local support from both Portland and Vancouver areas with a lot of opportunity to watch, talk with and learn from locals.
Cons: This course has a ton of foot traffic from a large contingent of homeless and transients to dog walkers and families out in the park. Not to mention the massive amount of disc golfers that hit this course. Outside of getting stuck behind a large group of players, which is frequent, the holes move quickly and waiting at tees is fairly short.

The biggest downside for me is the attitude and etiquette of many players that frequent this course. By in large the locals are fine and often very helpful. But there is a large contingent of rude players that leave their empty beer cans and bottles all over the course.
Other Thoughts: The course itself can be a lot of fun for repeat plays and is both beginner and advanced friendly. For the most part other players are easy to talk to and laid back. If only the crowds picked up after themselves this would be a great park.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  My Home Course

5+    10/12/2011   10/19/2011
Review By: RyanTech
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great baskets, they host alot of tournaments here, they constantly move the baskets around and leauge on Wed. night is alot of fun, come by the bottom parking lot around 5pm.
Cons: Homeless people, birthday parties and too much park dust at times.
Other Thoughts: This is my home corse, I've been coming here about 2 years & its awesome!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My out of state date

2-4    8/5/2011   8/31/2011
Review By: ripcitydisc
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety - The course has a lot of different shots with different variety. Hole 4 has a mando hole, hole 2 is 156 footer with a severe drop in elevation. Hole 11 is like hole 2 but backwards, hole 13 and 5 are fairly long, and hole 9 has a huge dogleg.

12 holes - I really enjoy 12 hole courses because they go by fairly quick, but if you want to play more you can go another round without dedicating too much time.

The park - Its fairly big with a lot of activities for the family

Location - its seriously RIGHT off the freeway, which may make it a tad noisy, but pass the first hole and the 12th hole and its much quieter after that.

Scenery - the trees are nice, and there is a neat flowing river as well.
Cons: CROWDED - big groups come in everytime ive been there, and while i normally dont mind a lot of groups, groups of like 6 - 10 can really slow down a game, sometimes i just jump around if i feel like im not getting in the way of anyone else, and one time a gentleman had me and my friend join him when he noticed we were waiting on him sometimes.

a little confusing - hole 5 to 6 is way out of the way and sort of cuts through holes 2 and 3, it breaks up which is an otherwise great layout.
Other Thoughts: The park has always been clean when ive arrived, and i love that its a full loop. I know some people dont like hole 2, but i love that feeling when i think i may get an ace, though it hasnt happened yet.

the bathrooms are in a great location, and although its a fairly easy course, its still fun to challenge yourself and challenge your best score there.

I particularly like hole 9, when i love turning the corner to see how close my disc was and hope it didnt go over the fence and into the river.

I wish i lived closer to this course, everyone should at least go to it once.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 best all around course in the area

5+    10/2/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: clutchcrusher
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good layout, all pins and tees are easy to find and well marked. Locals are super friendly and are usually willing to join up and give pointers. Basket 2 is very very aceable and is often a local players first ace.Basket 4 is a really fun, downhill dogleg left with a mando right.
Cons: CROWDED, always crowded, Bums, alot of 'em, and a suuuper smelly creek runs trough the middle of the course. Basket 9 is the only real danger of getting wet but I have see people go in the creek from the tee at 10 as well.
Other Thoughts: If your a novice, stay out of the way on league days. The walk paths are sometimes lined up with walkers, joggers and people walking dogs so watch out.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short and to the point

5+    9/29/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: AltitudeDiscGlf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Here is what is good:
-Easy to get to (right off of the I-5)
-Compact - making it easy for those lunch time rounds
-Enough technical to make it fun, but not overwhelming - there are only 12 holes, but a wide variety of shots, long, short, dog leg, even a shot (hole 11) where a tomahawk is the preferred way to get to the pin. There are nice tunnel shots (hole 4), and even a water hazard that is capable of eating discs in the spring.
-Concrete pads - nice traction in the wet weather
-Great scenery & friendly locals - everyone there is willing to direct you where you need to go.
Cons: There are two main cons:
- Hole #2 is weak. Unless you feel challenged on a down hill 156ft par 3 with no obstacles. Its nice to come close to an ace each time I play, but a new hole placement would be easy on that hole and better the challenge.
-The course is crowded. Though there are a lot of good courses in Portland, there is a shortage in the Vancouver area---especially for the amount of players in the area. The course is heavily crowded and the compact size, causing a people hazard on some shots.
Other Thoughts: I love the course, it is fun challenging and quick. Definitely worth the trip.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Leverich Park= Sweeeet

5+    7/25/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: pdxslowpoke
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout with good elevation changes. Love the concrete pads along with good signage to help navigate. Hole 2 offers great ace opportunity.
This park used to be a s*hole, but now that the course has been put in, it is vastly improved.
Cons: Can get crowded, but I say the more the merrier.
You can easily lose a disc in the creek, but no risk= no reward.
Other Thoughts: I only started playing about 3 or 4 months ago, but this course is home, I love it. I originally thought WSU was the only course in town, but quickly learned otherwise. As a newbie I decided to test the waters and entered the Bad Monkey Open, had a blast and was treated well by the "hardcore" crowd. Love this place and play there as much as I can. Although, is hole 10 Really a par 3? That thing is long.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Nice and relaxing

2-4    7/21/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: garp7son
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great layout, diffrent challanges at each hole.Family friendly with play ground, and plenty of benches. plenty of water hazards and trees to challange you.
Cons: lots of ppl all the time, but great place to make friends.
Other Thoughts: we need an 18 holer in vancouver!!! if you make it in the drink beware that it smells like a terd and the bugs are heavy.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent park for anyone!

5+    7/8/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: jnicola
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quick 12 holes
Well maintained (grass, etc)
Great Signs
Great variety
Beautiful park
Challenging in a variety of ways
Cons: Some places to have grass put down again, like hole 1. It's becoming a guarantee that discs will roll down from there.

A decent amount of bums, who sell discs they find in the river. If you catch them with a disc that has a name on it, tell them it's your homie and keep it. Don't buy discs with names whatever you do, it's bad karma, and it encourages the bums to keep doing that stuff.
Hole 9 eats noobie discs.
Other Thoughts: The basket mentioned below as a practice basket is actually an additional basket for playing! Hole 9b, heh. You start up on the bank accross the river from it, and head right down there. It's an easy birdee.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

2-4    6/19/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: tazzmann
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course especially for beginners. The course was well thought out and uses the land and elevation to the best that it can be used. Other golfers seem to be fairly friendly and willing to slow down for my son when playing with them. Tee pads and signs are fantastic and well maintained.
Cons: Vagrants galore, but generally stay out of your way. Some baskets are hard to see for first timers, so without a map, you have no idea where you are shooting to. Losing a disc is a possibility on some holes, but for the most part not too bad. There is a basket between hole #9 and 10 which is a "practice" putting basket, or from what I hear, an alternate basket for #10 during league. This basket is not marked, so the first time my son and I shot there, we thought that was the basket for #10. Just something to be aware of. Non-golfers are just one other thing you have to be aware of and can slow your game down on hot sunny days.
Other Thoughts: The Stumptown guys have done an excellent job on this course and should be congratulated. Other than a few things I have pointed out above, this is a very nice course offering some good challenges.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in SW Washington

5+    6/12/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: himynameismatt
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous course, with an excellent layout and great variety of holes. From technical doglegs and elevation changes. A lil bit of water, long open field bombs. They have it all.

You will use nearly every disc in your bag here.

It's a public park. The grass, brush, branches, and trees are all trimmed, pruned, cut and maitained by the city. The park facilities are also maintained fairly well.

Concrete teepads that are all fairly uniform in length and width.

Great baskets and multiple pin locations that are changed throughout the year just add to the variety.

There's a great base of regulars and league players who observe etiquette follow rules and are generally helpful to newer and less experienced players.

Difficult to lose a disc here, but definetely not impossible.
Cons: Doesn't flow particularly well, with a decent bit of walking in between some holes and the next teepad.

Can get really crowded with non-Frolfers on nice days, Picnickers in fairways, bikers, walkers, joggers.

Can get really crowded with Frolfers on nice days as well.

Large population of homeless they are all fairly harmless just weird. Not to mention they've started combing the creek and surrounding areas for discs that they like to sell/trade for cash, beer or w**d. So don't lose a disc, chances are the homeless will get to it before someone who might actually call you would.

As a whole the leaguers and regulars are all very nice, but there's a select few that are elitist jerks i.e. I regularly play in a group of 3-4, however the leaguers commonly play in groups of 6-8, on the right day groups of 10+ are common. If you ask to play through or even play with in hopes of speeding up your round "Sorry Bro, this is a league game you're just going to have to wait" Is a fairly common answer. But like I said 95% of them are good dudes.

Other Thoughts: Overall this is an excellent course and I'd rate it as one of the Top-5 courses in the Southwest Washington/Portland Metro Area.

It's my 2nd favorite behind Pier Park, If you consider yourself an intermediate or even advanced player this a great course for you.

Edit: As of 6/27/10 the baskets have been moved back to their original, more challenging locations.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.