Vancouver, WA
Leverich Park Share
Uploaded By: Lost in the Brambles Hole #5
3 / 291ft.   3 / 291ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Leverich Park= Sweeeet

5+    7/25/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: pdxslowpoke
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout with good elevation changes. Love the concrete pads along with good signage to help navigate. Hole 2 offers great ace opportunity.
This park used to be a s*hole, but now that the course has been put in, it is vastly improved.
Cons: Can get crowded, but I say the more the merrier.
You can easily lose a disc in the creek, but no risk= no reward.
Other Thoughts: I only started playing about 3 or 4 months ago, but this course is home, I love it. I originally thought WSU was the only course in town, but quickly learned otherwise. As a newbie I decided to test the waters and entered the Bad Monkey Open, had a blast and was treated well by the "hardcore" crowd. Love this place and play there as much as I can. Although, is hole 10 Really a par 3? That thing is long.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Nice and relaxing

2-4    7/21/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: garp7son
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.8 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great layout, diffrent challanges at each hole.Family friendly with play ground, and plenty of benches. plenty of water hazards and trees to challange you.
Cons: lots of ppl all the time, but great place to make friends.
Other Thoughts: we need an 18 holer in vancouver!!! if you make it in the drink beware that it smells like a terd and the bugs are heavy.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent park for anyone!

5+    7/8/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: jnicola
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quick 12 holes
Well maintained (grass, etc)
Great Signs
Great variety
Beautiful park
Challenging in a variety of ways
Cons: Some places to have grass put down again, like hole 1. It's becoming a guarantee that discs will roll down from there.

A decent amount of bums, who sell discs they find in the river. If you catch them with a disc that has a name on it, tell them it's your homie and keep it. Don't buy discs with names whatever you do, it's bad karma, and it encourages the bums to keep doing that stuff.
Hole 9 eats noobie discs.
Other Thoughts: The basket mentioned below as a practice basket is actually an additional basket for playing! Hole 9b, heh. You start up on the bank accross the river from it, and head right down there. It's an easy birdee.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

2-4    6/19/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: tazzmann
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course especially for beginners. The course was well thought out and uses the land and elevation to the best that it can be used. Other golfers seem to be fairly friendly and willing to slow down for my son when playing with them. Tee pads and signs are fantastic and well maintained.
Cons: Vagrants galore, but generally stay out of your way. Some baskets are hard to see for first timers, so without a map, you have no idea where you are shooting to. Losing a disc is a possibility on some holes, but for the most part not too bad. There is a basket between hole #9 and 10 which is a "practice" putting basket, or from what I hear, an alternate basket for #10 during league. This basket is not marked, so the first time my son and I shot there, we thought that was the basket for #10. Just something to be aware of. Non-golfers are just one other thing you have to be aware of and can slow your game down on hot sunny days.
Other Thoughts: The Stumptown guys have done an excellent job on this course and should be congratulated. Other than a few things I have pointed out above, this is a very nice course offering some good challenges.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in SW Washington

5+    6/12/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: himynameismatt
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous course, with an excellent layout and great variety of holes. From technical doglegs and elevation changes. A lil bit of water, long open field bombs. They have it all.

You will use nearly every disc in your bag here.

It's a public park. The grass, brush, branches, and trees are all trimmed, pruned, cut and maitained by the city. The park facilities are also maintained fairly well.

Concrete teepads that are all fairly uniform in length and width.

Great baskets and multiple pin locations that are changed throughout the year just add to the variety.

There's a great base of regulars and league players who observe etiquette follow rules and are generally helpful to newer and less experienced players.

Difficult to lose a disc here, but definetely not impossible.
Cons: Doesn't flow particularly well, with a decent bit of walking in between some holes and the next teepad.

Can get really crowded with non-Frolfers on nice days, Picnickers in fairways, bikers, walkers, joggers.

Can get really crowded with Frolfers on nice days as well.

Large population of homeless they are all fairly harmless just weird. Not to mention they've started combing the creek and surrounding areas for discs that they like to sell/trade for cash, beer or w**d. So don't lose a disc, chances are the homeless will get to it before someone who might actually call you would.

As a whole the leaguers and regulars are all very nice, but there's a select few that are elitist jerks i.e. I regularly play in a group of 3-4, however the leaguers commonly play in groups of 6-8, on the right day groups of 10+ are common. If you ask to play through or even play with in hopes of speeding up your round "Sorry Bro, this is a league game you're just going to have to wait" Is a fairly common answer. But like I said 95% of them are good dudes.


Other Thoughts: Overall this is an excellent course and I'd rate it as one of the Top-5 courses in the Southwest Washington/Portland Metro Area.

It's my 2nd favorite behind Pier Park, If you consider yourself an intermediate or even advanced player this a great course for you.

Edit: As of 6/27/10 the baskets have been moved back to their original, more challenging locations.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Leverich Park

1    5/2/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 176  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 14 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Leverich Park is a beautiful twelve hole disc golf course located directly off I-5 in the city of Vancouver, WA. The terrain in this city park is truly unbelievable, with massive second growth trees towering above the fairways, a meandering creek throughout the course, little underbrush, and lots of elevation. This hidden gem does a fantastic job incorporating elevation throughout, with a nice mixture of upshots and down hill shots alike. The course varies in length, with holes ranging anywhere from 156-378 feet, with several of the holes requiring accurate disc placement in order to score well on. Also, beware of the OB's, as there are several throughout including a creek, mandos, asphalt, and fence lines. Tee signs are all metal, colorful, and very well done, indicating hole number, distance, and par. The tee pads are all the appropriate size, cement, and in excellent condition, much like the Chainstar baskets. Pin placement throughout the course is well thought out for the most part, with only a few baskets wide open with nothing to obstruct them. Last, navigation was fairly easy to follow for first timers, with a few signs at times indicating where the next tee pad is located, although some of the walkouts can get confusing. If ever lost, ask one of the many friendly locals to give you a hand, as there is always someone out there playing.
Cons:
The course is not very long for the most part, not just because it is 12 holes, but mainly due to distance (with the exception of holes # 3, 5, and 10). However, on these holes, as well as a few others, players will often times find themselves in close proximity to other park users such as joggers, bikers, walkers, and picnickers. Just beware of these individuals and know that it will slow down your round. Also, because the local club has such a strong following, and the fact that this IS the most popular course in Vancouver, the course is almost always crowded. It is great to see, but makes for a long round, and can be quite difficult to play through do the every tee being busy. Last, holes #4 and 5 tend to have homeless laying around, and although not usually and issue, just be weary.
Other Thoughts:
What a fantastic little course, with a great following! Steve Carson and the Stumptown volunteers really did a nice job installing this course, and are doing a great job with the upkeep. There are garbage cans everywhere, and a local man who BBQ's and sells discs near hole #1. The course atmosphere reminds me a lot of Mineral Springs DGC in north Seattle. This course is well worth a stop if you have the time, only a few minutes off of I-5 corridor, and even better, only miles away from Portland!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Vancouvers best disc course

5+    4/8/2010   4/9/2010
Review By: zombie41
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of different shots(each hole is unique.)
Elevation and hazard challenges.
Most all players I've met are encouraging and positive.
Great for begginers and big parties(If you let faster groups play through.)
Lots of birdie shots.
Just off I5. easy to get to from anywhere.
Nice use of the parks natural layout.
Great signs at each tee.
Trash cans located troughout course.
Cons: Sometimes large parties of people will use the field on holes 6 and 7( which you'll have to skip)
First timers might have a hard time navigating between tees 5 and 6. and 10 and 11.
Sometimes the 1 bathroom is locked.
Hole 4 is really muddy on wetter days.
I always find water on hole 9. But Ive always been able to fish out my discs.
Holes are kind of short. 1,3,6 and 10 are the only holes that you can bomb it. and 6 and 10 are questionable for people who can really throw.
Crowded on nice days, the early bird gets the worm.
Pathways can get busy with pedestrians, so be curtious and yell fore.
Other Thoughts: Leverich park is extremely fun for any type of player and is easy to find. They have made very good use of the land for this disc golf course. This is my home coarse and I have played with parties of 2 people to parties of 8 people and had a tremendous time. Its lush foresty surroundings mixed with an abundance of local plantlife make this course a great way to wind down or start your day. It is medicinal to play disc golf at leverich.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/7/2010   2/9/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 187  Reviewed: 182  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Leverich Park is a nice little twelve hole course just off of the freeway, very easy to find. There is lots of great little elevation shots here, both up and down. There is also a great mix of open/long/short/technical holes to keep your discs shuffling in and out of your bag and keep the course fun through out. The baskets, tee signs and tee pads (now concrete) are all in great shape and the course has some very fun basket placements with good flow, wasn't too hard to navigate around either.

Holes number ten and eleven were my two favorites. Hole ten is this slight downhill but open throw with a little creek running behind it. It was the only hole on the course where I had to struggle to reach the basket in one throw. Hole eleven was a fun uphill elevation, technical but fairly short hyzer shot, not something you see everywhere, it was fairly unique and really fun.
Cons: The course is quite small and for the most part the basket locations and tee pad areas made the course interesting but two or three holes on the course are really open and short. I was there at around 9:00am on a Sunday morning and there was barely enough room for parking, I thought there was an event going on maybe there was but there still was a ton of casual players like us on the course for an early Sunday morning so I can imagine the course can be pretty busy at times. There are some other park users, mainly joggers, walkers and bicycle riders that use a main path that plays through the park so you have to vigilant and watch for them.
Other Thoughts: This course seems like it gets a lot of love and respect from the local area club. This is just about the perfect course to show someone disc golf for first time as it shows all sorts of shots, is fairly short but also has a couple of bigger arm shots to humble them at. This is probably the best Vancouver course out of the three I played.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 My Local Course

5+    10/12/2009   10/14/2009
Review By: Longfellow
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just one minute off I-5; easy to access. Ample parking in the lower lot or up on the access road.

PROS
-Great signs, nice new tee pads, alternate pin locations on some holes.
-Excellent use of available space.
-Technical: over half of the holes require very accurate disc placement to make par. OB's on several holes.
-Spectacular terrain: creek running through course, tall second growth trees and moderate elevation change.
Cons: -Short; only 12 holes and literally a short tee to pin distance on many holes as well.
-Extremely crowded in the late afternoon
-Close proximity to other park users (joggers, bikers, baseball, walkers, playground, picnickers)... many seem to be clueless that it's a disc golf course.
-A few homeless folk almost always hanging out around teepad 4. Never had any issues with them, however.
Other Thoughts: This is my local course; just a mile from my house and always worth the effort to bike or drive there and get 12/24 holes in. I've heard rumors they are going to expand the course in the near future as there is greenway space adjacent to the park and I'm really looking forward to that. I'll still play at Leverich 2-4 times a week as long as I'm living here in Vancouver. Great beginner or skill tuning course. For more experienced players: if you're in the area and have limited free time, it's probably most worth your while over the other 9 hole courses in the area, otherwise Pier Park (18), Dabney State Park (18) or Milo McIver State Park (27) are much more challenging courses in the area if you have 3-6 hours to commit to a round

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Go Vancouver!!

1    10/3/2009   10/3/2009
Review By: tonymccoy007
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Good course!
Good directional singes!!
Nice course!!!
Cons: Short holes.Need more holes
Other Thoughts: This was a nice addition to Vancouver. There are a few ether parks in the area that don't get used much and this would draw them in

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.