Vancouver, WA 
Leverich Park Share
Uploaded By: Lost in the Brambles Hole #4
3 / 249ft.   3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    2/7/2010   2/9/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Leverich Park is a nice little twelve hole course just off of the freeway, very easy to find. There is lots of great little elevation shots here, both up and down. There is also a great mix of open/long/short/technical holes to keep your discs shuffling in and out of your bag and keep the course fun through out. The baskets, tee signs and tee pads (now concrete) are all in great shape and the course has some very fun basket placements with good flow, wasn't too hard to navigate around either.

Holes number ten and eleven were my two favorites. Hole ten is this slight downhill but open throw with a little creek running behind it. It was the only hole on the course where I had to struggle to reach the basket in one throw. Hole eleven was a fun uphill elevation, technical but fairly short hyzer shot, not something you see everywhere, it was fairly unique and really fun.
Cons: The course is quite small and for the most part the basket locations and tee pad areas made the course interesting but two or three holes on the course are really open and short. I was there at around 9:00am on a Sunday morning and there was barely enough room for parking, I thought there was an event going on maybe there was but there still was a ton of casual players like us on the course for an early Sunday morning so I can imagine the course can be pretty busy at times. There are some other park users, mainly joggers, walkers and bicycle riders that use a main path that plays through the park so you have to vigilant and watch for them.
Other Thoughts: This course seems like it gets a lot of love and respect from the local area club. This is just about the perfect course to show someone disc golf for first time as it shows all sorts of shots, is fairly short but also has a couple of bigger arm shots to humble them at. This is probably the best Vancouver course out of the three I played.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 My Local Course

5+    10/12/2009   10/14/2009
Review By: Longfellow
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just one minute off I-5; easy to access. Ample parking in the lower lot or up on the access road.

PROS
-Great signs, nice new tee pads, alternate pin locations on some holes.
-Excellent use of available space.
-Technical: over half of the holes require very accurate disc placement to make par. OB's on several holes.
-Spectacular terrain: creek running through course, tall second growth trees and moderate elevation change.
Cons: -Short; only 12 holes and literally a short tee to pin distance on many holes as well.
-Extremely crowded in the late afternoon
-Close proximity to other park users (joggers, bikers, baseball, walkers, playground, picnickers)... many seem to be clueless that it's a disc golf course.
-A few homeless folk almost always hanging out around teepad 4. Never had any issues with them, however.
Other Thoughts: This is my local course; just a mile from my house and always worth the effort to bike or drive there and get 12/24 holes in. I've heard rumors they are going to expand the course in the near future as there is greenway space adjacent to the park and I'm really looking forward to that. I'll still play at Leverich 2-4 times a week as long as I'm living here in Vancouver. Great beginner or skill tuning course. For more experienced players: if you're in the area and have limited free time, it's probably most worth your while over the other 9 hole courses in the area, otherwise Pier Park (18), Dabney State Park (18) or Milo McIver State Park (27) are much more challenging courses in the area if you have 3-6 hours to commit to a round

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Go Vancouver!!

1    10/3/2009   10/3/2009
Review By: tonymccoy007
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Good course!
Good directional singes!!
Nice course!!!
Cons: Short holes.Need more holes
Other Thoughts: This was a nice addition to Vancouver. There are a few ether parks in the area that don't get used much and this would draw them in

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5+    9/6/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: avpman
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: -very fun
-some easy holes and some hard holes
-best 12 hole course ive played
-really good baskets
-maintained well
Cons: -hobos on hole 5
-some holes the tee pad is too small
Other Thoughts: i never get bored of this course

0 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Great couse!!!

2-4    3/29/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: joshsaccount777
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Best course for more experienced golfers but fun for beginners too..nice, clean, fun, long, bathrooms, covered for half the time...
Cons: For some reason at like hole 5 there are homeless people just sitting under a tree and the 3 times I've been there they have too so it's kinda sketch but they're nice....and it dosn't affect the playability of the park

0 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 New Teepads Are On The Way!

1    8/3/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in a pretty city park. It has nice, informative tee signs showing the pertinent information needed. It has a nice configuration forcing you to throw a variety of throws. When I played, forms were either in place or being built for new concrete teepads. They seem to be different sizes depending on the run-up needed. There is some elevation change to play with. The course starts and ends at the same place in the parking lot. I did like # 11. It's short, probably 150 ft. but straight up a small hill to a basket off to the left. The park is very close to freeways.
Cons: For a very new course, there has already been some vandalism. The # 2 basket has been moved and there seems to be some disagreement on which basket you should currently be throwing at. The course does have some long walkouts for a fairly small park. And there does seem to be a problem with non-playing folks in the way. I didn't finish # 3 as I didn't want to throw into a couple of scruffy looking dudes sitting on a picnic table right in front of the basket. As to be expected with a city park, there is some trash around.
Other Thoughts: I think the new teepads will be an welcome addition. This is a nice little course for the average recreational player. The locals seem to care about this course. I appreciate all their hard work and dedication toward making this a worthwhile little course to play in. Thanks guys!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course with few cons

5+    6/28/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: runnaman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Excellent use of long and short holes.
- Great use of the trees and other natural objects to make the course harder. On hole #11, you have to throw up a ~20 foot hill, with trees, to get to the basket.
- Nice signage that display hole lenth and OBs.
Cons: - No map at hole one and it can be difficult to find some of the later holes because of this.
- Holes 6-9 play though a high traffic area that is next to a picnic area, a play structure, and a parking lot.
- Most holes don't have concrete tee pads and the ones that do are made from pre-existing concrete slabs.
Other Thoughts: A great park for anyone who loves disc golf, but some of the more advanced players might not enjoy it as much. Once they get in some concrete tee pads, I think this course will be one of the better ones in the Northwest.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course worth playing

1    6/10/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very beautiful setting
Extremely creative usage of available space
Excellent signage
Very relaxed vibe
Nice combination of holes...no redundancy
Great place to intorduce people to the sport
Cons: Not a very intuitive flow to make transitions across public usage areas...make sure you download a map or hook up with a local
could be very hard to play on weekend with all the casual park users (picnic tables sit right in the fairways--I hit a couple on the fly with my drives) and the criss-crossing of fairways
Other Thoughts: All in all, this course is a blast to play...I would encourage you to seek it out...especially if you have a weekday to spare

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable City Park course

1    6/10/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: TrailBoss
Played: 149  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 38 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent signage
- Easy to navigate between holes
- Good mix of open grassy holes and fun woods and tree obstacle holes
- Freeway close
- Nice ambience and a really good vibe overall to the course and its scenery and setting
- No real redundancy in holes
Cons: - Tee pads were a nuisance to me. I am totally cool with natural tee pads, but when they are this short and unlevel, I have to say something.
- Some people might find the number of vagrant or homeless people inhabitating the course a bit unnerving, but it is not an issue in my mind
- I would probably not play this course on the weekend (just assuming). It seems like it would be crowded with other non DG users and create potential conflicts. Plus, if the course was busier with DG users, it could get a bit sketchy with tee pads and baskets from different holes so close to one another
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course and I wll be back with friends or family. Great place to introduce others to the game. I loved Hole 2 with its down hill tee off and ACE opportunity.
- Very fun course overall

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/28/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety in elevation.
Sweet Chainstar baskets.
Variety of distance, 155-414 feet currently.
Variety of shot making, forcing shots left and right.
Good safe and challenging use of mandos.
Some alternate tees add challenge for more experienced players.
Scenic place, really a beautiful park all-around.
Tee signs on holes and a great info kiosk on the first tee with event fliers and course info.
Great for skill levels raging from first timers to upper level amateur players.
1 minute from I-5 exit and located great for inner-Vancouver and inner-Portland residents.

Cons: Current tees are in bad shape, even a flat gravel pad would be an improvement.
Fairly long walkouts for the size of the course.
High pedestrian, picnicker traffic on the course.
Fairly short, won't provide much of a challenge to upper Am and Pro players.
As it stands, it's difficult to navigate, course maps or better next tee signs would help.
Other Thoughts: Leverich, as it stands currently, is a tremendous example of a well thought out urban park, it fits in nicely with other park uses and this course is one of the nicest looking in-city courses I've ever seen. I saw numerous new players as well as some veterans looking for short game practice, it serves all parties well. Living in inner-Portland this is actually one of the closest courses after Pier Park. It's very evident that the group of people who made this new course care a lot about it and I believe Leverich will only improve with time, some tweaks could be made to make the course a little more challenging and when new tee pads are put in I fully look forward to coming back and editing this review and adding at least a half star to its score.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.