Vancouver, WA 
Leverich Park Share
Uploaded By: Lost in the Brambles Hole #11
3 / 150ft.   3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 great course

5+    9/6/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: avpman
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: -very fun
-some easy holes and some hard holes
-best 12 hole course ive played
-really good baskets
-maintained well
Cons: -hobos on hole 5
-some holes the tee pad is too small
Other Thoughts: i never get bored of this course

0 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Great couse!!!

2-4    3/29/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: joshsaccount777
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Best course for more experienced golfers but fun for beginners too..nice, clean, fun, long, bathrooms, covered for half the time...
Cons: For some reason at like hole 5 there are homeless people just sitting under a tree and the 3 times I've been there they have too so it's kinda sketch but they're nice....and it dosn't affect the playability of the park

0 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 New Teepads Are On The Way!

1    8/3/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 662  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in a pretty city park. It has nice, informative tee signs showing the pertinent information needed. It has a nice configuration forcing you to throw a variety of throws. When I played, forms were either in place or being built for new concrete teepads. They seem to be different sizes depending on the run-up needed. There is some elevation change to play with. The course starts and ends at the same place in the parking lot. I did like # 11. It's short, probably 150 ft. but straight up a small hill to a basket off to the left. The park is very close to freeways.
Cons: For a very new course, there has already been some vandalism. The # 2 basket has been moved and there seems to be some disagreement on which basket you should currently be throwing at. The course does have some long walkouts for a fairly small park. And there does seem to be a problem with non-playing folks in the way. I didn't finish # 3 as I didn't want to throw into a couple of scruffy looking dudes sitting on a picnic table right in front of the basket. As to be expected with a city park, there is some trash around.
Other Thoughts: I think the new teepads will be an welcome addition. This is a nice little course for the average recreational player. The locals seem to care about this course. I appreciate all their hard work and dedication toward making this a worthwhile little course to play in. Thanks guys!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course with few cons

5+    6/28/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: runnaman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Excellent use of long and short holes.
- Great use of the trees and other natural objects to make the course harder. On hole #11, you have to throw up a ~20 foot hill, with trees, to get to the basket.
- Nice signage that display hole lenth and OBs.
Cons: - No map at hole one and it can be difficult to find some of the later holes because of this.
- Holes 6-9 play though a high traffic area that is next to a picnic area, a play structure, and a parking lot.
- Most holes don't have concrete tee pads and the ones that do are made from pre-existing concrete slabs.
Other Thoughts: A great park for anyone who loves disc golf, but some of the more advanced players might not enjoy it as much. Once they get in some concrete tee pads, I think this course will be one of the better ones in the Northwest.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course worth playing

1    6/10/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very beautiful setting
Extremely creative usage of available space
Excellent signage
Very relaxed vibe
Nice combination of holes...no redundancy
Great place to intorduce people to the sport
Cons: Not a very intuitive flow to make transitions across public usage areas...make sure you download a map or hook up with a local
could be very hard to play on weekend with all the casual park users (picnic tables sit right in the fairways--I hit a couple on the fly with my drives) and the criss-crossing of fairways
Other Thoughts: All in all, this course is a blast to play...I would encourage you to seek it out...especially if you have a weekday to spare

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable City Park course

1    6/10/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: TrailBoss
Played: 149  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 37.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent signage
- Easy to navigate between holes
- Good mix of open grassy holes and fun woods and tree obstacle holes
- Freeway close
- Nice ambience and a really good vibe overall to the course and its scenery and setting
- No real redundancy in holes
Cons: - Tee pads were a nuisance to me. I am totally cool with natural tee pads, but when they are this short and unlevel, I have to say something.
- Some people might find the number of vagrant or homeless people inhabitating the course a bit unnerving, but it is not an issue in my mind
- I would probably not play this course on the weekend (just assuming). It seems like it would be crowded with other non DG users and create potential conflicts. Plus, if the course was busier with DG users, it could get a bit sketchy with tee pads and baskets from different holes so close to one another
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course and I wll be back with friends or family. Great place to introduce others to the game. I loved Hole 2 with its down hill tee off and ACE opportunity.
- Very fun course overall

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/28/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety in elevation.
Sweet Chainstar baskets.
Variety of distance, 155-414 feet currently.
Variety of shot making, forcing shots left and right.
Good safe and challenging use of mandos.
Some alternate tees add challenge for more experienced players.
Scenic place, really a beautiful park all-around.
Tee signs on holes and a great info kiosk on the first tee with event fliers and course info.
Great for skill levels raging from first timers to upper level amateur players.
1 minute from I-5 exit and located great for inner-Vancouver and inner-Portland residents.

Cons: Current tees are in bad shape, even a flat gravel pad would be an improvement.
Fairly long walkouts for the size of the course.
High pedestrian, picnicker traffic on the course.
Fairly short, won't provide much of a challenge to upper Am and Pro players.
As it stands, it's difficult to navigate, course maps or better next tee signs would help.
Other Thoughts: Leverich, as it stands currently, is a tremendous example of a well thought out urban park, it fits in nicely with other park uses and this course is one of the nicest looking in-city courses I've ever seen. I saw numerous new players as well as some veterans looking for short game practice, it serves all parties well. Living in inner-Portland this is actually one of the closest courses after Pier Park. It's very evident that the group of people who made this new course care a lot about it and I believe Leverich will only improve with time, some tweaks could be made to make the course a little more challenging and when new tee pads are put in I fully look forward to coming back and editing this review and adding at least a half star to its score.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Road trip stop 1

1    5/16/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: Big Bob
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great course for newbies!
Played with my daughter who attends school in "VanTucky"
Pros bring mid and putter only!
Cons: Some local riff rafts, but a disc at 70 mph can change some attitudes!
Tee pads need some work.
Other Thoughts: Ist stop on my journey discovering the Great Northwest disc golf scene.
Meet a crew from Rockwood and joined them later that day for two nine holes in Oregon.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  1st time played

1    3/21/2009   3/21/2009
Review By: ChrisC
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Location
Diversity of holes
Forced hole play
Cons: Hobos
Natural tees
Other Thoughts: I have been to this park before the cource was put in and it is much better from the hobo factor now. Hopefully with more traffic that element will find another bridge to drink under. On my first trip I was not going to take my child till I checked it out. Now would only take children if there are lots of people.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Basic

5+    2/23/2009   2/28/2009
Review By: Eric O
Played: 45  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 2/12/2010
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Chainstar baskets. Relatively easy to navigate. Course can be played quickly.

Good use of mandos on holes 4 and 9 to create interesting fairway lines.

Easy access off the freeway from Portland, OR and Vancouver, WA.
Cons: Hole 1 and hole 7's teepads are located right inside groupings of trees. Makes the teeshot cramped. Fortunately hole 1 at least has an alternate tee from the parking lot, which I would recommend using instead of the standard tee.

Hole 2 isn't really even a hole unless you're playing a round with minis. Hole 12 is a 200 ft wide open pitch. zzz.

When the course first opened the park had a lot of trash and homeless people hanging out. That element seems to have diminished somewhat the last couple times I've been there though.

All the teesigns have the same photo. If you're going to the trouble of having graphics on the signs, why not photograph the holes?

This course is not too far from Pier Park. I list this as a negative only because it means if I'm headed in that direction I'd rather just go to Pier 99% of the time.
Other Thoughts: This is a practice course in my opinion as far as the level of difficulty.

12 holes. Restrooms open seasonally.

I originally had rated this course one star, but I promised to update my review once some improvements were made to the course. It's definitely not everything I want a disc golf course to be, but it's closer than it was, and a few of the glaring issues have been addressed. Kudos to Mr. Carson and the Stumptown club for getting the course in the ground and continuing to work on making it better.

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.