Vancouver, WA 
Leverich Park Share
Uploaded By: Lost in the Brambles Hole #8
3 / 174ft.   3 / 174ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee

Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Leverich Park

1    5/2/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 195  Reviewed: 188  Exp: 15.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Leverich Park is a beautiful twelve hole disc golf course located directly off I-5 in the city of Vancouver, WA. The terrain in this city park is truly unbelievable, with massive second growth trees towering above the fairways, a meandering creek throughout the course, little underbrush, and lots of elevation. This hidden gem does a fantastic job incorporating elevation throughout, with a nice mixture of upshots and down hill shots alike. The course varies in length, with holes ranging anywhere from 156-378 feet, with several of the holes requiring accurate disc placement in order to score well on. Also, beware of the OB's, as there are several throughout including a creek, mandos, asphalt, and fence lines. Tee signs are all metal, colorful, and very well done, indicating hole number, distance, and par. The tee pads are all the appropriate size, cement, and in excellent condition, much like the Chainstar baskets. Pin placement throughout the course is well thought out for the most part, with only a few baskets wide open with nothing to obstruct them. Last, navigation was fairly easy to follow for first timers, with a few signs at times indicating where the next tee pad is located, although some of the walkouts can get confusing. If ever lost, ask one of the many friendly locals to give you a hand, as there is always someone out there playing.
The course is not very long for the most part, not just because it is 12 holes, but mainly due to distance (with the exception of holes # 3, 5, and 10). However, on these holes, as well as a few others, players will often times find themselves in close proximity to other park users such as joggers, bikers, walkers, and picnickers. Just beware of these individuals and know that it will slow down your round. Also, because the local club has such a strong following, and the fact that this IS the most popular course in Vancouver, the course is almost always crowded. It is great to see, but makes for a long round, and can be quite difficult to play through do the every tee being busy. Last, holes #4 and 5 tend to have homeless laying around, and although not usually and issue, just be weary.
Other Thoughts:
What a fantastic little course, with a great following! Steve Carson and the Stumptown volunteers really did a nice job installing this course, and are doing a great job with the upkeep. There are garbage cans everywhere, and a local man who BBQ's and sells discs near hole #1. The course atmosphere reminds me a lot of Mineral Springs DGC in north Seattle. This course is well worth a stop if you have the time, only a few minutes off of I-5 corridor, and even better, only miles away from Portland!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Vancouvers best disc course

5+    4/8/2010   4/9/2010
Review By: zombie41
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of different shots(each hole is unique.)
Elevation and hazard challenges.
Most all players I've met are encouraging and positive.
Great for begginers and big parties(If you let faster groups play through.)
Lots of birdie shots.
Just off I5. easy to get to from anywhere.
Nice use of the parks natural layout.
Great signs at each tee.
Trash cans located troughout course.
Cons: Sometimes large parties of people will use the field on holes 6 and 7( which you'll have to skip)
First timers might have a hard time navigating between tees 5 and 6. and 10 and 11.
Sometimes the 1 bathroom is locked.
Hole 4 is really muddy on wetter days.
I always find water on hole 9. But Ive always been able to fish out my discs.
Holes are kind of short. 1,3,6 and 10 are the only holes that you can bomb it. and 6 and 10 are questionable for people who can really throw.
Crowded on nice days, the early bird gets the worm.
Pathways can get busy with pedestrians, so be curtious and yell fore.
Other Thoughts: Leverich park is extremely fun for any type of player and is easy to find. They have made very good use of the land for this disc golf course. This is my home coarse and I have played with parties of 2 people to parties of 8 people and had a tremendous time. Its lush foresty surroundings mixed with an abundance of local plantlife make this course a great way to wind down or start your day. It is medicinal to play disc golf at leverich.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    2/7/2010   2/9/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 229  Reviewed: 221  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Leverich Park is a nice little twelve hole course just off of the freeway, very easy to find. There is lots of great little elevation shots here, both up and down. There is also a great mix of open/long/short/technical holes to keep your discs shuffling in and out of your bag and keep the course fun through out. The baskets, tee signs and tee pads (now concrete) are all in great shape and the course has some very fun basket placements with good flow, wasn't too hard to navigate around either.

Holes number ten and eleven were my two favorites. Hole ten is this slight downhill but open throw with a little creek running behind it. It was the only hole on the course where I had to struggle to reach the basket in one throw. Hole eleven was a fun uphill elevation, technical but fairly short hyzer shot, not something you see everywhere, it was fairly unique and really fun.
Cons: The course is quite small and for the most part the basket locations and tee pad areas made the course interesting but two or three holes on the course are really open and short. I was there at around 9:00am on a Sunday morning and there was barely enough room for parking, I thought there was an event going on maybe there was but there still was a ton of casual players like us on the course for an early Sunday morning so I can imagine the course can be pretty busy at times. There are some other park users, mainly joggers, walkers and bicycle riders that use a main path that plays through the park so you have to vigilant and watch for them.
Other Thoughts: This course seems like it gets a lot of love and respect from the local area club. This is just about the perfect course to show someone disc golf for first time as it shows all sorts of shots, is fairly short but also has a couple of bigger arm shots to humble them at. This is probably the best Vancouver course out of the three I played.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 My Local Course

5+    10/12/2009   10/14/2009
Review By: Longfellow
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just one minute off I-5; easy to access. Ample parking in the lower lot or up on the access road.

-Great signs, nice new tee pads, alternate pin locations on some holes.
-Excellent use of available space.
-Technical: over half of the holes require very accurate disc placement to make par. OB's on several holes.
-Spectacular terrain: creek running through course, tall second growth trees and moderate elevation change.
Cons: -Short; only 12 holes and literally a short tee to pin distance on many holes as well.
-Extremely crowded in the late afternoon
-Close proximity to other park users (joggers, bikers, baseball, walkers, playground, picnickers)... many seem to be clueless that it's a disc golf course.
-A few homeless folk almost always hanging out around teepad 4. Never had any issues with them, however.
Other Thoughts: This is my local course; just a mile from my house and always worth the effort to bike or drive there and get 12/24 holes in. I've heard rumors they are going to expand the course in the near future as there is greenway space adjacent to the park and I'm really looking forward to that. I'll still play at Leverich 2-4 times a week as long as I'm living here in Vancouver. Great beginner or skill tuning course. For more experienced players: if you're in the area and have limited free time, it's probably most worth your while over the other 9 hole courses in the area, otherwise Pier Park (18), Dabney State Park (18) or Milo McIver State Park (27) are much more challenging courses in the area if you have 3-6 hours to commit to a round

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Go Vancouver!!

1    10/3/2009   10/3/2009
Review By: tonymccoy007
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Good course!
Good directional singes!!
Nice course!!!
Cons: Short holes.Need more holes
Other Thoughts: This was a nice addition to Vancouver. There are a few ether parks in the area that don't get used much and this would draw them in

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5+    9/6/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: avpman
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: -very fun
-some easy holes and some hard holes
-best 12 hole course ive played
-really good baskets
-maintained well
Cons: -hobos on hole 5
-some holes the tee pad is too small
Other Thoughts: i never get bored of this course

0 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Great couse!!!

2-4    3/29/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: joshsaccount777
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Best course for more experienced golfers but fun for beginners too..nice, clean, fun, long, bathrooms, covered for half the time...
Cons: For some reason at like hole 5 there are homeless people just sitting under a tree and the 3 times I've been there they have too so it's kinda sketch but they're nice....and it dosn't affect the playability of the park

0 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 New Teepads Are On The Way!

1    8/3/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 776  Reviewed: 723  Exp: 37.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in a pretty city park. It has nice, informative tee signs showing the pertinent information needed. It has a nice configuration forcing you to throw a variety of throws. When I played, forms were either in place or being built for new concrete teepads. They seem to be different sizes depending on the run-up needed. There is some elevation change to play with. The course starts and ends at the same place in the parking lot. I did like # 11. It's short, probably 150 ft. but straight up a small hill to a basket off to the left. The park is very close to freeways.
Cons: For a very new course, there has already been some vandalism. The # 2 basket has been moved and there seems to be some disagreement on which basket you should currently be throwing at. The course does have some long walkouts for a fairly small park. And there does seem to be a problem with non-playing folks in the way. I didn't finish # 3 as I didn't want to throw into a couple of scruffy looking dudes sitting on a picnic table right in front of the basket. As to be expected with a city park, there is some trash around.
Other Thoughts: I think the new teepads will be an welcome addition. This is a nice little course for the average recreational player. The locals seem to care about this course. I appreciate all their hard work and dedication toward making this a worthwhile little course to play in. Thanks guys!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course with few cons

5+    6/28/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: runnaman
Played: 42  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 8.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Excellent use of long and short holes.
- Great use of the trees and other natural objects to make the course harder. On hole #11, you have to throw up a ~20 foot hill, with trees, to get to the basket.
- Nice signage that display hole lenth and OBs.
Cons: - No map at hole one and it can be difficult to find some of the later holes because of this.
- Holes 6-9 play though a high traffic area that is next to a picnic area, a play structure, and a parking lot.
- Most holes don't have concrete tee pads and the ones that do are made from pre-existing concrete slabs.
Other Thoughts: A great park for anyone who loves disc golf, but some of the more advanced players might not enjoy it as much. Once they get in some concrete tee pads, I think this course will be one of the better ones in the Northwest.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course worth playing

1    6/10/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 26.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very beautiful setting
Extremely creative usage of available space
Excellent signage
Very relaxed vibe
Nice combination of redundancy
Great place to intorduce people to the sport
Cons: Not a very intuitive flow to make transitions across public usage areas...make sure you download a map or hook up with a local
could be very hard to play on weekend with all the casual park users (picnic tables sit right in the fairways--I hit a couple on the fly with my drives) and the criss-crossing of fairways
Other Thoughts: All in all, this course is a blast to play...I would encourage you to seek it out...especially if you have a weekday to spare

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.