Vancouver, WA 
Leverich Park Share
Uploaded By: Lost in the Brambles Hole #3
3 / 378ft.   3 / 378ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Road trip stop 1

1    5/16/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: Big Bob
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great course for newbies!
Played with my daughter who attends school in "VanTucky"
Pros bring mid and putter only!
Cons: Some local riff rafts, but a disc at 70 mph can change some attitudes!
Tee pads need some work.
Other Thoughts: Ist stop on my journey discovering the Great Northwest disc golf scene.
Meet a crew from Rockwood and joined them later that day for two nine holes in Oregon.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  1st time played

1    3/21/2009   3/21/2009
Review By: ChrisC
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Location
Diversity of holes
Forced hole play
Cons: Hobos
Natural tees
Other Thoughts: I have been to this park before the cource was put in and it is much better from the hobo factor now. Hopefully with more traffic that element will find another bridge to drink under. On my first trip I was not going to take my child till I checked it out. Now would only take children if there are lots of people.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Basic

5+    2/23/2009   2/28/2009
Review By: Eric O
Played: 45  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 2/12/2010
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Chainstar baskets. Relatively easy to navigate. Course can be played quickly.

Good use of mandos on holes 4 and 9 to create interesting fairway lines.

Easy access off the freeway from Portland, OR and Vancouver, WA.
Cons: Hole 1 and hole 7's teepads are located right inside groupings of trees. Makes the teeshot cramped. Fortunately hole 1 at least has an alternate tee from the parking lot, which I would recommend using instead of the standard tee.

Hole 2 isn't really even a hole unless you're playing a round with minis. Hole 12 is a 200 ft wide open pitch. zzz.

When the course first opened the park had a lot of trash and homeless people hanging out. That element seems to have diminished somewhat the last couple times I've been there though.

All the teesigns have the same photo. If you're going to the trouble of having graphics on the signs, why not photograph the holes?

This course is not too far from Pier Park. I list this as a negative only because it means if I'm headed in that direction I'd rather just go to Pier 99% of the time.
Other Thoughts: This is a practice course in my opinion as far as the level of difficulty.

12 holes. Restrooms open seasonally.

I originally had rated this course one star, but I promised to update my review once some improvements were made to the course. It's definitely not everything I want a disc golf course to be, but it's closer than it was, and a few of the glaring issues have been addressed. Kudos to Mr. Carson and the Stumptown club for getting the course in the ground and continuing to work on making it better.

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Improvement for the neighborhood

5+    2/6/2009   2/9/2009
Review By: multcomedic
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Close by, elevation changes, challenging.
Cons: Getting busier making the pads muddy.
Other Thoughts: Thanks for installing this course. This park has been needing improvements for a while but has been blocked due to the waterway. The course has increased use of the park and more improvements are now planned. Thanks for playing!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Leverrich park

5+    1/31/2009   2/1/2009
Review By: topdawgy58
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I really nice course lots of trees and different type of holes. Almost Ace hole 2 acouple of times. I real fun course.
Cons: Dogs running loose. No trash cans and when i did find one it was over flowing.
Muddy tee pads. Lots of mole mounds.
Other Thoughts: Enforce leash law. Get mole traps. Trash cans at tee Boxes. Put in cement Tee pads. Put on a walk path to hole 2and one going up the hill next to 2.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 great addition to vancover wa

1    1/25/2009   1/25/2009
Review By: Matt aka N.G.S.P.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Wonderful baskets.
*Nice hole maps.
*Course map/score cards provided.
* just off of I-5/close to main hwy access.
*A few challenging holes.
*Good variation of terrain and hole lengths.
*Beautiful scenery
Cons: I didn't feel the course flowed well. There were some long walks back and forth to the next tees. The tee boxes were natural dirt and get very muddy during winter/rainy seasons. I saw many homeless people loitering around through out the park which i've been told has always been a problem. (not so much now that the park has been turned into a course) some areas had a lot of trash laying around too.
Other Thoughts: This being a recently added course i hope the make better tees and im sure that the trash and loiterers will eventually decrease.

I was very happy how easy and fast it was to find coming from portland area. I also was pleased w/ some of the challenging holes and how beautiful some of the scenery was.

all in all it was a fun course and a wonderful addition to have been added to vancover wa allowing the 2 other courses near by for a possible 3 playable courses in one day.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/28/2008   1/4/2009
Review By: Lost in the Brambles
Played: 67  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easy to find each hole, with nice new signs
-Elevation changes
-Nice mix of distances
-Friendly locals
Cons: -No picture on sign showing where the pin is located
-Only 12 holes
-Dirt tee pads
Other Thoughts: Only played here once...but I have played the other two courses in Vancouver, and this is by far the best of the three.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Loved it

2-4    12/5/2008   12/5/2008
Review By: discgolfdude
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well made course for what space was available.
Easy to get to, very close to I-5.
Lots of elevation changes.
Holes for both left and right handed throwers.
Maps and score cards are available at hole 1.

Cons: For me it was the creek, one disc in the drink twice, and lost one disc on the other side of the creek in the brushes.
Natural tees could get a lot muddier as the weather turns worse.
Other Thoughts: This is my first review of a course.
I feel that for the first course in the city limits it's a very great course for Vancouver.
This course has become very popular in just a short time it has been installed.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great way to start

2-4    11/30/2008   12/4/2008
Review By: JamesB
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great location
Good use of the space
Non obtrusive of other park visitors
Difficultly is fine. Hole 11 is a good idea with a nice up-hill shot but come prepared to scramble through Blackberry bushes.
Cons: Should really number the holes and work on building some cement launch pads. I printed the map off the web site and it helped but even the map could use some help. The map should print better on a laser printer.
Other Thoughts: As a 18 year veteran of this sport, I've played in courses all over the NW, California and Canada. I think you're off to a good start and I look forward to enjoying the improvements

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hooray for Vancouver, WA!!!

5+    11/22/2008   11/22/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 161  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2009
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Brand Spankin' New Chainstar baskets! (all well seated and level!)
-Despite some unfortunate walk-outs, the course has great flow
-Some really fun and well though out tee-shots
-Challenging enough for higher skilled players to enjoy, but not so challenging to frustrate newer players.
-Elevation: Plenty of it, and used quite well.
-Well thought out green locations, well sheltered at times, and some are on the hillsides, forcing you to think a bit more about your upshot/drive than normal.
-Tee Signs! Every hole has a brand new tee-sign with hole distances.
-Great variety of shots, I was throwing backhand/forehand, and I could see a roller becoming handy in dry weather.
-Great variety of distances, from 160' all the way to a very difficult 415' hole with OB on both sides.
-Some holes have alternate positions already.
-No Kiosk, but hole 1 has a mailbox on the tee-sign with scorecards in it. And the scorecards have maps on them to help you navigate the walk-outs.
-Beautiful park in general.
-HUGE sheltered gazebo for tournaments/picnics/barbecues, etc
-Picnic tables spread out here and there around the course to take a break on.
-Restrooms open from early spring to fall.

-Course designed, prepped, and installed by the local disc golf community of Portland/Vancouver!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Cons: -Natural Tee pads! They suck, but they'll have to do for now. I think plans for concrete pads are in the works for Spring, at least I hope.
-The walk-outs are a pain the butt, but when you play the course, you'll see that it really wasn't avoidable. The course designer crunched pretty hard to figure out a viable option against this, and there just isn't one.
-There is a homeless camp very near the teepad for hole 4, there is a good chance they will not like us invading their area and will probably move further away. Either way, I spoke with them for a while today and they are cool, they enjoyed watching us drive and seem to be in good spirits overall.
-Only 12 holes (There is an 18 hole tournament layout in the works, though).
Other Thoughts: This course is great. I'm really excited for the Vancouver DG community. Until Leverich, they have only had two courses, both were only 9 hole courses and neither one really offered much variety or challenge. Leverich, on the other hand, is a fantastic 12 hole course. So much variety in holes that it won't get boring very quickly, and it's a great course for dedicated practice. Like I mentioned earlier, there are holes from below 200' all the way to above 400'. All the holes follow the flow of the terrain perfectly, and many of the greens are molded onto the sides of the hills, forcing more contemplation, rather than just throwing it. Hole 11 is a really fun shot that is less than 200' but you're throwing essentially straight up a two story building and then hooking to the left.

Another thing is the travel time to get to Leverich. Leverich is right off of exit 2 on 5N. I live in SW Portland and it's actually faster for me to get to Leverich than to Pier Park (at least without traffic)! And I'm sure you can expect less crowding than Pier anytime, anyday.

Bottomline, it's been a long time coming for a nice course for Vancouver! Couverites no longer have to cross the river for good golf. Huge credit goes to Steve Carson for making all of this happen. Without Steve's vision/legwork, Leverich would not have happened!

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.