Vancouver, WA 
Leverich Park Share
Uploaded By: Discwog  
Typical hole in open

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Homeless move from Portland to Vancouver?

5+    9/13/2016   9/14/2016
Review By: Tard-Core
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Close to I5, On my way to pick up my girls after school from work. Good for working on your short game.
Cons: Homeless living all over the course! Had 2 people sleeping in the fairway of hole 7 at around 3 pm. The back side of the chains have been stolen from hole 3 (so only 1/2 the chains remain). The parking at hole one near the practice basket appears to have multiple people living/sleeping in their cars/vans in the shade. Homeless living in the covered area with piles of junk/bikes (stolen?).
Other Thoughts: I'll check back after the weather turns colder/rainy and see if there are any changes. Not likely to be frequenting this course any time soon!

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1    6/30/2016   7/1/2016
Review By: karmalord
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lots of challenges. Good grassy fairways,friendly people,close to bus route, stores and gas.
Cons: Vagrants frquent the park but usually keep to themselves.
Other Thoughts: Good course to get out on and play, Something for everyone!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

great I-5 quick stop!

2-4    10/3/2013   3/13/2016
Review By: EverettSilvertips
Played: 65  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: i played touranment there under Vancouver Assoication for the Deaf event, it did had 18 basket with wheelies, portable basket, etc. i am aware of 12 orginial baskets. i find this park is a great place!

i liked how the park have variety of elevation, downhill, uphill, flat, but risky. it is pretty much techinical course.

they does have proper teepad, also have sign, marks to go next.
Cons: 12 baskets... oh well.

oddballs people hanging in the shed, seems like bums, drug addicts, etc.

Other Thoughts: would like to play there again once i'm visiting Vancouver.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Little Bit of Everything

5+    2/27/2016   10/10/2015
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 32  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The Leverich Park DGC makes great use of an odd park, right next to I-5. Holes 1, 11, and 12 are in one area, 2, 3, 4, 5 are in another, 6, 7, 8, and 9 are in a third area, and 10 is all alone in a fourth. The sections are broken up by a creek and some hills. If you want to play 18 holes just play 1-5, then 2-5 again, then 6-12, then 1 and 12 again. Or you can play 17 holes by playing 1-10, then 6-10 again, then 11 and 12. Or you can play 7 holes by playing 1-5, 11, and 12. Or you can park at the parking lot near #9 and make up whatever routing you want from there. You can make up many different course routings since 1 basket to 2 tee, 5 basket to 6 tee, and 10 basket to 11 tee are all in the same area.
-Pin locations are changed frequently, and there are two placements on every hole.
-Great variety, it has a bit of everything: short, long, wooded, open, hilly, and flat holes. Some of my favorites:
-#2 is a 150 ft downhill putter shot. You need an overstable putter to fade into the green. Keep an eye on your disc, lots of brush here.
-#3 is almost 400 ft, out of my range. I play it as a par 4. It is wide open but the basket is in a clump of trees straight ahead. Sometimes the basket is out in the open, which makes it even longer.
-#4 is a downhill 90 degree dogleg left with mando at the corner. It's really short so a very overstable putter or midrange hyzer shot with a skip is the way to go. If you throw too fast a disc and too straight you could be deep in the woods or even the creek.
-#7 is a fun forehand shot, open for most of the way but the basket is just in the woods on the hillside, probably not visible from the tee. Even if you throw a bad drive the hill behind the basket provides the opportunity to run your putt.
-Hole 9's creek adds an interesting factor. In summer it is shallow enough to wade in to retrieve a disc, but it runs high in winter/spring. It also comes into play if you throw an especially terrible shot on holes 4, 5, 6, or 10.
-There's a practice basket near the parking lot but it is sometimes used as the hole 9B basket.
-Chainstar baskets caught fine.
Cons: -Gets really busy. Vancouver is at a bit of a shortage on disc golf courses, expect to wait.
-This course is RIGHT next to I-5. It is super noisy. However there are enough trees to keep exhaust to a minimum.
-Hole 11 is short but straight uphill in front of the teepad, with a low ceiling. I don't know what the best shot is here. It's so uphill it's easy to slip on your way up.
-Hole 8 is right next to an extra parking lot. Definitely possible to hit a car, don't park there.
-Parking is scarce. Extra parking available along entry road or in second lot near #s 8&9.
Other Thoughts: -Unlike a lot of short courses on small parks, this one has a great variety of holes and keeps me coming back.
-This park is frequented by hard-livin' types. So far everyone I've talked to has seemed nice, but I'd avoid coming here after hours.
-Definitely a great local course, with a lot of variety.
-12 holes is perfect for a quick round, not too long, not too short.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Well kept

1    2/25/2015   2/26/2015
Review By: thespeedokid
Played: 61  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Manicured fairways on the mostly treeless holes. Dirt fairways on the wooded holes. Concrete tees. Hole distances on the post of every hole. Variation in elevation. Variety in wooded and non-wooded holes.
Cons: Creek can come into play on like 8 of the holes. Too much OB pathway. It's a little too short. Although it's always fun to get a birdie. Not enough parking. I had to go to the other parking lot and start on hole 10. It is nice that they have overflow parking though.
Other Thoughts: It's a fun course with lots of variety. Plus they even have an island hole.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Fun Jaunt

1    9/25/2014   9/25/2014
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 193  Reviewed: 126  Exp: 24.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice little course located in a park that has a combination of grassy fairways and tall firs that border its edges.

The nice feature of the course is that it allows for long wide open drives while having it balanced by some very short, technical holes. It really is a strange mix of one or the other, with not much in between. But it would be a place that I would take beginners, as there will be far less tree bangin'. The modest elevation changes affect nearly half the course.

The fact is, it's a fun diversion, and certainly worth the play, although it has some heavy hitters across the river (Pier Park, etc) that are going to give you more bang for your buck.

The park is well maintained and the course is ship-shape with nice tee pads and signs.

My favorite holes would be the short ones (2, 4, 8, 9, 11). Hole 2 is unique in that it's a very short downhill "putt", but they have marked the green with logs- According the a local, anything outside the logs in a tournament is considered OB.
Cons: Half the holes are field shots that are basically wide open with limited obstacles (mostly consisting of forest bordering the fairways). The exception is hole 1, which is nice hole guarded by a large tree and steep slope on the green. Otherwise these open holes are rather ho-hum.
Other Thoughts: I've gotta admit, there were some people there that creeped me out - sketchy people who wandering the fringes of the course and hanging out at the shelter. But not everyone was sketchy, there were dog walkers and a nice guy selling discs in the parking lot.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty course, odd layout

1    9/22/2014   9/23/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 53  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked this course, it has nice parking right by the first hole, mostly nice large textured teepads and some good elevation changes.

The course is located in a relatively small park, with a playground, picnic pavilion and walking and biking path. Nice accommodations, and the grounds were well maintained.

Well traveled too, I saw at least 6 othe groups playing many with kids which is always a good thing. Grow the sport, start them young!

Every hole has a marker with the distances and if there are mandos and OBs on that hole.

It's really pretty terrain cloaked in old growth evergreens with creeks running through and making the best of the land it has.

Only 12 holes but I don't know if you could fit many more in there. The last basket is right by the parking to again so easy access in and out.

Good baskets for the most part too, they aren't new but well balanced and well chained DGA baskets.
Cons: It's mostly pretty short only one hole over 400 and a few under 200, if it weren't for one or two longish holes it would fall closer to a pitch and putt course.

The main thing that was odd was the course crossed itself a few times when it doesn't really need to, it could be changed slightly to make it flow better.

Not too many complaints though it's solid.
Other Thoughts: It's a fun little neighborhood course, I might not have played it if I hadn't been right by my hotel but glad I did.

It's a pretty park a nice walk, around a nice somewhat technical little course.

Worth playing if your close.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Balanced Course

5+    7/2/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: Draekane
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 28.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nicely balanced course. Some of the holes require a lot more tight accuracy, where some holes are really about distance. Always something for everyone here. They run a B Tier Tournament here annually that is a great time to play because holes 9 and 9.5 are added back in. Nice park overall with a bit of elevation change without going too far off the beaten path.
Cons: Not a lot to dislike. Not overly difficult, not overly easy, well balanced course. Could use a little bit more accuracy holes, but all in all, a nice layout.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Good but very busy

5+    4/12/2014   4/15/2014
Review By: sgcduffman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Each hole is very different with a new challenge for new players and pro's.
Cons: 11 holes is odd, they removed one hole but did not add a replacement. This park gets very busy on nice days. if its sunny expect the 11 holes take you 90 minutes.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 So long and thanks for all the birdies

1    4/13/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: SmaptyII
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a 12 (?) hole course situated in a nice park. There was even a crew of Mtn. Bikers training in the park as I got there. There are a variety of holes (long to very short) and many chances to practice different shots. The replay value on this course is high.
Cons: There are a few issues I have with this course. First, hole # 9 was literally ripped out of the ground. So you are stuck with 11 holes. Some of the locals will play 12 from a different tee placement for the missing #9 which is rather annoying when you are trying to play #12 and dodging dics. While parking is good there is an issue with the lots filling up. No sign placement make it a challenge for first time players. The tee locations are hard to find with out a map or someone who has played the course.
Other Thoughts: The replay value on this course is very high. I am always thinking of new ways to play the different holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.