Disc Golf Store
Channahon, IL
Community Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13 (Taken 5/2012)
4 / 247ft.   4 / --   3 / 247ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Fun.

1    4/17/2013   4/17/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 187  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aesthetic-- multi use park set in the "burbs" of chicago (kind of a burb of joliet actually), the disc golf areas are almost disc golf exclusive. plays along some back yard fences in the back but never really in play.

Tees- oh. my. god. the tees here are awesome. dual tees with "siped" surfaces to ensure good grip even when wet. short tees have signage, long tees do not (unless same as short tees)

Baskets- old but in good repair. no issues identified when I was there.

Upkeep- Immaculate. the landscaping through this course is impressive to say the least. many retaining walls, "garden-like" areas, and thoroughly maintained pathways through the low areas.

variety/risk v reward- there is a little of everything here. left, right, short, long, a great variety. pin placement here is great in some places and meh in others. some of the man made elevated tees are placed with significant rollaway potential.

Signage-- beautiful signs here. not sure if all of the distances are accurate however. some holes feel significanly shorter than listed.

Routing and Nav-- so so easy. follow the painted tines and the immaculte pathways and you surely won't get lost!!

Cons: Wet- I get that this is an uncontrollable but the course was super wet when I was there and a lot of the lower areas were flooded (minimally).

Challenge- I will agree with the previous reviewer there are a lot of holes here that you feel like should be "twoable" there aren't any holes you look at and just say "holy shit, what am I going to do here?"

Other Thoughts: ol grimey does good work! :)
I think I saw him today, had an ice bowl hoodie on and was ridin' around on a gator

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun, well maintained

2-4    4/15/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 88  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've only gotten the opportunity to play this course twice, but I really really like it!!! It is by no means an overly difficult one, but it is PERFECT for practicing hitting different lines and trying out new shots. It seemed like every hole was one that I thought I should get a two on (or at least that SOMEONE should get a two on!) but the course definitely will make sure you hit the right shot in order to do that.

The disc golf course at Community Park felt very isolated from the rest of the park, which had playgrounds, bike trails, and other fun stuff. I didn't have to worry about hitting other park users and I felt very much like I was going on a scenic nature hike.

In addition, the course seems to be very well maintained. There were man-made greens, STURDY bridges, perfect signs, and a few of the holes even had two sets of teepads. It is encouraging and inspiring to see so much visible effort in keeping the course in tiptop shape :)

Cons: Only a couple of these:

*The park is pretty much as flat as a pancake. Fortunately, the scant elevation here is utilized and there is even some man-made elevation that makes things a bit more interesting.

*Hole 4 (I think?) looked like it had a cool basket but the last time I was there it had a garbage bag over it and the ground around it was roped off. Instead, there was I guess a temporary hole that was planted like 200' in front of the teepad without any obstacles whatsoever... whats more it had a "6" on it so I didn't know if I should throw at it or if it was part of another hole! There should be mention of this strange setup on the sign, but I didn't see any :(

*I always make the argument that more challenge does not necessarily imply a better course, but perhaps a teeeensy-bit more challenge here could be useful... though I wouldn't want this to come at the expense of the "fun factor" that is all over this course! The long teepads attempt to address this issue, but they are not quite enough, and they are not present on every hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a great course and one you should go out of your way to check out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Job Frank

5+    5/20/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 155  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 6 Years
Pros: This course is very well maintained. It has 2 sets of tee pads and good signage. There is decent distance variation and a good mix of different lines required to score well such as straight shots, hyzers, anhyzers, large turning shots, big hyzers, and long turnovers. There are a few cool and unique greens such as 2,11, and 12. This is a fun course and good for beginners and up and coming amateurs.
Cons: This course is on the shorter side. The baskets are not the best although that is not a big deal for me. The fairways are pretty generous and there is not many tight gaps to hit. This course is fairly flat and can flood with a lot of rainfall. On many of the holes there is a "cheater" big hyzer line that I would prefer not be accessible.
Other Thoughts: Frank Grimes has put a lot of time into this course and it shows. If you see him while your there please show your appreciation for all his hard work.

Just As Good As I Had Heard

1    5/25/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: sthomas128
Played: 53  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: .
**I have heard phenomenal things about Channahon Community Park, I was not disappointed.
**VERY F-U-N course.
**Well balanced
**A MUST-Play if you're in the area
Cons: .
**I hear the bugs get bad. May 25, middle of the morning and we were OK except for a few Buffalo Gnats.
Other Thoughts: .
**When you see Frank Grimes out there working, and you probably will. Stop and give a big personal THANK YOU. He is the one who is constantly out there keeping the course up and making it look so good.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>THANKS FRANK :-)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

aesthetically pleasing

2-4    5/5/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: BuzzArmStrong
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads and baskets are in good condition - Course is well maintained - Good pin locations that require different types of shots - Easy to find your way around (good signs/baskets guide you to next hole) - Most of the fairways are relatively forgiving - Few shots that the pin has been built onto a small hill with a man made wall that drops off behind the basket which makes things a little more interesting - New basket location in the process of behind built that looks as thought it will be a good hole but also shows that course design isn't being neglected.
Cons: Course is extremely flat (though what little elevation there is is being utilized well).
Other Thoughts: Definitely a worthwhile course. A fun and relaxing place to play that can still keep you challenged.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Course

2-4    4/15/2012   4/20/2012
Review By: Aceseekr
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful Layout, long holes lightly wooded front 9 , largly wooded back 9. This is a big course and it is suited for all types of players. I see deer on the course all the time.
Cons: Saturday early afternoons the park is packed with baseball, soccer, track and it the fall the cource is a cross country track so go after 2.The wind can be a problem, Hole 2, 14 and 15 have deep nasty creeks next to them. Hole 15 has a sink hole just past the pin that is 4 feet deep and filled with standing water.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Course - Very Solid

5+    1/28/2012   1/28/2012
Review By: r2conman
Played: 35  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Aesthetically speaking, Community Park is one of the best courses around the area; it is beautifully landscaped, well maintained throughout the year.
- Every hole has concrete teepads made with small grooves to aid in drainage, and each hole has an alternate teepad which adds distance and variety.
- There are quality maps that are accurate on distance and the actual terrain, trees, water, etc., along with benches and garbage cans.
- Nice baskets in pretty good condition with tape on the basket to guide players to the next tee (the exception is on #6, which is a rusty, old Chainstar which should be replaced). Also, there is a practice basket in great condition.
- Good shot variety; need both the hyzer and anhyzer to hit the fairways. Some fairways are moderately to fairly tight so the lines can be demanding.
- Pretty good use of elevation. Yes, this land is flat but the designers intended to make use of as much elevation as they could either teeing off uphill or downhill (#3, #5, #6, #8). Playing the alternate tees will increase this a bit more.
- Good course flow - no overlapping of holes, the baskets are typically a short distance to the next tee box, and the course is easy to follow with walking paths. Lots of other activities on park grounds (ex. baseball fields, children's park) but definitely not an obstacle to the disc golfers.
Cons: - Length - for seasoned players Channahon is probably a little short on distance. Pretty much every hole is reachable with a good drive excepting holes #14 and #17. (for most beginning/novice players this course wouldn't seem short)
- Hazards - the main obstacle on this course is clearly the trees. There are several tree-lined fairways with some heavy rough on both sides including trees and shule. Water only comes into play on holes #2, #15, and #16
Other Thoughts: *trying to look at the courses objectively considering the most important criteria

50 of 61
Difficulty - 7 of 10
Shot Variety - 7.5 of 10
Length - 4 of 5
Maps/Signage - 5 of 5
Course Flow - 4.5 of 5
Use of Park for Disc Golf - 4 of 5
Baskets - 4 of 5
Teepads - 5 of 5
Hazards - 3 of 5
Cleanliness - 2 of 2
Parking - 2 of 2
Other Amenities - 2 of 2 (washrooms, fountain)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Discing at it's finest

5+    1/18/2012   1/23/2012
Review By: gowiththeFLOW
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Well maintained course
-Challenging for both beginners and pros
-Awesome summertime course
Cons: -Not many bad things to say about this course, besides some teeboxs are a walk.
Other Thoughts: Great maintained course, a great course for playing in doubles or groups.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of the nicest parks you will see

2-4    11/26/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 135  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 19.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have a preference for pretty parks that are well taken care of. Channahon's Community Park gets high marks for that. It's just a great public park. The disc golf course specifically is very well taken care of. There are two concrete tees on most holes, with a nice gravel arrow pointing toward the hole in front of the tee. Each hole has a tee sign with a hole map and distances. The baskets are newer and catch well. There is a lot of very pretty landscaping scattered throughout the course that gives the property a nice, peaceful feeling. There isn't a ton of elevation or water to work with, but what is there is used well. A few man-made amenities have been included to help add some challenge to some placements (such as the raised "J-Town" basket on #4 or the drop-off placement on #12.) A spoke on the baskets are painted red to help point you to the next tee, and the course just generally flows well. There is a nice combination of wooded fairways that force you to take a certain route and more open fairways with mature trees scattered through them where you can pick your route and try to hit it. The wooded fairways are fairly wide, but once you stray off them the rough is very thick and tough to find a shot out of. The long tees add some decent distances to the shots, although it's not a big bomber course. The combination of longs and shorts gives the course some very good variety. The whole package comes together in a very enjoyable course.
Cons: The park is essentially flat, and the wooded holes have pretty wide, well-defined fairways. Lacking a lot of elevation, tight tunnel shots and/or long bomber shots, Channy is probably not all that challenging to the upper tier players. I certainly had my hands full with it, though.

The course can hold water and tends to get buggy, so you have to take precautions against that during those seasons. You also spend a lot of time out in the open, so sunscreen is a must.
Other Thoughts: In the mid 90's I took a road trip to play what was at the time the best courses in the Chicagoland area-West Park and Channahon. West Park is essentially how I remember it from 14 years ago. Channahon has been tweaked and updated over that same time frame so that it seems like a different course. A lot of care and attention goes into this course, and it shows. It might not be the most challenging course anymore, but it's a course that gets the most out of what the land has to offer. It is certainly still amongst the best courses in Illinois and a course you don't want to miss if you are in the area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/26/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 185  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Located in a spacious park, Community's course is well-separated from other park activities. Beautifully manicured, well-defined fairways work their way through open areas dotted with trees as well as wooded sections. In the wooded sections, fair but sometimes brutal punishment in the form of tight scrub awaits those who miss their lines. Short tees are accessible to newer/less-skilled players, while the longs provide a challenge for seasoned discers.
- Decent use of the available elevation (which unfortunately isn't much). #4 has an artificially raised basket that can become a bit tricky on windy days unless you're willing to lay up.
- Water comes into play quite nicely on the second hole. The long tee on #2 shoots over a small water carry, and then works back to the right where the basket is located past another small bit of water. A castle turret-like wooden barrier sits on the far side of the water, waiting to knock down any low approaches.
- Pro and am tees. Long, wide, brushed concrete tees are among the grippiest I've played on. Each tee has crushed gravel in the shape of an arrow in front, which is a nice touch. Good signage, which unfortunately is located only on the am tees. Each basket has a spoke painted red that points in the direction of the next tee.
Cons: - Unfortunately, the long tees don't have signage, which is a bit of a hassle the first time through.
- A few holes incorporate tall prairie-like grassy areas which might make finding your disc a bit of a pain during the summer months (provided you land there).
Other Thoughts: - Channahon has a good balance of holes, especially from the long tees. Nothing gets too out-of-hand difficult, but should provide a decent enough challenge for the average player.
- It's obvious a lot of love gets put into this course, and it shows through in the above-average upkeep.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.