Channahon, IL 
Community Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 210ft.   3 / --   3 / 260ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 White Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    9/24/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Dual LEVEL cement teepads
- 17 of the 18 baskets are nice and catch well
- Frank Grimmes does some great work out there beautifying the course.
- Fun layout both Pro and Am
- Benches on almost every hole!!!!!
- Lots of trash cans
- Great flow and easy to follow
- After hole 2 you get the feeling you're removed from the rest of the world (always a plus for me)
- Wind definitely adds a great deal more challenge, no wind means its real easy.
- The rough punishes bad shots but its easy to find your plastic.
- Hole 17 is a beach from teh AM pad and much easier from the PRO, realistically they should be switched.
-Several holes have well guarded greens.
Cons: - Hole 6s basket either needs to be switched with the PB or replaced.
- No tee signs at Pro pads
- Am pads are boring, and the Pro pads only make it a little more interesting.
- 17 of the 18 holes from AM pads are straight shots with SLIGHT hyzers or anhyzers to finish.
- Bridges need some work. Hole 2's is slanted and skinny can be dangerous when wet and doesn't allow for cart pullers to easily maneuver across. Hole 12 to 13s bridge is slightly better but could still be improved ( this one is great if your riding your mtn bike btw).
- Not difficult to score well first time through.
- Hole 17 is the only hole i questioned myself on how to throw and what to throw.
Other Thoughts: This a very fun course but lacks that replay factor. I played it for the first time at a blind tourny last spring, I had no desire to return again until the tournament this fall. With so many great courses near by this is an easy one to skip over. I will not be returning until next spring.
Frank Grimmes does a great job of making the course look great and slowly tweaking it to play more challenging. However, I feel some of those efforts are un-needed at this time and other areas of the course could use the attention (see cons section).
This course will be most appealing to REC and INT players. It's a great place to work on keeping your lines tight and on target. The PRO pads will provide the extra challenge for INT players and the better REC players. These players will also score well with ease.
ADV and PRO players will find little reward here. The course for them will play like a pitch-n-putt excluding a few holes.
there is alot of repetitive shots! The majority of holes are all straight. their only variance comes in if you need it to finish left or right. About half way through I get bored with the course. The only true challenge here is if you can keep your disc inside of a 20' wide fairway. Most INT and above players will find little to no struggle with that.
Without holes 2 and 17 this course would easily become a 2.5. They are well designed and the only two holes with good replay factor.
With so many great courses in this area, this course ranks very low on the Must Play list. If you're in the area I'd play Highland, West, or Trinity before coming here. If you're traveling and pressed for time this is a quick play and would be a good option.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Community Park

1    8/15/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 114  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2010
5 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: This course is isolated and serves solely for disc golf, which is super nice. I saw a deer and it's child here and we approached it and came within 20 or so feet before they jumped away. It was really quite a treat.
The holes are, for the most part, all very birdiable.
The elevated tees look pretty cool and are fun to play.
The course is nicely manicured and looked very good overall. It's VERY easy to navigate and the first hole is easy to find.
Cons: I played this course at 8 in the morning during the last week of summer, and the mosquitos and bugs were TERRIBLE. I've never been biten by so many mosquitos in my life. If these go away and I get a chance to play it again, I'll increase my rating, but the mosquitos just made it a living nightmare.

Other Thoughts: My friend told me that this was the best course in the Joliet area, but after playing just two, I already disagree. West Park is a lot more fun, at least IMO. It offered a lot more variety of terrain and shots. :)
Please feel free to message me for more details.

5 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 B = Be very nice but also a Bit funky

1    7/7/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18-hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B- (There is not a lot of decision making required on this course. Most of the punishment for bad throws comes not to your score going up, but from the time it takes to find your disc in the heavy underbrush.....and inconvenience, not golf style punishment.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B- (The shorts are mostly too short to be rewarding to me. The longs are too long to yield many birdies for me, but short enough that par feels boring.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B+ (There is good variety although there seems to be an inordinate amount of holes finishing to the right - lefty/RHFH holes. A few holes are curved too extremely to be realistically reachable.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A- (You are off all by yourself in nature for a lot of the course - nice. Maintenance is superb! Flowers, plants and architectural features are a very nice touch! The course is located mainly in a lowland area, so the swampy areas just off many of the fairways takes away a little of the beauty.)

5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == C- (Only 1 or 2 long/multi-throw holes add anything but length. Most of the long holes make them hard/unbirdieable par 3's rather than legit par 4's.)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Bring two cans of OFF!

1    7/3/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: Tripod2
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course equally favors both sidearm and backhand throwers. There is quite a variety of holes; tight, open, tight, open. They alternate for quite some time.

Course had me cursing quite a bit. Baskets appear closer than they are from tee. Very good use of vegetation as obstacles.

Wish I had a tomahawk throw in my bag of tricks. The duo ahead of us successfully tomahawked a few holes for easy birdies.

Park is very well maintained. Garbage cans located at every tee sign and everyone uses them. Lawn well manicured and flowers nice touch.

Saw some saplings on hole 6 or 7 (?) that, when fully grown, would have eaten my errant drive.

Very easy to find next tee because of the cement arrow in the ground. Nice!
Cons: Bring TWO cans of OFF! The I & M Canal is right there. There is also a stream in play some of the holes, and a few ponds. I was practically eaten alive by those skeeters.

I hate water hazards; have lost scores of good discs in them. Even though hole 2 is a challenging hole, not too thrilled with the stream right next to basket.

Park is near I-55. You can hear traffic while playing. Found that odd as I'm accustomed to more serene, tucked away courses. Not bad, just odd & annoying.

Signs here are same ones used at Lippold in Crystal Lake. They're weatherworn and can stand replacement soon.
Other Thoughts: Stop here on way to/back from Mokena. There is a lot of discing to do in the greater Joilet area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.