Channahon, IL 
Community Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9 (Taken 5/2012)
5 / 402ft.   5 / --   3 / 565ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 White Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Amazing Course

2-4    4/15/2012   4/20/2012
Review By: Aceseekr
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful Layout, long holes lightly wooded front 9 , largly wooded back 9. This is a big course and it is suited for all types of players. I see deer on the course all the time.
Cons: Saturday early afternoons the park is packed with baseball, soccer, track and it the fall the cource is a cross country track so go after 2.The wind can be a problem, Hole 2, 14 and 15 have deep nasty creeks next to them. Hole 15 has a sink hole just past the pin that is 4 feet deep and filled with standing water.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Course

5+    8/10/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: Hawkmaster
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great quality tees.
Great quality signs.
Very easy to navigate.
Very clean.
Tournament quality holes.
Pavilion and splash pad nearby.
Variety of shots.
Always cut grass.
Cons: It's not a forgiving course on certain holes, easy to lose discs if you're not careful.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course to play if you're an experienced player. It's not a very good beginner course, but it is an example of a well-maintained and great quality course. I play here as often as possible.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Simply Beautiful

5+    9/17/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: WindyCityROCer
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.5 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: to paraphrase another reviewer (ie steal/quote) par 3 dg at it's finest...

located at the end of a multi use park, this course is simply great... maybe at one point does the rest of the park come into existance (hole 18) other than that it's dg at it's finest...

A labor of love from Frank Grimes and the Joliet crew from first tee to last basket...

The first 2 holes play fairly open, nice mowed fairways, and "high grass" areas (which actually seem mowed/controlled to previous years). The rest of the front 9 plays through a beautiful wooded area (say East side)(large variety of plantlife, great colors, fall is breathtaking) with varying choke points to keep shots in check. Front 9 ends with a fairly long hole, thick schule down the right side the entire time, basket about 10ft from trees... always feels good to 3 it.

The back 9 starts off with 3 fairly open holes.... leading to a long walk to 13, a rather long (for this course) L>R shot to a pretty green protected by 2 old growth trees. #14 (and 15,16) present the most interesting stretch of the course... 14 could ALMOST be a par 4... it got redesigned last year (08) and the basket is now up on the rock ledge area (that always begged for a basket, Frank just felt EVIL and put it all the way to the right)... for a rec/am player this is THE TOUGHEST upshot on the course, as you need a L>R/overhand shot to the basket, you could beeline a mid, but turn it over and you're in blind, deep schule. Hole 15 "Grimes Grove" is once again a beautiful hole, tight fairway, basket tucked to the left on a grass knoll... (plays E>W, on an afternoon/evening round sun is in your face, adding more light to a beautiful hole). Hole 16... make it or break it... basically a 90 degree + dogleg left, with a hyzer route over the trees.... it's not that hard, there's just infinite ways to screw it up...

Hole 17 and 18 play back into the "regular park." Hole 17, is well, quite frankly, a horseshoe to the right, heavy woods/shule line the path... I hope you have a good L>R shot! (Ironically, the back tee has a better line on this hole) The course ends with an open tee into the woods, a simple roc will do with a touch of anny, just don't hyzer out to the pavillion and look like a noob.

EXCELLENT concrete pads on ALL holes. Over half have an alternate/back tee adding a bit of distance, and a much different look to the hole. Garbage cans are everywhere on this beautiful course... please help keep it that way. Signage is showing it's age, a few of the distances SEEM sketchy... All trails to next tee/throughout course are immaculate wood chips, usually with a few rocks on the side to guide you... If the course is crowded, grab a bench, and check out the wildflower areas by the tees, and the paths to them..
Cons: uhm........
the practice basket is very rusty, and hates me...
the mach whatevers could use some glow paint or something, spotting is good...
there are a few holes that could be legit par 4's... IMHO I think the extra 75ft/harder line are there...
Not a lot of elevation, if you really NEED it.
I'm really nitpicking...
Other Thoughts: yes, I realize I have overused the words: beautiful, gorgeous, pretty, stunning...

The attention to detail is astounding, the things you don't really notice until your second or third time around...Wildflower "gardens" by tee/paths... just add to the experience. It's a labor of love, obvious from the first hole on, and I cannot commend the people responsible for it enough. Is it the greatest piece of land ever, no. Has the land been used to it's best potential for disc golf, yes. I always leave this course wanting to play another round..

Really, it's probably a 4.0 course, but the labor of love gives it an automatic +.5

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!!!

1    7/18/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: IllinoisAceRunner90
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: What a beautiful course. It was my first time playing this course and man was i impressed. The tees are well marked and the course it super clean. Garbage cans at every hole! That's unheard of! Course wasn't to crowded and some great holes with different elevation changes. My cousin aced #4 the second time playing. Check it out!
Cons: None...
Other Thoughts: I lost a Star Leopard X-OUT on hole #2 in the creek in the nasty water right by the hole. If someone finds it let me know.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great stuff!

2-4    7/11/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: sdecker
Played: 27  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 22.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained. Mowed fairways and two different stages of rough on many holes. Tee pads have an arrow in the runoff area that points to the pin - how cool is that? Trashcans and benches everywhere. Well maintained by people who obviously care about disc golf.

No 'nex-T' signs but the baskets have a red painted spoke pointing out the direction to the next tee pad.

Lots of 'extras' like landscaping in the waiting areas for each hole. Several holes have a distinct garden-like feel where you can just chill and appreciate the beauty of the course.

Gravel and chipped walkways in a lot of places add an extra touch of class as well.
Cons: Not really 'cons' per se but rather things that prevented me from rating this 5 discs:

1) Signage is older and showing wear on a lot of them. All still do the trick though.
2) There don't appear to be multiple pin placements which may make the course a bit less enjoyable over a bunch of rounds.
3) 'Old school' par-to-distance/difficulty ratio. You could easily chop 15 strokes off the sign par, or just play as a rather easy 'all par 3'.
4) Wind speed/directional flags or at least a painted band on the baskets for visibility would be nice.
5) There are a couple of water crossings that could benefit from a small bridge as opposed to narrow 10x10 landscaping timbers.
Other Thoughts: I created the hole distances and par using Google Earth and my memory. Any mistakes are mine but PDGA.com lists the distance as 4908 and my calculations were only 15 feet off in total. This course deserves more info as it is a real gem. We need a local to post a course map.

Absolutely awesome course. We played three rounds and were begging for more but ran out of time.

If you are in the Chicago area, you MUST take the hour long drive to go here. It's not the most difficult or technical course out there, but it is a real treat to play.

Tends to slightly favor RHFH or LHBH players as many of the doglegs are to the right off the tee. If you are a RHBH player, bring your anhyzer!

Lots of poison ivy off the fairways. I don't call this a con as it is just a seasonal thing related to when I shot the course. I suggest jeans and tennis shoes during the summer months if you are not accurate off the tees.

Bring bug spray for the wooded holes on the back 9. Again not a negative, just a function of playing around wet areas during the summer.

Stop thinking about it and just PLAY IT. Amazing course - the best one I've ever played. Not absolutely perfect but damn close.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The one u think about

5+    4/17/2009   4/18/2009
Review By: jdunk03
Played: 22  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow is all i can say about how well this course is taken care of, trash cans almost every hole benchs drinking fountan on the course after hole 18. I like how this course has long and short tees. Great tee pads long concrete pads. Has a pratice basket in front of course great pratice for wind putts
Cons: Hole one basket really bad. a few signs are old baskets in different place.
Other Thoughts: Great place to take a trip to! During the summer bring bug spray.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Perhaps too much fun?

2-4    9/3/2008   3/12/2009
Review By: Kinzoku
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, extremely well kept, fairways mowed regularly, very interesting tee and hole locations. Some holes are deceptively long making you think about each shot. Obvious care from a man in a white pickup who patrols, waters and cleans up.
Cons: Poison ivy, everywhere. Hole, 19 I believe comes very close to a pavilion. Hole 5 not yet completed
Other Thoughts: Last year I had a terrible experience with HUGE Japanese hornets. You know the ones the size of a cigar? Very aggressive and very painful and dangerous. Hopefully that will be cleaned up this year. Keep your eyes open.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

7/22/2008   7/22/2008
Review By: pluto88
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has both regular and pro tees, all concrete (tips of the arrows are screening which is like a warning zone).

Variety of shots from distance to tricky close proximity, uphill, downhill, around tree lines and over water.

Every year something gets adjusted added of changed. Last year was new concrete tees, hills and tress. This year hole two got moved across a creek. Hole 5 at the time of this review is closed, Its being moved onto a new hill and slightly further back from where it was.

90% of the upkeep/improvements are made possible by volunteers and donors.

Chiefly by Frank, He is always out on the course with his baseball cap on either playing or working; so if you see him out here, remember to say Thanks!


P.S. Ranked 4.5 because theres always something that can be added or changed to make it harder or whatnot.
Cons: Poison Ivy (Shows what you'll do to get that *w.t.h . was that* disc back) adds to the woodsy feel.

Worn/weathered hole/par signs.
Other Thoughts: Use the Garbage Cans!

Watch for Ticks.

Don't harass the deer....

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.