Channahon, IL 
Community Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4 (Taken 5/2012)
4 / 267ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Discing at it's finest

5+    1/18/2012   1/23/2012
Review By: gowiththeFLOW
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Well maintained course
-Challenging for both beginners and pros
-Awesome summertime course
Cons: -Not many bad things to say about this course, besides some teeboxs are a walk.
Other Thoughts: Great maintained course, a great course for playing in doubles or groups.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of the nicest parks you will see

2-4    11/26/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 20 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have a preference for pretty parks that are well taken care of. Channahon's Community Park gets high marks for that. It's just a great public park. The disc golf course specifically is very well taken care of. There are two concrete tees on most holes, with a nice gravel arrow pointing toward the hole in front of the tee. Each hole has a tee sign with a hole map and distances. The baskets are newer and catch well. There is a lot of very pretty landscaping scattered throughout the course that gives the property a nice, peaceful feeling. There isn't a ton of elevation or water to work with, but what is there is used well. A few man-made amenities have been included to help add some challenge to some placements (such as the raised "J-Town" basket on #4 or the drop-off placement on #12.) A spoke on the baskets are painted red to help point you to the next tee, and the course just generally flows well. There is a nice combination of wooded fairways that force you to take a certain route and more open fairways with mature trees scattered through them where you can pick your route and try to hit it. The wooded fairways are fairly wide, but once you stray off them the rough is very thick and tough to find a shot out of. The long tees add some decent distances to the shots, although it's not a big bomber course. The combination of longs and shorts gives the course some very good variety. The whole package comes together in a very enjoyable course.
Cons: The park is essentially flat, and the wooded holes have pretty wide, well-defined fairways. Lacking a lot of elevation, tight tunnel shots and/or long bomber shots, Channy is probably not all that challenging to the upper tier players. I certainly had my hands full with it, though.

The course can hold water and tends to get buggy, so you have to take precautions against that during those seasons. You also spend a lot of time out in the open, so sunscreen is a must.
Other Thoughts: In the mid 90's I took a road trip to play what was at the time the best courses in the Chicagoland area-West Park and Channahon. West Park is essentially how I remember it from 14 years ago. Channahon has been tweaked and updated over that same time frame so that it seems like a different course. A lot of care and attention goes into this course, and it shows. It might not be the most challenging course anymore, but it's a course that gets the most out of what the land has to offer. It is certainly still amongst the best courses in Illinois and a course you don't want to miss if you are in the area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/26/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 194  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Located in a spacious park, Community's course is well-separated from other park activities. Beautifully manicured, well-defined fairways work their way through open areas dotted with trees as well as wooded sections. In the wooded sections, fair but sometimes brutal punishment in the form of tight scrub awaits those who miss their lines. Short tees are accessible to newer/less-skilled players, while the longs provide a challenge for seasoned discers.
- Decent use of the available elevation (which unfortunately isn't much). #4 has an artificially raised basket that can become a bit tricky on windy days unless you're willing to lay up.
- Water comes into play quite nicely on the second hole. The long tee on #2 shoots over a small water carry, and then works back to the right where the basket is located past another small bit of water. A castle turret-like wooden barrier sits on the far side of the water, waiting to knock down any low approaches.
- Pro and am tees. Long, wide, brushed concrete tees are among the grippiest I've played on. Each tee has crushed gravel in the shape of an arrow in front, which is a nice touch. Good signage, which unfortunately is located only on the am tees. Each basket has a spoke painted red that points in the direction of the next tee.
Cons: - Unfortunately, the long tees don't have signage, which is a bit of a hassle the first time through.
- A few holes incorporate tall prairie-like grassy areas which might make finding your disc a bit of a pain during the summer months (provided you land there).
Other Thoughts: - Channahon has a good balance of holes, especially from the long tees. Nothing gets too out-of-hand difficult, but should provide a decent enough challenge for the average player.
- It's obvious a lot of love gets put into this course, and it shows through in the above-average upkeep.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/24/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Dual LEVEL cement teepads
- 17 of the 18 baskets are nice and catch well
- Frank Grimmes does some great work out there beautifying the course.
- Fun layout both Pro and Am
- Benches on almost every hole!!!!!
- Lots of trash cans
- Great flow and easy to follow
- After hole 2 you get the feeling you're removed from the rest of the world (always a plus for me)
- Wind definitely adds a great deal more challenge, no wind means its real easy.
- The rough punishes bad shots but its easy to find your plastic.
- Hole 17 is a beach from teh AM pad and much easier from the PRO, realistically they should be switched.
-Several holes have well guarded greens.
Cons: - Hole 6s basket either needs to be switched with the PB or replaced.
- No tee signs at Pro pads
- Am pads are boring, and the Pro pads only make it a little more interesting.
- 17 of the 18 holes from AM pads are straight shots with SLIGHT hyzers or anhyzers to finish.
- Bridges need some work. Hole 2's is slanted and skinny can be dangerous when wet and doesn't allow for cart pullers to easily maneuver across. Hole 12 to 13s bridge is slightly better but could still be improved ( this one is great if your riding your mtn bike btw).
- Not difficult to score well first time through.
- Hole 17 is the only hole i questioned myself on how to throw and what to throw.
Other Thoughts: This a very fun course but lacks that replay factor. I played it for the first time at a blind tourny last spring, I had no desire to return again until the tournament this fall. With so many great courses near by this is an easy one to skip over. I will not be returning until next spring.
Frank Grimmes does a great job of making the course look great and slowly tweaking it to play more challenging. However, I feel some of those efforts are un-needed at this time and other areas of the course could use the attention (see cons section).
This course will be most appealing to REC and INT players. It's a great place to work on keeping your lines tight and on target. The PRO pads will provide the extra challenge for INT players and the better REC players. These players will also score well with ease.
ADV and PRO players will find little reward here. The course for them will play like a pitch-n-putt excluding a few holes.
there is alot of repetitive shots! The majority of holes are all straight. their only variance comes in if you need it to finish left or right. About half way through I get bored with the course. The only true challenge here is if you can keep your disc inside of a 20' wide fairway. Most INT and above players will find little to no struggle with that.
Without holes 2 and 17 this course would easily become a 2.5. They are well designed and the only two holes with good replay factor.
With so many great courses in this area, this course ranks very low on the Must Play list. If you're in the area I'd play Highland, West, or Trinity before coming here. If you're traveling and pressed for time this is a quick play and would be a good option.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Course

5+    8/10/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: Hawkmaster
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great quality tees.
Great quality signs.
Very easy to navigate.
Very clean.
Tournament quality holes.
Pavilion and splash pad nearby.
Variety of shots.
Always cut grass.
Cons: It's not a forgiving course on certain holes, easy to lose discs if you're not careful.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course to play if you're an experienced player. It's not a very good beginner course, but it is an example of a well-maintained and great quality course. I play here as often as possible.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great All Around Course

5+    9/10/2010   7/4/2011
Review By: Brent Renken
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great all around course for beginners and experts and it's very well maintained. A lot of the holes are set up for the long drive which is fun if you have an arm. The course is well groomed with an obvious path while maintaining the feel of a backwoods area. It has a variety of terrain as well to include trees, overgrowth and water hazards. There are a few elevation challenges as well although it's predominately flat.
Cons: Most of the challenges come staying away from one edge of the forest or out of the underbrush and the baskets are tucked slightly away in pockets. Not necessarily a bad thing but it does leave out some of the obstacle related challenges you find in other areas. There's not a lot not to like about this course.

I've lost many a frisbee in the overgrowth surrounding the fairway so beware (and keep an eye out for a free frisbee).
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is one of the best courses in the area. It's worth the trip and you'll be happy you played it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Very Nice

1    5/15/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: Brick Forcepush
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Very Well Maintained
-Variety Of Shots
-Long and Far Shots
-Newer Baskets
-Not Many Water Hazards
Cons: -Hole #16 Was All Screwed Up
-Back 9 Is The Best
-They Need To Get A Better Way Of Walking Over The Creek
Other Thoughts: -BRING BUG REPELLENT

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

5+    3/13/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: try122583
Played: 100  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - A good mix of challenging holes and birdie holes. It will force you to open up the bag a bit.
- Course very well laid out and you get to see the beauty of the park while playing golf. It's also easy to follow if you're playing it for the first time.
- Concrete tees and good signage.
- Long tees provide a good challenge for those looking for it.
Cons: -Flooding. With a lot of low lying areas, there will be a fair amount of standing water on this course that will affect the way you walk it. I don't mind the water being in the way of play, but I don't want to walk through it unless I throw a disc into it. Bring shoes you don't mind getting dirty.
Other Thoughts: It's a nice course and being from the Champaign, IL area, I don't mind making the drive up. it's definietly one I look forward to playing when I head up to this area, and always make time for it. I recommend checking this one out if you haven't already.

Happy Golfing!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A very well maintained gem!

5+    1/17/2011   1/17/2011
Review By: surgeflx87
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where to start off with this one.
Ill start by saying this one one of the most immaculate and maintained courses ive played out around these parts. Frank does a great job of keeping this place up, and the tees are always even cleared in the winter thanks frank!
-Tees are some of the best ive seen with grooves that drain water for those rainy days and have plenty of length.Two sets of Concrete tees on most holes.
-Has a good variety of shots and well placed pins which which make you think well about drive and upsot placement.
-New tee signs are amazing and very professional looking that have great hole layout descriptions.
-Nice closed lid garbage cans at almost every hole.
-Long benches at almost every hole if youneed to take a breather.(Great for tourneys).
-A couple of creeks and murky bodies of water come into play on some holes.
-Great place to play in the winter and hosts the J-Town ice bowl.
-Pro tees really change up the course and add difficulty not just length to holes, some which are already difficult.
-Even on the more open holes there are some groups of trees that really make you hit your lines.
-Baskets are in pretty good condition and catch nicely. Theres also a practice basket next to the parking lot which is a plus.
-Course caters to both left and right handed players.
-Frank is always adding more trees and schrubs and more to the course which is just making it even more beautiful.
Cons: -Rough can get thick in summer but is usually well maintained like stated above.
-No really tight tunnel holes, but the variety of shots and fun factor for this course make up for it.
-Some parts can get flooded after it rains alot, especially in the spring.
-Only two holes that let you really air it out and one is still a pretty tight shot. Sometimes its refreshing to really be able to bomb one out there.
I really cant find much wrong with this course and even with the cons the pros here definatly out weigh them.
Other Thoughts: I wish this course was right by my house, I would play here everyday if I could. If you see frank on the course make sure to thank him for keeping this course in great shape and even play a round with him if you get the chance, hes a great guy to play with. I wouldnt pass this course up if your in the area and its well worth a drive. Come out and enjoy one of the nicest courses in the joliet area, you wont be let down!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Community Park

1    8/15/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 116  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2010
5 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: This course is isolated and serves solely for disc golf, which is super nice. I saw a deer and it's child here and we approached it and came within 20 or so feet before they jumped away. It was really quite a treat.
The holes are, for the most part, all very birdiable.
The elevated tees look pretty cool and are fun to play.
The course is nicely manicured and looked very good overall. It's VERY easy to navigate and the first hole is easy to find.
Cons: I played this course at 8 in the morning during the last week of summer, and the mosquitos and bugs were TERRIBLE. I've never been biten by so many mosquitos in my life. If these go away and I get a chance to play it again, I'll increase my rating, but the mosquitos just made it a living nightmare.

Other Thoughts: My friend told me that this was the best course in the Joliet area, but after playing just two, I already disagree. West Park is a lot more fun, at least IMO. It offered a lot more variety of terrain and shots. :)
Please feel free to message me for more details.

5 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.