Channahon, IL 
Community Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14 (Taken 5/2012)
5 / 427ft.   5 / --   3 / 498ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 White Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
  Local Favorite

5+    5/11/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: Scapeity
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course seriously makes you choose every shot for placement, forcing you to understand how every disk in your bag flies. Not only is there a swamp area that runs adjacent to many holes (or through them) but there is heavy brush and trees, water, and a very uncommon feature in illinois, hills and depressions that will make you lose sight of your disk on an errant throw.

The playing area itself and paths are well maintained, the out of bounds areas are well... out of bounds.

You can tell that they take a lot of time trying to improve the course with landscaping and planting of small trees and shrubs.

Also, there is a red fox that lives on hole 10... i watched it come out and sniff my disc i had just thrown then dart back into its hole.

A cool effect I havent seen anywhere else... from the tee off platform, there is a gravel shaped triangle in front of it, making the tee off platform into an arrow pointed at the basket. Also, on some of the more wooded path holes, the baskets have certain parts of them that are painted red, you follow the red painted section to the path that leads you to the next hole.
Cons: Many bugs, including the beast sized bees that swarm.

Depending on what time of the day you go, the clientele might make the course less then family friendly.
Other Thoughts: Honestly my favorite course, challenging yet not too out of reach for the beginner. You may want to wear shoes that you arent afraid to get muddy though, just in case you end up in swamp while looking for the disk that didnt do what you wanted it to.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The one u think about

5+    4/17/2009   4/18/2009
Review By: jdunk03
Played: 22  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow is all i can say about how well this course is taken care of, trash cans almost every hole benchs drinking fountan on the course after hole 18. I like how this course has long and short tees. Great tee pads long concrete pads. Has a pratice basket in front of course great pratice for wind putts
Cons: Hole one basket really bad. a few signs are old baskets in different place.
Other Thoughts: Great place to take a trip to! During the summer bring bug spray.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best Maintained Course

5+    9/13/2008   4/8/2009
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 123  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun, well kept course.
Great cement tees with diagonal grooves for better traction.
Deep rough.
Benches before many of the tees.
Mostly open with enough wooded holes for variety.
This course has been mostly empty almost everytime I have been there.

Cons: Deep rough.
Can take a while to dry out after a rain.
Other Thoughts: Some long walks between holes, but they are on cool paths through the woods for the most part.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Perhaps too much fun?

2-4    9/3/2008   3/12/2009
Review By: Kinzoku
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, extremely well kept, fairways mowed regularly, very interesting tee and hole locations. Some holes are deceptively long making you think about each shot. Obvious care from a man in a white pickup who patrols, waters and cleans up.
Cons: Poison ivy, everywhere. Hole, 19 I believe comes very close to a pavilion. Hole 5 not yet completed
Other Thoughts: Last year I had a terrible experience with HUGE Japanese hornets. You know the ones the size of a cigar? Very aggressive and very painful and dangerous. Hopefully that will be cleaned up this year. Keep your eyes open.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

7/22/2008   7/22/2008
Review By: pluto88
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has both regular and pro tees, all concrete (tips of the arrows are screening which is like a warning zone).

Variety of shots from distance to tricky close proximity, uphill, downhill, around tree lines and over water.

Every year something gets adjusted added of changed. Last year was new concrete tees, hills and tress. This year hole two got moved across a creek. Hole 5 at the time of this review is closed, Its being moved onto a new hill and slightly further back from where it was.

90% of the upkeep/improvements are made possible by volunteers and donors.

Chiefly by Frank, He is always out on the course with his baseball cap on either playing or working; so if you see him out here, remember to say Thanks!


P.S. Ranked 4.5 because theres always something that can be added or changed to make it harder or whatnot.
Cons: Poison Ivy (Shows what you'll do to get that *w.t.h . was that* disc back) adds to the woodsy feel.

Worn/weathered hole/par signs.
Other Thoughts: Use the Garbage Cans!

Watch for Ticks.

Don't harass the deer....

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Course

5/24/2008   5/24/2008
Review By: Noah Karnes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2008
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love this course. It's VERY well maintained. A lot of hard work was put into this course and it shows. The tees are in the shape of arrows which points you in the direction of the basket - which is really cool. The course is very well marked and easy to navigate through. It has nice pavilion and picnic areas. The course itself is challenging with a great variety of shots.
Cons: A few of the baskets were pretty old and I'm sure the mosquitoes get pretty bad. So I would recommend bug spray. But those are minor complaints.
Other Thoughts: I think this is my favorite course (so far) in the Chicagoland area. I would definitely recommend this course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.