Moab, UT 
Old City Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: klay Hole #16 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 290ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
fun desert course!

1    8/5/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 212  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
Pros: -nice variety of holes
-makes great use of the elevation
-wooded area on holes 7-9 is a great change of pace
-great equipment: concrete tees, nice baskets, benches, detailed signs (distances seem at little off? some holes looked shorter to me)
-great navigational signage
-water fountain in the park between hole 18 and the parking lot
Cons: -very little shade to hide from the desert sun
-distances seemed inaccurate on the signs, i wonder if the pin locations have changed over time?
-a few places with treacherous rough or drop offs, watch out on holes 9, 11, 16, 17 and beware of cactus
-speaking of drop offs, there is lots of rocky elevation so wear good shoes and watch your step
Other Thoughts: The course at Old City Park is a single out and back loop playing mostly through dry desert scrub with with lots of rocky terrain and moderate elevation changes.

The first 6 holes play along the upper part of the ridge on which the course is built. There are minor slopes to navigate and a few bushy trees to avoid but you can throw your choice of line over the top of most holes. Hole 6 is a fun, downhill ace run. After crossing the road, holes 7-9 play through a wooded area (furthest point out from the parking lot) and is a great change of pace from the preceding holes. Hole 7 is a fun downhill hyzer, 8 is a short, tight dogleg right, and 9 is an uphill challenge with a narrow fairway. Cross back over the road after holes 10 and 11 and the remaining holes occupy the lower portion of the ridge and feature some really cool elevation changes. Hole 13 is a great downhill shot to a basket perched on a small rock outcropping with a bit of a drop off on 3 sides. Hole 17 has some dangerous drop offs to avoid in the fairway and on the green and hole 18 finishes with a big downhill left to right shot.

The course is fun to play and you have the beautiful scenery of Moab and the red rock ridges all around you. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone passing through, especially if you don't have the time or appropriate vehicle to make it out to Base Camp Adventure Lodge.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

I'm Blind!

2-4    5/27/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 57  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you love Moab and disc golf then this is the place for you! This is a very well thought out and difficult course through the desert scenery up above the Old City Park.

Every tee has a good pad and color sign with a satellite shot of the hole and picture with arrow showing you where it is. They also provide instructions on best route or things to watch out for on the hole. Whoever put that together put a lot of time and effort in to it and it turned out really well.

You get a great variety of shots. The course tends to favor RHBH throwers, but for the most part us RHFH players can find a way. You get a good mix of easier shots with some long ones. There is a great use of elevation change here too, probably one of the best I've seen. You have a few tough uphill shots and some fun long downhill ones.

The directional signs for the next holes and paths are great. It's particularly useful when going between holes 3-4, 6-7 and 11-12.
Cons: For as much time and effort as was put into the signage it's kind of unfortunate that the posted lengths and some of the instructions aren't very accurate, particularly on the first 6 holes. Sign says it's 350 with a dogleg left and it's a straight shot at max 300. They also don't angle the tee pad correctly on some of the signs, so when you think it's straight ahead it's really off to the left or right a bit more than you expect, (if you're using the tee pad on the sign to orient yourself to the basket location). For example, Hole 1 says it's 320 ft. The longest I can measure it on Google Earth is 280 on a curved path.

There are an absolute plethora of blind shots on this course. Normally this would just belong in the Other Thoughts section, but there are so many that it gets a little annoying having to walk halfway up the fairway on half of the holes to see the basket, especially since you learn to not trust the sign distances in the first few holes.

There is cacti EVERYWHERE which can be pretty harsh on your discs. A few of mine have some pretty good gouges in them now.

The course is almost constantly windy, as is Moab in general.

There was a lot of garbage all over the course and not a single garbage can in sight.
Other Thoughts: I can't stress enough how important it is to have a spotter on many of the holes on this course. We spent way too much time looking for discs that had buried themselves in the countless bushes and trees.

It is hot and sandy, so sunscreen and water are absolutely needed if you don't want to be parched and crispy after a couple hours on the course.

Overall this is an awesome course! The drawbacks are minor when compared to the benefits it offers. I was down for the first Memorial Day Classic and plan to come back for more.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful and wild! Just like Moab!

1    7/15/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was one of the courses I was most excited about playing on my cross-country road trip, and I wasn't disappointed.

- Cacti and benches on every hole!
- Great signage (especially the "next tee" signs) as well as grippy teepads and the overall care for the course's fairways and baskets.
- Varied terrain and elevation that has blind shots. (Spotter definitely recommended)
- Breathtaking views of the Moab Valley and its stunning red rock formations.
- Close to Arches and Canyonlands National Parks. Go to both of them!
- Hazards omnipresent, such as cacti, trees, and avoiding hitting the numerous lizards running around.
- Goes from a complete desert on #1-7 to a quasi-grassy forest oasis on #8-12 and back to a desert on #13-17. Ends in a grassy part of the park on 18 with a downhill anhyzer.
- The experience of playing not only in the desert, but in the beautiful town of Moab!
- Free water at the fountain after hole #18. You're gonna need it if you play here in the summer. It was about 103 when I played here
- Decent hole lengths. Some top 400 feet, allowing for some really strong throws.
Cons: - Blind shots for over half the holes. Let me reiterate: you're definitely going to want a spotter. I didn't have one, but I guess I lucked out and didn't lose any discs.
- Hot hot hot! That's to be expected though here in the summer months. Bring tons of water.
- Some holes play close to the road--especially the road that bisects the course. Watch out!
- Unforgiving plants and terrain. One disc went into a nasty cactus. Many other discs banged off rocks. Save the life of your DX and Pro-D discs and bring some quality plastic that'll withstand the elements.
Other Thoughts: Wow. What a course! This is a great recreational companion to the million other things to do in the Moab Valley. Not sure how often this course is utilized by tourists, but it should be! Perhaps longer holes, fewer blind shots, and a landscape a little more like the nearby Base Camp Adventure course would fetch a higher rating, but this is by no means a lame or whimpy course. Quite the opposite!

Favorite holes:
#13: Downhill blind shot that takes a descent to a basket cemented into a pile of rocks that hugs the road. A definite risk/reward hole!
#17: One of the better holes I've played in quite some time. Throws across a very steep ravine. Better hope you make it!
#18: Nice way to end the course. A steep downhill throw into the grass makes you forget you just played in the hot desert.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Unique Experience

1    8/18/2010   2/2/2011
Review By: jamesmcgowan
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very unique (to most people). Most of us don't get to play in a desert, yet alone one with the surrounding landscape such as this one does.
- Very well marked. This is pretty necessary too otherwise you'd probably never find a basket or know where to throw
- Emptiness. Granted I've only been once, we only saw one other person playing the course. Which was awesome considering our pace.
- Clean, I don't remember there being any trash. Which is always awesome.
- Holes were a challenge. You had to pick your shot choice wisely, and think about what you'd have to do next. Rather than the typical chunk it far as you can and hope you get close.
- Many more tourist attractions. This isn't far from 2 awesome National Parks: Arches, and Canyonlands.
- Probably fairly local to most places. Downtown Moab was probably only 10-15 minutes away. So chances are you don't really need to go out of your way to get there.
Cons: - Easy to lose a disc (Blinds). I believe it was 14 I finally lost my disc. Multiple other occasions we'd look for around half an hour trying to find a disc. I recommend if possible having a spotter go around halfway down each hole so you don't lose or have to look forever for your discs.
- Hot. Some people this will bother. Unless it's winter chances are it'll get hot. Usually over 100 in summer. So be prepared.
- Some areas have long grass, this presents both snake hazards, and more potential to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: We were here on family vacation, as we drove to the house we were staying at we passed this. I immediately wanted to try it out. We didn't have discs, so we bought 1 each hoping we wouldn't lose it. You'll definitely want to bring multiple. If you need to buy a disc I recommend Gear Heads or something like that they had great selection.
Main thing keeping this from a 4 or 4.5 was definitely due to the time I would have to spend sometimes finding a disc.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  A nice side trip from Arches

1    2/12/2007   10/14/2010
Review By: The Runner
Played: 75  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great setting and views
Good use of natural terrain as obstacles
Good elevation change
Nice variety of holes (long, short, left, right, up, down) after the first handful
First handful are fun since they're all down and reachable
Fun long blind shots - would make for a great ace, if you're in to that sort of thing
Empty the day we played it
Signs have been added, which would have made finding baskets and pads easier
Cons: Lots of rocks- bring your old discs
First holes are the same - hike up, throw down
Open course, so no shade and can be windy
Almost all shots are over foliage - no trees to need to throw under or around
Other Thoughts: Can play in about 35 minutes
A spotter is helpful, but not required
My friend Tim is a dick

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 It's even hot at 8am!

1    9/3/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: hakaluge
Played: 132  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 23.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is the best I played on a recent road trip in the category of signage. Each tee has a sign with an overhead photograph and a distance. Without distances in an open terrain such as "the desert," it would be a total crapshoot. With distances marked, I was able to put most shots in an area where I knew to start looking for my disc. The directional arrows between holes are also a bonus, since many courses leave the first-timer to fend for themselves. Also, the scenery is unbeatable, and the weather is great, if you can get out early enough.
Cons: Some of the holes get repetetive. Many of the front six or seven are pretty much open bombs if you can elevate your shots over the low scrub. Some of the baskets are tough to find, so you end up walking the course twice to play one round. If you can talk your girlfriend or your mom into walking around in the desert, a spotter is a near necessity. I know I would have liked to have your mom out there to spot for me. Holes 9-12 as I recall are blind and have thicker vegetation than the rest of the course. These holes can be a detractor for the average player out to meander a course and catch up with friends. Serious players will be pleased to find holes of variable skill level within these 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: Play this course in the early morning or the late evening. Wear a big sombrero if you plan to be out in the middle of the day. Wear leather boots; sneakers run the risk of cactus puncture. Set out as much water as you would normally bring to play disc. Double that, then double that, and you have enough water to play this course. Don't be a dummy like me - bring a spotter!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Moab

1    5/6/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/20/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Great Variety/Nearly All Shot Types
Map at Beginning of Course
Concrete Tee Pads
Great Tee Signs w/Maps on Each Hole
Great Baskets (Look New)
Easy to Navigate (Arrows and paths from tee to tee.)
Amazing Scenery
Benches at Every Hole
Cons:
Course Does Not End Near First Hole
A Few Blind Spots (Not a real con, but could be harder to play without a spotter.)
Could Use Trashcans and Restrooms
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice course located in a beautiful town. Parking is available across the street from the course map, and the first tee is located just up the hill from the map as well, just follow the path.

Once on the course, finding your way around the will be no problem at all. The designers took a lot of time and made sure there were markers to lead the way. There are a couple decent walks between a couple holes, but as I said, they are well marked and the scenery is beautiful so you barely notice. There is however, a bit of walk leading back to parking lot from the end of hole eighteen, if you can cut through the grass it's not so bad, but we encountered the sprinklers on full blast and had to walk around. Again, not a huge issue, but something that's nice to know in advance.

As for the layout, there is decent variety. Both lefties and righties can have equal success and frustration, and for an intermediate player the distance varies. If you are more of an advance player or able to bomb a 450' you will probably consider most of the holes pretty short.

All-in-all I had a great time and this course was a great challenge for my skill level. I would definitely recommend this one to anyone in the area.


6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.