Moab, UT 
Old City Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: klay Hole #3 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 335ft.   3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Ahhh Moab

5+    1/28/2014   1/28/2014
Review By: Moabrider
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/6/2014
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful views,varied terrain of cactus, sage, pinion juniper ,cottonwood and open grassy field at hole 7. Holes 8 and 9 wind through the woods uphill to 10 , long distance straight shots to 11. Baskets are indicated on tee pad signage but difficult to spot throught the juniper forest. Opportunities for upshots and downhill lengthy throws(6,7 and 18) Concrete teeboxes and benches at each hole.Lots of brush and deep washes to lose a disc. Holes 1-6, 12-18 are desert terrain. Basket 13 stands on a mini-outcropping of rocks. Be accurate to avoid the prickly pear cactus patch below the basket.
Cons: No bathrooms. Trash cans coming soon! Please pack out your own trash. water fountain is not running yet.
Other Thoughts: Moab Disc Golf Club is an organized group. Events have been planned for 2014, Check the calendar!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    6/21/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: Discbomber
Played: 33  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee pads, signs, and trails make the course very navigable on and between holes. The tee pads were all concrete and there were benches on each hole. The signs were very accurate and a must-use as many holes are blind drives. On each basket there is a piece of tape directing you to the next tee pad which always leads to a trail--it would be hard to get lost on this course. This beautiful Moab landscape scattered with cactus, desert plants, many harmless lizards, and the occasional rabbit makes it enjoyable and reminds you that this course is truly a unique disc golf experience.
Cons: There are so many ants on this course you better not wear sandals or you are sure to get bit. Also, because of the ants, I only felt comfortable setting my bag on the benches. I had one drive into some pretty rough trees and shrubbery that required I crawl under some very scratchy branches. If you can't throw straight you'll have a hard time on this course. We had a spotter on every hole and still managed to spend a bit of time searching for discs.
Other Thoughts: Bug spray, sunblock, and water are all good ideas. Bring your high quality plastics and throw clear of obvious obstacles for the first few rounds. A spotter on pretty much every hole is helpful. I played the course in the evening while the sun set and it was a remarkably enjoyable experience. I brought my girlfriend along for the outing and we soon realized the course would be too difficult for her to play. This course requires at least intermediate skill level (-0.5).

I appreciate the detail and hard work that went into the planning of the course and the ongoing maintenance. It definitely paid off as the course equipment is all top-notch and the course is uniquely challenging with a mix of upshots, downhill drives, desert hills, gulches, and trees.

I'm not really sure if anything could or should be done about the landscape so I'm not going to knock down the score for that. I also am not knocking it down for the blind holes since that made it more challenging and wouldn't even be an issue on a second round. It comes with the scenery and location so come prepared for it when you play. I plan to play next time I'm in Moab!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bring Your Bag and Your Bike to Moab

1    3/31/2010   3/31/2010
Review By: Mr. C
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 4/3/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you're looking for pristine green fairways and lush trees - you'll hate this course. But, if you're up for the desert mileu - you'll enjoy it. If you can drive 325 and straight, you'll post a good score. (Premium on being straight.) And, there's wind on the ridge, so you have to putt well to shoot 54 or under. I played three rounds: 1st round 60, 2nd round 56, 3rd round 53 - definitely a learning curve. You can play for par pretty easy, but if you want birdies you put some pretty nasty terrain in play. Attack the front 9 because you will bleed a few shots on the back 9. A good risk, reward course. 1st timers, play away from obstacles and make upshots. The desert trees grab discs. Next rounds, blast a way. Definitely worth playing between mountain bike rides.
Cons: This needs to be fixed. On a couple of the holes, (hole 1 for example) the description signs were in front of the t-pads, which was bothersome because you have to adjust your shot to miss them. Most pins are not visible from the tee - recommend playing a 2nd round. . .
Other Thoughts: This is a desert course which has a great deal to offer if you like deserts: spiny shrubs, cactus, rock outcroppings, red rock views. Play it and try to par it.(54) It won't disappoint.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.